Hi guys,
Probably a noob question here: Does a Mech. Eng. degree from Japan stand a high chance in SG? What's the starting for fresh grad from ME? Thanks.
Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?
Dec 31 2011, 05:39 PM
63 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Malaysia / Japan |
Hi guys,
Probably a noob question here: Does a Mech. Eng. degree from Japan stand a high chance in SG? What's the starting for fresh grad from ME? Thanks. |
Jan 1 2012, 05:33 AM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 31 2011, 07:25 PM) I have a chemical engineering degree from tokushima Uni. You're working in SG now? I don't have JLPT, not planning to join Japanese company, but western company. Working environment in Japanese companies are tough.dont think you will have any problem with your kikai(mecha) degree. which JLPT level do you have? if you have lvl2 its gonna be super easy to join japan MNC |
Jan 1 2012, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 1 2012, 10:56 AM) yeah Im in Sg now. What I mean is, they treat JP deg. same as UK/US deg.? I see, I'll get the JLPT here then.Me too not very keen on joining Japs company cos mostly they're sux. payscale usually lower, Sr mgmt saturated with japs expats, and when they marked you as a japs speaker, you'll have to bear the xtra pressure and workload compared to other ppl. But my advice is go take JLPT anyway, cos you'll never know when you are gonna need it. SG is a very paper conscious country. I am currently holding lvl3 but planning to take N2(lvl2) this July |
Jan 18 2012, 09:16 AM
Good day Seniors in SG,
I'm currently in my final year for my degree (mechanical engineering) here in Japan, and planning where should I start my career once I grad: Malaysia or Singapore. Need some advice on this. I have no clue at all how to jump start in SG. Dumped my resume in jobstreet & jobsdb. Might be way too early for me to send in my resume now. Another question is when should I start sending in my resume? I will grad during Feb 2013. Thanks in advance. |
Jan 18 2012, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 18 2012, 10:18 AM) I see. I'm thinking of start working immediately after I grad, around March 2013. There's a problem which is I can't attend any interview in SG until I'm back from JP for good. The only chance I have is Sept this year, will be back in MY for summer break. Should I send in my resume before that and try my luck? |
Jan 18 2012, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 18 2012, 10:35 AM) i dun think employers would want to wait for a fresh grad for half a year. 0 experience 0 skills just some papers which I think won't help much. Which means I still have to come back and do job hunt for a few months till I get my job?unless u have very specialized skills. just my opinion. |
Jan 18 2012, 10:24 AM
Jan 18 2012, 10:58 AM
Jan 18 2012, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 18 2012, 12:05 PM) Where are you working now? Guess you are a JPA student as well.Added on January 18, 2012, 11:19 am QUOTE(trythis @ Jan 18 2012, 12:09 PM) Hey man, Just apply job when you almost going to finish your final sem, like 3 month before you finish the exam. Normally it take 2months to get reply from some job. And interview you dont need to scare where you are, if the company really have interest in you they will do a call interview before ask you to come over SG to interview. And also if you pass the 1st interview on phone, that is no problem they wait your for another few month to come over SG for 2nd interview. If the company really desperate on people they also wont call you la. But one things MUST remember is you much write in your resume currently in Japan, and available for start working on what date. (For example Available to start work on: 3 March 2013) Hi trythis,Got it. I've talked to my lecturers before, I'm able to leave early if I present my thesis early to them with valid reason. I don't have anymore exams but just the thesis and research to do. So from your advice 3 months in advance is well enough for job hunting. What else I need to state in my resume? This post has been edited by Gaius B: Jan 18 2012, 11:19 AM |
Jan 18 2012, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 18 2012, 12:19 PM) Yeah jpa. worked in japan mnc like 3months after graduated, hated it. Quit n now working in queenstown,sg of course What industry are you working in now? And how did you apply for jobs over there? And also did the interviewers question u bout why getting ur degree from Japan? |
Jan 18 2012, 11:31 AM
I did drop my resume to a few companies, guess is way too early for me to do so. No replies at all. Guess have to drop the resume again when time is near.
Jan 18 2012, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 18 2012, 12:36 PM) I sent out a lot of resumes, mostly i looked up from jobstreet and jobsdb, but yeah hardly get any reply. At that time I also had my gf here in Sg sending me newspaper advertisment from straits time recruit (saturday edition) Seems like in the end of the day still need connections to get you better information. Meanwhile just have to try sending out resumes.The job that i got was from the paper ads. Currently in environmental industry. gonna try my luck jumping to OnG next month |
Jan 18 2012, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 18 2012, 01:35 PM) Seriously, JPA never ask you all to serve Malaysia? Have to ask JPA students. I'm not one but receiving JP scholarship. From what i see they r having luxurious life here, and not many of them cgpa >3.3 scorer.Singapore welcome Malaysian GOV spending their tax payer money to train future young SPR while their JDM RX8 gets to run on NSHW with petrol subsidy . Boleh lah.. |
Jan 18 2012, 09:45 PM
Question:
To step in SG for career as a fresh grad, how much SGD do I need to carry? I have no links at, no relatives. Forever alone. |
Jan 18 2012, 09:51 PM
Jan 18 2012, 10:02 PM
Jan 18 2012, 10:05 PM
Erh... I already have ez-link and DBS account over there. Phone wise can I just get the line not the phone?
| Change to: | 0.0455sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:29 PM |