Hobbies LYN Reading Club, Anything from novels to magazines ~

marquis
post Dec 26 2005, 02:48 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(bruised @ Dec 23 2005, 09:05 AM)
marquis: haha, will try, any good dragonlance to begin with?
laugh.gif Any book you start with will take your breath away tongue.gif Well to me at least sweat.gif

BUT. Don't just simply read. The book comes in Trilogies (mostly) So get the first three sets first. Followed by the rest. It's gonna be a lot of books. So go and rent it or something first to test the waters. Just incase it isn't your cup of tea.

The first book of the first set of trilogies should be Dragons of Spring Dawning...Or I could be totally wrong. Or is it Autumn something...Oh god I've got terrible memory doh.gif

But yeah, just look out for the Dragon of [something season]. Take a look at the inner cover, it should tell you what the first book is biggrin.gif

On another note, I'm currently hunting for Stone of Tears, book two of the Sword of Truth. Should've bought it that day. Went back to Kino, and they are out of stock cry.gif Read a bit of it and dang, is it one good book. The intro itself was adrenaline pumping biggrin.gif
Monstar
post Dec 26 2005, 10:42 PM

1,895 posts

I am out of books to read! Please recommend me something guys. smile.gif
crystal_kit85
post Dec 28 2005, 11:39 PM

1,902 posts

Title: Negotiate Your Way To Riches

Review: As the title goes, this book actually teaches you how to have an effective and efficient negotiation anywhere anytime. It will highlight to you what are the criteria's that you need to practice or must perceived before a negotiation is taken place. The best part is that, this author gives a lot of examples or scenario's so that the readers will have a clearer view on what message that the author is trying to send out. Furthermore, it teaches you how to counter back if you were to be in a very difficult and intense situation.

So far this is the best negotiation book that i have read, hopefully it will be useful for some of you out there.
amy test
post Jan 11 2006, 07:11 PM

378 posts

If I buy from online bookshops e.g. amazon.com,

Am I eligible for income tax deduction using amazon's receipt?
feralee
post Jan 13 2006, 03:39 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

anyone read
Who Moved My Cheese?
dishwasher
post Jan 15 2006, 07:07 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I've been reading Neil Gaiman. Started with Neverwhere, which was some sort of post-modern fantasy story. I loved it. Then I read stardust, and loved it more. Stardust is, at its heart, a love story, and I am a sucker for romance.

Now I'm reading Good Omen. Gives me a chuckle every now and then simply because its so inane. Doesn't help that I'm reading it during lectures. Giggling in class while your professor is discussing ways to detoxify the human body is BAD.
TSGeminist
post Jan 29 2006, 06:04 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

As I mentioned, I'm not really a fan of books other than non - fictional books ...

However, lately, I wondered what happened, I decided to pick up a book called "Strangers" written by Taichi Yamada ... It's a fictional book but the potrait of family tie by the author is really interesting ...

So now, can someone help me by suggesting me some books to read? Not those harry potter/LOTR type but books that light hearted and interesting to read (with family/friends/brother/sister relationship or something ... I don't mind if it's fictional, but I'm looking for books with current settings ... (not something in the past or in the distant future) ...

After reading this book by the Japanese author, I'm interested to try out books by other Japanese author ..

So, any idea anyone?

Thanks ...
providence
post Jan 29 2006, 11:03 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 29 2006, 06:04 AM)

So now, can someone help me by suggesting me some books to read? Not those harry potter/LOTR type but books that light hearted and interesting to read (with family/friends/brother/sister relationship or something ... I don't mind if it's fictional, but I'm looking for books with current settings ... (not something in the past or in the distant future) ...

That's what happens when you watch Maria-sama Ga Miteru too much laugh.gif

BTW I'm more to horror/fiction books by Stephen King
The Dead Zone
Misery
The Stand
Four Past Midnight (stories)
Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Insomnia
Dreamcatcher

Misery was the best for me so far - And it already been made into a TV show quite some time ago. I got all these from either the YMCA or SPCA jumbo sales as the new items are quite pricy.

