Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

Dr@gon
post Feb 8 2006, 11:29 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

Hi, i'm a Form 5 graduate. I hav read the whole thread but i still feel confuse... sweat.gif (I think i'm not clever enough to absorb all the posts.)

OK, it's like tis.
I onli get 5As during my trial, so sad~ cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I can actually do better than tat but nervous drives me down..... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Will trial result influence anything? Hopes not cuz my result is damn shxt! cry.gif

I'm interested in both (Computer, technology or anything like tat.)engineering n medical, do i need to be a very out standing student to apply for tat?

I hav applied for Matric but i'm not confident. unsure.gif

Anyway, i'll choose Form 6 if i failed 2 enter Matric. But from wat i hav read from many other threads, most said matric is not tat gud... While my all my teachers keep telling me better enter Matric if u can. unsure.gif

Btw, Matric/Form 6 syllabus is in English now? Kinda afraid cuz my English is not very good as from wat u can see from my post~ blush.gif

And oso, i want 2 ask something:
Can i get any scholarships for entering Uni? For ur infomation, i'm not from a wealthy family n i'm a kampung boy n i'm a Chinese. (So u guys will not ask me to get scholarship from any Islam organization, lol.) tongue.gif

I'll appreciate all ur helps. notworthy.gif
Dr@gon
post Feb 9 2006, 07:44 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(lunarcry @ Feb 8 2006, 11:50 PM)
trial? is that spm trial? it depends. i used it to get into taylor's college last time. but ultimately it's your actual spm result that counts.

yeah, i suppose to do both engineering and medicine you've got to be an outstanding student. especially if you're aiming for local unis, u've got to do your stpm well.

from what i've heard, stpm's syllabus is much more detailed compared to matriculation. that means u've more to study in stpm. i know form 6's syllabus is currently in english, no idea bout matriculation though.
Outstanding = straight A? gurp.... unsure.gif

sweat.gif I think my last post is confusing, i mean i will neither choose engieering or medicine, i want 2 ask tat do i need 2 be a very outstanding student 2 apply one of them?

Btw, how much i need 2 spend for engineering/medicine course in uni? Is it hard 2 get loan or scholarship? And how many years it takes?

*out of topic:
lunarcry, ur avatar(Tonberry) is cute! laugh.gif
Dr@gon
post Feb 9 2006, 09:36 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Feb 9 2006, 08:13 AM)
You don't need to worry much about your trial results if you're not thinking of applying courses using the trial results ... (besides, I didn't get any As for my trials too as far as I can remember laugh.gif )

You don't need an outstanding set of results (assuming you meant straight As) to apply for such course (though having straight As will definitely gives you an advantage in your application for things like scholarship) ... You can enter to the mentioned courses as long as you have an above average results in the relevant subjects ...

I'm not sure about matrics and STPM as I never been through both so I can't really tell you whether they are easy or which one's better blush.gif

Lastly, you'll be facing with an English environment sooner or later, why not start early?

*By the way, you can try slowly improving your English through typing a proper word instead of using internet jargons ... I'm not English educated (that's why you can still spot some errors here and there laugh.gif ) and that's how I learn to improve my English, by watching tvs, reading book and writing alot of things ...

All the best to you smile.gif
Thanks~ notworthy.gif

Then how many years will an engineering/medicine course takes?
Dr@gon
post Feb 10 2006, 08:00 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Feb 9 2006, 09:42 PM)
engineering, 3-4 years
medicine, typically 6 years.

To tell the truth, it won't look appleasing if you say you either want to do engineering or medicine.
What is it? My SPM trial result? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Dr@gon
post Feb 10 2006, 09:43 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Feb 10 2006, 02:07 PM)
no, not your result..............your inlclination to either do medicine or engineering doesn't sound nice.
blink.gif Huh?? Then how will it sounds nice???
Dr@gon
post Feb 16 2006, 10:14 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

Want to ask somethings.

-Is computer engineering a branch electrical engineering? Is there any other branch from computer engineering?

-What subjects are important for:
Computer engineering?
Medicine?

I'll appriciate any help. notworthy.gif
Dr@gon
post Feb 20 2006, 10:07 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

Hi, i have some questions. What is the difference between local degree and international degree? Is that international degree is worldwide recognized but local degree is not? If i have entered matric, i only can have local degree?
Dr@gon
post Feb 21 2006, 09:48 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Feb 21 2006, 03:00 PM)
Please define local and international degrees?
Dunno, just saw these words from some threads. I don't know much about these things..... sweat.gif

Btw, what are the subjects for form 6 and matric? (Science stream.)
Dr@gon
post Feb 25 2006, 05:32 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

No one answers my questions? sad.gif
Dr@gon
post Mar 9 2006, 09:46 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(lunarcry @ Mar 2 2006, 07:11 PM)
stpm and matriculation are of equivalent levels. matriculation takes only 1 year i suppose. form 6 takes 1 1/2 years. in matriculation you'll learn less things as compared to form 6, hence the shorter period.

most universities, even universities abroad accept stpm equivalent pre-u's. i suppose maticulation is accepted also. not too sure on that.
I thought u can only enrol into local u if u choosed matric? I also not so sure about it.

