『Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V4 』, Updating in progress

volrath
post Nov 23 2011, 01:47 PM

440 posts

How is N55 compared to:-

LENOVO Ideapad Y570 i7 2.0 Ghz High Spec for Gamers (New).

KEY SPECIFICATIONS

•2nd generation Intel® Quad Core™ i7 processor with Intel Turbo Boost Technology 2630QM 2.0ghz (up to 2.9ghz)
•Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium
•15.4” Glare high defination (1366x768), 16:9 widescreen
•NVIDIA® GeForce GT 555M 1GB graphics supporting switchable graphics with Intel HD 3000
•8GB DDR3 RAM memory
•750GB SATA HDD + 64GB SSD (with RAID Drive technology)
•Integrated Bluetooth®1& high-speed 802.11n Wi-Fi
•USB2.0, USB3.0, eSATA connectors & 6in1 card reader
•Integrated DVD reader/writer & Blu-ray Disc™ drive
•Integrated 2.0M webcam
•Dolby® Home Theater™ Surround Sound Certified
•2.2kg with 6-cell Li-ion Battery Camera Application, Stereo Speakers +

Priced at RM2799.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2109070&hl=

This post has been edited by volrath: Nov 23 2011, 01:51 PM
volrath
post Nov 23 2011, 02:16 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 01:57 PM)
Y570 has weaker GPU, but has more responsive system due to its SSD..

i know it may be subjective, but what about...

i7 + 1gb of same GPU

VS

i5 + 2gb of same GPU

Concern --> gaming + multimedia usage.

from a layman like me, for gaming.. gpu > cpu but i may be wrong shakehead.gif
volrath
post Nov 23 2011, 03:06 PM

440 posts

wah...so many gods helped me answer @.@

If i can have multi-religion, i devote to all already! hahaha

Now I whole fully understand everything I need biggrin.gif

My manager is looking for a gaming laptop and he like die die wan ATI version instead of Nvidia. and him being much older than me, i dowan to argue much...because i myself dono like u all.

and for this, he is aiming at the A53SV, comes with i5 2430M and HD6730..and he's a skyrim freak lol.

Thank you all!
volrath
post Nov 24 2011, 10:57 PM

440 posts

I want @_@!!!

Most sellers selling at RM2699. For the i5 lah...

Duno if this is the cheapest there is within Klang Valley...hmm

This post has been edited by volrath: Nov 24 2011, 10:58 PM
volrath
post Dec 20 2011, 05:48 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Don104 @ Dec 20 2011, 03:37 PM)
Now i'm using Cooler Master Evo,seems good to my N55,but the fans speed is not "big" as i expected,

Overall is Good,all i can said  nod.gif
Oh the 1 with the curvy downwards in the middle?

Do you see any changes in HWM? I am really in need for a laptop cooler right now..but when I see available models, quite skeptical of how it'd help to cool N55...
volrath
post Dec 20 2011, 05:53 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Dec 20 2011, 05:49 PM)
hmm.gif any temp difference when idling/web browsing while using/without cooler?  laugh.gif
web browsing/idling??????

Not just air comes out at the vent, I feel cold air comes out ada lah! haha..

when anything you do that does not sounds like gaming...its close to no heat at all, when I put my hand right on top of the vent cover, feels nothing at all.

Even watching videos also same..

So for the activities above, you TOTALLY do not need a cooler.
volrath
post Jan 5 2012, 09:53 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Jan 4 2012, 11:09 PM)
locate and remove the screw in green rectangle and u can pull out the dvd rom to replace with hdd caddy,  smile.gif
looks like fun!

A user in this thread had replaced the DVD ROM to SSD...

I feel like doing it. I love speed. Is it very complicated to do so? I'm really considering a SSD in my N55 ~.~
volrath
post Jan 5 2012, 10:06 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 5 2012, 09:58 AM)
actually a few ppl in this thread have changes it to SSD  laugh.gif  brows.gif i'm aso planning to do lah. but price still quite ex  laugh.gif
omg i jelly max!

get 128GB SSD i thankful liao...jz wanna put important stuffs that i access to daily.

but for SSD upgraded users... how much significant is it? like 30-50% faster? i hope the price justify the performance..
volrath
post Jan 5 2012, 10:53 AM

440 posts

Boot up has never been an issue. Because most of the time, I wasn't in front of the laptop waiting for it to boot also.

