127 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2012, 05:33 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 20 2012, 05:07 PM)
Just curious. Is the IT Industry in Sg slowing down? I submitted my resume to monster.com.sg. Seems that I am only getting calls on Malaysian Jobs but not Singapore Jobs. Just curious only. Because normally I should get calls pertaining to Singapore Job since my resume is in monster.com.sg rather then in monster.com.my. I am a software developer by the way. Not that the opportunities in Malaysia are bad. I believe that the opportunities in Malaysia are just as good or even better then Singapore. Just that I have lost confidence in the economy here.
Well, a lot of recruitment agencies in Singapore have clients in m'sia too. laugh.gif laugh.gif
I guess this is what they call regional HQ.
I received calls coming from Singapore asking if I am interested in a job in M'sia before even with a title stating looking for job in Singapore. sweat.gif sweat.gif
seantang
post Jan 20 2012, 05:36 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
Bro, I've been in Sg for 20 years lah. Kids also growing up. You think the kids or me will have more opportunities in Malaysia? I am working with more than $10Ksgd income here. Which freaking company in Malaysia will hire me? I am even paid better than Jibby. lol.
My comment to you wasn't regarding why you came to SG (ie. SG vs MY). It was about why one would take up citizenship instead of continuing with PR.

As for who would hire you in Malaysia?... if you're asking for S$10K/RM25K... admittedly not as many as SG. But if you're talking about a 1:1 comparison ie. RM10K, or even RM12-13K for that matter - it's not much of an issue in KL although the number of such opportunities would be less compared to SG.

Ah Jib Kor's salary is less than 1% of his income.

QUOTE(extremepower)
BTW, there's a loop hole in HDB where if your employer is good enuf to lower the salary less than $10K, you will be eligible for HDB-BTO. 12K below is for EC and DBSS.
It's not a loop hole. It's still balloted and the prices of new BTOs are considerably more than the $300K you mentioned, thereby turning inside out the $200K tipping point profit you mentioned when you sell your existing HDB at $500K.

QUOTE(extremepower)
What is your thought like? How many years you have been working in Sg? Can you share your concerns? It is good for readers to judge for themselves to see which country is greener for them. wink.gif
Like I said, I'm talking about citizenship vs PR, not SG vs MY. The fact that I've been here since 2005 means that I believe SG offers me a greener pasture. I just still weighing those benefits of citizenship which are above remaining a PR. At this stage, due to the fact I'm not eligible for any grants, subsidies or concessions of any kind - citizenship is not very appealing to me as I will have to give up my Malaysian citizenship and make the management & continued accumulation of assets in Malaysia wayyyy to troublesome.
extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 05:53 PM

545 posts

Bro,
I understand.
I am already a PMET here. Old man jor.. After all the calculations and money mindedness and safety. I think sg offers me better. You will face the same eventually. Kids is also a primary factor to shift.

The 500K is only and indication. yes, hdb 5room is 300++, my place is also 500++ ma.. sama sama lor... Also I also can get grant, that will help lor. Also I can get cheaper maintenance and also ang pow (legal bribery) from garmen mah. So all these will add up eventually. Faham ka? Did you know that sg people gots all macam angpows? 1 year can be more than 10K ok? Also get business lubang from coaching ma.. manyak manyak lubang ma.. lol.

FYI, being a PR, if you own a house and u suay suay stay at the old location for upgrading. You will have to pay 10 freakin times compared to a local citizen ok? For example lift upgrading. Local pays 3k, PR pays a freakin 30k. The higher you stay, the more you pay. Good luck kawan. You owe me a good bakuteh... wink.gif

Oh, this citizenship is also good for a revenge at Marlboro Tan. wink.gif

Can you check Yishun latest BTO prices? Acacia one.

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 20 2012, 05:56 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 20 2012, 09:33 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 20 2012, 02:49 PM)
Wah ... that's like way underpaid lor. PM's in my company are in the $10-$15k range.

Any recommendation for not-too-expensive hairdresser in east-ish area? lol, need to cut hair before CNY doh.gif
PM in banks are diff ler... diff ind are diff... same title nia hmm.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 20 2012, 03:08 PM)
Yeah. Similar to how my company in the Ops sections, Fresh Grad with Degree is automatically given "Assistant Manager" title doh.gif
banks lor... those selling credit card without qualification also can become manager doh.gif
seantang
post Jan 20 2012, 10:20 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 05:53 PM)
Bro,
I understand.
I am already a PMET here. Old man jor.. After all the calculations and money mindedness and safety. I think sg offers me better.  You will face the same eventually. Kids is also a primary factor to shift.
I'm not a spring chicken myself.

