5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2011, 01:55 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 27 2011, 10:55 PM)
I cannot understand why BMW in the top list since they consume more petrol. And there is no my fav car Nissan GTR
bmw is in the luxury segment.. not many ppl that buys car in that segment care about petrol consumption..

gtr bersama nissan... doh.gif
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 28 2011, 01:13 AM)
but you are lonely? it's good to communicate with someone especially girls as housemate  rclxm9.gif
he enjoys his gf brows.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2011, 08:11 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 28 2011, 07:00 AM)
But don't you think the resale price of BMW is very low? Many young mllionaires in SIngapore ah..
30% of citizens are millionaires not including their residential properties... = 0.3 x 3.5 mill = 1.17 mill rich enuf to buy

then u have the FT, which 15% are p1... = 0.15 x 1.7 mill = 0.255 which will spend even more probably due to expat package

around 25% of the population are millionaires... 1.425 mill, a lot of buyers lor

when US pump $$$, usually the financial centres receives the most liquidity and this region is doing quite well thus making lots of $$$ for big fat bonuses..

bmw i dunno what's the depreciation... but some ppl dont mind lor
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2011, 11:21 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 28 2011, 08:50 PM)
Have you read Millionaires book by thomas stanley?? If you have read it you know what I mean

Added on December 28, 2011, 9:01 pm@alaskanbunny
you told me you are pursuing PMP.
may I ask you:
From an accountant to Project manager/Business Development manager.
From a big company to a France start up company with a 20% pay rise.
is it good or not for the future?
It seems interesting since the job scope will different and of course the new challenge
for me i would go for it... a good challenge

in singapore?
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 28 2011, 11:06 PM)
France start up company???
You do know that Frace is having economic problems right???
And a start-up???? Statistically most start-ups fail in the first 5 years....let alone with the looming economic crisis and all
nah... my friend started Total's office in msia or was in indo last year and he's being paid fat fat pay... transfered to UK last month

not all industries suffer...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 29 2011, 11:38 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM)
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA? I'm currently doing my CIMA.
i know most ppl are taking pmp because their companies are forcing them to..

no idea, whichever that u think suits you best...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 30 2011, 02:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Dec 30 2011, 12:46 PM)
Does anyone know where to change money in Singapore? Heard they got good rates in Chinatown, but donno where.
this two
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 30 2011, 01:31 PM)
I've never even seen an SGD1k note, lol.
like olden days chinese $$$, very big 1
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Dec 30 2011, 01:40 PM)
anymore know why the SGD-MYR exchange rate is going down these few months from 2.45 to 2.43? any economic degree or expert care to share their insight here?
heard it is the trend always this time of the year

besides that... inflation seems to be cooling off, so they are weakening their $$$ to help manufacturers... low interest rates, weak currency = good for manufacturers
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 31 2011, 01:18 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Dec 30 2011, 11:28 PM)
Does anyone know how much does a fresh accountig graduate earn in Singapore? I grad in Aussie.
I heard its pretty hard for my without pr to look for jobs in sg. And competition pretty high?
I am so stuck in Aussie I really want to give it a try somewhere else besides Malaysia which would be my last resort.
What's the best way to apply for jobs in sg? Thanks heaps!
2.2k - 3.6k

nope... pretty easy... job 1st, pr later

i thought u r not interested in sg
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 30 2011, 11:55 PM)
anyone know any good gym in the west side area ? thanks
community gym at bkt gombak i think... near IBP there's chevron gym...
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 31 2011, 12:13 AM)
discuss some engineering job pls lol ,starting my first job next week , quite nervous and dont know what to expect or prepare
1st thing u should do is belanja me XD then i will bless ur with great prosperity and success onto your future.. the bigger u belanja the better ^^

btw guys, sales still on?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 4 2012, 11:04 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 4 2012, 02:48 PM)
can read more here: http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/investments...ous_metals.html

basically i opened an acc to buy gold (paper though, not physical). gold is a hedge against inflation, so just plan on injection some of my savings there each month.
gold is used for speculation now... i wouldnt use gold to hedge... commodities is no longer a good hedging tool for inflation.. ever since 2008, a lot of funds have been pumped into commodities instead of stocks, push the prices up to unrealistic price

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM)
I'm in for basketball / futsal / badminton / paintball!! haha..am liviing at yew tee mrt area..
wat block whistling.gif

