5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

ivanswk
post Jan 8 2012, 02:59 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 8 2012, 01:31 AM)
cry.gif i are the sads... happy new year  doh.gif

go home to your family rolleyes.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 3:08 am
QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 8 2012, 12:10 AM)
on second thought, look for rich girl. SInce u dun care about outlook, better still. Look for older/uglier but rich women.
drool.gif yah leave the rich and pretty one to me cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jan 8 2012, 03:08 AM
ivanswk
post Jan 10 2012, 12:10 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 9 2012, 11:54 PM)
Not first class woh. 2nd class upper with Hons nia. >< Ideally is oil & gas, but assuming that doesn't work out, what's the next best alternative? (considering the singapore environment)
http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/866-re...-engineers.html
unsure.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 10 2012, 08:53 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(streetglow @ Jan 10 2012, 12:57 AM)
how fresh grad in malaysia can get into work in sg?
i'm fresh grad with advanced dip in accounting
partially acca

will be getting my degree soon

with my degree how to enter work in sg
i mean where to find work since i;m a malaysia
and how much the starting pay with a degree
icon_question.gif
first u need to change your tag to female and put a hot avatar pic laugh.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 10 2012, 05:13 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Jan 10 2012, 04:37 PM)
Would like to ask if the salary offered is acceptable

Profession : IT Technician
Industry : IT(Toshiba)
Years of exp : 0
Qualification : Diploma

$1450

Also would like ask if working in Japanese company is a good thing, such as benefits?
get a degree, it easier for mom / ica to give a ep /pr later
working in jap co is a good thing, especially if u in the mgt level,
the jap expat usually on rotation so they need the local to be the core people
japs practise lifetime employment, if they pay u well and u dun screw big time / many time
u can work until retire..
but if u go in low.. though to go up also sweat.gif

ivanswk
post Jan 11 2012, 08:43 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jan 11 2012, 04:59 AM)
That’s a rather strange analogy, but I acknowledged the effort.

Let me share my perspective with you. Everyone has a content knowledge. What distinguished the high flyers from the crowd is how diversified one’s content knowledge and his ability to facilitate. We are rewarded (not monetarily, but responsibly) with more assignments to prove ourselves by convincing the decision makers that we have developed more than one area of content knowledge. To me, the salary structure of any company should reflect this, otherwise it would be extremely difficult to have a sustainable formula.
Materazzi will not agree with you bro. he will tell u his boss do so much lesser but highly paid, and he work likes dog still getting peanuts. rolleyes.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 11 2012, 01:55 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 11 2012, 11:44 AM)
Lack of job security I agree.
the root of your problem is $,
if they have offer u a dollar to dollar with 20-30% increase i guess u will not worry so much
failure rate is there, i travel almost weekly and meet some frens in the plane, some dun last, after few month they give up sweat.gif

job security hmm.gif , when u go through a 30-50% per jump every 1-2 year, u will not worry about job security
one thing good about singapore is when they want u, they pay your asking price
alot ang moh / expat here is just a figurehead, they still need local to run the business
u can see most of them 3 plus already heading to the bar around raffles here
ivanswk
post Jan 11 2012, 02:27 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:08 PM)
But then again when the economy is bad (like this year) or they don't need you or can find a better replacement than you, its bye-bye to you. There is no job security in SG. Unlike in M'sia where you can go to the labour court and claim unlawful dismissal, in SG no such things.
been few round of bad economy already, still manage to survive through,
even good economy u see a lot bodies float in bedok resevoir rolleyes.gif
if u being replace by better candidate then something is wrong with u,
if u being replace by cheaper candidate then no point working there also rolleyes.gif

ivanswk
post Jan 11 2012, 06:49 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 11 2012, 06:27 PM)
If they have offered me a dollar to dollar with 20-30% increase I would have definitely grabbed it with both hands. My current pay is RM 6600 BTW so to expect a company to pay me SGD 6600 is definitely quite difficult as I will immediately become one of the top earners in Singapore without even proving myself.

