sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 03:21 AM

53 posts

Good morning ,
Hi , i owning a n55
And i now having difficulties with the laptop
My keyboard keep pressing "3" after i have spilled some drink near the touchpad and keyboard area.
I think that this is because of short circuit at the keyboard area.

So my question is. Should i bring this to the service centre or bring to computer shop near my place. Because im not that alert with the warranty thingy . I hope all sifu can help me with this matter. Thank you for ur time smile.gif

This post has been edited by sceletraxx: Jan 3 2012, 03:25 AM
sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 01:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 3 2012, 10:02 AM)

cry.gif  sad.gif  i dun think spillage is covered by warranty. but i think u can enquire & see the solution for this. meanwhile i don't think it's advisable to even start up ur laptop after a spill as it may short circuit more areas???  hmm.gif
thanks for the replies Mr.nuttyking91,
actually when i spilled the drinks ,i arldy wiped all the spillage
after few minutes , the computer goes crazy and the keyboard keep pressing "3"
the worst part is i carelessly try to reformatting my laptop and hope that the problem will be solved , but its not.
now im stuck at serial number stage at the windows installation.
so i need help from all sifu's that can give any opinion how to settled this problem.
btw im going to the service centre tomorrow sad.gif
sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 06:34 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Jan 3 2012, 04:41 PM)
^ u shouldn't have format ur laptop lol. IF spillage, what u should do is to wipe off any visible spillage, turn off ur laptop(off completely including the plug), then if u know how to do it u open up the laptop and let the spillage dry(if just plain water, if chocolate/milk then thing can get worse). By the means of drying i mean just dry it under fan just like that. Don put it under hot sun or else it may spoil
Thx for the tip mr.htpkevin & mr.duckies.
So what should i do now ? Yeah i realize my mistake by reformat it. So any way out for me? Im going to the asus service centre tomorrow sad.gif

This post has been edited by sceletraxx: Jan 3 2012, 06:34 PM
sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 07:16 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 3 2012, 06:50 PM)
just tell them out of sudden laptop hang den force restart. den after force restart keyboard went haywire. den try reformat den become lidat? try to act normal. its the best u can do  smile.gif
Thanks mr.nuttyking91 & mr.duckies.
I"ll try my best to convince them tomorrow. smile.gif
Wish me luck for my dramas ~ tongue.gif

sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 09:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 3 2012, 08:40 PM)
haha hopefully noone works in asus service here reading this tongue.gif
Hope so bro.
Btw i need to ensure that my laptop completely dried right b4 submit it to the service centre ?

Btw , can i know how much its gonna cost to fix the keyboard issues?

sceletraxx
post Jan 3 2012, 11:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:00 PM)
actually if u check the parts price from internet it's way cheaper like err rm 50-80(not sure but around there) but plus service charge everything usually they charge 150n above? Hmmm ya make sure very dry. Use hair dryer around the area should be ok kua? hmm.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:08 pm
hmmm around that price la bro. Speed ah not really lah but u will notice ur system won't slow down that fast when u are loading alot of programs (more than 10 tabs in mozilla, game program in background n playing hd movies?) usually when a program's command or action is being processed it (cpu) will access the fastest type of memory, which is the cpu cache. If the size is too big/already full, it will then use up the ram, if the ram is exhausted, den the system will access the slowest type of memory, the hard disc. Lol. This is what i understand lah. Anyone can correct me if i'm wrong notworthy.gif
i already tried with hair dryer , but some said that do not use hair dryer, because it will push the liquid more to unreachable places .
and it make my laptop kinda hot too sweat.gif
sceletraxx
post Jan 5 2012, 12:08 AM

53 posts

To Mr.nuttyking91 & Mr.Duckies,
Status of today mission : MISSION ACCOMPLISH !! Awyeah ~

im doin like what u guys said and it work kinda well,
i said "I left the laptop for an overnight , when i wake upin the morning my laptop freeze , than I force restart and the keyboard issues occured . than i said i format and the problem still occured."
after he check it , the staff ask me about the spillage and i said i didnt know about it and make a innocent face.
the guy believe me LOL , he said it maybe because of the overheat because i left it overnight .
lucky the spillage not that serious . they just cleaning it up under the keyboard and done.
now my laptop working perfectly , no problem till now.

I would like to thank you to Mr.nuttyking91 & Mr.Duckies notworthy.gif
thanks for helping me happy.gif
sceletraxx
post Jan 5 2012, 09:35 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:40 AM)
so no parts replacement lah? tongue.gif brows.gif good 'show' xD btw i'm getting tl at this laptop when gaming de. Just now tried gaming modern warfare 3. Zzz 4times try all end up hang have to force reboot. 4th time i fed up de straight off plug n sleep tongue.gif i wonder what cause this. hmm.gif it's random n occurs in any game laugh.gif the game will freeze n audio will distort like hell sweat.gif
Thank bro for the compliment tongue.gif
yeah no part replacement . because my spillage not so bad
havent tried yet Modern Warfare 3 , but i played Black Ops , and system all green ,
so our laptop doesnt support MW3 ?
sceletraxx
post Jan 5 2012, 11:08 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 5 2012, 10:49 AM)
Glad to hear that  biggrin.gif Next time remember to switch off ur notebook immediately if u spilled something on it again *touchwood* tongue.gif
It occurs to few ppl here before but I've never experienced it.I finished all 2011 games adi and still not even once.Not sure wat causes it until now hmm.gif
It is quite significant when u run applications.U can google around or youtube about the difference between a SSD and HDD.I would say if u have the budget,SSD is a good investment although I believe booting a pc below 15 seconds is not a main and critical feature (I mean come on,cant u even spare a minute to boot a pc?Why do u even need to boot a pc in 15 secs?Just let it sleep or hibernate if u really wanna save time laugh.gif )
Thanks bro for reminding me nod.gif
i"ll be more careful next time LOL (it's like im praying for it to be happened again LOL) doh.gif

This post has been edited by sceletraxx: Jan 5 2012, 11:09 AM

0.0193sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:32 AM