6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Tigerr
post Jan 18 2012, 01:29 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(trythis @ Jan 18 2012, 01:25 PM)
HELLO ANY MELAKA PPL HERE? I HAVE 5 BUS TICKET GOING BACK TO MELAKA ON THIS FRIDAY NIGHT 7PM TO SELL. EACH OF THE TICKET ORIGINAL PRICE IS SGD35 AND I AM SELLING IN SGD35 AS WELL NO ADDITION CHARGE -.-

P/S: SELLING BECAUSE I SUDDEN HAVE FRIEND CAR CAN FOLLOW TO GO BACK.
if you are selling at same price, may be a bit hard leh, unless you sell cheaper than the ori price.....else, wait till friday, you have to burnt the tickets....
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 10:20 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 19 2012, 10:14 AM)
that why i said, is a rumor, plus the economic is not good this year, company firing more than hiring, i just want to know if is true.
You will know it by 31st Dec 2012. biggrin.gif

Economy no good? COE has risen again...i heard some companies bonus is 9 months....but many said till now still not get their bonus yet.

There are good and bad out there. Bankers and O&G people still enjoying their fat bonuses and now may be still holidaying overseas....while some companies is struggling to keep in the business. So, if you happen to join the right company, you will be safe. If given the opportunities to join those elite jobs, even starting pay is low, you should keep it as long term gain is there and no need to be worry about recession this and finacial crisis that. biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 11:24 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jan 19 2012, 11:13 AM)
flying back this evening, happy chinese new year everyone, enjoy your blessed holiday and win a lot during new year, not to forget the 7m and 10m TOTO as well.
yes....the 7 mil TOTO but if you back in Malaysia, the TOTO SUPREME is 57 mil leh.....i everyweek also "hantam" the system 8 or 9 but at most only kena 3 numbers.....wish somone hit the jackpot and i can stop buying it......or let me hit the jackpot, so others can stop buying/chasing it... tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 11:55 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 19 2012, 11:49 AM)
toto hoot ah...

East Malaysia CNY celebration comes with big bangs ok... wink.gif
Buy toto in Sarawak kena 15% tax also kah??? Buy in Sabah need to pay extra 15% tax to the BN govt. Ptui mad.gif ....every year, this has made me try to buy in advance before going back and then subsequently, call to runners to buy from black market.
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 02:11 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 19 2012, 12:55 PM)
in think u trying to say the employment rate for 2012 is expected to drop and whether that expectation by market in general is true or not or whether the expectation is reliable. For me yes, i beliv so.
I thought i hear something from "great people" like....if everyone buy shares, you have to start selling and vice versa....

so, now if everyone says 2012 is going to be bad, then, is it time to start punting on the economy is going to be good???? tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 03:14 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 19 2012, 02:31 PM)
Talking about jobs. If you are only a WP or PR worker, you need to expect discrimination now days. Priority is moving towards Singaporeans. For those who already set foot here for 5 years. Convert lah. Don't waste time and felt insecure about jobs.

I also felt sorry for local IT workers. Most of the Sys Adm and DBA job goes to indians. Thanks to outsourcing and CEO fat cats trying to earn big money. Now, the government is facing the brunt of it. This means singapore locals or SPR doesn't have the skill to manage servers or databases? Phui... looking low on asean... wink.gif
Huh? U already converted? Can represent Singapore in badminton now? flex.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 19 2012, 03:38 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 19 2012, 03:33 PM)
don't think he can
the requirement is previously PRC, previously Malaysian cannot  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
Ooiii.....Maraisia behree behree strong one leh.....See who is sitting on the world ranking no.1 for so long? Wait later he shows you his world record smash with extreme power only you know. tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 11:57 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 20 2012, 11:54 AM)
Yeah, funny things is.... I send resume to recruitment agency and direct employment company based in Singapore. End up I received the Interview for Taiwan Company which the job position is based in Taiwan. ( Salary is not bad actually ). Funny eh, it seems like getting Taiwan job even faster than looking for Singapore job. But I do hope i can get the job in Singapore since I live in JB.  laugh.gif

By the way, anyone knows what is the top 10 networking company in Singapore?
then go to Taiwan and try lar....who knows you will be better off in Taiwan? Or you dont know mandarin and chinese writings?
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 12:26 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
Dang, you are easy to sway.

