Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

Nidz
post Nov 23 2011, 12:51 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 22 2011, 11:38 PM)
if u compare house price vs gold, u will see house price depreciated more than 50% of gold value from 2003 until 2010.
we cannot compare *fairly* between these two things. house price will depends on the location, access, facilities etc...
gold price depends on the international spot market.

i wouldn't say that house price depreciated more than gold, its just that its ROI is not as good as gold, if you compare from 2000-2011...
House price might get 100-200% ROI, but gold get more than 600%.

percentage wise, gold is better. but if we calculate on the amount, house price can get much better.

in 2000, it normal for ppl to buy 200-300k houses -> now its worth more than 600k
but who buys gold in 200-300k in year 2000? sweat.gif

if you really wanna compare percentage, then silver wins. more than 700% returns since 2000. thumbup.gif
Nidz
post Nov 23 2011, 04:33 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

rm208 is the price fixed by FGJAM for 999 gold products sold in the jeweleries shop.
Nidz
post Dec 15 2011, 02:28 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

Some ppl just don't bother to search first. All want to be spoonfed.
Nidz
post Jan 11 2012, 09:44 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

An interesting read.

Gold feels weight of Paulson curse

By Jack Farchy

source

This post has been edited by Nidz: Jan 11 2012, 04:53 PM
Nidz
post Jan 11 2012, 04:55 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 11 2012, 02:11 PM)
Might want to add the source? So we know where the article is originated from?

Nothing against you, just stating that some source is screwed up and should be taken lightly.
article taken from Financial Times.
also featured in The Edge Financial Daily dated 11 January 2012. cool2.gif
Nidz
post Jan 12 2012, 12:10 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:53 PM)
went to UOB today and according to one of their staff, UOB has the lowest buying and selling rate at Rm2 /gm only.

anyone can confirm this is true compare to Public bank, Maybank, CIMB bank, Kuwait financial house... lazy to call one by one to check leh
confirm
Nidz
post Jan 12 2012, 08:33 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 12 2012, 01:19 AM)
Oh ok... last question... is the rate for all the bank the same? which bank has the lowest rate?
what rate? gold price?
different bank different price. check 1st post.
Nidz
post Jan 12 2012, 05:22 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

if intraday, u have to find US based brokers and trade Gold ETF...

Nidz
post Mar 6 2012, 09:05 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Mar 5 2012, 07:12 PM)
Now issit the time to open gold account??
nope. u should open it few years back. brows.gif
Nidz
post Apr 13 2012, 12:21 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Apr 13 2012, 10:48 AM)
OMG i didnt bought when it drop now it rise again..........
either buy now, or wait for the next price correction...
Nidz
post Apr 16 2012, 02:50 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Apr 16 2012, 12:17 PM)
Ok i just came out from a goldsmith shop. I asked their selling price for 916 & 999 gold pricing.

1. 999 gold/gram - rm190
    916 gold/gram - rm169

2. They said paper gold sold/traded by banks was 916 & NOT 999 gold

Never visit other goldsmith shop except this 1. So buy 916 or 999?
Bank gold is mostly 999, not 916. Not all banks offer you to withdraw in the form of physical gold.
But KFH do. U can buy paper gold and u have the option to withdraw in physical bars. Their gold purity is 995.
Nidz
post Apr 16 2012, 03:25 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Apr 16 2012, 02:53 PM)
Buying 999 gold bars is it ok? I mean compared to paper gold
physical is always the best, since u have it in your own hands.
BUT, when the time comes and u need to sell it, can u do it as easily as selling paper gold back to the bank?
this is one main point for you to consider. if selling back the bars won't be a problem, then u better keep physical than paper.
Nidz
post Apr 16 2012, 04:00 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Apr 16 2012, 03:35 PM)
No such things as paper gold in KFH.
KFH sell the 99.5 Turkiye physical gold with an option of storing.
yes, that's what i mean

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 16 2012, 03:54 PM)
I don't know others, but for me, selling back genuine pure 999 gold bar is not a major issue, but storing of physical gold bar risk is my main consideration as risk, aka theft, accident/disaster event.
Yeah. Some people I know store their physical gold in a safe deposit company. But then again, you have to bear in mind the charges as well, whether it is worth the extra cost or not.

Nidz
post Apr 18 2012, 12:38 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Apr 17 2012, 04:24 PM)
Another point, where to keep it safe without being stolen...
U can opt for Safe Deposit Box services. There are few companies providing this.
Or buy 1 safe box and just keep it in the comfort of your own home. sweat.gif

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 17 2012, 04:56 PM)
of course selling physical is not a problem, but your resell value is less 20% or more than market current price.
those physical gold bar/coin usually protected with plastic and verified by certificate. your resell value will be lots lower if you lose the certificate. and if you open up the plastic protective cover, your resell value plungs down again.