My main concern is loading time reduction and processes... sometimes it gets sluggish when I want to access my daily files/medias/games..(even with 8GB RAM I have now)

But then cheap SSD has 200ish Mbps right? Is it good enough? The 500+ ones are like RM800+..godamn
volrath
post Feb 29 2012, 11:47 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(azlanmy @ Feb 28 2012, 09:40 PM)
I see. I skip installing those bloatware, hence don't know the usage.
Anyhow, I owned HP, Dell, Acer 5920G then to BenQ S57 earlier. And now first time using ASUS.
Would say that built quality is ok, but few design hiccups:
1. Power button close to Del button. Not that great since I am suing Del a lot.
2. additional column of key at left side (for play, pause button, etc..) causing me disoriented during typing shift, tabs etc. This layout is very uncommon. Often I press wrongly and started Windows Media.

Anyone can share your workaround on the above is appreciated.TQ.
1. a. Yeah, well.. the pressure button is different, so I have yet to power off while typing lol.
b. You practice typing accuracy therefore not much DEL button will be used.
c. Buy an external keyboard.

Haha, I'm just kidding really. Yeah, it's troublesome. It's supposed to be a multimedia laptop any ways. From the look of it, yeah I was like "Wtf the button arrangement?" But I am yet to have accidentally pressed them unintentionally..weird.

But what I did was, I really bought an external keyboard (since I don't need to move around much)

2. Yea, weird placing, but the pressure of the buttons really have never made me accidentally pressed them. I bet your typing stroke is deep and harder maybe?

This post has been edited by volrath: Feb 29 2012, 11:49 AM
volrath
post Feb 29 2012, 02:56 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(kimmo @ Feb 29 2012, 12:01 PM)
UPDATE*
i went to the shop where i bought it, he said might be some problem with the RAM,
so he replaced me with a new ram..and now still testing..hopefully it solves the problem..
since im suspecting a GPU problem..and FTW if it happens again im entitled to get a NEW SET!
Cheers!~
Congrats in advance on ur new N!
volrath
post Feb 29 2012, 03:03 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(yijun513 @ Feb 29 2012, 03:01 PM)
Sad news, my subwoofer was GG, r.i.p cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  sad.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Whaaatt? How come ah? I so far all okay, but since I got myself set of Altec speakers, I no longer use it, want to conserve the lifespan haha.. afterall, the coke can can only do so much.
volrath
post Mar 1 2012, 09:00 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(azlanmy @ Feb 29 2012, 09:57 PM)
Yes, practise make perfect. Will definitely get a wireless keyboard for office usage. I'm typing a lot doing proposal, etc. It's important that I can remain WPM on this kboard. Hahah.. what a kboard warrior!

Added on February 29, 2012, 10:03 pm

Followed your recommendation - installed power4gear, and I believe it's better power management compared to win7 built-in.

Now installing FIFA12, Assassin Creed - Rev, Dirt 3, MW3, NFS Run, Arkham City. Test power!!
Dunno when can finish all. Definitely not playing game for 2 months due to heavy workload in office now. heh.

Anybody tried OC'ing already? Please share your setting. Tq.
Forgot to mention, main reason why I got myself an external keyboard is that, I can't tahan the heat that comes out of the keypad (left side where WASD is most used in my games) using High Perfomance mode.

Really, hot.
volrath
post Mar 6 2012, 03:30 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Mar 1 2012, 10:23 PM)
what driver u using? coz i'm using mid-high setting and still getting framerate around 35. Somemore i have to downclock my gpu to 630mhz only due to some stupid n45SF problem. but one thing about the game its really hard to aim. Too sensitive i would say....
I just tested Syndicate few days ago. So heavy man, well of course, what do you expect from EA right? Tech hogger lol..

Syndicate has no advanced graphic options? Coz I can't see them from the in-game options.

I'm getting a fluctuating FPS, so it sucks when the FPS drops while aiming.. but the graphic is really cun.

