Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

kh8188
post Feb 25 2012, 10:57 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(thilak833 @ Feb 25 2012, 11:37 AM)
Hi, I'm in the midst of analyzing few investment methods. What are the risks of investing either Paper or Physical Gold ? Risk of fallen price ? Any ideas ?
IMHO:

The risk of investing in Paper is, it is paper. Most investor in precious metals (be it, gold or silver) are investing in it because they wanted to hedge it against paper money. Paper Gold is just another form of paper. Previously, you can opt to redeem gold from your Maybank gold account. However, in Sept 2011 - they no longer offer this anymore.

You can read about it here: Invest Silver Malaysia - Discountinuation of Maybank Physical Gold Wafers

Back to your question: I reckon paper gold gives you the best liquidation. It is just a few clicks away to buy and sell. Spread are among the lowest as well because there is seriously not much physical activities going around apart from a few updates in the database. No gold will be moved, no gold will be transported and probably no storage required, thus no security needed. There might not be any gold at all in the first place!!!

Physical gold on the other hand requires more work. You need to buy it physically from a shop or dealer which has overhead on rents, electricities, human cost and taxes. Then, there are cost of transportation and the headache of protecting the precious yellow metals. To cover all that, the spread has to be higher. These are all the bad point. The good point is, you get to hold your gold and it is internationally recognized. You can carry it and hop to an aeroplane to your desired destination and the gold you carried will still be valid.

Good luck in your precious metal investments smile.gif
kh8188
post Feb 26 2012, 02:03 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 26 2012, 01:51 AM)
I'm 20 year-old, I would like to start invest gold. But I do not know how to start.
So my concept is

Buy gold at low price > wait the price increase > Sell it > Profit.
Is just that easy ? What should I study before getting started ?

Which Bank is the most suitable ?
For a start, you can read this thread from page 1 onwards to understand more before placing your first ringgit into investing in it smile.gif
kh8188
post Feb 26 2012, 03:45 PM

157 posts

Astro's History channel tonight is going to show Fort Knox: Secret Revealed. It's going to be interesting if the documentary would shed some lights on the amount of real gold kept in it.

Do check it out tonight on history channel 555, 8pm smile.gif

http://www.astro.com.my/epg/event.php?id=5936744
kh8188
post Feb 27 2012, 09:53 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 27 2012, 03:49 AM)
Took me 1 hour to read only 20 pages.

so I might choose PBank to start my very first inversement because I able to buy and sell online.

Im not hoping to earn big, but enough as pocket money instead getting from parent every month.
Is that ok theat gold as short-term investment ?

Let say I buy 100 gram at rm170 today, then after few days, price increase at rm171 and I sell it. so my profit is rm100 right?  Next I wait the price to drop again to buy and sell when price increase again.  Keep repeating....
iz that ok? please do correct me if im wrong. I have no buddy to ask. All of my friend lucky to have a rich dad, so nothing to worry about money issues.
I would advice your next steps forward as followed:

1. Read lowyat's forum on gold investment v1, v2 and v3 back to back.
2. Use your money and invest in a few good books
3. Understands the shorter term your investment is, the more risk you have to take
4. Understands trading vs capital gain
5. Once you have done your homework, then come back here to exchange your findings for quality feedback

All the best in your venture.
kh8188
post Feb 27 2012, 01:09 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2012, 11:41 AM)
LOL!!!!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kh8188
post Feb 27 2012, 10:25 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mariobro @ Feb 27 2012, 08:44 PM)
Any Of You See Newspaper Today About Geneva Malaysia Announcement ? I See Dead People...I Think
What was it about? Do you mind to share? Geneva has a branch in Kuchai Lama which is always filled with new cars park outside the office.
kh8188
post Feb 27 2012, 10:41 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2012, 10:33 PM)
It seems they say "NO BUYBACK GuARANTEE"...............    rclxms.gif
Oh my. Those who got in earlier probably won't care much. Those who got in at the end of the food chain just had their throat slashed. Seriously, why are there people still think gold could generate such high dividen? There is this lad in the silver thread posting the same idea with 18% dividen return.
kh8188
post Feb 28 2012, 09:57 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 28 2012, 07:47 AM)
Warren buffet don't prefer gold as investment. He thinks it don't make good returns compare to buying crops field . What u Guys think , is he making sense or just a personal preference.
Warren Buffet reasoning for this is because you can't use gold for anything else apart from jewelries, you can't rent it out and you can't grow it. With that, apart from monetary hedging, there is nothing much you can do with it to generate returns. He famously qoute this:

"[Gold] gets dug out of the ground in Africa, or someplace. Then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility. Anyone watching from Mars would be scratching their head.”

However, he does notice that the fear on current global economics are the major horse power on pushing the gold price up.

"Gold is a way of going long on fear, and it has been a pretty good way of going long on fear from time to time. But you really have to hope people become more afraid in a year or two years than they are now. And if they become more afraid you make money, if they become less afraid you lose money, but the gold itself doesn’t produce anything.”

More here: http://wallstcheatsheet.com/economy/heres-...ommodities.html

kh8188
post Feb 28 2012, 11:19 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 28 2012, 12:56 AM)
not gonna sell it hehehe.

Added on February 28, 2012, 12:58 am

thanks, that clears things up.

how bout kijang emas by BNM or Maybank?

and how about certifications?
Kijang Emas has a spread of between 3.8% – 4.0% for buying and selling for their 1 ouncer. One of the best option around to invest in physical gold bullion in Malaysia - backed by Bank Negara. Call maybank in advanced for stock check before heading to their branch to purchase. Many times, they are out of stock.

You can refer to my previous calculation on Kijang Emas' spread here: http://investsilvermalaysia.com/kijang-ema...d-margin-check/

For historical Kijang Emas, head to Bank Negara's archieve here: http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=141
kh8188
post Feb 28 2012, 08:17 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Feb 28 2012, 01:21 PM)
Kijang emas stop production already.
Why is that so?

Bank Negara just released a statement dated 16 February 2012: "Malaysia is the 12th country in the world to issue its own gold bullion coin. The Kijang Emas now joins the ranks of other international gold bullion coins.“

Read more here: http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=103&pg=441&ac=302
kh8188
post Mar 2 2012, 11:51 PM

157 posts

I would say gold's best function is to hedge for your money value.
kh8188
post Mar 3 2012, 11:26 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Mar 3 2012, 09:34 AM)
Good time to buy gold for short term, 3 to 6 months?
3-6 months are considered short term speculation flips. you may make some money, but the fundamental are better for longer term.

all the best in your gold investment.

Added on March 3, 2012, 11:29 am
QUOTE(daedalus @ Mar 3 2012, 07:04 AM)
Yeah and you better believe it! If it isn't true why are the banksters so afraid of silver? Why won't they allow it to float? Why the managed retreat? JPM-Chase have a short position on
silver at 33k contracts or so. People are saying, we should each buy an oz of silver - drive the prices up and force JPM to fulfil said contracts at a huge loss. We're going to pick em off
one by one, take em and their greedy over leveraged crazed supporters off one by one!
Here is a youtube video on the JPM-Chase silver manipulation drama: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gl47z2g2EvI

This post has been edited by kh8188: Mar 3 2012, 11:30 AM
kh8188
post Mar 5 2012, 09:54 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Mar 4 2012, 09:45 PM)
May I know what are the fundamentals for gold?
Fundamentals for gold in short means, the "prospect" of gold. You can search the google and there would be tonnes of information on gold's fundamental.