Bro, I've been in Sg for 20 years lah. Kids also growing up. You think the kids or me will have more opportunities in Malaysia? I am working with more than $10Ksgd income here. Which freaking company in Malaysia will hire me? I am even paid better than Jibby. lol. BTW, there's a loop hole in HDB where if your employer is good enuf to lower the salary less than $10K, you will be eligible for HDB-BTO. 12K below is for EC and DBSS.

What is your thought like? How many years you have been working in Sg? Can you share your concerns? It is good for readers to judge for themselves to see which country is greener for them. wink.gif

For those looking for job in Sg, please be patient coz you are also competing with the locals AND Indians, Indonesian Chinese, Pinoys and Chinese from China. So, it is very competitive. You have to move in very low and then move up from there. Can't afford to be picky. Hope this helps.
Ha.....u richer than jibby hor..... rclxms.gif

Yes, for those who wants to look for job in spore, better come in and camp here as we have logistical advantge compare to those China, Indian, Pinoys etc as our cost to come down here is cheaper than them. some worry that by using malaysia address or malaysia phone number, they cannot get reply from prospective employer, what do those (china, indian, pinoy, vietnamese, etc) think when they applying same position from their own countries? If they can come in apply and wait for the job, we are so nearby cannot take the advantage, then, how are we going to win when competing with them? If malaysia address is already so susah, then an address in Hubei or JiangSi, how??? tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 12:42 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 20 2012, 12:27 PM)
Very nice info there. I will start looking in these websites tonight. I think i have reached the limit of looking network position in those job search website. ( Actually not much after filtering out, and this time i don't want just blindly sent all resume to all network related job position as I have specified career goals to achieve. )
By the way, it seems tough to get the job in CSC, all they want is Singapore PR or Citizen.  sweat.gif
I found out that those company that hired network professionals are mainly dealing with end user. I overheard with my frens who are working in Singapore that dealing end user in Singapore ain't easy at all. ( Maybe attitude problem ). But anyhow I will start looking from system integrator and telco. Kudos for u thumbup.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 12:34 pm

I know mandarin and chinese writings, that's why she approaches me. Anyhow I have accepted the offer, and waiting for Interview. Can go enjoy traveling while working is not a bad thing after all. Just that I don't bear my GF and my family even though all of them support me go ... cry.gif

But luckily this job is 12 months Contract. But the job scope is really the major part that tempt me.
Haha, then good to try out in Taiwan. I got 2 friends who worked in Taiwan, end up 2 of them brought back a taipeh tai-tai. Your gf will feel insecure or not? sweat.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 02:58 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 20 2012, 02:49 PM)
Wah ... that's like way underpaid lor. PM's in my company are in the $10-$15k range.

Any recommendation for not-too-expensive hairdresser in east-ish area? lol, need to cut hair before CNY doh.gif
Aissey....you dont use your company lar, we know you work in one of those dream companies with high pay mah.....if given chance, i also want to work for Google or Yahoo tongue.gif

I thought you are overseas before the new year??? Can cut hair at South Africa mah.... biggrin.gif

Added on January 20, 2012, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 02:51 PM)
haha.. I don't want to make people shiok too much mah...
Some $30K also have. U want ka? lol.
doh.gif when they see the Project Manager only gets 3k, they no appetite to apply the job already....bila pigi Salawak?

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Jan 20 2012, 02:59 PM
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 03:05 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 20 2012, 03:00 PM)
do you even know how to use the user posted image or user posted image button?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

yes...i definitely missed your point entirely cause u nvr mentioned it at all.
but instead, u kept harping abt u earning 10k, asking ppl to go low and also the idea of discriminating low income earners.
So yea...I definitely did not get your point there.
definite desperate.
if one is able to dive low...that will mean he is most likely not having any commitments.
so if he has no commitments, what desperation is there?
desperation/cannot wait to live life on the highway?
Errr...dont lar....he is orang tua mah....just learn computer and still newbie mah.... tongue.gif teach him lar how to use the function instead....otherwise, when he replies, sometimes, also dont know who he replies also... rclxub.gif haha

Yah...u miss his point earlier, now you see his point, so, learn a new thing lor.....life goes on.....no need to get agitated vmad.gif macam earlier posts. New year mood leh....
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 03:42 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 03:22 PM)
ok la... no harm done la..

