126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

r3kahsttub
post Nov 11 2011, 09:46 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

Btw, I did want to do a Polo GTI v/s Golf GTI comparison, but VW no longer had any stock of the Golf GTI; not even one as a demo car!

In all honesty, though... I do not think that the Polo GTI will affect the sales of Golf models. While my heart tells me to go for the Polo GTI, my mind knows that (if I had the money!) I would go for the Golf.Preferably in GTI guise tongue.gif
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 09:59 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 10 2011, 11:20 PM)
Fantastic write up bro! Very detailed and loved all the pictures available.
On paper you will see that the performance figures seem the same but for the enthusiast, the Golf GTI has a lot more potential than the Polo GTI because I would say that the 7-speed dry clutch gearbox is holding it back and of course there is the 1.4 engine (I have seen those crazy German fellas pull out 300bhp out of that 1.4 engine but of course on a manual gearbox).

If you do a very detailed comparison, the Polo GTI shares a lot more similarities with the Golf GTI Mk1 actually, in terms of size and weight. The current Golf GTI is like double the weight of that of the original GTI but of course this is due to the safety features.

I really did wish that VW would actually release a manual version of the Polo GTI  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on November 10, 2011, 11:23 pmTook some photos of my car as well the other day tongue.gif

Cantiknya gambar ...

Now all you need are some Forge 6 potters and the illusion is complete thumbup.gif
hbong
post Nov 11 2011, 10:22 AM

54 posts

been driving my candy white polo gti for almost one month.. loved the fast power deliver and quick gear change...
and yes the car is small and will feel bumpy on uneven road..but i been used as daily car now and f10 as weekend car..shld be vice versa right? biggrin.gif

r3kahsttub
post Nov 11 2011, 11:13 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

Looks like you were one of the lucky one who were able to take delivery of their Polo GTI. And yes; seems like the F10 should be your daily driver instead of the Polo GTI tongue.gif
Mavik
post Nov 11 2011, 11:36 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Nov 11 2011, 01:06 AM)
should be detroits 18"
so mavik is that a gti or a heavily modded tsi
lol
No, its actually my old Denver's sprayed and skimmed to look like Detroits. So it is still on 17" rim size. Wanting to go to 18" and have already been eyeing two different designs smile.gif

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Nov 11 2011, 01:09 AM)
Fantastic pics as well, Mark. I think... I might have seen your car yesterday, in Seri Kembangan area? Had all the GTI cues, but no badge on the front, which was easy to remember... was that you?
Yes that was me! I was at Getto getting some stickers to put on the car. Now it looks a little bit more different as to how Broleo can attest to it tongue.gif

QUOTE(omichael @ Nov 11 2011, 01:43 AM)
But actually I'm just curious as to how the Polo GTI is going to affect Golf GTI and TSI sales. And to us existing Golf owners, I wonder how it will affect our car's resale value.
Very very little affect mainly because of the worldwide shortage and availability of the Polo GTI.

This post has been edited by Mavik: Nov 11 2011, 11:39 AM
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 11:41 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 11:36 AM)
Yes that was me! I was at Getto getting some stickers to put on the car. Now it looks a little bit more different as to how Broleo can attest to it tongue.gif

Eh cantik lah. The sticker you were mentioning is the EURO MY one on your number plate?

More details please. Cheaper alternative as opposed to going the full EURO plate option (which I am fighting on a daily basis to avoid ordering).
devinz
post Nov 11 2011, 11:50 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:41 AM)
Eh cantik lah. The sticker you were mentioning is the EURO MY one on your number plate?

More details please. Cheaper alternative as opposed to going the full EURO plate option (which I am fighting on a daily basis to avoid ordering).
i think the sticker that bro mavik mentioned is the white stripe on the honeycomb as opposed to GTi red line..

Mavik
post Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:41 AM)

QUOTE(devinz @ Nov 11 2011, 11:50 AM)
i think the sticker that bro mavik mentioned is the white stripe on the honeycomb as opposed to GTi red line..
Both also correct! The plate and the white sticker was from Getto but I gotten the plate about a month back and now back at Getto to get the white stickers. tongue.gif
Broleo
post Nov 11 2011, 11:56 AM

Mavik,

stop posting old pics...now go and show the 'confused car' shite stripe...hehehe

as for the debate on saving 70k on polo gti vs golf gti, individual preferences..if you are ermmm...above normal size, u will find the polo small in comparison to golf.

thos buying polo gti not for performance, gods know what they buy it for?tongue.gif hence if performance oriented, golf gti is much more potential and desirable among gti fanatics worldwide.

good shout from fonzz on the wrc thingy...that polo is whoatttt

2 sen only
Jganne
post Nov 11 2011, 12:00 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM)
Both also correct! The plate and the white sticker was from Getto but I gotten the plate about a month back and now back at Getto to get the white stickers.  tongue.gif
Contact for Getto please? smile.gif
Oh yeah, what do you mean by Skimmed?