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 4 2012, 10:53 PM)
rather than saving or buy stocks, i prefer buy property..inspired by chessgal
property is a good choice, if you have alot of capital... if not then REITS... but properties in sg looks like it is gonna dip next year... dl the two files attached for more info... complements of my broker XDAttached Image Attached Image Attached File  03Jan12_Prop_Sector.pdf ( 233.73k ) Number of downloads: 22

Attached File  03Jan12_Prop_Sector.pdf ( 233.73k ) Number of downloads: 22

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Jan 4 2012, 11:04 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 6 2012, 08:30 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 5 2012, 02:15 PM)
$30k a month is not the real bosses yet.
keppel CEO brings home $10mils pa
but not sure about the goyang kaki part
haha
is the ceo ex military? hmm.gif
QUOTE(Estella @ Jan 5 2012, 04:27 PM)
m a girl. I know whether accidentally or purposely. Many times happen are purposely. Some men purposely put hands on my body on crowded trains.
picture for us to gauge risk of potential molestation hmm.gif i am an expert notworthy.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 7 2012, 07:31 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 7 2012, 12:12 AM)
I wonder if in Sg got chio girl look like Nana Aftsch, I will really love Sg haha...
However, I see lots of people take Sg as stepping stone only, just stay 5 yrs then go back to malaysia to have families.. Money is not everything??nope??
dunno leh... i just want a simple girl, thats all.. also so hard to find doh.gif can find also no rikes me cry.gif

for me i think i would like it long term here... problem is... how to shift my family... my grandparents is around 80+, my father dont mind, my mum doesnt want to move to sg cause she wants to be near her siblings... my sis i will ask her to eff off to aus..

can 1 income earner support 5 ppl? if i get married with a wife and maybe kids, how to manage expenses? doh.gif

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 07:14 PM)
guys what is nets card ?
I wanna top up my ez card from the ticket machine , and only nets card available ? is it the same as visa debit card ?
electronic payment clearance service... see whether ur bank card have nets or not.. u gotta reload $$$ inside it first by using the atm
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 7 2012, 07:56 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 7 2012, 07:50 PM)
ur grandpa is the responsible of ur parents. ur sis is the responsible of her husband.
ur parents are still young then u don't need to take care them.

simple girl cannot find?? maybe got lots but they are not ur type!! This happens to me, lots simple galz want me but they are not my type. All my dream girls rejected me.
no lor.. when i was young my parents work, we cant afford a maid so it was my grandparents that brought me up.. although they made some big mistakes along the way but i love them more than my parents wub.gif ... my father dont have much $$$, and being his only son, i believe it is my responsibility to take care all of them... my sis whistling.gif , i dont care...

my parents are not young liao lor, late 50s both retired.... no income doh.gif

haih, easiest to look is within the company... but my company, or rather my stupid boss always hire ugly girls doh.gif .. according to him so they can work late and dedicate their life to the company... thats why a lot of spinsters in my company rclxub.gif ... jia lat..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 7 2012, 10:10 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 7 2012, 08:16 PM)
whoa..look girl in audit coy la, kpmg..see them most of them pretty and hardworking.
However, I dun want girls who are money minded..I look kindergarten teacher or someone works in non for profit, pattiesierre or interior designer will be good.
you look on ur company's auditor la.. for me, one office is big NO NO..in my coy 90% are male, 8% already married, 2 % leftover. see u want simple gal but dun want the ugly girl. why don't u just take ugly girls with beautiful heart ma??
why do your parents retire? I see my colleagues' parents, they still work in their 60s ma..
got.. my ex uni mate.. after 1 outing no more from her cry.gif u mean external auditor? they are usually segregated from us.. especially me, cause my work is confidential

my coy is 70% girls, but not my type 1... but ugly girl dont turn me on leh... doh.gif my parents very lazy, they rather stay at home... i go no rights to tell them wat 2 do biggrin.gif my boss 68 lor, still wanna work.. zzz, hope he retires
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jan 7 2012, 08:47 PM)
See....when girls are simple....you said they are ugly pula......like tat, how to find woh, those pretty "la-la mui" definately not simple hor... tongue.gif
got simple girls i am interested, not lala 1... but all attached d
QUOTE(Def @ Jan 7 2012, 09:19 PM)
I understand that. You're such a good son. Every parents would dream to have a son like you.
my mother chase me out of the house after graduation.. i had to travel round the world to find a place to stay and earn a living cry.gif
QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 09:22 PM)
Visa debit card only given to me . Can be used as atm card also .
Oh just realised at the back got the NETS logo as well , but ytd I tried using the card to top up ez card in the mrt ticket machine , but cant =.=
Need to top up or register  the nets card first is it ? sorry abit confuse with this nets card thing
told u already... u have to load your nets account... it is like a prepaid acct, u have to load it first... go to a atm, insert ur debit and there's an option to load your nets acct
QUOTE(Def @ Jan 7 2012, 09:27 PM)
ugly girls & spinsters easy to tackle because they're very desperate.

