127 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 06:08 PM

545 posts

As an advice. Dun simply quit your job and come to sg if you are still working in msia. Unless you are loaded kaki.

Always good to get at least a diploma or degree ready before you move. Else, every tom, d*** and harry (lenglui, batang and bulu) also can do it. Singapore will be flooded or drowned with Malaysian with badminton skills. lol. wink.gif

If you desparate and already quit, just apply for any low pay job first, then slowly move up from there. Must have confusius strategy ma... wink.gif

Happy Chinese New Year for all ya. Hope you all fatt fatt. In case I dun have time to come back. wink.gif

You can fb me for personal advice. I charge one cendol only. wink.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 06:09 PM
Celest-Lee
post Jan 17 2012, 06:12 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 17 2012, 05:52 PM)
If the company wants you, they will appeal or apply another type of pass for u.
So in the end, this is still out of your control so worrying about it won't help.
Just follow the flow (i know, easier said than done  laugh.gif  laugh.gif )
Personally, I think you should continue on with your job and continue applying.
Unless you have some sort of deadline to get here, i won't recommend quiting and jumping over.
It definitely helps in getting a job if you stay in Sg, but what if it takes a bit longer than expected.
The cost will burn a hole in your pocket when you have no income.
i think rexona meant - probably in 10 years time, you will be married and have 2 kids.
when would be a better time to start studying part time (now or the 10 years later scenario).
maybe no need for degree or diploma.
how abt specialized skills or professional certifications?
they should be in shorter terms.
I suppose those will help if you do not want the diploma / degree.
I understand his advise. My last sentence is hint. I'm not single! I'm a single mother! I can't stop work for study. Understand? Ohmy.. I don't like to say this in public.
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 06:22 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 06:12 PM)
I understand his advise. My last sentence is hint. I'm not single! I'm a single mother! I can't stop work for study. Understand? Ohmy.. I don't like to say this in public.
Oh...I did not got your hidden meaning earlier....my apologies. blush.gif blush.gif
But I meant the professional certifications...those are mostly part time (I dun think there are ppl who resign from their job to study those paper sweat.gif sweat.gif )
You can choose those which are more flexible for your time (probably just 1 or 2 nites on weekdays for 3 months?).
I understand the kid comes first. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Celest-Lee
post Jan 17 2012, 06:58 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 17 2012, 06:22 PM)
Oh...I did not got your hidden meaning earlier....my apologies.  blush.gif  blush.gif
But I meant the professional certifications...those are mostly part time (I dun think there are ppl who resign from their job to study those paper  sweat.gif  sweat.gif )
You can choose those which are more flexible for your time (probably just 1 or 2 nites on weekdays for 3 months?).
I understand the kid comes first.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thought of it before. Maybe after I got my job first. Need cash payment few k le. If I'm not wrong. Correct me if it's wrong
zeropulse
post Jan 17 2012, 07:34 PM

238 posts

Personally, I think you should continue on with your job and continue applying.
Unless you have some sort of deadline to get here, i won't recommend quiting and jumping over.
It definitely helps in getting a job if you stay in Sg, but what if it takes a bit longer than expected.
The cost will burn a hole in your pocket when you have no income.

That's true. I have applied a lot of companies. seems like no answer. been almost 2 months already
roci
post Jan 17 2012, 07:37 PM

113 posts

guys, need help.. do i have to pay for CPF? or i need to apply to cut my salary for CPF? one more thing abt the tax.. i know i have to pay tax.. but we have to make our cut personally to IRAS or the HR will take care of that one?

i have so much question coz i have to do some costing before accepting the offer. the living expenses in SG after i study is quite high compare malaysia especially on renting a room. daymm. they ask me to start in March. rclxub.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jan 17 2012, 07:46 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 07:37 PM)
guys, need help.. do i have to pay for CPF? or i need to apply to cut my salary for CPF? one more thing abt the tax.. i know i have to pay tax.. but we have to make our cut personally to IRAS or the HR will take care of that one?

CPF only for PR and SC (Singapore Citizens).

Tax-wise there is no auto deduction like Malaysia's PCB. You get ALL your salary every month. Next year April you have to file, calculate and pay the entire year's tax, either in lump sum or in installments.
roci
post Jan 17 2012, 07:54 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 17 2012, 07:46 PM)
CPF only for PR and SC (Singapore Citizens).

Tax-wise there is no auto deduction like Malaysia's PCB. You get ALL your salary every month. Next year April you have to file, calculate and pay the entire year's tax, either in lump sum or in installments.
Thank you replying deo.. So CPF only i need to pay if i apply for PR? then only they will cut my salary into CPF rite?

Tax.. so during 2012 this year.. i no need to pay anything? i get the full payment over this year.. but next year april i have to pay the tax based on which year? 2012 or 2013?

ohh btw.. if i apply for PR what benefits that i get? hmm.gif

like ur smell deo!

ky_khor
post Jan 17 2012, 07:56 PM

No.22
894 posts

What's with the badminton thing? I've never seen any proper badminton hall in Singspore thus far. Where to play? Alley below hdb?
TSdeodorant
post Jan 17 2012, 08:29 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 07:54 PM)
Thank you replying deo..  So CPF only i need to pay if i apply for PR? then only they will cut my salary into CPF rite?

Correct.

Tax.. so during 2012 this year.. i no need to pay anything? i get the full payment over this year.. but next year april i have to pay the tax based on which year? 2012 or 2013?

