V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

wira1979
post Nov 9 2011, 03:34 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 9 2011, 03:11 PM)
The R lights found here has both the fog light and the reverse camera. Basically one side of the light shows the reverse camera and the other side shows the fog light.
Reverse camera? Is this something new cause I always tot that the reverse camera is housed at the VW emblem? I demand you tell me more!
wira1979
post Nov 9 2011, 03:38 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 9 2011, 03:30 PM)
Golf GTi SE?
Any diff from the Golf GTi?
- SE got 18" Detroit wheels. Normal GTI only got 17" Denver wheels
- SE got sunroof. Normal GTI don't have
- SE got cruise control. Normal GTI don't have
- SE got RCD 510 head unit. Normal GTI only got welfare RCD 310
- SE got lucky ******* owners. Normal GTI only got water fish owners like me

Anything else I miss?

Added on November 9, 2011, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 9 2011, 03:36 PM)
Made a typo. Please read my post above.

There are two ways to install the reverse camera, one is as you say, via the VW emblem. The other is via where the license plate is located. Depends on the brand of camera you get, whether it may be a OEM VW part or a 3rd party version.
OK OK OK understand. Nasib baik tak pengsan blush.gif

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 9 2011, 03:41 PM
wira1979
post Nov 9 2011, 04:36 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(grifterfmj @ Nov 9 2011, 04:15 PM)
u book now March 2012 only take stock hahaha

GTI SE got DRL too
DRL is not SE exclusive. If I'm not mistaken, all 2011 GTI's get DRL.

Added on November 9, 2011, 4:38 pm
QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 9 2011, 03:51 PM)
Ahh,
So the model shown on volkswagen.com.my is a Normal one?
how do we get the SE one? Same book from the dealer?
But the website didn't show it sad.gif
I believe that every year VW Malaysia will only bring in a limited number of GTI SE's so gotta specifically ask for that model. Hence why the long waiting time.

My buddy who booked will only get it in April 2012 (according to the SA lah).

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 9 2011, 04:38 PM
wira1979
post Nov 10 2011, 05:07 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Nov 10 2011, 03:39 PM)
Hi all, I've written a short article on the Polo GTI here. Appreciate any constructive thoughts/comments so that I can improve!

Thanks in advance, folks!
Nice thumbup.gif

So nice to see that VW are growing a set of balls and bringing in a car like this. The bloated order book is just reward for their willingness to take some risks. At the same time, makes me feel a bit depressed as I was not able to convince my wife to change to a Polo GTI.

Anyways, anyone on the forum received their Polo GTI already? Come we exchange cars for 1 or 2 days as I really, really, really want to drive the car.
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 09:59 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 10 2011, 11:20 PM)
Fantastic write up bro! Very detailed and loved all the pictures available.
On paper you will see that the performance figures seem the same but for the enthusiast, the Golf GTI has a lot more potential than the Polo GTI because I would say that the 7-speed dry clutch gearbox is holding it back and of course there is the 1.4 engine (I have seen those crazy German fellas pull out 300bhp out of that 1.4 engine but of course on a manual gearbox).

If you do a very detailed comparison, the Polo GTI shares a lot more similarities with the Golf GTI Mk1 actually, in terms of size and weight. The current Golf GTI is like double the weight of that of the original GTI but of course this is due to the safety features.

I really did wish that VW would actually release a manual version of the Polo GTI  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on November 10, 2011, 11:23 pmTook some photos of my car as well the other day tongue.gif

Cantiknya gambar ...

Now all you need are some Forge 6 potters and the illusion is complete thumbup.gif
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 11:41 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 11:36 AM)
Yes that was me! I was at Getto getting some stickers to put on the car. Now it looks a little bit more different as to how Broleo can attest to it tongue.gif

Eh cantik lah. The sticker you were mentioning is the EURO MY one on your number plate?

More details please. Cheaper alternative as opposed to going the full EURO plate option (which I am fighting on a daily basis to avoid ordering).
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 12:11 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM)
Both also correct! The plate and the white sticker was from Getto but I gotten the plate about a month back and now back at Getto to get the white stickers.  tongue.gif
Confused but still nice ... address / contact please of Getto if you don't mind. Cheers bro.
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 03:21 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 02:56 PM)
Okay.
Just asked for the price for the Euro Plate,
RM100 for both?
If you want real hardcore EURO plates look at the link below (more expensive though). My buddy did one for his M5 and it looks the dogs bollocks.

http://www.tmtuning.com/HOME/catalog/produ...lt_product=2424

Added on November 11, 2011, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 03:13 PM)
Yeah for front and back. Note that it isn't the usual type of plate where they stick numbers on it. The entire plate is a large sticker and then protected with a clear plastic.
Can you choose the fonts and stuff like that?

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 11 2011, 03:41 PM
wira1979
post Nov 12 2011, 08:28 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Nov 12 2011, 03:51 AM)
there is another website can do custom plates.. just name it.. www.autoplates.com
Yeah man. Did a search and there are many others that do blush.gif

Only issue is whether these plates are legal here. Seems the font used are not.