I'm also hooked with fantasy game books. The kind of books where you got multiple choice to choose from. Choose the right page you'll proceed, chose the wrong one you KO. But basically - I always KOed early. My fav - Is the Legends of Lone Wolf by Joe Dever. Although it talk a lot about magic and sorcery that I dont even have the slightest idea what they are but still its fun and worth wasting the time reading through them

TSGeminist
post Jan 30 2006, 02:17 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(providence @ Jan 29 2006, 11:03 PM)
That's what happens when you watch Maria-sama Ga Miteru too much laugh.gif

BTW I'm more to horror/fiction books by Stephen King
The Dead Zone
Misery
The Stand
Four Past Midnight (stories)
Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Insomnia
Dreamcatcher

Misery was the best for me so far - And it already been made into a TV show quite some time ago. I got all these from either the YMCA or SPCA jumbo sales as the new items are quite pricy.

I'm also hooked with fantasy game books. The kind of books where you got multiple choice to choose from. Choose the right page you'll proceed, chose the wrong one you KO. But basically - I always KOed early. My fav - Is the Legends of Lone Wolf by Joe Dever. Although it talk a lot about magic and sorcery that I dont even have the slightest idea what they are but still its fun and worth wasting the time reading through them

You caught me again ... Sigh, am I really that obvious??

But I decided to pick up Strangers with no apparant reasons actually ... But it's seriously an interesting book stating the relationship of (no, not onee - sama) but between parents and children ... However, the ending is kinda rush and pushy though .... Nevertheless, it's a nice read smile.gif

Hmm, I'm not really that inclined to read horror books as I believe it's best to watch them visually instead of picturing them on your mind ...

I remember reading such a book too where you'll have to flip the book back and forth ...

Thanks alot for the suggestions though ... Anyone else has anything to recommend? Something with more emotional attachment to it? laugh.gif

providence
post Jan 30 2006, 09:09 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 30 2006, 02:17 AM)

You caught me again ... Sigh, am I really that obvious??

Anyway other than novels, I also read rock magazines like KErrrang and Metal Edge, Superbike magazines, adult magazines and modelling mags like hobby japan /dengeki (whatever laugh.gif )

I have a good collection of Calvin and hobbes comics minus the Compilation ones that I think they're too cheap. They published them using the yellow simili paper and the price is double from the normal ones. A lot of Dandy and Beanos plus some serious reading with Reader's Digest. Will head to Borders this Saturday to get the Guiness World of Records book, maybe will get a copy of the How to learn Japanese for Dummies also laugh.gif
TSGeminist
post Jan 30 2006, 09:41 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(providence @ Jan 30 2006, 09:09 PM)

Anyway other than novels, I also read rock magazines like KErrrang and Metal Edge, Superbike magazines, adult magazines and modelling mags like hobby japan /dengeki (whatever laugh.gif )

I have a good collection of Calvin and hobbes comics minus the Compilation ones that I think they're too cheap. They published them using the yellow simili paper and the price is double from the normal ones. A lot of Dandy and Beanos plus some serious reading with Reader's Digest. Will head to Borders this Saturday to get the Guiness World of Records book, maybe will get a copy of the How to learn Japanese for Dummies also  laugh.gif
And I now know why you were so friendly with me in the beginning ... Sigh, I'll blame you for sure when I see people referring me as a she ... laugh.gif

Anyways, I do read magazines too, such as Fortune, since we have a whooping 60% discount here for students ...

I'm spending quite a chunk of my fortune on books and now, after I started to read fictional books, I'm spending even more ... Sigh, talk about an expensive hobby laugh.gif

By the way, there's this book called Freakanomic by Levitt and Dubner, it's really an interesting book about econs and it's even more addictive compared to Naked Economics ... Try to get a hold of this book since it's rather new and not really that expensive (around RM60 IIRC) ...
satur9
post Jan 31 2006, 09:58 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 29 2006, 06:04 AM)

I'm not familiar with any books featuring family relationships but here are some non-fiction titles which stray from your preferred corporate/marketing themes:

Extreme Survival by Dr Kenneth Kamler
This book was reviewed in The Star and caught my interest. The subtitle says it all: "A doctor explores the limits of human endurance". Six distinct environments are covered: jungle, high seas, desert, underwater, high altitude, and outer space. I enjoyed the last three the most.