Let me share my past experience with you. Many years ago I tried to tackle a divorcee. She was damn pretty with superb figure & you know what, she looks a bit like Rosamund Kwan (Hk actress). However she asked me to get lost. Pretty girls eventhough they're divorced, not easy to tackle.
hayor... dont care ugly or spinsters, must have chemistry 1st ma... if tada then wont work..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 7 2012, 11:55 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 10:17 PM)
Oh ic ,thanks boss.

and good luck in finding your dream girl lol
dunnit dreamgirl la... dream girl to dream nia... as long can click can liao... my only one was 7 years back, but because i was poor, couldn't follow to aus, now i will nvr see her again.. cry.gif

nvm la.. sg a lot... rclxms.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 7 2012, 11:18 PM)
eh ... my nets link direct to my current account leh. however much money inside there is how much money i can use for nets
i doubt so... nets got limit of sgd 500 or was it 1k... cause all ppl need to do is tap ur nets and there goes ur $$$... doubt they will ever allow that
QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 7 2012, 11:37 PM)
EZ Link can be topped up with cash at any VAM (Value Add Machine) at any MRT station, bus interchange etc. I usually have no trouble even during morning or evening peak hours. At most wait for a couple of people in queue.
he knows ler... just that his nets tada $$$, can only use cash... VAM can accept cash?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 8 2012, 12:51 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 8 2012, 12:10 AM)
SInce u've mentioned they all retired now, means u are already supporting them. If u can support them now, sure u can support them later lar. Ur salary will keep rising only mah, wont drop. unless u no progress, nothing to say lar.
Looks for girls tats is working and can help support ur family lor.
on second thought, look for rich girl. SInce u dun care about outlook, better still. Look for older/uglier but rich women.
Since materazi says auditor, look for those audit manageress who is still single, available, old and ugly. They work so hard until they turn ugly, but with lots of money, u dun even have to work, if u can satisfy her. SHe will support u and ur family.
yeap... a big % of my income goes to my parents, now they are in msia.. when i shift them over how am i gonna afford then? inflation also rising lor...
for me it is whether i can click with that girl or not.. rich/ugly/fat/stupid... doesnt matter, as long can click
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:11 AM)
1 advice...
If you past 28 and still single, the chances to find a good looking girl is only about 10% bcos almost all girls will already have a bf.
Unless you:-
1) spannar the girl
2) chase those PRC girls (there are many good (pretty, simple and kind heartered) PRC girls if you dont mind)
This is my usual advice to my company's colleagues as well.
The good time to find a gf is around 22-28 years usually.
i agree, about to pass that already... even friends getting married already... regret now i didnt mingle as much as i want to when i was in uni...
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 8 2012, 12:18 AM)
nets also got pin number mah. no difference from losing your atm card then people go withdraw money from your atm (if they have your pin).

mine is this one i think
yea... need pin, eh... bo leh, the nets can use on bus and mrt right?
QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 8 2012, 12:20 AM)
i dun think so.
Wen u are 22, u will only go for girls from 18-24.
Wen u are 28, u will got for girls from 18-30.
Wen u are 40, u will go for girls from 18-42.
U actually have more choices as u grow older. 
For women, the choices gets lesser

PRC=kind hearted?? I cannot digest this..
that's only applicable if u r rich... i am broke, with no $$$, fat and ugly.. now balding too cry.gif i think i can go MBS
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 8 2012, 12:25 AM)
why? most men's life begin at his 40s. Money speak louder than ages.

Added on January 8, 2012, 12:27 am
mine also, last time she pursued study at ANU.
no $$$, how? ... oh ya, i heard last time there's cupid cub.. any free ones around?
QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Jan 8 2012, 12:32 AM)
hey guys...i tot there's gathering for some sports activities?no more news d?lols.....come on lets make some gathering...
usually food/drinking competition got la tongue.gif
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:32 AM)
I have seen many PRC girls recently or along my assignment and project previously.

1) They are quite good looking
2) More willing to help you
3) Polite and humble
4) Mostly unattached aged around 22-27
5) Some can command average or slightly above average of English

Apparently, you can find many of them if you work out of the city areas like West area, or Northern SG.