This post has been edited by Jganne: Nov 11 2011, 12:18 PM
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 12:11 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM)
Both also correct! The plate and the white sticker was from Getto but I gotten the plate about a month back and now back at Getto to get the white stickers.  tongue.gif
Confused but still nice ... address / contact please of Getto if you don't mind. Cheers bro.
stalkerrox
post Nov 11 2011, 12:37 PM

1,587 posts

even on paper the polo gti and golf gti have same 0-100 times..
but there is a video on youtube which proves that wrong..
polo gti was slightly slower than the golf gti on the 0-100 times...
and if not mistaken they did some fast laps..
the fella in the polo complaining understeer like mad...
omichael
post Nov 11 2011, 01:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Nov 11 2011, 03:11 AM)
lol i don't think polo gti gonna be affecting much sales till after april next year
LOL yeah. Maybe they need to start CKD'ing Polos wink.gif

Mavik
post Nov 11 2011, 01:51 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 12:00 PM)
Contact for Getto please? smile.gif
Oh yeah, what do you mean by Skimmed?
QUOTE(wira1979 @ Nov 11 2011, 12:11 PM)
Confused but still nice ... address / contact please of Getto if you don't mind. Cheers bro.
Address is available here http://www.getto.com.my/

Its at the shop lots nearby Jaya Jusco in Equine Park.

Skimmed means skimmed as in a polish effect. Basically converting the Denvers to look like Detroits.

Before:

After:

Note that the images are actually different rims but the effect is just the same biggrin.gif
Jganne
post Nov 11 2011, 02:10 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 01:51 PM)
Skimmed means skimmed as in a polish effect. Basically converting the Denvers to look like Detroits.

Before:

After:

Note that the images are actually different rims but the effect is just the same biggrin.gif
The 2nd one is not working sad.gif

it's okay. i viewed it from the link.
Gosh. i still love Detroit more!
How much to skim it?

This post has been edited by Jganne: Nov 11 2011, 02:16 PM
TSphas3r
post Nov 11 2011, 02:15 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 02:10 PM)
2nd one is basically like the pic of his car he posted before

my mk5 gti also did this skimming
Mavik
post Nov 11 2011, 02:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 02:10 PM)

it's okay. i viewed it from the link.
Gosh. i still love Detroit more!
How much to skim it?
Depends on the shop you go to. I did mine at YR Auto in Kepong. I know Hup Shun in Sunway also provides this service. Can range from RM500-RM600 if I am not mistaken. Do note it will take them a couple of days to do it.
Jganne
post Nov 11 2011, 02:56 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 02:34 PM)
Depends on the shop you go to. I did mine at YR Auto in Kepong. I know Hup Shun in Sunway also provides this service. Can range from RM500-RM600 if I am not mistaken. Do note it will take them a couple of days to do it.
Okay.
Just asked for the price for the Euro Plate,
RM100 for both?
Mavik
post Nov 11 2011, 03:13 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 02:56 PM)
Okay.
RM100 for both?
Yeah for front and back. Note that it isn't the usual type of plate where they stick numbers on it. The entire plate is a large sticker and then protected with a clear plastic.
wira1979
post Nov 11 2011, 03:21 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 11 2011, 02:56 PM)
Okay.
RM100 for both?
If you want real hardcore EURO plates look at the link below (more expensive though). My buddy did one for his M5 and it looks the dogs bollocks.

http://www.tmtuning.com/HOME/catalog/produ...lt_product=2424

Added on November 11, 2011, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 11 2011, 03:13 PM)
Yeah for front and back. Note that it isn't the usual type of plate where they stick numbers on it. The entire plate is a large sticker and then protected with a clear plastic.
Can you choose the fonts and stuff like that?

This post has been edited by wira1979: Nov 11 2011, 03:41 PM

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:00 AM