<WTA> lighting in case

TSlol4291
post Nov 12 2011, 01:51 AM, updated 15y ago

550 posts

hi guys.. im getting a rig soon.. and im planning to light up inside my case... i saw nice lightings on the net.. but im unsure how its done... i found out that there is ccfl and led.. i would like my case to be lighted as following, only certain areas.. how can tis be achieved? any guides sifus? i tried finding but cant stumble upon any... would appreciate any guides..

http://www.million-dollar-pc.com/gallery-2009/lian-li/a05/033-02.jpg
http://www.million-dollar-pc.com/gallery-2008/lian-li/pc-7se3/lian-li-pc7-05.jpg

and this rig is using ccfl sifus? http://www.million-dollar-pc.com/gallery-2008/lian-li/pc-a10/lian-li-pc-a10-05.jpg

sifus, are the a way to make leds such as in the first two links to keep changing colours?

thanks! notworthy.gif
Clem1982
post Nov 12 2011, 12:06 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

all of them are using LED lightings, u can buy them on the local market but the nicer ones are not cheap... simply hook them onto the 4-pin molex and ur good to go

the million-dollar PC builders have their lights look nice cause they have managed their interior cables nicely... normally it will look like this for us non-pro builders:

there are other lighting options like u said.. ccfl is an option and some people even have them react to the music... there is also a UV ccfl that can make UV reactive components glow... LED fans are another one but u gotta have quite a few to achieve a good effect tongue.gif
TSlol4291
post Nov 12 2011, 01:30 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Nov 12 2011, 12:06 PM)
all of them are using LED lightings, u can buy them on the local market but the nicer ones are not cheap... simply hook them onto the 4-pin molex and ur good to go

the million-dollar PC builders have their lights look nice cause they have managed their interior cables nicely... normally it will look like this for us non-pro builders:

there are other lighting options like u said.. ccfl is an option and some people even have them react to the music... there is also a UV ccfl that can make UV reactive components glow... LED fans are another one but u gotta have quite a few to achieve a good effect tongue.gif
i see boss.. so these leds in use is not from a led strip rite? or is it possible to mod led strip(like potong2) and make the effect like in MDPC? i saw the leds in sale are either led strip or juz the led bulb ny <-- tis nid do wiring on own?

ccfl looks nice too.. drool.gif mayb might check it out.. bout led fans.. not a big fan od bling2 fans tongue.gif but i appreciate the recommendations boss.. will check it too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lol4291: Nov 12 2011, 01:31 PM
chaosneo
post Nov 12 2011, 04:41 PM

5,694 posts

i been doing some research on lighting too for my new project, the picture you posted, you can achieve it, do search for:
1. NZXT sleeved LED
2. at lowyat plaza, some shops are selling iCute 12 LED strip

as for CCFL, your might want to get one that doesn't have a gaudy inverter color, or if you want to put many CCFL, search for Lamptron CCFL Inverter which some can support to four CCFL and another one to eight CCFL.

TSlol4291
post Nov 12 2011, 11:35 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 12 2011, 04:41 PM)
i been doing some research on lighting too for my new project, the picture you posted, you can achieve it, do search for:
1. NZXT sleeved LED
2. at lowyat plaza, some shops are selling iCute 12 LED strip

as for CCFL, your might want to get one that doesn't have a gaudy inverter color, or if you want to put many CCFL, search for Lamptron CCFL Inverter which some can support to four CCFL and another one to eight CCFL.

thanks boss notworthy.gif will check it out... juz wondering, the nzxt sleeved led and icute led strip all in 1 long strip rite? possible to put at different2 places? can cut2 ah? blush.gif
chaosneo
post Nov 13 2011, 07:40 AM

5,694 posts

no problem, just sharing info.
i am not electrical expert, in my opinion, i think both cannot be cut.

but the iCute 12 LED strip is powered by a direct molex without any inverter, and its only around 20cm long if i am not wrong. get two if you plan on putting two places. their price range around RM2X. they are small & thin, so they don't block anything but i am not sure how the it will light up if stick it behind the motherboard though. i got one myself for testing and plan on putting two at bottom for lights illumination.

TSlol4291
post Nov 13 2011, 02:24 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 13 2011, 07:40 AM)
no problem, just sharing info.
i am not electrical expert, in my opinion, i think both cannot be cut.

but the iCute 12 LED strip is powered by a direct molex without any inverter, and its only around 20cm long if i am not wrong. get two if you plan on putting two places. their price range around RM2X. they are small & thin, so they don't block anything but i am not sure how the it will light up if stick it behind the motherboard though.  i got one myself for testing and plan on putting two at bottom for lights illumination.

thanks boss.. biggrin.gif so those certain places lightings are D.I.Y rite hmm.gif nice bro! do tell me how it turns out biggrin.gif
chaosneo
post Nov 14 2011, 09:12 AM

5,694 posts

well,
now that i got a closer look at the item, its known as iCute LED ribbon with 12 chips, runs directly from MOLEX (no need a big size inverter) and its dimension 400mm x 18mm x 3mm.

here is some pics, i put there just testing. it is actually VERY BRIGHT even under room light conditions. no matter how i set, the light is just too bright to be capture correctly.