QUOTE(extremepower)
The 500K is only and indication. yes, hdb 5room is 300++, my place is also 500++ ma.. sama sama lor... Also I also can get grant, that will help lor. Also I can get cheaper maintenance and also ang pow (legal bribery) from garmen mah. So all these will add up eventually. Faham ka? Did you know that sg people gots all macam angpows? 1 year can be more than 10K ok? Also get business lubang from coaching ma.. manyak manyak lubang ma.. lol]
Since you earn 10K, you must be above the eligibility threshold for most of the angpows, no? Even the GST offset package or the Grow & Share package, childcare subsidies, you qualify onky for the bare minimum. Less if the missus works too. It'll hardly amount to 10K a year.

If you want to talk lobangs... Malaysia has much more than Singapore lah.

QUOTE(extremepower)
FYI, being a PR, if you own a house and u suay suay stay at the old location for upgrading. You will have to pay 10 freakin times compared to a local citizen ok? For example lift upgrading. Local pays 3k, PR pays a freakin 30k. The higher you stay, the more you pay. Good luck kawan. You owe me a good bakuteh... wink.gif
27K difference? Not much to be honest. A year's bonus or a year's stock options or less actually... hardly enough to figure much in the decision to give up citizen's right to invest in or diversify into Malaysia.

The point is that SG has one of the most favourable investment and entitlement regimes for PRs/foreigners vis-a-vis citizens, AND by definition one of the most unfavourable environments for citizens vis-a-vis foreigners. And the more income you earn, the truer it becomes. So unless you see yourself in the HDB brigade for the rest of your time in Singapore - I still don't see the financial benefits of going from PR to citizen.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 20 2012, 10:31 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 20 2012, 10:37 PM

1,569 posts

As accountant you can manipulate money on Fixed Assets..
true ma? just capitalise it on all FAs then depreciate it year by year, the amount will be small to be noticed by auditors ma.
extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 10:37 PM

545 posts

Ok. I think you are pretty well off person already. Rich people no need to convert lor. I also wonder why you come. lol. I am only a ball picker ma...

I believe you still have attachments like parents, inlaws and siblings?

What kind of lubang? So many other lubangs. Get the kangen lubang mau ka? U orang kaya can easily afford la... Don't be too greedy la.. Live moderately and keep it simple... stupid. Blame it on Citibank CIO. lol

There are some secret numbers which I cannot divulge lah... 27K is small? OMG. Then after profiting 200K and then 10 years later, the new flat goes up to another sgd$600K. I can goyang kaki kangkang lo... lol wink.gif So, 200k + 300K = sgd$500K. So, better do it quick before inflation gets into you.

If you happy now, just keep your citizenship lor. I am not forcing anyone. Just a humble opinion only ma... wink.gif

Anyway, you like they way Jibby treat you? wink.gif

Psst.. I can go to Sarawak or Australia anytime. So, it is a matter of pressing the eject button. Primary concern is still safety and health for me. What's your priority? You understand Maslow Hierarchy of needs rite? Am in Self Actualization mode. Goyang here and there jor... wink.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 20 2012, 10:41 PM
Mackiddo
post Jan 21 2012, 12:26 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 20 2012, 09:33 PM)
banks lor... those selling credit card without qualification also can become manager  doh.gif
wow so good. me work 10years+ title still same, petrol kiosk pump attendance .
seantang
post Jan 21 2012, 12:31 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 10:37 PM)
I also wonder why you come. lol.
I'm a salary earner like most people here and I like the salary in Sg. Especially after exchange rate conversion. That's why I come. I've also been doing this long enough to know that you plan your migration to another country with your future income and living situation in mind. Not plan based on your current circumstances which you will outgrow in due time. In this case, plan with the condo or landed property in mind. HDB is not the end of things.

QUOTE(extremepower)
What kind of lubang? So many other lubangs. Get the kangen lubang mau ka?
I don't know. What lobangs did you have in mind? You're the one hinting about lobangs all over this thread like a super-connected MCKK datuk. What I'm saying is that whatever lobang it is, it's bigger and better in Malaysia aka cowboy and ketuanan town.

QUOTE(extremepower)
There are some secret numbers which I cannot divulge lah...
Of course *shrug*

QUOTE(extremepower)
27K is small? OMG.
In the overall scheme of once in a lifetime decisions, yeah. As you earn 10K+ salary, 27K is chup change, no?

