Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

uglyducklai
post Dec 24 2006, 03:04 PM

90 posts

hi,newbies here~~erm,im waiting for my SPM result and apply matriks from my school's administrator.Well,although im a non-bumiputra,i have certain confident tat i could obtain my matriks since i live in rural area.
My ambition is to become a forensic,therefore,muz take medicine course first.
now, the pro is....

1.if i really kena matriks,everyone sure will persude me to go on tat route,
HOWEVER, matriks is not recognise by overseas U,that means i will never study abroad but only sucks local U if i choose this route...

2.Well for STPM,it is really tough one,but if i could score a good result in STPM,
it would be easier for me to secure a scholarship.

guys,if u were me,will u go on the Matriks route and obtain a degree in local U if u were choosen ??

correct me if im wrong... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
uglyducklai
post Dec 25 2006, 11:43 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 24 2006, 05:16 PM)
matriks is almost a sure fire way to land a place in the university. once u're in matriks, u're not bound by racial factors when continuing into the universities as u have been screened once. so once u score ur matriks results, it's a fair walk in the park for u. wink.gif

talking about forensics, what specialization r u interested in? u have forensic medicine, forensic science and what not. i have a friend who currently studying phd in forensics, did her masters in criminal law and a degree in law. i take it u dont really have to take medicine first, unless u wanna do forensic medicine.

taking her route, which she recommends especially if u wanna save budget, is to do ur degree in msia, and later masters (u can opt for multiple majors) overseas. as always in job qualifications, people will look for the latter. so ur masters will carry more weight regardless of where u studied for ur degree.
if u can land a place in matriks, USE IT!
OMG!!! Phd in forensic science?!!!! i thought this course is not available in local Uni ! OMG.BTW,first i thought of taking this course,but after i gathered the information,i found that it is not like what i watch in CSI,instead,it is a FULL TIME LABORATORY JOB.Could you please ask ur friend to confirm that information?Now your friend is in overseas?Will she have the chance of working in overseas??
Oh...please tell me all about it since im truely sesat !! notworthy.gif

BTW,i do love forensic medicine,but tat means i must take medicine which i afraid i could not stand for it.Ai........i really love to become a forensic,it is my dream.
icon_question.gif

uglyducklai
post Dec 27 2006, 01:07 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 25 2006, 07:00 PM)
if u wanna be a CSI, it's not about what u take, but more about where u work. as far as my friend told me, there arent that many qualified CSIs running around in msia, and she'll be the only female criminologist with a phd after she finishes.

u see, forensics is a merging of several fields, so it's up to u to take which path, as long as it leads to forensics. she took the law-crimonology path, which might not land her a lab-job, but more of a behavioural studies and stuff (coz her field is pedophiles and sexual crimes). to be frank, CSI IS a lab-job, and u cant really escape that. what do u think those CSI people do at the crime scene? biggrin.gif
will she have a bright chance to be employed at overseas?
uglyducklai
post Dec 28 2006, 05:50 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 27 2006, 07:15 PM)
my firend worked in thailand and indonesia, and currently is attached in japan working on a project that is also part of her phd. she could've worked in australia or other more 'popular' countries, but that's just it - she's not into popularity. from what i gather, in the realm of forensics, u dont really have much of a problem working anywhere. just make sure u're good enough.
Thanks a lot for ur information!!! it really help me a lot.. notworthy.gif
if i have any more question,i post here lo~~LOL drool.gif

0.0133sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:47 AM