Btw, can one takes more than 5 subjects in form 6? Pengajian am and MUET is compulsary rite? then can i take add math, bio, physic and chemist? Total 6 subjects, can?

As for matric, can i take more than 3 subjects?

Haiz.... SPM result will be anouned soon but i'm like in the middle of a maze, arg..... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
Dr@gon
post Mar 10 2006, 08:25 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 9 2006, 11:45 PM)
MUET is not a subject.....

you can take maths, physics, bio and chemistry, but it is going to be hell.Bio and chemstry is enough to kill you.
Then wat is MUET?
Dr@gon
post Mar 14 2006, 08:41 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

There is a GCE-O after the English's result on the SPM result slip, I got 1A for my English but 2A for that GCE-O. What is that? Will it influence anything? unsure.gif
Dr@gon
post Mar 15 2006, 04:18 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(crimsonhead @ Mar 15 2006, 12:16 AM)
ah nice.i got A1 for my english paper and B3 for my 1119 doh.gif ..
hehe.now i want to apply for IPTA and UTP.
matriculation now 2 years rite?starting from this year.
I just know it! Are u sure? Then STPM is better in any terms already.

Btw, can anyone provide me a career test? I'm not sure which to choose between physic and biology..... unsure.gif
Dr@gon
post Mar 16 2006, 11:06 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Mar 15 2006, 04:18 PM)
Can anyone provide me a career test? I'm not sure which to choose between physic and biology.....  unsure.gif
Anyone?

Hi, everyone, i want to ask a question here, what are all the IPTA, IPTS, UTD and etc that u guys talking about? What are them? sweat.gif Pre-U courses?

Btw, is STPM a bad choice/last choice for Pre-U? From what i see is that many try not to land on form 6 for Pre-U, why?

And also, matriculation is now 2 years? Anyone can confirm?

Thanks for help.
Dr@gon
post Mar 16 2006, 08:48 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

Just get this from the matric official web site.

PROGRAM MATRIKULASI SATU(1) TAHUN DAN PROGRAM MATRIKULASI DUA(2) TAHUN
SESI 2006/2007

Mulai sesi 2006/2007,Program Matrikulasi Dua(2) Tahun (PDT) akan di mulakan.Pengambilannya di buat selepas selesai pendaftaran pelajar Program Matrikulasi Satu(1) Tahun (PST) yang di jangka pada 15 Mei 2006.Pelajar PDT akan di ambil daripada pelajar yang layak tetapi gagal dalam permohonan dan rayuannya bagi PST.Hanya pelajar yang mengisi borang permohonan Matrikulasi pada Julai hingga 24 Oktober tahun 2005 yang akan di beri pertimbangan.Pelajar PDT di jangkan mendaftar pada awal Julai 2006
Does this means the 2 years programme is only for those apply after 15 Mei 2006 and those make rayuan?
Dr@gon
post Mar 16 2006, 09:12 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(=--ChoonG->> @ Mar 16 2006, 01:59 PM)
@Dr@gon
Heya!
IPTA = Institut Pengajian Tinggi Awam (Local Uni)
IPTS = Institut Pengajian Tinggi Swasta (Private Uni)
UTD = I dont know... haha  laugh.gif

STPM is not a bad choice. It is the cheapest way (but most likely the longest) to obtain a degree from a local university. Well, there are many reasons why many prefer not to land in F6. Another 2 years of school life shakehead.gif ... Requires a long time to get a degree  sweat.gif ... Discipline teacher  shocking.gif ... LOL  tongue.gif
So u just tell me the full name of IPTA? sweat.gif Mind to tell me more? Please? notworthy.gif

Not only form 6 has another 2 years of school life what? If go for diploma then got 3 years? No? Or my concept is wrong? Only matric is the fastest but only til this year.

Oh ya, i just remember something about the IPTA. I have paid to get a resit/pin code at school so that i can fill up the form online but i'm not at school when my teachers give the resit...... Wat is IPTA? Local Uni? All Local Uni belong to IPTA?? unsure.gif

Edit:
Ok, I have checked about the IPTA, although i don't really know what is it but i think it offers Pre-U courses, right? So i want to apply for it and I have to go to a BSN and buy the resit again. The deadline is 24 March 2006 right? But i can't connect to the "permohonan" part, it says server error. Does this means they don't accept any application anymore? I hope not... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Dr@gon: Mar 16 2006, 09:50 PM
Dr@gon
post Mar 16 2006, 09:54 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Mar 16 2006, 09:48 PM)
IPTA is those institution that are not privatised.
Few good example, UM, USM,UUM, UKM, Kolej Komuniti..