TSlol4291
post Nov 14 2011, 07:17 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 14 2011, 09:12 AM)
well,
now that i got a closer look at the item, its known as iCute LED ribbon with 12 chips, runs directly from MOLEX (no need a big size inverter) and its dimension 400mm x 18mm x 3mm.

here is some pics, i put there just testing. it is actually VERY BRIGHT even under room light conditions. no matter how i set, the light is just too bright to be capture correctly.

wow.. it is bright.. as bright as a ccfl i tink tongue.gif kinda hav a nice blue glow to it biggrin.gif a fren of my suggested the nzxt led strip juz like u mentioned previously.. he told mayb that can create the ffect i wanted due to the large spaces between the leds.. btw boss, we cant disable any of the lights in between the icute led strip rite? tongue.gif

a off-topic question : boss, u use mdpc sleevings, the blue and black? can i know how many meters you bought of each colour?
chaosneo
post Nov 14 2011, 10:22 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(lol4291 @ Nov 14 2011, 07:17 PM)
wow.. it is bright.. as bright as a ccfl i tink tongue.gif kinda hav a nice blue glow to it biggrin.gif a fren of my suggested the nzxt led strip juz like u mentioned previously.. he told mayb that can create the ffect i wanted due to the large spaces between the leds.. btw boss, we cant disable any of the lights in between the icute led strip rite? tongue.gif

a off-topic question : boss, u use mdpc sleevings, the blue and black? can i know how many meters you bought of each colour?
i do too plan to illuminate lights from behind the mobo tray.
i think the NZXT LED Sleeve is easier to use, but my casing is going to be a RAVEN RV-02e, and NZXT LED Sleeve will need to use one PCI slot for control which will block a portion of my airflow due to casing design so i am not going to use it. i think the iCute LED strip, if you want to disable one of the LED, i think you can just buy a black wiretape and seal over it tongue.gif it will probably work.

off topic: as for the cables...
well, i got my blue/black sleeve cable from niclasteoh, i just told him how long i needed and he quote me the rest. i did told him i want the higher quality sleeves.

DrBlueBox
post Nov 14 2011, 10:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 14 2011, 09:12 AM)
well,

whoah. Kedai mana?
TSlol4291
post Nov 14 2011, 11:33 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 14 2011, 10:22 PM)
i do too plan to illuminate lights from behind the mobo tray.
i think the NZXT LED Sleeve is easier to use, but my casing is going to be a RAVEN RV-02e, and NZXT LED Sleeve will need to use one PCI slot for control which will block a portion of my airflow due to casing design so i am not going to use it. i think the iCute LED strip, if you want to disable one of the LED, i think you can just buy a black wiretape and seal over it  tongue.gif  it will probably work.

off topic: as for the cables...
well, i got my blue/black sleeve cable from niclasteoh, i just told him how long i needed and he quote me the rest. i did told him i want the higher quality sleeves.

ahh.. i see.. haha.. will try the black wiretape trick tongue.gif i see bro, will check out that thread.. thanks biggrin.gif
Clem1982
post Nov 16 2011, 10:58 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(DrBlueBox @ Nov 14 2011, 10:25 PM)
whoah. Kedai mana?
Saw some in Sricomp and Viewnet
chaosneo
post Nov 16 2011, 11:08 AM

5,694 posts

Sorry for late reply,
yeah, Viewnet & Sricomp got sell them.

ahh.. i see.. haha.. will try the black wiretape trick tongue.gif i see bro, will check out that thread.. thanks biggrin.gif

do post some pics of how you plan to use them yah?

TSlol4291
post Nov 16 2011, 11:26 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Nov 16 2011, 11:08 AM)
Sorry for late reply,
yeah, Viewnet & Sricomp got sell them.
do post some pics of how you plan to use them yah?

sure boss biggrin.gif will post it biggrin.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Nov 16 2011, 12:27 PM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

EL Cable also look nice

u can refer to this thread
TSlol4291
post Nov 16 2011, 06:02 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Nov 16 2011, 12:27 PM)
EL Cable also look nice

u can refer to this thread
nampak cantik rclxms.gif will look it up too biggrin.gif

0.0190sec    1.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:25 PM