Well you mistook me. Of course I will be taking that job with the presumption that I will stay no matter what happens. I am also not that concern about Job Security. Problem is that a contract worker should always be earning more then a permanent worker of the same capability because they sacrifice their job security. When say something happens, it's the contract worker that gets pushed out first followed by the permanent worker. Contract workers are always viewed as "not so important". That is why they get paid higher just in case something happens to them.
am not in IT so dun shot me, firewall up cool2.gif
but can only share a case i know off about contract staff, last time compaq contract out all their desktop troubleshooting to third party, and this contract is will be subject to tender after a period
basiclly lowest bidder win, these 3rd staff on contract basiclly follow the new co who win the contract but as the tender is getting lower, mean those contract staff also subject to a certain paycut when joining this new 3rd party co
and this vicious cycle keep continue .. sweat.gif

6.6k is not top earner in singapore leh
seantang will tell u, u still below sandwish class
mercury will still label rubbish
materazzi will laugh at u cause u in IT
mackiddo will only wish u good luck hahah..
btw deodorant din take pay cut when coming..

sux i am steppin on everybody toe, happy lunar new year to all thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jan 11 2012, 06:50 PM
ivanswk
post Jan 12 2012, 04:30 PM

+J
2,110 posts

Morgan Stanley cuts 10 fixed-income jobs in Singapore sweat.gif

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/News/...112-321433.html

ivanswk
post Jan 12 2012, 04:57 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(louyit @ Jan 12 2012, 04:55 PM)
other than jobstreet? how about Monster? Because I find monster's jobs in Malaysia are quite crappy....mostly SME
saturday newspaper, ask your fren to get a copy for u when they come back for CNY sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 13 2012, 10:18 AM

+J
2,110 posts

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...113-321505.html

Maybank client hit by illegal withdrawals sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 13 2012, 01:33 PM

+J
2,110 posts

AirAsia Important Announcement: AirAsia X Re-Aligns Network

Dear fans, please be informed that due to soaring taxes and higher jet fuel prices, AirAsia X is re-aligning its network to focus on core markets and will be withdrawing services to India (Mumbai and New Delhi) and Europe (Paris and London) from our Kuala Lumpur hub as follows:

• Mumbai- Four weekly services will be suspended with the last fl...ight on 31 January, 2012
• New Delhi- Daily services will be suspended with the last flight on 22 March, 2012. Flights in March will be reduced to four weekly services.
• London- Six weekly services will be suspended with the last flight on 31 March, 2012
• Paris- Four weekly services will be suspended with the last flight on 30 March, 2012

All Guests who hold bookings after these dates will be offered an alternative travel option at no additional cost to mitigate the inconvenience caused as a result of these route withdrawals. An e-mail stating options that are available will be send, including a full refund, a reroute to another AirAsia X destination (e.g, in Australia and North Asia), or a move to an alternative carrier where available.

AirAsia X will concentrate capacity in our core markets of Australasia, China, Taiwan, Japan and Korea. Announcements of our future expansions plans will be made soon.

For full details: http://www.airasia.com/my/en/corporate/pressrelease.page

sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 14 2012, 11:17 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 14 2012, 01:57 AM)
so far so good  rclxms.gif
http://www.quaysidedining.com/pj/promotions.html

been there few times, so far no disappointment except quite crowded sometime
sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 10:02 AM

+J
2,110 posts

sleep in the living room on the floor few month before i rented my place sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 11:50 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Exora7118 @ Jan 16 2012, 10:02 AM)
Job Title : IT Executive
Years spent in company : 2 yrs
Industry : Investment /Derivatives
Employment Level : Senior Executive
Experience before joining : 5 Years
Basic Salary : RM3,000
Allowance: None
Tenure: Permanent
Bonus: 1 months basic
Benefits: Medical, Insurance
Annual Leave: 16days
QUOTE(Exora7118 @ Jan 16 2012, 11:47 AM)
college/university certification i dont have, but working for past 5 year without those, i just gain myself an CCNA & CCIE certification only.
And maybe become your boss after 10 year later, who know ? lolzzz kidding  laugh.gif
nod.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 04:01 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 16 2012, 03:58 PM)
freight forwarding / shipping co, tittle marketing coordinator, but no marketing function sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 04:09 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 16 2012, 04:05 PM)
Quite a number of job ads mention
Singaporean/ SPR/ Malaysian

eventhough officially a malaysian without PR still going to be considered
as 'foreigner' in the quota, why still favour malaysian ah?
issit because they see us easier to obtain pr?
male no reservist
female shorter maternity compare to citizen (usually more prettier than sg gal without makeup)
overall perceive to be more hardworking thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jan 16 2012, 04:11 PM
ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 05:59 PM

+J
2,110 posts

ivanswk
post Jan 16 2012, 07:45 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:09 PM)
nah, rules are not changing, just the workpass that i am going to hold does not permit to drive a foreign vehicle in anymore.
now in the process of getting the new work pass.
straight wp to pr or Ep to pr?
ivanswk
post Jan 17 2012, 01:29 PM

+J
2,110 posts

train heavy congested this morning need to bypass 3 train then go on board,
only consolation is alot pretty chic, must be the cny all getting stress to find mate drool.gif drool.gif
super thin short dress, with g-string, the image still lingering in my mind rolleyes.gif
sg not boring at all brows.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0503sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:55 AM