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach
Dead bodies and the various ways in which they are useful. Notice that the author isn't a doctor; Roach is a journalist, so rest assured this isn't some dry medical textbook. Written in a down-to-earth style with a bit of humour thrown in.

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 30 2006, 09:41 PM)
By the way, there's this book called Freakanomic by Levitt and Dubner, it's really an interesting book about econs and it's even more addictive compared to Naked Economics ... Try to get a hold of this book since it's rather new and not really that expensive (around RM60 IIRC) ...

By "addictive" I assume you mean "more entertaining and accessible". In which case, I agree with you. But I would still recommend Naked Economics over Freakanomics. The former is a better quality read in my opinion. To each his own, I guess.

TSGeminist
post Jan 31 2006, 10:10 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Thanks for the input, really appreciate it smile.gif

I was browsing around the bookstore yesterday and I picked up a book by Haruki Murakami named Kafka on the shore ...

I'm half way through the book and I can't really tell much, but it's a fictional book featuring a kid who ran away from home, some mysterious event and a guy who can talk to cats ...

So far it's really an interesting read and yea, there's abit of parental, sisterly and brotherly love in there ...

I bought this book without second thoughts as I found a cheaper deal in the bookstore compared to Amazon (around RM30 difference) ...

I have piled up quite a few books, fictional and non fictional books so I guess I don't need to worry about books for 2 weeks or so ...

I guess addictive is not the suitable word to describe Freakonomics, but rather, as you have said, it's an interesting read ... I can't really make a choice between two of them as both of them are worth reading in their own terms smile.gif

By the way, anybody come across these 3 books?

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

In The Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami

Out by Natsuo Kirino

LYC1978
post Feb 2 2006, 09:31 AM

What kind of book we read depends on what age and the state we are in.

I have great interest in reading book related to literature study. I think everyone want to be success, so do I. I'm now reading a book from Napoleon Hill, titled "Think and grow rich", this is quite an old book, it had been reference to thousands of millionaire, included Bill Gates.

I bought this book at RM50++, it's worth more than the price.

Still reading it, wish to finish it as soon as possible so that can share with you all.
abang brother
post Feb 9 2006, 04:21 PM

4,967 posts

guys .. does chicken soup good de?? or it only for gal?~ i jsut borrowed from school library
marquis
post Feb 12 2006, 12:26 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

a book is never intended for one gender only. Heck, I've even read girlie girle books, romance books and stuff. It's a good way to get a quick fix (not that fix you sick perv!). I mean, it's a good way to make yourself feel good. Gives you the warm and fuzzy feeling. Not all mind you.

Chicken Soup is a good read. Makes you all emo and stuff smile.gif
juichuan
post Mar 24 2006, 04:37 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

men are from mars, women are from venus---> a very good guide on relationship. both sexes should read it
dishwasher
post Mar 24 2006, 07:24 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

men are from mars, women are from venus---> a very good guide on relationship. both sexes should read it

I remember that book! It was on the bestsellers list forever so many years back. Its funny tho, why such a title? Is it because Mars is the God of war (thus manly) while Venus is the goddess of love (feminine?) Bleh, I still love you, the girl from Mars!
rontol
post Mar 24 2006, 09:08 PM

501 posts

Kreko? lol*

The Road Ahead....anyone??
faerie
post Mar 26 2006, 08:36 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 31 2006, 10:10 PM)
Out by Natsuo Kirino
I've read that. Its not worth it, trust me. It quite ok for the beginning and middle, pretty interesting twisted plot. But the ending sucks terribly. It doesnt really make sense..I was like "wth".

I just read Prozac Nation. Interesting smile.gif

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:59 PM