Hobbies LYN Reading Club, Anything from novels to magazines ~

TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 03:28 AM, updated 18y ago

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Well, I don't see any threads related to other book, so, here's one for all those readers to share their opinion... If you have anything to ask, or you wanna share the nice book you read, anything readable is welcomed smile.gif

---
So I'll start first with books that I have read

Title
The Warren Buffett Way by Robert G. Hagstorm

Review
This book is about the life of the famous investor named Warren Buffett. The books start the story by telling how he started investing in his early days. Some may mistaken this book as an investing book, well, not really, though they do include some details about his investing/balance sheet. But generally, what the book tells is the general rules that Warren Buffett applies throughout his entire life as an investor. Besides, the book also mentions how he analyze a certain business/management, and im my opinion, some of the guideline shown on the book can be applied to real life at well. All in all, for those who loves investing/financial or for those who wish to learn more about this person and the stories behind Berkshire Hathaway, this is the best book around.

*Side note: Warren Buffett is the only person listed within the top 5 of Forbes 400 and he is the only person that achieved this rank based purely on investing.

Title
The Millionaire Next Door by Stanley and Danko

Review
First off, this book revolves around most of the millionaires around US (not famous names like Bill Gates, this book is all about the stories of people who has a net worth more than 1 million). This book is not sharing how lavish is the life of all the millionaires or anything like that. In fact, this book explains well the concept of UAW (under accumulator of wealth)/PAW (prodigious accumulator of wealth). Besides, they explain from the surface to the core why some people with the same level of income can be wealthy whereas some are living lavishly, but poorly. All in all, this book is very suitable for people who have average income, yet, they want to retire comfortably as a millionaire.

Title
Rich Dad's Guide to Investing: What the Rich Invest in, That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not! by Robert T Kiyosaki

Review
Well, alot of us have read this book and it's one of the best seller. However, personally after reading the book. I felt that the book is abit highly overrated as an investing book. The fact is, it's not really an investing book. The reason I said this because throughout the book, it feels more like an inspiration rather than investing. However, the book does mentions some basic in investing and personally, this book is worth the read for those who are blur and new about investing.

Current book I'm looking at is The Secrets of Consulting by Gerald M Weinberg... I would like to say thank you to dreamer101 as "The Millionaire Next Door" and "The Secrets of Consulting" are both recommendations of his notworthy.gif
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 10:18 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Oh, somehow, I can't find too much interest to read fictional books... Borrowed Da Vincci from my sis and it has been lying on my table since then... hahahahaahahahahha
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 10:40 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

oh......

eh eh, dun mention about piracy anymore... ok ok ? It's illegal by law and wrong in this forum smile.gif

Well, I really can't find the "inspiration" to purchase fiction based books as somehow, I always have the thoughts that it doesn't worth the value as real life books can be kept and referred to in the future, as for fiction books, it's just not worthit for my case...

Argh, and I still can't find that "feeling" to start reading them.... (fiction books)

TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 10:51 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

I'm not really in touch with much fictional books...

A book I heard that is very famous is the Memoirs of a Geisha ... Anyone read this?
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 11:24 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

okay, I really need to change my reading preference and request for a different christmas gift this year...... hahaha.....

Perhaps when some of you are done reading a great book, throw in a brieft review maybe?

Haha, it'll help clueless ppl like me to make a choice during purchase....

TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 11:39 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Haha... Me?

I read here and there, I have random choices but most of them are real life related smile.gif

Perhaps you can just randomly pick a few off your shelf and give a brief review about it and share it with the rest of the crowd and enthusiasts here ??? laugh.gif
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 06:15 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(velma @ Oct 22 2005, 04:08 PM)
any of u guys like calvin & hobbes? i read it everyday on star newspaper..
i juz got a book recently.. so nice to read..
Hehehe ... Yeap, I love Calvin and Hobbes too .... It's a very nice read .... I didn't buy any of the books but I did borrowed them from my cousin before ... Another one I like is Dilbert ... It's a very sarcastic comic hinting on alot of real issues .... hahahahahaha ...
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 07:04 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Have you checked at Borders @ Berjaya Times Square ?
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 07:57 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Oh, the Toyota Way is a fine choice ... I bought this book too ... Already read the preface of the book ... It's about the lean management/production of the toyota system and also the 14 management principles used by the Toyota ... Well, FYI, Toyota is the first company that developed the JIT system so it's worth the read smile.gif

Another two titles you can anticipate is both The HP Way and The Google Story

Both of these books are yet to be published but I'm sure they'll be a good read ...

