V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

JoshuaLee
post Dec 8 2011, 11:54 AM

417 posts

Spent a morning doing work and also actually reading through this thread. Would say it's definitely Interesting.

Okay. On the tight side, i've sorta decided to go with Golf 1.4 as it wouldn't be holding me back from a good good life. Stretching for a GTI would sorta be pushing me back from enjoying a good life--not making alot.

Anyway, as some of you have answered in earlier post but some went unanswered.

Insurance: which one have you guys tried and some feedbacks
Tintings: Suggestions, preferably heat first then security--be good if you've an estimate price
Mods: would modding tail-lights(price?), RCD510(price?), rear-view camera(price?), brakes/braking systems (plates and etc) void warranties? any suggestion on where to get the best body kit? don't think i could afford buying a whole gti bumper as i like it alot too.
Rims: denver? atlanta? detroit? price? where to get them? and also could we opt for off-set?

p/s: some of you have mentioned about pre-registered 2011 cars being cheaper in january but how much cheaper? as of now, they are offering a 8k rebate + 5k top-up for trade-in.

p/s2: do reply soon as i'm gonna make my decision soon...

This post has been edited by JoshuaLee: Dec 8 2011, 11:56 AM
JoshuaLee
post Dec 8 2011, 02:25 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 8 2011, 02:04 PM)
Insurance: Hard to tell you because different agents/agency have so many different benefits but as your first car, I think VW has a deal with Chartis so your first year should be with whichever insurance they deal with.
Tinting: You can't go wrong with the branded ones, just choose the one which fits your budget
Mods: R lights (RM2200-RM2400), RCD510 (RM1800-RM2500), Reverse camera (>RM1500 for original OEM VW), brakes (>RM5000 - RM12000 depending on whether you are getting a 4-pot brakes or a 6-pot brakes)
Bodykit: There is no such thing as best body kit. It all depends on your taste. Some kits can range from RM2500 (Votex) to RM17000 (Revosport)
Rims: Denvers 17" (RM900-RM1500), Detroits 18" (RM2600-RM3800 Depending if they are from a Mk5 or a Mk6), Denvers and Detroits and standard VW offset of 51 if I am not mistaken. PCD5x112. You can opt for various other rims as well from replicas, to Caratere rims, BBS, OZ, WMR, AEZ, Dotz

It is also good for you to also do your own research within the VWclubmalaysia.net forum. Plenty of information there and plenty of various mods you can do for your car.
thanks for quick reply. will check regarding the chartis insurance and etc.
tinting: Can't go wrong with branded ones? any particular ones? heat reduction is crucial. how dark can our tint go?

would any mods to the lights and brakes void any sort of warranty?
JoshuaLee
post Dec 8 2011, 02:58 PM

417 posts

agree on the scared, don't mod. mod, don't be scared....

but i need to know what are the things that can be mod without losing my warranty so i can do what i can and should. smile.gif
suspensions? brakes? rear tail lights?

urgent help required, please PM me... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by JoshuaLee: Dec 8 2011, 03:09 PM
JoshuaLee
post Dec 13 2011, 10:56 AM

417 posts

Anyone knows where to get NRS510, RCD510 and also denvers? biggrin.gif
JoshuaLee
post Dec 14 2011, 09:55 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 13 2011, 05:04 PM)
RNS510 you can check out http://jimmy-cbx.blogspot.com/
saw it yesterday but he's currently in ko samui... hahaha

QUOTE(ncb79 @ Dec 13 2011, 05:40 PM)
I got denvers convert to detroil look for sale..
please pm me with details... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pelvin @ Dec 14 2011, 09:23 AM)
anybody of u guys did Autofoam from KLAuto ? i plan to do the comfort package + the sound proof pakage, so just need more reviews on it and want to know is it worth it.. and secondly i understand its irreversible, not sure VW will void any warranty or when u wan to sell car that time, value will drop or not.. thanks guys
interesting... how much does all these cost? i'm just curious, as far as i've tried.... most vw cars have exceptional sound proofing as stock... does this package make it more sound proof? biggrin.gif actions in car wouldn't be heard next car? tongue.gif

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 14 2011, 09:37 AM)
Hey guys, wat u think of the new beetle 2012? I asked my sa, he says can book now. 1.2 tsi 130k, 1.4 160k.  Next march get car.saw the car on utube,looks awesome!
awesome loooking car! panamera look-alike! biggrin.gif cantik.... and next march can get car? this one, not sure right? a few SA say can book now but can't gurantee when the car can reach, maybe q2.

Added on December 14, 2011, 9:56 amp/s: anyone knows where to get the spoiler and bodykit? can't seem to find any nice ones...

