Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:30 AM

304 posts

who wants to buy firstcoach ticket back to malaysia during CNY, u can buy now at their website... still have alots of seats...
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:39 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 17 2011, 12:37 AM)
overloaded..wont load!!
i have no problem to login now...
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:43 AM

304 posts

emr.. i have no problem log in and out woh...
maybe jz now i keep refresh many times, then after 100 times refresh, my ip address is allow to go in laugh.gif
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:48 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 17 2011, 12:45 AM)
Like i've said i've got NO problem trying to login.....after logging in i get that
i meant i have no problem to choose bus time, seats and pay lah...

initially i got same message oso since 12:00am, then after 10 mins continuous refresh, i dun see tat message anymore...

which bus time u want? i can help u to check.. laugh.gif
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:50 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 17 2011, 12:48 AM)
6.30pm tues 17th?novena-bangsar
The selection yields no result, please try to search other trip.

still not open i think...

jz now i see the plaza-subang oso same.. after awhile then can liao..

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Nov 17 2011, 12:51 AM
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:52 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 17 2011, 12:51 AM)
so its for travelling dates between 19th jan to 31st jan lor?
u just registered an account with them or how?
Y i still get that stupid congestion page
jz now i see the plaza-subang oso same.. after awhile then can liao..

jz keep try refresh it... it works for me.. brows.gif
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:54 AM

304 posts

looks like their server only allow certain ip at same time to go in...

the rest jz show them the stupid message...

Added on November 17, 2011, 12:55 am
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 17 2011, 12:53 AM)
U refresh the page on this link right?
http://www.firstcoach.com.my/fcweb10c/loginmain.php
yup...

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Nov 17 2011, 12:55 AM
Walaoeh!
post Nov 17 2011, 12:57 AM

304 posts

use firefox, download this add-on:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/reloadevery/

then let it auto reload http://www.firstcoach.com.my/fcweb10c/loginmain.php in 5 seconds

then go drink coffee, once u able to see the choose bus page, then u can slowly buy...
Walaoeh!
post Nov 21 2011, 11:47 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 21 2011, 10:08 AM)
Then Indon, Bangla and any non SG worker also an expat here.

IMO, have to factor in the position and pay package.
The one big motivation to work in SG is : converting our SGD saving back to RM.

I only eat that much and most of my meal <$10, how much can I save if I work in Thai?
Is it enough to offset the currency and salary (thus the saving) differences?
I do not speak/read Thai, so will I get a lower salary compare to my peer?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expatriate
"In its broadest sense, an expatriate is any person living in a different country from where he or she is a citizen. In common usage, the term is often used in the context of professionals sent abroad by their companies, as opposed to locally hired staff (who can also be foreigners). The differentiation found in common usage usually comes down to socio-economic factors, so skilled professionals working in another country are described as expatriates, whereas a manual labourer who has moved to another country to earn more money might be labelled an 'immigrant'."

so indon, bangla are considered 'immigrant' biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Nov 21 2011, 11:48 AM
Walaoeh!
post Nov 21 2011, 01:24 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 21 2011, 12:01 PM)
What if your a malaysian but you work as a kitchen helper? still consider as "immigrant status"?

Added on November 21, 2011, 12:18 pm
different ppl with different definition can call it different thing mah...

for me i dun fxxking care... laugh.gif
Walaoeh!
post Nov 23 2011, 09:59 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 22 2011, 01:46 PM)
it means after u finish ur 12GB of data you will be charged for the amt extra u use but it is capped at 30SGD.
So if your plan is SGD58, the max you will be paying is 58+30 (-corporate plan+hidden charges) +7% GST.
+65 definitely works.
I did not know there is a +02.
from malaysia landline jz dial 02-xxxx xxxx
from malaysia handphone dial +602-xxxx xxxx or +65 xxxx xxxx
Walaoeh!
post Nov 23 2011, 02:19 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 23 2011, 12:22 PM)
this morning my taxi ride to office, the taxi driver was saying he can't afford to buy house in SG so he buy in JB and every day drive over causeway to work, lol.
not bad mah, taxi driver have flexible working hour, can choose non-peak time to enter/exit SG...

Walaoeh!
post Nov 25 2011, 12:57 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 24 2011, 01:58 PM)
We pay S$1500 for non-managerial staff as long as they need the car to work (tool of trade allowance). For managers, the car benefit perk starts at S$2000 for junior managers to $4500 for senior directors.

