Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

gark
post Nov 30 2011, 10:51 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 07:59 AM)
Someone who invest in some thiing without fundamentals is called an A$$$.....tulips?

Value is money like USDXXXX?  Is that YOUR rule?
An oz of gold is an oz of VALUE. 
Otherwise when bad times come and your 'money' is no longer trusted why do humans
ALWAYS fall back to the valuable GOLD? Is that not perpetual VALUE?
Is not fiat just noisy 'value'?
There is NO question of IF gold cannot be converted.
IT does NOT even need conversion. You could easily exchange gold for goods....its universal money
since time began. So no, ther is no question of IF............

Perception fo a moment? OR is it called peception when this relic called GOLD has been accepted
a store of VALUE since time and tested since time? Is that a PERCEPTION?
i suggest that value perception is found in FIAT, not GOLD....thatsis the REASON
when fiat fails, humans fall back to GOLD.
Price is what you pay and value is what you get. Do not confuse yourself with either one. If value and price (USD) is not interchangeable then there will not be a pricing and trading of gold. You may 'value' your gold highly but others may 'price' it higher or lower. So gold is not a store of value, but a perception of value based on what the market 'price' it. If the market decides to 'price' it lower, do you still get your 'value'?

Gold has been recently drum up as hedge against 'fiat' money, but even as USD strengthen no longer have any effect on gold, 'fiat' money is theoretically will be devalued constantly. Also the 'inflation' hedge argument, is also not so apparent anymore. If an item is truly a hedge, it should not be correlated to equities at all. The rise and fall of commodities is usually due to supply and demand, but it no longer correlated much with gold.

Gold nowadays is more like a trading instrument, where it performs more or less like the stock market, if stock falls, it falls, if it goes up, gold goes up. The 'hedging' is no longer there as the 'beta' of gold is correlated to the world stock market. Gold is looking more and more like the 'tulip' mania like you so casually mention, as then a 'tulip bulb' is perceived to hold a 'value' equivalent to the price of a house, and many is willing to pay the 'price' for it, until someone realized that a 'tulip bulb' does not feed you, gives you any constant returns or have any economical use. Then guess what happened?

If lets say you decided strongly that 'fiat' money should fails, do you rather own gold or farmland? If you want to eat or feed your family, how much gold are you willing to trade for a sack of rice? The if your gold is only trade able for food, then where is the perceived value? The person with the farmland can constantly produce and since he might not need so much gold (which is a chunk of metal to him), wouldn't he rather get something else in return (like meat?)?

Gold is only useful as part of diversification of your total portfolio, where you are trading to earn from the 'pricing' (mispricing? wink.gif ) of the gold, otherwise it is just another lump of metal, which does not feed you, gives you any constant returns or have any economical use. Sounds familiar? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 30 2011, 11:00 AM
gark
post Nov 30 2011, 02:31 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Nov 30 2011, 12:43 PM)
Guys, gold as a metal has it own value and usage,

beside jewelries, there is alot usage for gold in industry, cosmetic, even in F&B.

We do not think gold is valuable just because it is scarce, it because it is scarce and useful. And why we often use gold-replacement material in industry becoz it is too expensive to use gold, thus we the 2nd best material.
Yes gold is used in jewelry, but only less than 50%, the rest is hoarded by 'investors' mostly by ETF's. Jewelry is a discretionary consumption, it is not a must have. If gold suddenly fully mined out overnight, will the gears of economy stop? It is not essential in the economy because it has no economic value, and whatever commercial functions it serve is replaceable by other materials.