Or you can easily meet anyone of them in some English classes too.

I have met a Kindergarden PRC teacher since last year... now wanted to intro to one of my fren who is still single.
hard to brain this... i think they will change after marriage
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 8 2012, 12:34 AM)
So you wan a GF with supermodel looks and brains with big boobs? whistling.gif
I'm just contented with a average looking girl, not too pretty, not too ugly....not so much competition... rolleyes.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 12:34 am
Sure boh? I heard horror stories about PRC girls...
i didnt say that... i say as long can click...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 8 2012, 01:19 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 8 2012, 12:54 AM)
ezlink =/= nets
is it? my debit can use for mrt n bus wor..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 8 2012, 01:31 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 8 2012, 01:20 AM)
does it implies that those can work very late and dedicate their life to the company are spinsters? u don't scare me leh. cry.gif
it is not definite but generally it stands true... either you dedicate your life to your love ones or yourself... not to a goddamn company

company is just a partnership between you and a legal entity... for u to help be a part to generate profit... and not generate profit at your expense...

any company that overworks their staffs arent worth it... they forgot to take care of one of the most important stakeholders... their employee

i dunno la.. 2 of my lawyers, directors at the biggest lawfirm in singapore told me stories.. about single lady lawyers, going crazy.. when they spend their 30th birthday in the office alone and get to drive back to their condo in their bmw to nobody.. that's sad

$$$ can slowly make, career ends at 60+, but your life doesnt end there and you youth cannot be purchase back

cry.gif i are the sads... happy new year doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 8 2012, 11:44 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 8 2012, 01:33 AM)
shakehead.gif  futsal? i cannot join then.....pom pom girl perhaps?  biggrin.gif  jkjk.

Added on January 8, 2012, 1:35 am
endure for few more pages...

Added on January 8, 2012, 1:45 am
sweat.gif don't despair too much...there is always light at the end of the tunnel...all the best to u! happy new year ^^
u can join us for the makan session laugh.gif hehehe, it is all part of working in sg.. icon_rolleyes.gif happy new year to you too rclxms.gif
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 8 2012, 02:59 AM)

go home to your family

Added on January 8, 2012, 3:08 am
drool.gif yah leave the rich and pretty one to me 
why u post that vid.. cry.gif i rmb the days when i was so sad in a foreign country missing CNY
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 8 2012, 06:39 AM)
Eh ... the thread getting super derailed already, talking about sports, JAV and love, must control a bit otherwise later we all kena asked to go to /k/ again.
part of working in sg? hmm.gif
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 8 2012, 07:09 AM)
my credit card also can do the same smile.gif
ur credit card can? is it connected to ur cc acct?
QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 8 2012, 10:45 AM)
then dun shift them over lor. does all of them wana shift in the first place? if they willing to shift then u buy a palace in JB and work in SG. learn from JB King.....
my grandparents yea.. but medical cost might go up for them.. my father encourage it.. my mum is reluctant

dont think they would want JB lor...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 10 2012, 08:43 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i am off 19th till 1st... kakaka, wanted to take till 8th but no point la ^^
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 10 2012, 11:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 10 2012, 09:35 PM)
it's good if it's not force leave, else same as no pay leave .
for 2 weeks off, gotta take 5 days annual leave... not too bad laugh.gif

or take 9 days annual leave for 3 weeks off rclxub.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 12 2012, 12:10 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jan 11 2012, 11:34 PM)
It depends on the industry you're in.

In IT industry, if you refer to the list that i sent earlier

4 to 5k is for junior level
6 to 8k is for senior/manager/AVP level
9k and above is from VP/SVP/MD up to CEO level (higher executive level)

I'm not sure whether this applicable to IT developer, but you can use it as reference.

I agree contract worker should be compensated with more money, but from the employer's perspective, they have their budget and internal pay-scale reference points. If SGD4700 is the agreed deal, i think is not wise to go back to them and ask for more.

But if the negotiation is still on, you can try to ask for another 10%.

If they dont accept, also no need to be sad because the offer is not that bad. If you try to benchmark your annual income:

(based on salary.sg http://www.salary.sg/2010/compare-your-annual-income-2010/])
Your annual income of $61,100 (SGD 4700 x 13 months)
is higher than 58.3% of all resident taxpayers.

how u know the percentile ar?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 12 2012, 10:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

guys... is billy bombers good?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0526sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:33 PM