You can start off with watching this 4 mins youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...d&v=-HaqwFJj4ZY

All the best in your gold investment.
kh8188
post Mar 7 2012, 08:54 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Mar 7 2012, 03:48 PM)
wad the eff is happening to the gold price?

recession looms in Europe, should that not be a sign for gold price to go upwards?
It is elections time in US and many european countries. Alot of good news being created to maintain their political seats (sounds fimiliar eh?). The "Feel Good" season are back. Out of a sudden, the gloom and loom situation is starting to have a string of rainbows!
kh8188
post Mar 8 2012, 08:57 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 8 2012, 04:26 PM)
Jalan Raja Laut, KL.
Better to call up first before you go
Yes. It is not uncommon to see them run out of stock. Call first just to check on their stock. They sell on first-come-first basis. When they are out of stock, it takes 2-3wks to replenish.
kh8188
post Mar 12 2012, 10:33 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Mar 12 2012, 03:02 PM)
why still got people buy genneva gold... i cannot understand
these are the people without internet, perhaps hmm.gif
kh8188
post Mar 14 2012, 07:23 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Mar 14 2012, 04:51 PM)
hi there

now gold price 1664 USD /oz

how to convert into RM per gram?

what is the formula already?
1 oz = 31.1 gram

Therefore, USD$1664 divide by 31.1 you get gold price per gram.

In this calculation, USD$1664/31.1 is USD$53.50/g

Forex is approx 3.05 today, thus to get it in RM, multiple by forex exchange rate: USD$53.50 x 3.05 = MYR163.18/gram.

Simple math.

All the best in your precious metals investment smile.gif
kh8188
post Mar 14 2012, 11:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Mar 14 2012, 09:00 PM)
notworthy.gif

thanks alot.. i was searching around.. the google give me that 1oz = 28gram.. sigh...

but you corrected the oz! tqverymuch!  icon_rolleyes.gif
For precious metals, we measure it in Troy Ounce, ozt. However, we are used to just calling it, Ounce or oz in short.

Ounce, without the "Troy" are meant for general mass measurement, such as milk, powder, food etc. 1 ounce is 28.35 gram.

So long it is related to precious metals, be it gold, silver or platinum, always measure in Troy Ounce, which is 31.1 gram = 1 ozt.

Read more on this in my blog here: Ounce, Troy Ounce, Gram, Dinar, Dirham and Tael?

All the best in your gold investment smile.gif
kh8188
post Mar 17 2012, 07:29 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(leonakuan @ Mar 16 2012, 06:03 PM)
I'm a new here in investing in gold,
would really wanna ask if you guy prefer invest in physical gold or other ways?
which one is better? safer maybe?
pros & cons???
Both has their on pros and cons.

Physical:
- you get your gold, in physical format- it's there.
- cross country and internationaly recognized. moving to another country? just pack it with you.
- buying is physically done. you have to buy it a shop, or placing an order over phone/website
- buying big quantity maybe a problem. Eg 1kg.
- if you are buying jewelry, you can wear it
- great gift for any occasion
- high buyback premium - buyers buy back your gold at 20-30% off mkt price
- security - where are you going to keep your gold?
- the more physical are bought, the more solid the gold fundamental is

Paper:
- you can buy it within a few clicks, the ala stock mkt style
- you can sell it within a few clicks, the ala stock mkt style - and with much better buyback spread than physical
- no worry about security - it is all recorded on a piece of paper. can be recovered if paper is lost - just go to the account manager and work it out
- "if you don't hold it, you don't own it"
- the "gold" that you buy, maybe fiat as well. You do not know how much gold it is actually backed - just like the dollars
- unless buying from reputable source (eg. banks), the paper gold you buy maybe scam

For me, if you want gold to have a solid price, buy physical. Contributing to paper gold is just contributing to another form of fiat, IMHO.

Hope this helps.

All the best in your gold investment.

kh8188
post Mar 18 2012, 03:40 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 18 2012, 12:03 PM)
Not sure if this is applicable. Is there any value for 99.99% Au Gold? Usually used for gold coating purposes.
If yes, who buys them..gold merchants, banks, etc?
Hi Human Nature, what do you mean by 99.99% Au Gold? 99.99% AU IS GOLD.

0.1608sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:06 PM