Our HR tells us that this is competitive vs the rest of the market and is based on the cost to buy, run and maintain a car in Singapore. But this scale was last revised when the COE was still S$20K, about 2 years ago. I expect it to be revised again soon, now that the COE has become $50K with no possibility of going back down, due to step-by-step decreases in COE supply. Over the car's lifetime of 5 years, the $30K difference in COE is worth approximately $500 a month extra.
my friend got $900 car allowance, i tot that was not bad.. who knows its below market rate... sweat.gif
Walaoeh!
post Dec 12 2011, 01:09 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 12 2011, 12:51 PM)
what is wrong with bringing out 2-3 yo kids by travelling on public transport?
yes, it would be a lot more of a hassle then if one owns a car but it does seem fine to me.
so after they grow up, u sell the car or still keep it?
if u keep it and everyone does the same, then the number of cars will keep on increasing and you get even worse jams on the road then ppl start complaining again.
the land in sg is VERY limited, if the number of vehicles increases without limitations, that will be an even bigger problem.
public transport is good for travel to work... but for leisure/shopping, its very tiring lo...
Walaoeh!
post Dec 20 2011, 12:20 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(etyms @ Dec 20 2011, 11:37 AM)
Can I apply PR for my wife and kids if they are still in Malaysia?
i got a PR fren able to get PR for his wife, who only occasionally come to SG...
Walaoeh!
post Dec 20 2011, 01:15 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(etyms @ Dec 20 2011, 12:29 PM)
What about the kids? Do I need to apply PR for them as well coz' I heard schooling fees in Spore is very high if the student are not PR.
wife and kids are dependants, u can apply the same way..

but ur kids (boy) will be liable to do the military service when he grow up...

Walaoeh!
post Dec 29 2011, 02:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Dec 29 2011, 02:16 PM)
DBS/POSB (same company) = long que but more atm
UOB/OCBC= less atm but shorter que.

I suggest UOB/OCBC
my area have more UOB/OCBC ATMs... rolleyes.gif
Walaoeh!
post Dec 30 2011, 01:15 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Suxiest @ Dec 30 2011, 11:55 AM)
JB Money changer prefer SGD 50 notes or SGD 1000 notes ?
I have few SGD 1000 would like to change..

Instead bring SGD 50 X 20...

Please advice.
just bring SGD1k notes there, easier to bring and easier to count...

who care money changer prefer which one, unless they dun wan to do business lah...

i always change with SGD1k notes...
Walaoeh!
post Dec 31 2011, 12:26 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 30 2011, 09:04 PM)
And just because it's "long ago" doesn't mean it won't happen again. IMO, the chances of it happening is escalating with each progressive election as UMNO increasingly feels that it's losing grip and must resort to the tried & true malay vs chinese bogey man to gain support. Although I wish PR well and fervently hope that they will come into power and change the country - I do believe in a Plan B... that the chinese must gain access to some sort of armed response capability, or else the overwhelmingly malay police and military will continue to hang like a Sword of Damocles over chinese necks.

Having said that - realistically, there's zero chance of Singapore's military intervening in Malaysia unless it's UN sanctioned... and the UN moves real slow. But in such a cataclysmic event - I'm hoping, like during May 13 - the chinese triads in Malaysia will again come forward as the "armed resistance". Along with the chinese associations, NS trained Singaporean volunteers/Malaysian PR returnees, covert forces and most importantly Singapore-supplied guns - the chinese may fight a good fight after all.
it will happen again if every malays think like UMNO and every chinese think like you...
Walaoeh!
post Jan 1 2012, 01:35 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 30 2011, 01:36 PM)
Business yeah, but I dun think they will be willing to give you better rates even if the amout is big.
Cause 1k hard to sell back le.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
They need to change it to smaller notes (go sg bank?) which they might consider troublesome.
Who cares? apparently i do, if the rate is not going to be better even when i am exchanging a large amt.

PS: As I said, that is my opinion. Real life may differ.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
rate will be the same... coz nobody will show the cash when asking for rates right? do you?
the changer will give you the rates base on how much u wanna change before you take out your cash mah...

my experience is that they prefer 1k notes loh, easier to count mah...
usually they already have a lots of small notes, no need to rely on notes come from customer...

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Jan 1 2012, 02:08 PM

0.0434sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:03 PM