My own opinion bout physical gold. no point buying physical if you cant touch directly the gold. the plastic dont feel good enough to touch. and you cant hear properly the cool ting sound of gold.

buy paper as an investment against inflation.

buy physical if you think major calaostrophe coming soon that will cause the failure of banking system.
1)resell value less than 20% or more?
I'm sorry, could you enlighten me more on this? If I'm not mistaken, this only applies for gold jeweleries which you bought from jewelery shops.
If you buy a gold coin or a gold bar, for example from UOB or Maybank's Kijang Emas, the spread is around 4%.
You can see a detailed explanation about physical gold spread here

2)resell value will be a lot lower if you lose the cert?
My experience is with Kijang Emas. When you buy it, they will give you a receipt, a coin holder and an envelope to keep the coin safe.
Even if you lose the holder and the envelope, the bank will still buy back your coin according to the published price in their website.
They also buy back dented or scratched Kijang Emas.
After all, 1oz of gold is still 1oz of gold.

As for UOB bank, they will issue a receipt upon buying a gold coin. That receipt is important for the buy back. If you don't have the receipt, the bank would not buy it back from you.
But still, there is a Gold Lot Shop for you to sell your coins and bars to a private buyer, at market price.

3)plastic protective cover.
If the coins/bars come in a SEALED packaging and you decided to open it and 'play' with your gold, then it is most likely that it will not be accepted for buy back.
But if it comes in an airtite capsule (hard plastic capsule) you can always open it and touch the coins.

SEALED packaging

Airtite capsule

UOB Gold Kangaroo

UOB Coins in Sealed Plastic (Above) and in a square airtite (Below)

P/S: The pictures are not mine. Found them by googling. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Nidz: Apr 18 2012, 04:41 PM
Nidz
post Apr 20 2012, 05:15 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Apr 20 2012, 04:45 PM)
no 1 can enlighten me on this?

lets say if i buy a gold bar from company A and sell it for company B with all the paperwork and such.

what the spread from the actual price?
first of all, does company B accept gold bar bought from company A?
if yes, they will set the spread according to their likes, e.g. 10%, 15% or even more.
it is up to them.
Nidz
post Apr 20 2012, 11:00 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Apr 20 2012, 10:08 PM)
which mean if i wan to profit from my existing price.

ie.

if i buy 1 gram at rm100, then the spread is 10%

Later, I have to sell it at higher than rm110 to be able to profit from it?
hmm.. to simplify things, lets just put it this way.

Lets say, if u buy 1g at the current price of rm100, to sell it for a profit u must sell at least rm101 and above, right?
so, if the spread is around 10%, u must wait for the current price to be rm111. only then u can sell it at rm101 back to the company.

conclusion, the gold price already rose 10%. u just get rm1 profit.
whether it is worth it or not?

Added on April 20, 2012, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(m3mphiz23z @ Apr 20 2012, 08:45 PM)
Can anyone explain to me the difference between silver and gold investments? I'm quite confused here
What do u want to know?

Both are precious metals, used in industries, jewelries and investment.

-cost price are different, silver is much cheaper than gold
-price movement is relatively the same, bullish since last 10 years.
-percentage wise, for the last 10 years, silver has outperformed gold. refer to kitco charts.

This post has been edited by Nidz: Apr 20 2012, 11:05 PM
Nidz
post Apr 22 2012, 09:03 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 22 2012, 08:08 PM)
silver eh... too bad the banks dont have silver investment account
Singapore's UOB Bank already offer Silver Investment Account.
Not sure when this product will be introduced here.

http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/investments...ous_metals.html
Nidz
post May 3 2012, 04:20 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ May 3 2012, 05:10 AM)
wanna know..if i buy kijang emas from a seller with receipt stated his name
can i resell that kijang emas to maybank? without the seller..it is possible?
from what i know, no need receipt to sell it back to the bank.
but if the bank don't want to buy it back from you, i will gladly buy it from you. brows.gif
Nidz
post May 3 2012, 04:41 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 3 2012, 04:36 PM)
i have 253 ozs......you wantt?

PM me.......  brows.gif
holy @#$%...
253 ozs of kijang emas? all in 1oz size?
Nidz
post May 3 2012, 04:44 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

253 * rm5300 = rm1.34mil
#nuffsaid

0.0204sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:04 AM