You might want to look at the Rich Dad's series "Cashflow Quadrant" too ... As cashflow is one of the most important issues in all companies ... With the recent news of Ford/GM's first tier supplier filing a chapter 11 bankruptcy, the importance of cashflow is more visible ... As even with such strong foundations, they can go bankrupt ...

Here's the news if you wish to read it ...

General Motors

IMHO, Cashflow Quandrant provide a basic insight into how cashflow works and it's not such a bad read smile.gif

*FINALLY, someone who shares the same interest as I do .... hahahahahahaha laugh.gif
TSGeminist
post Oct 22 2005, 08:17 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Haha, I went there once only .... Since I'm not staying at KL, I vist the MPH nearby my house in Ipoh ...

Well, the one time that I went there... lost $$ already since I bought some books there.... hahahahahahahaha ....
TSGeminist
post Oct 23 2005, 02:48 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Yeap, true that the Toyota achievement in the TPS is now adapted in alot of places including the Lean production system and the JIT system.

The Toyota Way cost around RM99 from MPH the last time I saw it... I got mine here at amazon.co.uk and it cost me 11 GBP to get it, so it's rather cheaper compared to the one in MPH ... Well, you can always read it for free by asking them to unwrap the wrapper for you and you can pick a spot to read ... hahha... That's what I do often if I do not want to buy that book ... But seriously, some of these books are worth keeping so it's worth paying the price ...

Jack Welch of GE, well, his books are everywhere, but, I shall withold my opinion about him for now since I have little knowledge about this person....

About Toyota, yes, their achievements are impressive, but the achievement shown by Nissan by rebounding to be one of the top dogs from debts are indeed impressive too ... I have my sight on this book "Turnaround: How Carlos Ghosn Rescued Nissan by David Magee" but I'll just get it later, since I still have two books which I haven't read yet ... And they're lying on my shelf ...

For Rich Dad's series, well, I do recommend both the Cashflow Quandrant and Guide to Investing ... For the rest of the books, well, they are not really my cup of tea ... (besides, I read some of them standing in MPH every week to an extent the lady working there recognizes me edi ... haha ... )

Besides Fortune, I do recommend you to browse Forbes too ... I just realized the existance of this magazine when I was visiting a dermatologist and I saw this magazine outside ... hahaha ...

Oh yea, since you like finance so much, The Millionaire Next Door (thanks to the recommendation of dreamer101) is a very good read ... It's about personal finance and I written some of the opinion I have regarding this book ... I got this from Borders @ Berjaya Times Square for RM55.90 ... It suits your budget and it's worth reading if you like to understand more about personal financial management ...

*Well, parents are more lenient when their kids are pestering for books .... But since you love books so much, you can save the money yourself and buy them smile.gif
TSGeminist
post Oct 23 2005, 02:01 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(ckwei @ Oct 23 2005, 11:08 AM)
crystal_kit85 and geminist do u mind me asking what do you guys do for a living or are studying? i myself find fortune very interesting, but will only get to read it when i return to my hometown cos it's too exp here and my dad subscribes to them magazines, like almost every single one of the business mags XD .. the part that i cant afford to miss in fortune is the stanley bing's column tongue.gif

crystal_kit85 other than forbes that geminist recommended, u could try out economist too, but it might be abit dull, compared to fortune smile.gif
Haha, I'm still studying ... All of these stories that I found out (some are by reading where they link the book to another stories), I just know about some of the surface stuff only, I don't know much about the details ... That's why I'm interested and willing to spend money to get books that tell me these details...

Hahaha, I'm not really very rich, for these magazine, I don't subssribe to them la, I'll just read on the website of Forbes ... hahaha ...
TSGeminist
post Oct 23 2005, 02:11 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Hahaha, thanks for your kind offer...