QUOTE(extremepower)
Then after profiting 200K and then 10 years later, the new flat goes up to another sgd$600K. I can goyang kaki kangkang lo... lol wink.gif So, 200k + 300K = sgd$500K. So,  better do it quick before inflation gets into you.
I think capital appreciation doesn't discriminate between citizens and PRs.

QUOTE(extremepower)
Anyway, you like they way Jibby treat you? wink.gif
Nope. That's part of the reason why I'm here in Sg.

QUOTE(extremepower)
Psst.. I can go to Sarawak or Australia anytime. So, it is a matter of pressing the eject button. Primary concern is still safety and health for me. What's your priority? You understand Maslow Hierarchy of needs rite? Am in Self Actualization mode. Goyang here and there jor... wink.gif
Congrats! Your ample safety net is irrelevant to our discussion, but Congrats!

What's my priority? Safety, health, money... Same as everyone else. But I fail to see how a SG PR will have less safety and health than a citizen.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 21 2012, 01:18 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 21 2012, 01:25 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2012, 12:31 AM)
I'm a salary earner like most people here and I like the salary in Sg. Especially after exchange rate conversion. That's why I come. I've also been doing this long enough to know that you plan your migration to another country with your future income and living situation in mind. Not plan based on your current circumstances which you will outgrow in due time. In this case, plan with the condo or landed property in mind. HDB is not the end of things.

Of course *shrug*

I think capital appreciation doesn't discriminate between citizens and PRs.

Congrats! Your ample safety net is irrelevant to our discussion, but Congrats!

What's my priority? Safety, health, money... Same as everyone  else. But I fail to see how a SG PR will have less safety and health than a citizen.
Seantang, do you want to plan to open the business? The salary man is always salary man, he/she has limited income. If you start your business, the sky is the limit!!

Btw, you miss one underrated word called 'LOVE'.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 21 2012, 01:26 AM
wlcling
post Jan 21 2012, 01:25 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

wah why suddenly got hot debate of sg vs msian citizenship.... I guess there's no correct answer to such questions... just see what suits your plans...smile.gif

anyway just saw hdb website say that for citizen to buy new hdb must not have disposed of any private property within 30 months of date of application... waddafuqqq!!! any idea when such rule in place.... Iinitially it was need to dispose of pvt property within 6 months once application of new flat approved ma!!!
Mackiddo
post Jan 21 2012, 02:42 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

it's time ! almost 3am, traffic clear, going home smile.gif
senyii
post Jan 21 2012, 03:00 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 21 2012, 02:42 AM)
it's time ! almost 3am, traffic clear, going home  smile.gif
Good..time for me to zzz..u guys wan to meet up in kl??
L7Awesome
post Jan 21 2012, 11:19 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 21 2012, 12:26 AM)
wow so good. me work 10years+ title still same, petrol kiosk pump attendance .
Or rather owner is it?

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:20 am
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 21 2012, 02:42 AM)
it's time ! almost 3am, traffic clear, going home  smile.gif
0630 just now, the traffic was jammed! Solid from before SG Checkpoint to JB side...

This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Jan 21 2012, 11:20 AM
Tigerr
post Jan 21 2012, 01:51 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jan 21 2012, 11:19 AM)
Or rather owner is it?

Added on January 21, 2012, 11:20 am

0630 just now, the traffic was jammed! Solid from before SG Checkpoint to JB side...
yesterday, i already kpkb when stuck in the jam before JB custom, then at PLUS highway...reach home almost midnight...stayed almost 7 hours on the road...but, seems today even worst.... biggrin.gif
Mackiddo
post Jan 21 2012, 03:57 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

now, where to get fire crackers in KL ?

Added on January 21, 2012, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(senyii @ Jan 21 2012, 03:00 AM)
Good..time for me to zzz..u guys wan to meet up in kl??
in KL ? not a change chance. i not familiar with KL road actually.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 21 2012, 06:49 PM
senyii
post Jan 21 2012, 06:04 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 21 2012, 03:57 PM)
now, where to get fire crackers in KL ?

Added on January 21, 2012, 5:42 pm
in KL ? not a change. i not familiar with KL road actually.
Haha...of cos la u work in Sg ma..
megadisc
post Jan 21 2012, 10:48 PM

4,349 posts

happy new year everybod
already get letter from IRB

aahahha
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 22 2012, 11:23 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Happy new year to all you Singaporean citizens, permanent residents and employees smile.gif May the new year bring fortune and a good life tongue.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 22 2012, 12:37 PM

+J
2,110 posts

thumbup.gif

happy chinese new year rclxms.gif

127 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:41 AM