SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V19, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

Lineage
post Nov 14 2011, 05:58 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(koisempoi @ Nov 14 2011, 05:52 PM)
with 1.5mbps, i still can watch youtube without lagging. but wasting money to pay RM98 if it cannot reach 3.6mbps right ?
But using Galaxy Tab, i can see the speed up to 3.54mbps. Is there a speed limit to mobile phone compare to tablet
Connection speed limit? I tried to use Speedtest.net..Galaxy S2 able to achieve download/upload speed of 10mbps..so I believe it can run faster with faster internet connection of course..I only have UniFi 5mbps..cannot test higher speed.. smile.gif

Refer to my signature drool.gif

This post has been edited by Lineage: Nov 14 2011, 05:59 PM
Lineage
post Nov 17 2011, 11:29 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 17 2011, 11:21 PM)
where can i find hktools?
Here : https://market.android.com/details?id=net.h....droiddev.ktool
Lineage
post Nov 18 2011, 07:39 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(vincenteoh88 @ Nov 18 2011, 01:28 AM)
why i cant view pdf even i have downloaded flash adobe? it wont download when i click the pdf files help plz
Do you have Polaris Office in your phone installed? It's the app come with the phone..pretty good app..

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 18 2011, 02:54 AM)
phone is totally dead, stuck at yellow triangle ... tried to flash to CheckROM 3.1.1 from CWM (previously was on V2.0)

Selected the fw 3.1.1 which was on the phone memory, rebooted and yellow triangle. Tried the power+home+vol up cannot get into recovery. Tried flashing siyah again using odin, still no luck.

I can get into download mode (power+Vol down+home).

To get into CWM, no way. icon_question.gif
Use Odin to flash then wink.gif
Lineage
post Nov 19 2011, 03:20 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Guys..

what you all use to browse Facebook?

Facebook for Android - Working great but when got notification, you can't comment directly from there..

Friendcaster - Working great for the new version, but it drain battery too much..wakelocks..

Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 09:33 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Nov 20 2011, 09:10 AM)
tried GPS Navigation call Waze yesterday... work like charm.
Wow..another alternative beside Sygic to Papago..Gonna try it later drool.gif
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 01:01 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 20 2011, 11:04 AM)
got Malaysia map?

Talking about GPS, my GPS lock is very serious problem, even >10 minutes, can't get signal..
try some tweak & apps, don't work also..
i tried GPSfix, gpstatus, fasterfix

someone can help me? what is your average time lock?
My GPS lock up normally around 5-6s..from Modem KH3-KI4..What modem do you use? what custom ROM? so Fasterfix set your ntp server to local right? still doesn't solve the problem?
If after trying with different modem, the result still the same..could be the hardware as Benny said..

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 20 2011, 11:28 AM)
Send in to check your phone
GPS lockup is extremely fast on my previous SGS II : 4-5 secs on Google maps and papago x5. Immediate and max 2 secs on Sygic Aura. And I never used any 3rd party GPS fix apps
Sound like Galaxy S2 is an old model phone..hahaha..yesterday saw the Galaxy Note, holding on my hand..it's damn huge for my little hand.. doh.gif

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Nov 20 2011, 11:33 AM)
This is with either A-GPS or your position after starting the app is close to the position you exited the app?

Mine is about 40 seconds if in a totally different location and like 5 secs if in a similar location. These are with A-GPS off
With or without A-GPS also 5-6s lock up..What I test is after flash custom ROM, so it's totally fresh..and I did try other location..no problem at all..
Car's tint effect GPS lock up as well..as I sit my friend's car..my GPS take forever to lock up.. doh.gif
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 05:42 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Nov 20 2011, 02:33 PM)
go try it ... it's less than 10mb. U will be amaze.
Amazed by its ability to chat, live update..but too bad that Malaysia Map still not mature yet..

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Nov 20 2011, 04:48 PM)
Looks even faster than my Unifi. But all of those numbers are just connected speed, not actual internet speed that is supplied. Like my 5MB unifi says it is more than 5MB. But in daily use it is about 700kBps.

You should check out the power windows, they spoil quite often in protons  tongue.gif
Unifi 5Mbps is not MBps..it's calculate by bit not byte..1 byte = 8 bits..so use 5120 divide by 8..the actual speed should be around 640KBps..

Conclusion is, if you download is at 700kBps..its should be faster than the actual speed wink.gif

This post has been edited by Lineage: Nov 20 2011, 05:50 PM
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 05:54 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Nov 20 2011, 05:50 PM)
hey guys sygic is a free app?
Free 7 days trial only..
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 09:10 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Nov 20 2011, 05:59 PM)
how much is the actual app? my market is in usd leh..
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Nov 20 2011, 06:06 PM)
hehe, mine too...
According to Sygic, its cost 19.99 € = RM 85.50 laugh.gif
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 09:36 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Nov 20 2011, 09:30 PM)
Hi SGS2 users, is there anyone encounter gps problem that the signal is not lock? I have tried some many times and the signal never lock before..

I tried more than 5mins but still failed..I using mobile wifi (Yes Huddle) to connect the maps..I have not subscribe to data plan yet..

Can anyone helps?
Set you phone NTP to local NTP by using FasterFix..but of course your phone need to be rooted in order to make changes.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Lineage: Nov 20 2011, 09:37 PM
Lineage
post Nov 20 2011, 09:49 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Nov 20 2011, 09:47 PM)
Hi, how to root ar? I have downloaded fasterfix and when select Malaysia, it say need to root wo..
For your case..if your GPS never lock up before after trying so long..like KennyKB said..it could be your phone problem..

Give it a final test..stand in open area and do the final test..if still cannot..send it for checking.. biggrin.gif

0.0452sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:28 AM