Really appreciate that....

I'm currently quite far away from you ... So I guess it's impossible for now...

I'm doing my final year for pure mechanical engineering now in UK smile.gif
TSGeminist
post Oct 23 2005, 11:21 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Hmm.... About reducing defective stuff ...

I believe Quality Management plays a more important part ... I remember reading the story of Pontiac .... For their new factory, they asked the Quality Guru, which is Edward Deming in in order to help them perfect out everything, reduce their operation cost and defective products ...

As far as I know, JIT, Lean Management, Kanban and etc ... They are similar methods to increase the productivity of a manufacturing plant by reducing the waste that are associated with their product ... To make it short, it's like to improve efficiency and maximize their cashflow ...

That's what I know tongue.gif Could be wrong ... hahahaha ...
TSGeminist
post Oct 24 2005, 01:29 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Hahaha... Yea, so from his interviews, you can hear that he doesn't really like the US .... But the Japs did awarded both Juran and Deming a royal award ... (Forgotten the name) ....
TSGeminist
post Oct 24 2005, 08:05 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Well, you can't deny the innovationi that the Japs have...

Before Japanese started implementing QC and TPS, it is said that their cars can rust within one year ... haha ...

Hmm, I'm thinking of borrowing the Edward Deming book "Out of the Crisis" from the library later next week when I'm having my break .. It's rather expensive to buy ... haha ...
TSGeminist
post Oct 25 2005, 01:13 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Haha, I can't do that here... I'll get myself busted for photostating books ... It's illegal tongue.gif

Quarter way reading the book "The Secrets of Consulting" ... Very interesting, will share the details when I'm done...

---
Seriously wanted to cry here, left the bookmark on my bed, and I took a nap without knowing... Now the bookmark broken edi .... (It's a wooden bookmark with design carved on it) ... It's a gift from an old friend cry.gif
TSGeminist
post Nov 6 2005, 12:53 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Title
The Secrets of Consulting (A Guide to Giving and Getting Advice Successfully) by Gerald M. Weinberg

Special thanks to dreamer101 for recommending this book

Review
They don't publish this book anymore, so I got this book at a rather high price which is around 19 GBP ...

Well, don't be fooled by the appearance of this book ... It is not only meant for consultants, they also prove to be a good read for non consultant ...

The book is filled with different interesting laws which we can relate to our everyday life and not only on consulting ... Besides that, I find this book to be very interesting and hillarious to read at times as the author is very down to earth with his writing and for all of the laws/situations, he relates them with actual things and as well as situation we encounter everday ...

All in all, I give a 5/5 to this book as it is indeed a very interesting book and for those who wants to know more about consulting and how to talk to people efficiently, this is one of the best book around ...

Next book I'll be reading is The 22 Immutable Laws of Branding by Al Ries and Laura Ries smile.gif
TSGeminist
post Nov 6 2005, 08:49 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

I feel kinda isolated here cry.gif

---
Yea, I didn't realized this but Scyth3_, please do not mention how you get the books ... Please try and support original publications ya smile.gif
TSGeminist
post Nov 7 2005, 01:53 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Title
The 22 Immutable Laws of Branding by Al Ries and Laura Ries

Review
This is a rather small and simple book, or more like a handbook. There's no fancy terms inside nor nicely drawn graphics ... It's really a simple book ...

Anyways, just as the title, the book mentions all the 22 laws in branding and with each different laws, a real life example is given and compared ... As we all know the real world/brands well due to exposure, we can understand the contents pretty easily ...

This book is not enough to make you a branding guru, but reading this book will give you an insight as to how branding actually works and what doesn't work in branding. Moreoever, some of the common mistakes made by megabrands are told here too in the books ..

After reading this book, you'll realized what you see in a brand everyday has alot of meaning behind them, they exist for a reason, not just for fun ..

All in all, this is a must read book for those who like to know more about branding smile.gif

Edited: Currently reading "Common Sense On Mutual Funds by John C. Bogle" ... This book is quite thick, so might take a while before I can digest it tongue.gif

0.0229sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:20 AM