I got my stylo milo to reply to people mah..

I just click on the fast reply side and hantam. Coz I also read thro previous post and if I feel like reply, I just copy and paste lor..

hantam many many at one time.. the old man bodoh way.. lol. wink.gif

need to wallop tiger... hilangkan stripes itu.. lol. make him naked tiger. lol
Wa lan er.....if i am a gal, i will complaint you sexual harrasment man..... whistling.gif

but hor...i am not macam Saiful hor....no point to make me naked... laugh.gif unless ada ah moi cantik cantik lar... drool.gif

But, if you mau smash me sampai all the strips falls off...cuba loh.....i already said mau call you sifu to train me into LCW 2 mah.....
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 03:47 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 03:45 PM)
blady tiger. Since u going back to malaysia. ada manyak spa there la... tell me which spa and number is good ya..don't go pounce yourself hor.. lmao... wink.gif
no need go spa lar....later you come back, go geylang lar...more easy, sudah kau tim boleh go makan and minum puas puas.
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 04:29 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 04:22 PM)
tsk tsk.. singapore mahai la... jb cheaper. lol. wink.gif
aduh....RM 200 or SGD 50??? tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 20 2012, 04:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 04:33 PM)
Bro, quality is different bro. rm 200, you got buffet.. sg50 only 10 seconds. lmao... u sure you are a tiger? Give that man a thaigirl.. lol. wink.gif
Haha...here is not sammyboy, so, cannot talk this topic. sign0006.gif

hmm...why not cross the straits to Batam???
Tigerr
post Jan 21 2012, 01:51 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jan 21 2012, 11:19 AM)
Or rather owner is it?

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:20 am

0630 just now, the traffic was jammed! Solid from before SG Checkpoint to JB side...
yesterday, i already kpkb when stuck in the jam before JB custom, then at PLUS highway...reach home almost midnight...stayed almost 7 hours on the road...but, seems today even worst.... biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 31 2012, 08:50 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 30 2012, 11:20 PM)
Just went to a recruiter for interview today, that c*bet say my pay so high already, hard to find another job, this la that la, i got no qualification la. arghh..
really feeling like giving her a slap in the face, she say even diploma holder gets around $1.6-$1.8k only.

anyway, to those that will be going for interview, stay firm on what u are asking for. there is always people that will think u are worth that much.
If you want to uphold the principle that you are worth so much so much, then, good luck to you to find a job that really can pay you well above all others even though you have no qualification. It is not impossible to find such job but it is just the time matters. It could be next week, it could be the next 6 months and until you feel frustrated as good job with good pay is not easy to come by unless economy is booming and every where is employing staffs. So, now it is the time to prove reality vs principle.... biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Jan 31 2012, 09:42 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jan 31 2012, 09:18 AM)
Hi Aloong, number H is for sabahan, but when you renew you passport, they could mistaken and printed it using other alphabet. I have renewed once and both letter is H. My sister did renew recently which she got an A as well, as informed by the officer they made a mistake, and them advice them next time when they renew, they can changed it back, but i think it's still better to ask them change on the spot, reprint it and make sure it is correct.

So i think if you're sabahan, your passport was printed wrongly on the first time and got it corrected now. That's just my thought.
The "H" is for the Sabahan's Passport. Same as the IC starting with H for the old IC. A is for those from Semenanjung. But, new IC, there is no more "H" but for Sabahan, the middle number is 12.

Tigerr
post Jan 31 2012, 10:57 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 31 2012, 10:19 AM)
that is the reality here with "paper".
recommend JB King to study part time for "paper", continuously "professional" development when get a new job again. our plant china/india labour did/doing some part time courses in order to get working permit renew.
Here is Singapore, and sometimes, paper qualification does matters here. Unless we talk about Chinamen company, where if you are good and a hands-on man, they will engage you to "one leg kick" most of the job and still can deprieve you as you have no other qualification to run to other place. Worst is if he has given you an above market salary for the "no qualification" job and it is hard for you to jump unless you go and join to other similar industries where they already know you and your ability.

The road ahead is not impossible but tougher.....

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0268sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:50 PM