Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

sayang
post Oct 31 2008, 11:43 PM

203 posts

ok....
i'm not tat bright...
i'm facing spm next week...
and my trial oni got 4a's....
and i can tell tat my SPM results wont b gud enuff for any offer...
wat r my chances?
through my undserstanding,
de basic thing u nid is STPM rite? o A levels...wat so ever...
wat abt de IPTA and IPTS?
do they nid STPM results too?
and wat can should i do if i cant cope wif STPM?
heard it is 1 of the toughest exams....but i would like try it...
any suggestions??
btw,
which iz much better?
STPM or straight to college?

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:01 amand btw,
can u not take math subjects in STPM?
juz oni science can ah???

This post has been edited by sayang: Nov 1 2008, 12:01 AM
sayang
post Nov 4 2008, 08:21 PM

203 posts

[quote=Dr@gon,Nov 3 2008, 11:53 PM]
You see, the basic procedure to get a degree is like this:

SPM/O-Level -> Pre-u -> Degree

Common pre-U in Malaysia: Matriks / STPM / Foundation

Matriks (Matrikulasi):
- takes about 1 year.
- the certificate is only recognized by Local Uni (a.k.a. IPTA).
- if you are not a bumiputera, u need two things to get in matriks, luck and an excellent result. (90% of Matriks students are Malays.)
- relatively easy and semester base.
- easier to enroll into IPTA compared to any other path.
STPM:
- takes about 2 years.
- the certificate is more widely recognized compared to matriks, it is recognized by both IPTA and IPTS.
- relatively hard, very wide scope and everything is determined by one examination.
- way harder to enroll into IPTA compared to Matriks students.
Foundation:
- takes about 1 year.
- a course in a university before you start your degree course.
- for the foundation of IPTA (a.ka.a asasi), similiar to matriks, if you are not a bumiputera... rolleyes.gif
- for the foundation of IPTS, this could be the most expensive path.

Beside these, you can also choose to take A-Level, which is simliar and equivalent to STPM. (Or you can say STPM is Malaysia version of A-Level.)

There is no way that you can take science subjects without taking mathematics in STPM. sweat.gif
Anyway, science and mathematics are somehow related in many ways, engineering, science and IT all require mathematics. sweat.gif

If you choose college, means:
SPM -> Diplomma -> Degree
You can stop at Diplomma if you want but please be reminded that degree>diplomma (rank).

u c...
i love bio...
and hopefully i can get a job in de fututre tat is bio related....
i dun wan to spend half of my life and my energy to do the things tat i dun like....
and somehow bio related studies r not provided in IPTA...
except for bumiputras.... yawn.gif
which i juz checked frm my skool's counsellor....
so i'm planning to either F6 or college...
cuz matrix too late to register liao...
anyway,
i heard my senior said tat F6 iz tough...
i mean TOUGH...
if u r smart u can still enjoy...
but if u r not tat bright,u may end up holding a book all the time....
i currently hav no financial problem....
any suggetion?
should i juz go to F6

Added on November 4, 2008, 8:21 pmor straight to college??

This post has been edited by sayang: Nov 4 2008, 08:21 PM

0.0139sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:45 PM