On the other hand, other minerals like phosphate, oil, copper will definitely impact the economy if it runs out. BTW we have only about 50 years of reserve for phosphate. brows.gif If it runs out, fertilizer production will stop, and currently there is no replacement as it is an 'element' as in phosphorus. The world should be much much more afraid of that rather than 'fiat' money & gold scarcity. laugh.gif
gark
post Nov 30 2011, 02:39 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 01:41 PM)
Who says the value of gold has to be priced by your perceived method of fiat?
It does not necessarily need fiat to price gold. Ask the Zimbaweans. Ask the boat people of Vietnam.
Theres always value on gold because it has for eons being the value storer in good or moreso
nowadays in bad times- thereby humans returning to it, and NOT tulips in bad times.
Funny i dont see humans ever using tulips for trading or exchanging that with goods? Do you?   whistling.gif

What you see in trading is fiat gold, not physical gold.
You are right about the mispricing/under pricing.
Is gold REALLY corelated to world stock mkt in the way that you described?
Shorter reaction perhaps due to emotions...but longer term?

i am not here to debate gold vs farmland but that gold is value.
What you are doing is speculating whareas history has shown that gold has been used to purchase farmlands.
This is the real precption that you mentioned- GOLD is MONEY/valuable.

Sounds familair but it is value and has always been even when i started recently in 2002.
As far as gold not giving me constant returns, valued in fiat ringgit, gold has returned me 19% p annum since 2002
when i exchange for ringgit. 24% p.a when i exchange in for fiat uSD...... Sounds unfamiliar......   whistling.gif
An oz of gold is an oz of gold.....
If you say the trading of gold is fiat gold, then why is your physical gold 'value' follow the 'price' of fiat (traded) gold? hmm.gif Try selling your gold to it's true 'value' (whatever you perceive it to be) without following the traded price, see anyone want to buy from you or not?

The graph is nothing new, as price of gold exceed the rise in equities, it is natural the price of single equity is worth less than the traded gold. It still brings to the argument that price is what you pay, value is what you get. laugh.gif Still you say you have earn so much and much, isn't that also follow the 'price' of traded (fiat?) gold? Correlation is based on beta, and not a comparison graph. Beta means if no1 goes up, no 2 also goes up and vice versa.

Oh yeah, they do trade tulips for land, food, etc during the tulip mania... wink.gif

According to Mackay, the growing popularity of tulips in the early 17th century caught the attention of the entire nation; "the population, even to its lowest dregs, embarked in the tulip trade".[6] By 1635, a sale of 40 bulbs for 100,000 florins (also known as Dutch guilders) was recorded. By way of comparison, a ton of butter cost around 100 florins, a skilled laborer might earn 150 florins a year, and "eight fat swine" cost 240 florins.[6] (According to the International Institute of Social History, one florin had the purchasing power of €10.28 in 2002.[30])

By 1636, tulips were traded on the exchanges of numerous Dutch towns and cities. This encouraged trading in tulips by all members of society; Mackay recounted people selling or trading their other possessions in order to speculate in the tulip market, such as an offer of 12 acres (49,000 m2) of land for one of two existing Semper Augustus bulbs, or a single bulb of the Viceroy that was purchased for a basket of goods (shown at right) worth 2,500 florins.[28]

Goods allegedly exchanged for a single bulb of the Viceroy[28]
Two lasts of wheat  448ƒ
Four lasts of rye  558ƒ
Four fat oxen  480ƒ
Eight fat swine  240ƒ
Twelve fat sheep  120ƒ
Two hogsheads of wine  70ƒ
Four tuns of beer  32ƒ
Two tons of butter  192ƒ
1,000 lb. of cheese  120ƒ
A complete bed  100ƒ
A suit of clothes  80ƒ
A silver drinking cup  60ƒ
Total  2500ƒ
This post has been edited by gark: Nov 30 2011, 02:40 PM
gark
post Nov 30 2011, 02:56 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 02:43 PM)
You said when mkt falls, gold falls......dont detract from that. i showed you it depends on the timeline.

Beta is reaction.....i am showing you a trend which rebutts your saying
Show me evidence where they traded using tulips.....during the tulip mania. Thanks

Link pls?

Did tulips ever return as an asset for exchange?  Did gold?
Come come.. i show you pretty pictures... the first is gold vs SP, the second is beta S&P vs GOLD for the past 10 years. The correlation is 0.12.. which is 'highly correlated'. laugh.gif

For the full story of tulip trading for food and land please read the book 'Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds', published in 1841 by Charles Mackay or you can just search wiki for tulip mania. laugh.gif

Yep Warren Buffett did sell off all his silver, but is was a derivative contract (fiat metal?) and he did not hold any physicals. wink.gif Here is what he says on gold...