NOTE: Graphic drivers are to the latest version. Running on High Performance, along with 8GB RAM.. so Idk what could be the issue since you can get 35fps range.

Added on March 6, 2012, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(volrath @ Mar 6 2012, 03:30 PM)
I just tested Syndicate few days ago. So heavy man, well of course, what do you expect from EA right? Tech hogger lol..

Syndicate has no advanced graphic options? Coz I can't see them from the in-game options.

I'm getting a fluctuating FPS, so it sucks when the FPS drops while aiming.. but the graphic is really cun.

NOTE: Graphic drivers are to the latest version. Running on High Performance, along with 8GB RAM.. so Idk what could be the issue since you can get 35fps range.
And dear lord you don't know just how skyrocketing my temptation is towards trying out win8... hand very itchy d, but im sked ler.. dual boot confirm no problem? to those who successfully had it done.

This post has been edited by volrath: Mar 6 2012, 03:31 PM
volrath
post Mar 6 2012, 10:14 PM

440 posts

Oh god I was totally wrong about Syndicate running on my N55 i5..(I tried just for fun and it turned out everything was as how it's supposed to be, probably the 1st time I ran this game, my CPU was doing nuts at the back)

Super smooth, yeah min FPS 30 max till 80...even at normal setting, the graphic is superb.

N the gameplay, I think this is the best FPS I've ever played after CODMW.

A must-play game guys.
volrath
post Apr 2 2012, 10:02 AM

440 posts

Hi Bill,

Well seeing how much of a FPS fan you are, and the fact that you play them with the oddly-positioned keyboard layout for N55, I'd suggest you go get yourself an external keyboard, good ones if you're really into FPS. That'd solve all the problems. (I got 1 for myself as well mainly for MMORPGs and FPS)

I didn't have any cursor problems nor warkey disablers, but playing those games make WASD hot as the heat comes out to the left vent and somehow heat up left part of keyboard as well, so it tends to make me feel discomfort playing (specially on High-Performance setting)

Problem: Throwing laptop out of windows.

Solution: Get an external keyboard.

Just my 2 cents. Cheers. wink.gif
volrath
post Apr 2 2012, 05:38 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(soloinruds @ Apr 2 2012, 05:25 PM)
mm..
windows start > run/search > services.msc > (find superfetch.. just ensure it is started/turned on) ..

have u try game booster?? or..
just do not overload ur system eg: online n etc.. while gaming..
Speaking of game booster, yeah I rely on that as well. Of course it's something we can do manually, but 1 button that does everything is always nicer to have tongue.gif

I'm using Advanced System Care and their Game Mode really make things so easy for me wink.gif
volrath
post Apr 4 2012, 09:40 AM

440 posts

So sad, won a Diablo 3 beta key yesterday, but till today I can't get it to work... tried all humanly possible solutions from googling and forums...no luck.

How I wish life is simple T.T

Any N users here able to play Diablo 3 Beta? Please share..
volrath
post Apr 4 2012, 02:12 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Apr 4 2012, 11:48 AM)
What do u mean cannot get it to work? it crashes or lagging? If im not mistaken, the latest nVidia driver support Diablo 3
Updating Setup Files stucked at 60% and agent.exe messed up, so it went infinite loop of downloading, hence the failure of launching the game.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/4254521557

I'm sharing this problem with countless of players out there. Some got it fixed, but I've tried all solutions already... all failed.

Sigh... should I just reformat to lepas my rage?
volrath
post Apr 26 2012, 06:46 PM

440 posts

Just a quick 1. A friend of mine is also using N55SF exactly like mine, he has this problem of, when he play games on battery although in High-Performance mode, the game is so sluggish as if hes on Integrated GPU.

I've checked to run on nVidia, also same thing. Already checked at power option, to put everything to go max when running on battery, also same thing.

Already checked for latest GPU driver, it seems that hes updated to the latest.

What could be the problem? Any ideas why is it happening?

Because when he plugged his adapter, all goes smoothly.

Max power 100% management... high performance setting on battery for graphic as well.

Thanks in advance.

0.0221sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:47 PM