So maybe I'll just stick to the Getto version plates.
wira1979
post Nov 12 2011, 01:55 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(NussFit @ Nov 12 2011, 11:52 AM)
Hellop! new owner of Golf TSI. has been reading most of the posts in here, so far only able to digest few things. I would like to say thank first and foremost for all the tips / upgrade mods given. I wanna ask, since balik kampung etc, my ride alignment abit lari lah. so do u guys go to SC? or just outside tire shop to fix it. if so, where? im from putrajaya, shah alam, or any near my vicinity would be great. asked SC the other day, had to leave car for 1 and half hour for alignment. they are that fast i know. Any input is very much appreaciated. thanks
Outside shop is slightly cheaper. A recommended tyre shop:

MPS AUTO SDN BHD
No 1, Jln PJS 7/17, Bandar Sunway,
46150 PJ,
Selangor Darul Ehsan.
Tel : 03 56340939, 03 56340749
wira1979
post Nov 15 2011, 03:18 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Broleo @ Nov 15 2011, 03:06 PM)
reading and replying this forum. icon_idea.gif  brows.gif
wira1979
post Nov 15 2011, 06:16 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 15 2011, 04:16 PM)
Thats why im asking now. Got it?
Well, take heed of what everyone is advising you. But if you must know, I'll give you a rough estimate about what to expect in relation to insurance.

When I got my GTI early this year, the full insurance premium was around between RM6k to RM6.5k (can't remember correctly). I believe that if you're a normal young strapping virile lad, this is the price that you'll have to pay. So based on this, you just need to apportion the approx RM6k insurance premium based on the price of the VW you're planning to get. Insurance is based on the price of the car, so you can't go far off.

For example, say you're planning to get a Polo GTI, expect to pay around RM4.2k (RM6.5/RM209k*RM136).

Please take note that the figures I noted above is before any NCD bonuses you may have with you. if you have mad skills like me, you'll get the max NCD of 55% tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 15 2011, 06:17 PM
wira1979
post Nov 16 2011, 12:32 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(SeraphimGecko @ Nov 15 2011, 07:21 PM)
I am okay with the prices listed by phaser without listing every bit of miscellaneous expenses & full insurance unless he's a vw SA...... brows.gif

I believe for a serious buyer, he/she will always ask the SA before making the decision to buy or not.

Added on November 15, 2011, 7:24 pm
then u r the wira .. thumbup.gif
Hahaha ... either that or I'm really old smile.gif

Added on November 16, 2011, 12:35 am
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 15 2011, 09:59 PM)
LOL... I got 65% ncd  tongue.gif  Paid <rm1.6k (w/o include w/s) premium for 147k coverage.

Btw, there is car insurance calculator at autoworld.com.my website
Now that is mad skills. Are you sure whatever you're doing to get 65% NCD is not illegal?
If it's not, share here lah how you can get for the benefit of all. If it is, ahem ahem please PM me wink.gif

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 16 2011, 12:35 AM
wira1979
post Nov 16 2011, 05:29 PM

1,057 posts

Useful info bro, thanks for sharing. Just wondering, is this any different from renewing your road-tax online via MyEG?

Do you still get the 10% extra discount?

wira1979
post Nov 16 2011, 06:20 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 16 2011, 05:57 PM)
Car insurance and road tax are two different thing.

Car insurance do ownself = rebate 10%

Road tax do ownself = nothing saved, except runner fees.

I'm not sure, never try MyEG online before. Do they charge some fees to courier/deliver the road-tax to you ?
For my previous car, I recall paying for insurance renewal via MyEG. Don't recall ever getting any extra 10% hence my question.

For road-tax, I believe they send to you for free. Very, very convenient actually.
wira1979
post Nov 17 2011, 11:36 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Nov 17 2011, 10:24 AM)
Wow! What a teaser!  rclxms.gif
Ya lah ... faster with the review damnit!!! tongue.gif
wira1979
post Nov 18 2011, 09:30 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Nov 18 2011, 01:31 AM)
If you renew your car insurance through MYEG, you will only get extra 10% if your choose MBB Etiqa. I renew my insurance last month and got 55%+10% NCD.
Appreciate it buddy.

Nice to know that we can get the extra 10% NCD off without having to move our asses.
wira1979
post Nov 21 2011, 11:49 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(grifterfmj @ Nov 21 2011, 08:11 AM)
Depends what tint you want, if LLumar or 3M you can check out LLunar at Glenmarie.

Paint protection I just found out the basement car wash at Citta Mall offering PPS so far cheapest I've heard. You can also check out Sierra Glow.

Golf can mod 101 things go join vwclubmalaysia.net , the first thing you should mod bro is the tail lights. haha
I went for PPS at Shine N Shield. I believe one of our brothers here can offer you a good deal there. Not the cheapest, but I am totally satisfied in relation to their product and workmanship is tip-top.

On an unrelated note, went to FA Wagen Glenmarie to service my car so kepoh-kepoh sikit over there. Seems that now Polo GTI is backed-up for delivery up to early 2013, hence why they're not taking any more bookings.

Also, there were so so many people there during lunch time you will not believe it. Good to see that the VW brand is picking up and that people are looking to VW as a viable alternative to the other more established car brands. Good lor, will make it easier for me to sell off my car later when I want to upgrade.

Added on November 21, 2011, 11:50 am
QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Nov 21 2011, 11:45 AM)
I was quoted RM 1500++ for llumar ..not sure what spec is the tint..is it ok?

What is PPS? how much is it? once do it then no need wax the car anymore? sorry noob in this kind of things

how much is the tail lights? will void warranty??
You can get it for RM2,200 installed which I think is the cheapest around. However, since you're not doing it with VW, you may run into warranty issues.

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 22 2011, 10:40 AM
wira1979
post Dec 12 2011, 10:56 AM

1,057 posts

Stupid question ... Polo use the same key as Golf?

wira1979
post Dec 12 2011, 03:09 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(AXeL888 @ Dec 12 2011, 01:16 PM)
Yes it is the same
Thanks brader thumbup.gif