This post has been edited by JoshuaLee: Dec 14 2011, 09:56 AM
JoshuaLee
post Dec 14 2011, 05:25 PM

417 posts

okay... now i'm afraid of getting my car... >.<
JoshuaLee
post Dec 14 2011, 10:31 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Dec 14 2011, 05:30 PM)
hahaha.. no worry. NOt all got this problem.. just few of us badluck.  mad.gif
still... *worried* aih... hope mine won't have such problem.... *tapping feet waiting for my car to arrive*

QUOTE(phas3r @ Dec 14 2011, 09:40 PM)
id say the unibrace at about rm2k could do the trick. could ask other sifus though
i think so too... biggrin.gif any bar would help do some tricks to minimize roll...
then again, it's also the racing line you're on... apexi line is important on curves

JoshuaLee
post Dec 19 2011, 09:53 AM

417 posts

kereta mungkin keluar esok... excited... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

JoshuaLee
post Dec 19 2011, 10:40 AM

417 posts

happy.gif
now, my plans for mods...
questions:
1)changing the underbody brace / adding the rear brace would void anything? biggrin.gif
2)anyone selling their denvers?
3)any suggestion on which bodykit to get? (some of you have sent me fb links but i can't view them in the office)
4)can these bodykits be sprayed first then fitted on or must i install the bodykit before spraying it? i know different types/shop does it differently.
5)i was told the prices of these kits range from 2k to 17k but what's the difference? the quality? the material? or design/brand?
and i know, want mod dont' scare, scare then don't mod.
but i just want to know to how far can i mod my car without voiding anything. smile.gif
JoshuaLee
post Dec 19 2011, 06:02 PM

417 posts

it's dry dsg on tsi.

Added on December 19, 2011, 6:08 pmnow, my plans for mods...
questions:
1)changing the underbody brace / adding the rear brace would void anything? (technically it shouldn't void any but if the SC/VGM is being a b**** about it, they can still void)
2)anyone selling their denvers? (too late, sold mine off last week)
3)any suggestion on which bodykit to get? (some of you have sent me fb links but i can't view them in the office)
4)can these bodykits be sprayed first then fitted on or must i install the bodykit before spraying it? i know different types/shop does it differently. (IMHO best to spray the bodykits first before installation. It will look nicer)
5)i was told the prices of these kits range from 2k to 17k but what's the difference? the quality? the material? or design/brand? (Brand, material and design. The RM17k one I mentioned to you has a lot of carbon fibre parts)
and i know, want mod dont' scare, scare then don't mod.
but i just want to know to how far can i mod my car without voiding anything.

damN!
i was asking for denvers since last weeeeekkk!!!!!!!
and i was just told that if i put underbody brace... suspensions, and absorbers will be voided off warranty...
damN! was looking forward to putting on unibrace...

This post has been edited by JoshuaLee: Dec 19 2011, 06:08 PM
JoshuaLee
post Dec 23 2011, 11:44 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 22 2011, 09:29 PM)
Guys,

Anyone have recently have the latest news whether white is still available?

Am looking for white, black or red but it seems red does not go too well with my family. They think red is kinda girly, hence white would seem much a better choice but my wife thinks the other way though.

Also, have anyone recently gotten their car with RCD510 equipped from their SA or they would go for aftermarket RCD510?

I believe coding is required right, so what happens if aftermarket RCD510 hit a few fuse or two and voids the warranty?

Thanks for your time!
if not mistaken, RCD510 straight from SA is way way overpriced. my SA told me to go for aftermarket. either you buy it off users who wants to upgrade their units and intend to sell their stock rcd510 or you could go for aftermarket rcd510 which comes in two version. premium (supports bluetooth installaation and original VW reverse camera) and the basic which is basic--without what premium have.

from my understanding, it's a plug and play unit as it's also a vw headunit so there shouldn't be much issue with the fuse and etc. (sifus sekalian, help out on this... i'm not 100% sure though)

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Dec 23 2011, 10:40 AM)
I have a double booking for a 2011 Candy White Golf GTI SE (with sunroof+RCD510+18" Detroits+MDI+Cruise Control) with two different dealers, both cars arrived at the same time and I can only take one (obviously!). So I have an extra booking to let go for anyone who's interested. Car is already in stockyard, ready for delivery.

If anyone is interested, PM me smile.gif
BRO!!!!!!!!! if only you said this earlier!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i was looking for 1 and i settled for 1.4 tsi....and i JUST got my car ARGH!!! ahhhh!!!! rclxub.gif ohmy.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif flex.gif cry.gif blink.gif
JoshuaLee
post Dec 23 2011, 12:32 PM

417 posts

i'd no car to use.... and according to SA, the booking queue is damn long.... and i was in a rush to buy...
how much is it for your car now?
JoshuaLee
post Dec 29 2011, 12:54 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(YooNJuN @ Dec 28 2011, 10:18 PM)
Wow?!? TRUE STORY BRO? With Discount?! 3-door or 5-door? I'm third in line for a 5-door Red Polo GTI.
The salesman never call me what... Its been 2 months since I placed the booking there.
no la... no stock... hahaha... i believe the one with discount is the showroom car... and i last heard, it's sold?
JoshuaLee
post Jan 4 2012, 11:48 AM

417 posts

yan!!! how much you selling your rocco? biggrin.gif

0.0532sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:20 AM