V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 08:34 PM

143 posts

passat cc interior same like passat? ..... no no no no

170k vs 240k ?
IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 09:31 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jun 12 2012, 03:37 PM)
different seats....different specs...interior looks like passat but abit more luxurious....slightly different design....btw i heard the 2.0 tsi CC will be coming in also...later this year...
230k hmm.gif

I'll 101% go for BMW F30

VW is more like common car brand. Audi is comparable with luxury tag.

of coz below 300k you won't get that spacious. but yet, I would go for 171k passat

look 90% identical with passat CC = price 30% higher rclxub.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 20 2012, 07:31 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 20 2012, 02:28 PM)
160k?
thats camry price range  sweat.gif
u add 10k more can get passat jor drool.gif
IluvProton
post Jul 1 2012, 12:04 AM

143 posts

yesterday I pass by VW. got 1 car cover up from truck.
Duo exhuast. Any Idea what car? like new pre-launch car.
:hmmm
IluvProton
post Jul 1 2012, 03:43 PM

143 posts

I read so long. I just want to confirm DSG gear box.
Izzit operation manual or really got problem?
IluvProton
post Jul 1 2012, 06:39 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Jul 1 2012, 12:36 PM)
The truth about the dsg7 is that the engine power running very close to the limit of the gearbox. The dsg7 is rated at 250nm n most of the engine that coupled to this gearbox ie tsi1.4 n 1.8 is at 160-180hp with 240-260nm at the wheel. This mean on crank u looking at almost 170-190hp n 260-280nm. That is 2.5l NA equivalent power. The 0-100 accel is addictive too n I seen way too many auntie n folks spinning wheel at traffic light doing launch control. With the dry n lower rated dsg limit that's is just a recipe for accelerated wear n year. There are cases of mechatronic failure or clutch pack issues for complete stock as mentioned but they are also many who driven for 60-70k km in 12mths without issue. So is the gear box design bad or just a batch issue? So far many of those who have replace the parts are having no further issue. So I think more of a batch issue.

But how many are willing n honest about what they have done to their car before the dsg failed? I know a few who remap barely out of showroom n start to ARempit like no body business and then parts failed.. And cry baby... And quietly revert to stock but get caught by vw because the car computer ecu keep track of flash count n losses their warranty.

If u drive it as it is without mod, if things failed u got 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty to take care of thing.

If u worry too much buy the usual t & h n keep ur resale value. If u think vw bad, go and check out the BMW/peugeot/ford etc forum too...
hmm.gif

I like the passat. But alot people saying DSG gearbox got problem. sad.gif
Not Really know much details until you explain. BTW, VW got launch control? drool.gif
IluvProton
post Jul 1 2012, 09:30 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(everclear @ Jul 1 2012, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. But how does one actually get 10hp/20NM more just by flooring? That's what you meant by cranking right?

Well I think GTI drivers are more likely to do the launch control but they had no problems with their gearbox (or at least not as common as the TSI). So my humble take is that if it's built as a feature in the car and that's one of the features VW used to sell the car then it should be sustainable.

I think you meant the clutch plate. Do you work at the VW service centre or higher management? I just wonder how you deduced that it's more likely a batch issue that's all. (because one usually needs to have the statistics to be able to tell things like this) I'm interested to learn more, not challenging you. It would be comforting if you could say that 2011 batch has significantly less such reported case. But then this batch has been driven for only 1 year 's time so it could just be that the problem doesn't emerged so soon. Whereas having no problem after replacing the parts, I believe that it takes time for the parts to fail like I mentioned and also the experience of having the parts replaced will impact the drivers' behavior. 1. Being explained how and why the parts failed in the first place. 2. The super long wait when VW replaces the parts.

I think ppl are not so worried by the breakdown of the parts itself but the slow and bad service VW gave them when the parts fail.

Isn't VW selling >1k cars per month now? To me all things are bound to fail, it's how it's taken cared of when things fail that is the 'reliability'. With the increase in VW driver base in MY, if the management is serious about their business they would look into the 'reliability'. Just my 2 cents.
its all under gomen approval of importing parts. similar with other car makers. Import duties are quite a headache for warranty parts. unless you buying it. The car maker need to reduce the import duties = apply for the waiver
all those take times. unless they got the parts before selling.

likely VW selling 1k car per month. maybe stock parts only like 1-3%. if alot customer claim they will raise it.
at the end, all business about running cost.

understand our pain but still is a business for them. hard to get equal balance. too good to be true
IluvProton
post Jul 1 2012, 10:15 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(everclear @ Jul 1 2012, 05:13 PM)
I believe that they are well aware of the DSG7 issue. So I'd like to think that the DSG update is their solution to that.

I guess they wouldn't know themselves how well it'll solve the problem (only slows down the wear and tear or fix it permanently) until sometime later. It better not be like my previous Samsung washing machine, 1 year warranty and it out during the 13th month. >_<
guess is true. if is not engineering flaw then must be user. since no large recall. guess this is random hmm.gif
DSG reliability in test now. hu?

anyway, 5 years warranty is good enough smile.gif
IluvProton
post Jul 7 2012, 03:46 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jul 7 2012, 08:28 AM)
Emergency ppl! My new GTi showing an orange color oil icon on the info display. I checked the oil level of the car is normal. So what I should do now? Sifu pls advice!
ur milage is it due for service?
IluvProton
post Jul 8 2012, 08:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jul 8 2012, 02:19 PM)
http://paultan.org/2011/11/04/volkswagen-p...ssions/dsc_4542

The buttons in the center has now been replaced with a dial instead
damn. i jelly u now.

I like passat the most sad.gif

IluvProton
post Jul 15 2012, 09:50 AM

143 posts

how much km per interval service for VW? 12k km?
IluvProton
post Jul 15 2012, 03:16 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(SeraphimGecko @ Jul 15 2012, 05:12 AM)
15,000 km. but i did mine at 7,500km  laugh.gif

Added on July 15, 2012, 10:32 am
yeah, looks like VW resale is holding well. just look at the Golf MK6 Gti.
Last year I managed to get an offer for a new unreg RM190k on a 2011 non SE unit but took the roc instead bcoz of the shape.
for family outing, now have to leave the roc at home.  sweat.gif
wow !!!! nice brows.gif

cost per km is lower
IluvProton
post Jul 15 2012, 03:26 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jul 15 2012, 10:25 AM)
Roc 1.4 is not that far either from Polo GTI price tag?
yes about 20k only
if those like sport coupe. Roc is the best compare with polo gti.

IluvProton
post Jul 15 2012, 10:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jul 15 2012, 05:06 PM)
So what car you getting now?
blush.gif

I am toyota fansi

0.0454sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled