water heater, price and quality

pizzaboy
post Aug 24 2024, 08:46 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Aug 18 2024, 10:23 PM)
Currently there are 2 types of storage water heater tank technology,

a. Enamel-coated technology - newer technology, better leak resistance, and cheaper. CENTON (example here - Shopee / Lazada) and ALPHA (example here - Shopee / Lazada) is using this technology.

b. Stainless-steel technology - old technology, more prone to leaking, and more expensive. JOVEN (example here - Shopee / Lazada) is using this technology.
I suggest u to go for CENTON. By far the best-selling and highest 5-star rated storage water heaters on Shopee, and cheapest amongst these 3 brands too.
Hey thanks for your input. I was about to get the Joven but I'll take a look into the Centon.

A question.

Typically our use case is, just my wife and I live here. We've 3 bathrooms + 1 powder room. The idea is when my parents come to visit Malaysia, they can stay with us so we added extra bathrooms.

We're unlikely to ever all have to use the bathrooms at the same time.

The initial plan was to use two 70L tanks, but it seems a single 90L tank might also do the job.

A penny for your thoughts perhaps?

YoungMan
post Aug 24 2024, 11:10 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 24 2024, 08:46 AM)
Hey thanks for your input. I was about to get the Joven but I'll take a look into the Centon.

A question.

Typically our use case is, just my wife and I live here. We've 3 bathrooms + 1 powder room. The idea is when my parents come to visit Malaysia, they can stay with us so we added extra bathrooms.

The initial plan was to use two 70L tanks, but it seems a single 90L tank might also do the job.

A single 90L tank suffice even with guest/parents simultaneously using the 3 bathrooms. But since you rarely use all 3 bathrooms, can also consider fitting a standard tankless water heater to save energy.
pizzaboy
post Aug 24 2024, 01:44 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Aug 24 2024, 11:10 AM)
A single 90L tank suffice even with guest/parents simultaneously using the 3 bathrooms. But since you rarely use all 3 bathrooms, can also consider fitting a standard tankless water heater to save energy.
Alright, good to know. 90L will do then. I don't think I can use the tankless water heater as we're using rain showers for all the baths. They probably don't sell it for that purpose.
Selene Yeo
post Aug 24 2024, 02:15 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 24 2024, 08:46 AM)

A question.

Few points to consider when choosing between getting a storage water heater for each bathroom, or just getting 1 to share between few bathrooms:

1. Heat Loss - The further the hot water are required to travel (aka bathrooms that are further apart from the storage water heaters), the more heat loss since hot water has to travel further.

2. Waiting Time - The further the hot water are required to travel (aka bathrooms that are further apart from the storage water heaters), users will take a longer time to get the hot water after turning on the mixer.

3. Under-utilized Hot Water - Getting only 1 x 90L to share between few bathrooms while not fully utilizing the hot water is generally not efficient, since u mentioned that the extra bathrooms won't be utilized most of the time. The more efficient way is to install 1 for each bathroom with a smaller capacity storage water heater, and only turn on the storage water heater at the extra bathroom only when it is required.

4. Servicing Down Time - After a span of time, if u have multiple storage water heaters and 1 storage water heaters goes down (out of service), at least u still can use others. If u only have 1 for the whole house, and that one goes out of service, u will not have hot water to shower until it is fixed.

My suggestion is to get 1 storage water heater for each bathroom (unless they are right next to each other), and get an instant water heater for that extra bathroom that is not in used most of the time.

pizzaboy
post Aug 24 2024, 02:39 PM

9,495 posts

All our bathrooms are within this single frame, within section 6-7 so I think it'll be pretty ok.

But the hot water, also connects to our dishwashers in the kitchen, washing machine, and kitchen sink which is section 10-11. Based on what you're saying, it seems we would be better served by having multiple smaller ones.

If that's the case, we're thinking of a 70L tank

- master
- powder room
- doggie shower room.
- jacuzzi

50L tank

- guest bathrooms x 2 [to turn on only when guests are around]

30L tank

- dishwashers
- sink
- washing machine

Would this be a pretty solid setup? The 3rd point mentioned which was under-utilised hot water. Do you mean overcapacity?

What disadvantages would that have?

EDIT: Also, are we supposed to turn off the heater for the main room? I typically have never turned off the heater, but some people say I should, some say no need. But most of my heaters have lasted over 10 years.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Aug 24 2024, 04:57 PM
Selene Yeo
post Aug 24 2024, 07:02 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 24 2024, 02:39 PM)

All our bathrooms are within this single frame, within section 6-7 so I think it'll be pretty ok.

But the hot water, also connects to our dishwashers in the kitchen, washing machine, and kitchen sink which is section 10-11. Based on what you're saying, it seems we would be better served by having multiple smaller ones.

If that's the case, we're thinking of a 70L tank

- master
- powder room
- doggie shower room.
- jacuzzi

50L tank

- guest bathrooms x 2 [to turn on only when guests are around]

30L tank

- dishwashers
- sink
- washing machine

Would this be a pretty solid setup?
For master / powder room / doggie shower room / jacuzzi, suggest u to go for 90L, since there's a jacuzzi involved.

The 3rd point mentioned which was under-utilised hot water. Do you mean overcapacity?

What disadvantages would that have?
Underutilized means on an daily basis, maybe at most u will only be using 50L of hot water, but u are boiling 90L of hot water. So u are not fully utilizing the remaining 40L of hot water.

Disadvantage is you are wasting electricity, but not significant if u are constantly using the hot water in the tank daily.

Also, are we supposed to turn off the heater for the main room? I typically have never turned off the heater, but some people say I should, some say no need. But most of my heaters have lasted over 10 years.
IMHO, no issue if u do not want to turn it off if u are using it on a daily basis. If the switch is kept turned on, the thermostat in the storage water heater turns on and off to keep the hot water in the tank (usually at bout 70 to 80°C, depending on brands), but temperature doesn't drop much due to the insulation around the tank to keep the heat in. If u turn off the switch, this thermostat turning on / off to keep the temperature constant won't happen, n u will save more energy at that point of time, but when u turn it on again on the same day, u have to wait for the water to boil again and require the close to the same amount of energy to boil it up. So the energy saving u'll get for turning off the switch is insignificant (again, if u use it on a daily basis), with the downside of having to wait for the water to boil up again.

But do turn it off if you won't be using it for a period of time, eg. the one in your guest room, or if u are away for a holiday.

pizzaboy
post Aug 25 2024, 01:11 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Aug 24 2024, 07:02 PM)
For master / powder room / doggie shower room / jacuzzi, suggest u to go for 90L, since there's a jacuzzi involved.
Underutilized means on an daily basis, maybe at most u will only be using 50L of hot water, but u are boiling 90L of hot water. So u are not fully utilizing the remaining 40L of hot water.

Disadvantage is you are wasting electricity, but not significant if u are constantly using the hot water in the tank daily.
IMHO, no issue if u do not want to turn it off if u are using it on a daily basis. If the switch is kept turned on, the thermostat in the storage water heater turns on and off to keep the hot water in the tank (usually at bout 70 to 80°C, depending on brands), but temperature doesn't drop much due to the insulation around the tank to keep the heat in. If u turn off the switch, this thermostat turning on / off to keep the temperature constant won't happen, n u will save more energy at that point of time, but when u turn it on again on the same day, u have to wait for the water to boil again and require the close to the same amount of energy to boil it up. So the energy saving u'll get for turning off the switch is insignificant (again, if u use it on a daily basis), with the downside of having to wait for the water to boil up again.

But do turn it off if you won't be using it for a period of time, eg. the one in your guest room, or if u are away for a holiday.
Absolute lifesaver. Thank you. I'll adjust accordingly.

Jason
post Aug 30 2024, 08:44 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Aug 14 2023, 05:19 PM)
Got to know Cornell is a co-brand of Pensonic.
This blardy blood sucking company charges RM 55 to just come to check per product.
Which means if you have 2 heaters, you need to pay RM110 just for checking even though in then same house.
The reception got the cheek to tell you that only one part of the heater is covered which is the heating element. If other parts are faulty the you need to pay more. Not sure how much they will be quoting me after checking.
Some more, the technicians are not working on weekends. Which means that you need to take leave to attend to them.

Safe to say that I will not be buying Pensonic and its co-brand such as Cornell, Lebensstil, Morphy Richards, Belling, Gaggia
2012 you feedback Pensonic lousy
Then you bought Cornell? 😂

I recently bought Pensonic cause it’s cheap… see how it fares. But my own house use I won’t buy Pensonic for sure. I think their stuff despite made in Malaysia no quality. I bought a Pensonic stand fan a year ago, it died exactly 1 year mark so I send for warranty claim in PJ. Their service center looks run down and when I enter a lady was claiming the exact same fan! Chatted with her and she said she bought 3 from Lotus’s and all spoiled within 6 months.

Surprisingly cheap Midea water heater is going strong for with heavy use (3 pax shower daily).
MashedPotatoes
post Sep 3 2024, 06:21 PM

18 posts

Has anyone tried this before?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/instanta...8214404556.html
Selene Yeo
post Sep 3 2024, 06:54 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(MashedPotatoes @ Sep 3 2024, 06:21 PM)
Doesn't look like its SIRIM and Suruhanjaya Tenaga certified. Do not use, for your own safety.
mushigen
post Sep 7 2024, 12:45 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(MashedPotatoes @ Sep 3 2024, 06:21 PM)
This thing looks scary and dangerous.
Candino
post Oct 14 2024, 08:56 PM

63 posts

Hi all

Any comment regarding Livinox T Series instant water performance heater ? compare with Rubine Cetus or others
damien5119
post Oct 29 2024, 10:49 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Mar 29 2023, 01:40 PM)

All instant water heaters between 3.57kW to 4.462kW (which is the power rating range of majority of the water heaters sold in the Malaysian market) have the same requirements according to Suruhanjaya Tenaga's guideline, as shown above. So it is not just 4.2kW, but 3.6kW and 3.8kW too. Definitely recommended to follow, but some people unfortunately chose to save cost and use underspec cables, RCDs, or switches, risking their own lives.

And yes agree with u that plug + socket connection is a big NO for bathroom, also as mentioned in Suruhanjaya Tenaga's guideline, as shown below.

I am using this CENTON Splashproof Connector to replace my existing 3-pin socket (using the same junction box, just replace the front cover), bought from Shopee here.

im in the same situation, currently using 13A wall plug for heater. The socket is not in a wet area of the bathroom. Is replacing this with the centon device enough? No need double pole switch as well?
If just replace with the centon, how to power off? Just power off at the heater itself?
Selene Yeo
post Oct 30 2024, 10:58 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Oct 29 2024, 10:49 PM)
im in the same situation, currently using 13A wall plug for heater. The socket is not in a wet area of the bathroom. Is replacing this with the centon device enough? No need double pole switch as well?
If just replace with the centon, how to power off? Just power off at the heater itself?
Do u mean your wall plug is outside of the bathroom? Then u should replace that wall plug with a switch instead and u do not need the water heater connector, since the water heater connector does not have an ON / OFF switch.

Just make sure your switch specification and your electrical cable size specification is correct, as stated in the Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline table shared above, according to your water heater's power rating (kW).

damien5119
post Oct 30 2024, 11:40 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Oct 30 2024, 10:58 AM)
Do u mean your wall plug is outside of the bathroom? Then u should replace that wall plug with a switch instead and u do not need the water heater connector, since the water heater connector does not have an ON / OFF switch.

Just make sure your switch specification and your electrical cable size specification is correct, as stated in the Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline table shared above, according to your water heater's power rating (kW).
Thanks. It's not outside, but in a dry area of the bathroom. will replace with a switch for now and look to pull new wire from DB board for water heater
cm344 P
post Nov 20 2024, 02:04 PM

Probation

Q1: Is it true that overall instant water heater will be cheaper & easier to maintain than tank water heater?
Q2: I have plan to buy all builtin pump instant water heater but can I install a water pump outside of the tangki so that I can have stronger water pressure for the rest of the house when needed? (eg: wash toilet)
Q3: If the water pressure for my built in pump water heater is not good enough, can I switch on the external pump outside of the tank to make the pressure stronger? (I understand that heat might not be hot enough if I do so)
Q4: Whats the worst case that will happen if I get a non rainshower instant water heater but I install my own aftermarket rainshower set?

* My current house is using tank water heater but I have tried instant water heater before and I believe its hot enough for me unlike those individual who fancy scalding hot water, so the temperature is not an issue, my concern is the water pressure because I do hope to install rain shower for my bathroom.

Thank you.
Selene Yeo
post Nov 21 2024, 05:25 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(cm344 @ Nov 20 2024, 02:04 PM)
Q1: Is it true that overall instant water heater will be cheaper & easier to maintain than tank water heater?
Product price, installation price, servicing / maintenance cost, all I would say instant water heaters are generally cheaper than storage water heaters.

It is also the fact that storage water heaters are usually installed above the ceiling (plus hidden behind plaster ceiling) while instant water heaters are usually installed at just slightly above eye level, which makes installation and servicing for storage water heaters much more tougher, requires more manpower, and with a higher risk of injuries for the technicians, compared to instant water heaters, hence the higher cost.

Q2: I have plan to buy all builtin pump instant water heater but can I install a water pump outside of the tangki so that I can have stronger water pressure for the rest of the house when needed? (eg: wash toilet)
U can try external pumps like Grundfos (link here: Shopee / Lazada), but do note that they are very strong and will give u very high water pressure, strong enough to burst / wear out your water piping joints.

On how external pumps affect instant water heaters:

1. Higher water pressure / flow = lower output water temperature | So u might want to get instant water heaters with much higher power ratings than your usual 3.6kW ones to compensate for the output water temperature reduction due to higher water pressure, such as this CENTON Serene Highlands with 5.4kW (link here: Shopee / Lazada). If even 5.4kW is not hot enough for u, then u better stick to storage water heaters. Also note that with higher power rating, make sure to use the higher spec electrical components and wiring (4mm cable, refer to Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline below). And never ever use 3-pin socket to power your water heaters.

2. Risk of Damage | Instant water heaters are usually equipped with plastic tanks (as opposed to storage water heaters that use steel tanks), hence cannot withstand water pressure more than 55psi / 3.8bars, before they leak / burst. So minimize the output power of your external pump to prevent damage to the instant water heaters. And make sure the stop valve is installed at the instant water heaters' inlet, not outlet, to protect the instant water heaters from excessive water pressure when not in use.

Q3: If the water pressure for my built in pump water heater is not good enough, can I switch on the external pump outside of the tank to make the pressure stronger? (I understand that heat might not be hot enough if I do so)
No reason u can't, but keep the external pump pressure to not more than 55psi / 3.8bars to prevent damage to the instant water heaters, as stated above.

Q4: Whats the worst case that will happen if I get a non rainshower instant water heater but I install my own aftermarket rainshower set?
1. Warranty | Your instant water heaters' warranties are usually voided if u don't use the shower accessories provided with the instant water heaters.

2. Lackluster shower experience | Aftermarket rainshower set usually have much larger nozzles (meant to be paired with external pumps with much more water flow) compared to those provided with instant water heaters (meant for slower water flow). So if u use instant water heaters and their built-in pump with aftermarket rainshower (without external pump), u will get lackluster water flow, worst case water won't even flow out of some of the aftermarket rainshower's nozzles.