"If you took all the gold in the world, it would be valued around $7 trillion. This would equal about 1/3 of the value of all U.S. stocks. By comparison, the value of all farmland in the U.S. is about $2.5 trillion. You could take that farmland, add 7 Exxon Mobils to it, and have an extra $1 trillion to boot. What’s a better use of funds? You could probably do more with these alternatives to gold, versus just staring at a giant block of gold that looks nice but doesn’t actually do anything."

And you say W. Buffett is smart to sell of his silver at $7 an ounce, now according to traded 'fiat metal' it is about $30 an ounce. Why don't he wants to speculate anymore now as the price is surging? Maybe be cause he did not see 'value' at such 'prices'?

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 30 2011, 03:18 PM
gark
post Nov 30 2011, 05:42 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 04:49 PM)
You showed me two years, i showed you long term...does it look the same?  biggrin.gif

Did tulip become an asset fro exchange again like gold?

Maybe Warren is not as smart as one thinks?
Maybe he doesnt understand precious metals?

He bought physical silver and was widely specualted that he sold to the SLV startups..

i am not argiung why is he not in silver now. Why did he sell at $7?  
After he sold, went to $12.........must be real smart.

He must be real smart that he cant beat me at investing in the last 10 years.......   whistling.gif
Aiyah.. I am showing you the correlation or beta, not the actual worth, look at the graph carefully. The correlation graph is from 2000 to 2010, which is when gold start to gain popularity. Warren intuition of 'value' in stocks, bonds or metals has been unmatched for more than 40 years, so he sold out metals during the rise of the bubble as he perceives the value is no longer there.

If you think you are better than Warren Buffet, then good luck and please don't forget to come visit LYN forum when you are a billionaire. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 30 2011, 05:44 PM
gark
post Nov 30 2011, 06:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 05:52 PM)
Aiyah i  am trying to show you that your correlation is only for shorterm volatility..............

In fact in the last 10 years as shown by my graph, S&P500 index has been falling vs gold. Hows that the samw characteristics as you claimed? 

i have no qualms about Warren B in stock picks but metals?  Think again.......

selling at the rise of the silver bubble?  What bubble at $7???    biggrin.gif
10 years correlation chart is short term volatility? hmm.gif Like I say correlation does not mean it has the same value, it measures the correlation between up and down.

W. Buffett does not earn the title as the worlds' best investor for nothing, in fact he does not favor metals very much at all, hence he unloaded all his silver into ETF holdings and made comments on the 'value' of gold. He is a value investor, if he does not see value even as the price is rising fasts he will not touch it. In fact during 1995-2001 when dot.com stocks is going sky high, he said the same thing and did not touch tech stocks even though thousands upon thousands of people got fabulously rich overnight. That time even a magazine declared the end of Warren Buffett's investment style and he is 'behind times' and does not understand the 'new wave'.

Anyway just enjoy the ride while it last, but please diversify properly and not put everything in one basket. Also falling in love with an investment is a no no. In fact I do diversify into gold via Newcrest Mining, but it is just a small percentage rclxms.gif
gark
post Dec 1 2011, 10:02 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 30 2011, 08:30 PM)
You gave me a two year chart. If the S&P was going the direction as gold as YOU have indicated in your post, the
the chart should be pretty FLAT. How come S&P vs gold is DECREASING
You still don't want to read the correlation chart do you? Read the bottom figure the chart is from September 2000 until Mid 2011. How can this be a 2 year chart? Once again correlation chart is not impacted by prices doh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Dec 1 2011, 10:03 AM
gark
post Dec 1 2011, 04:49 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 1 2011, 02:19 PM)
I dont use your methood of correlation....my correlation chart of S&P 500 expressed in price of gold shows CLEARLY that its DECREASING meaning its getting CHEAPER to buy S&P with gold

Meaning your post is nonsense
Well it is no longer a discussion, if you refuse to see the point and cycling the same thing over and over again. Anyway good luck with your gold investment. rclxms.gif

0.0189sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:46 AM