IPTS are those higher institution that you pay large sum of money for the course.
MMU,Uniten,UTP, Sunway, Monash..

You need to get the pin, or else you won't be available to enter the form online. That is for verification purpose. Try go to your office and ask for it.
Edit:
Ok, I have checked about the IPTA, although i don't really know what is it but i think it offers Pre-U courses, right? So i want to apply for it and I have to go to a BSN and buy the resit again. The deadline is 24 March 2006 right? But i can't connect to the "permohonan" part, it says server error. Does this means they don't accept any application anymore? I hope not...

This post has been edited by Dr@gon: Today, 09:50 PM
Seems i edit after u reply, can u answer this part too? Thanks. notworthy.gif

Dr@gon
post Mar 16 2006, 10:10 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Mar 16 2006, 10:02 PM)
First of all, are you applying using STPM or SPM result?

if you're applying using SPM, you are only able to go for Diploma offered by IPTA.

You mean this site?

http://apps.emoe.gov.my/ipt_spm/borang/mohon/mohon01.cfm

After filling all the details, if I am not mistaken, you can only change it 2 time or 3 time maximum. After that, no changes are allowed. Filled in the form correctly before you press the submit button.
This is what i get when i click the link....

So? ...... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Dr@gon: Mar 16 2006, 10:11 PM
Dr@gon
post Mar 17 2006, 10:09 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Mar 16 2006, 10:28 PM)
try to clear your cache and cookies.
This is what I get when click on the link
Thanks, i manage to fill the form. notworthy.gif

Just get this from the matric official web site:

PROGRAM MATRIKULASI SATU(1) TAHUN DAN PROGRAM MATRIKULASI DUA(2) TAHUN
SESI 2006/2007

Mulai sesi 2006/2007,Program Matrikulasi Dua(2) Tahun (PDT) akan di mulakan.Pengambilannya di buat selepas selesai pendaftaran pelajar Program Matrikulasi Satu(1) Tahun (PST) yang di jangka pada 15 Mei 2006.Pelajar PDT akan di ambil daripada pelajar yang layak tetapi gagal dalam permohonan dan rayuannya bagi PST.Hanya pelajar yang mengisi borang permohonan Matrikulasi pada Julai hingga 24 Oktober tahun 2005 yang akan di beri pertimbangan.Pelajar PDT di jangkan mendaftar pada awal Julai 2006

Does this means the 2 years programme is only for those apply after 15 Mei 2006 and those make rayuan?
Anyone can confirm this?

Edit:
Hi everyone. I just have filled the IPTA form. These are what i choose:

PILIHAN KOD PROGRAM PENGAJIAN IPTA
Pilihan 1: R197 Pra Ijazah Kejuruteraan UITM
Pilihan 2: T004 Diploma Kejuruteraan Elektronik UTM
Pilihan 3: C001 Diploma Kejuruteraan Elektronik KUTKM
Pilihan 4: T001 Diploma Kejuruteraan Awam UTM
Pilihan 5: Y008 Matrikulasi Perubatan UIAM
Pilihan 6: Q008 Tamhidi Perubatan KUIM
Pilihan 7: J003 Diploma Sains Komputer KUKTEM
Pilihan 8: R092 Diploma Sains Komputer UITM

I have some questions:
-What is pra-ijazah? I never heard about pre-degree... Is it foundation???
-The T004 and C001 is same or not?
-What is Kejuruteraan awam? General Engineering???
-What is Tamhidi?
-How long those diploma courses take? 3 years?
-Electronic engineering is related to computer's hardware and software or not?

I have posted this at the IPTA thread, i repost it here because i hope someone here can help me too.

This post has been edited by Dr@gon: Mar 17 2006, 10:47 AM
Dr@gon
post Mar 21 2006, 12:47 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 21 2006, 12:36 AM)
i just register for both stpm n a-lvl.....so in case stpm get rejected i still can enter a-lvl i guess.

btw, wat is my % of entering stpm n a-lvl with my results?
est 2A,english 4B,maths 3B,add-maths 5C,bio 5C,chemist 5C,physic 6C, bm 7D, history 7D.
U actually "register" for entering form 6? I thought who wants to enter form 6 just need to wait for a letter? No?

Click on the link below:
Syarat kemasukan STPM
So i think no problem for entering Form 6 but A-Level i don't know.

0.0182sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:45 AM