3. Piping compatibility | Aftermarket rainshowers usually come with a mixer (to mix cold and hot water, eg. to be used with storage water heaters). Instant water heaters' output water temperature is not hot enough to require u to mix cold water, so u will have to do some piping work to close 1 of the mixer's inlet point.

This post has been edited by Selene Yeo: Dec 14 2024, 09:53 PM
#Victor
post Jan 16 2025, 01:56 AM

4,672 posts

need some sifus recommendation whether to repair current water heater which only replace the broken triac meanwhile eyeing on new one eg Centon Serene SR711 with few concerns:
- if replace new one i believe existing hole should be different and required new hole drilling, thus afraid that it will cause unneccessary damage and costs to recover like accidentally damage the conceal piping
- does drilling a hole at behind the casing of new WH for wire to get into will void warranty?
- current conceal wire is not 4mm, if not turning max is good to use prolong?
- should i get jet / booster pump as backup in case AS water disruption which happen once or twice a year?
- how is Centon after sales service? don't see it selling at physical electric shop like Senheng, HLK, etc?

user posted image user posted image user posted image
Selene Yeo
post Jan 16 2025, 12:12 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jan 16 2025, 01:56 AM)
need some sifus recommendation whether to repair current water heater which only replace the broken triac meanwhile eyeing on new one eg Centon Serene SR711 with few concerns:
- if replace new one i believe existing hole should be different and required new hole drilling, thus afraid that it will cause unneccessary damage and costs to recover like accidentally damage the conceal piping
Unless u get the exact same instant water heater model as your current defective one, u will have to expect new holes to be drilled. If you are paranoid about damaging internal pipings, get the piping schematics from your management office / developer.

- does drilling a hole at behind the casing of new WH for wire to get into will void warranty?
This is a common practice amongst installers. In terms of warranty, it is a grey area I guess - if hole is small and not causing any waterproofing issue or damage, then it shouldn't be an issue (if the hole is too big, water or maybe insects might sipped in and cause damage).

- current conceal wire is not 4mm, if not turning max is good to use prolong?
Suruhanjaya Tenaga guidelines and all instant water heaters' instruction manuals state that all water heaters below 5.711kW power ratings need to be installed with 4mm wire. You are taking your own risk if u do not comply, and might face issues with warranty / insurance / liability claims if (touch wood) incidents happen. Especially true if your wire is wayyy under-spec'ed, eg. 1.5mm wire, definitely prone to electrical / fire hazard and risking the lives of the users.

- should i get jet / booster pump as backup in case AS water disruption which happen once or twice a year?
Don't expect instant water heater's built-in pump to give u super powerful water flow like those external Grundfos / Tsunami water pump kind. If your bathroom's water flow is already fast, u may not even notice any differences after installing an instant water heater with built-in pump; but if your water flow is slow, then yes u will notice a difference.

If you have the budget, then no harm getting an instant water heater with built-in pump. Get those with pump that can be controlled / turn off, as some instant water heater models may not have the function to turn off the pump during showers.

Side note, if there's extreme water disruption (not water at all), having a built-in pump will not help at all, since there is no or minimal water to pump in the first place.

- how is Centon after sales service? don't see it selling at physical electric shop like Senheng, HLK, etc?
I've got a CENTON Serene too, got it online as it is definitely cheaper than physical stores (link here - Shopee / Lazada). I chose to go with CENTON because of their impressive 5 star ratings on Shopee.

Serviced once because my lousy installer (totally my fault for finding a cheap one) didn't tighten the wire inside the water heater's terminal block properly, causing it to burn / melt. CENTON's technician took the time to explain to me in detail what was wrong with my water heater, very satisfied with their service. It is still working well till this day, and it has been about 4 years+.

swing123
post Jan 17 2025, 08:35 PM

178 posts

Just wanted to ask if anyone using Seers storage heater? Was recommended by a fren who operates hotel business. I checked online and notice their price seems to be higher than other Malaysian brands.

Would like to hear from existing owner the good n bad in terms of performance and also maintenance.

105 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:55 PM