Previous year. So in April 2013 you're paying the tax due for the entire year of 2012.

ohh btw.. if i apply for PR what benefits that i get?  hmm.gif 

can buy resale hdb flat
can quit your job like a boss and no need to leave the country.
senyii
post Jan 17 2012, 08:51 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 07:37 PM)

i have so much question coz i have to do some costing before accepting the offer. the living expenses in SG after i study is quite high compare malaysia especially on renting a room. daymm. they ask me to start in March.  rclxub.gif
They ask me start march too..

Added on January 17, 2012, 8:52 pmThen is it better to get a PR?the cpf need wait till retire oli get?wut if before retire I wish to go back Msia?then all my cash stuck inside?

This post has been edited by senyii: Jan 17 2012, 08:52 PM
heavenhell
post Jan 17 2012, 08:54 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 17 2012, 08:29 PM)

Previous year. So in April 2013 you're paying the tax due for the entire year of 2012.

Thanks for this info , I also first time working so not too sure about tax . Always thought will auto deduct from salary =.=
Anyway after 1 year working , will have to calculate ourself how much tax we are supposed to pay ? or just submit a form and they will let you know the amount ?
extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 09:25 PM

545 posts

Allo kawan, in case you still blur, you can work your way backwards to see if you got good cash available. If have, belanja me hor...
Suggestions only ya..

Food, 1 day 10sgd?
Rental 500sgd?
Transport 5sgd a day?
Balik kampung utang parents 500 sgd? u fillial ka? lol.

Gucci bag 1000 sgd?
iphone 1000sgd?
Party 1000sgd?
Buy me makan 2000sgd?

Woi sg got better halls la.. The secondarys schools are now open for booking. The one I use is rubber court. More bersih lor...

Other good sites.
www.ica.gov.sg
www.cpf.gov.sg
www.iras.gov.sg
www.hdb.gov.sg (once you got this, your life is complete. Can rent out room to off load the burden).

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 09:31 PM
Debuantu
post Jan 17 2012, 09:31 PM

79 posts

If the company wants you, they will appeal or apply another type of pass for u.
So in the end, this is still out of your control so worrying about it won't help.
Just follow the flow (i know, easier said than done  laugh.gif  laugh.gif )
Oh and, how long does it usually take to get the approval from MOM?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jan 17 2012, 09:36 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Jan 17 2012, 08:51 PM)
They ask me start march too..

Added on January 17, 2012, 8:52 pmThen is it better to get a PR?the cpf need wait till retire oli get?wut if before retire I wish to go back Msia?then all my cash stuck inside?
You can surrender your SPR and withdraw your outstanding CPF balances in full.
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 09:37 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 06:58 PM)
Thought of it before. Maybe after I got my job first. Need cash payment few k le. If I'm not wrong. Correct me if it's wrong

No need to rush for the certifications.
Job comes first as you need the money.
Then only you decide to study when you think you can balance work, study and life together.

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Jan 17 2012, 07:34 PM)
That's true. I have applied a lot of companies. seems like no answer. been almost 2 months already

2 months only?
Be patient.
There is no short cut.
http://www.todayonline.com/Sunday/Faceinth...-100-interviews

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 17 2012, 07:56 PM)
What's with the badminton thing? I've never seen any proper badminton hall in Singspore thus far. Where to play? Alley below hdb?

Badminton courts are mostly indoors.
Try the sports hall and CCs.
Schools also have great courts.

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jan 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
Oh and, how long does it usually take to get the approval from MOM?

If you are lucky...within the day.

TSdeodorant
post Jan 17 2012, 09:41 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jan 17 2012, 09:36 PM)

Sure or not?

http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm

You can withdraw your CPF ...
I) If you are a West Malaysian residing in West Malaysia,
You may withdraw your CPF in full if you satisfy all the following conditions:

1. You do not hold a valid Singapore Work Permit/Employment Pass or have renounced your Singapore Permanent Residency; and
2. You are:
  a)  55 years old or above, or
  b)  below 55 years old but above 50 and have not worked in Singapore in the two years before your application, or
  c)  physically or mentally incapacitated from ever continuing in any employment or found to be of unsound mind.

Need to be 50 and above or OKU then only can withdraw ler.
senyii
post Jan 17 2012, 09:42 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jan 17 2012, 09:36 PM)
Ic...wut is SPR?wut is the requirement to apply PR?nd to work 2yr b4apply?
tgrrr
post Jan 17 2012, 09:50 PM

939 posts

Some question regarding accommodations,

1. What's the average rate for renting a WHOLE unit of a HDB flat?
I seem to see fewer such ads, though admittedly I got dizzy flipping through ads after 5 minutes, but I'd expect to see at least a few. Is it not a popular option e.g. low demand or limited supply or are there other reasons?
I'm curious because I am considering moving there (or elsewhere), but I dislike sharing i.e. just renting of 1 room and sharing with others.

2. Related question, how are the areas distributed according to command of rental price e.g. where are the expensive ones, cheaper ones, and those that are in-between? Because I see some ads that says 600+ sqft apartments renting @ 6k+, but some 1200+ sqft aprt renting @ 4.5k+. Any quick guide?

Sorry, been 10 years since I visited Singapore, so have totally no idea about all this. Replies will be much appreciated smile.gif
Debuantu
post Jan 17 2012, 09:51 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 17 2012, 09:37 PM)
If you are lucky...within the day.
Wah, good good. I thought I need to wait for 1-2 weeks.

127 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:28 AM