Model Kits LYN Aircraft Modelling Thread, Death from above !!!! ......

mdshahrs
post Jan 11 2007, 02:43 PM

His.. Stumble accross this topic. Is this discussion still on.. It's kinda hard to found fellow modeller from malaysia...
mdshahrs
post Jan 11 2007, 03:56 PM

Hi.. First of all there's a few scale of modern warplane you can choose from.. Choose wisely coz later the main problem is how to built, display etc.. Modern warplane in kinda big if u go for 1:48 scale... Where to get those models is kinda hard now... Last time there's one shop in Midvalley selling a lot of models but now it already close down.. Dunno where it shift.. Jaya jusco also ceased selling those models (cant seem to find anymore)... U can try ToyCity (selling tamiya brand) but their collection is getting limited nowadays..
For the painting you can use brush (avoid using that 50 sen brush) or airbrush (better but more expensive.. around rm1200 for a good one)..

And the paint u can use either acrylic or enamel based.. There's a few known brand that usually used by modeller but it kinda hard to find here in malaysia.. Tamiya acryllic paint is quite easy to find (ToyCity shop).. If u can afford more, try buy the paint online of course.. Another good paint brand is ModelMaster and Gunze or mr.hobby sumthin.. Anyway just check whether its enamel based or acrylic based.. Both have their pros n cons... biggrin.gif. Better to have more than one brand.. Anyway welcome to ModelKits world smile.gif .. That's all I think.. Chiow...

QUOTE(striderozy @ Dec 23 2006, 01:28 PM)
I just saw this thread.....
I want to collect whole series of the modern warplane too.....
Where can I buy those?
Coz sometime I just manage to get a few types only in Malaysia hobby kits shops.....
sad.gif
And by the way, can anyone share out the way to paint on those warplane?
I am still a beginner for that.......  tongue.gif
mdshahrs
post Mar 18 2007, 01:59 PM

Nice one.. Is that a sukhoi su30/33?? Are u into die cast model?? Kinda like die-cast but too expensive for me.. l biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Mar 16 2007, 11:29 AM)
i wan to get this one

[attachmentid=205082]
mdshahrs
post Mar 25 2007, 11:20 AM

Ebay Malaysia still have few of the books + the models of course... But it's the common issue.. I bought two from there.. Luckily for me.. Got the Me-262 vers and skyhawk.. I also saw the books at one of the book shop in Carre4 subang jaya almost 2 years ago.. But the shop really cekik darah.. If not mistaken he sell F-117 for rm30.. Dunno laa now still have or not.. As for the quality of the Air combat collection models, the panel line is too big for the aircraft.. But overall it is ok.. It's even better than some of the toys die cast models and it's cheaper of course.. And with the books, it's really a good reference to built an airkit.. Might built my SU-27 one day..

QUOTE(Mclaren82 @ Mar 21 2007, 10:11 AM)
The quality of the Sukhoi is quite good...but as I'm not an expert...I don't know how the quality measure against Dragon Warbirds or Air Command . I bought it at Hong Kong for only RM129 after discount.

As for the air combat collection..certain plane is quite nice and is well worth RM15. May I know who is selling the air combat collection coz i still need certain aircraft to complete my collection so i might be interested to buy too.

Added on March 25, 2007, 11:27 amHuh... 100++ for a diecast.. Too much for me.. Imagine how many boxes of airkit u can buy with that price.. Lol tongue.gif ... The only real die cast i bought is Dragon P-51 for about rm80.. Dunno laa why i bought it.. Maybe because of the colour.. Really nice one.. Planning to collect all edition but unfortunately, the shop close ody... Ouch... Other than that is my Air combat collection models still in box and 1 Matchbox Panavia Tornado (decent quality)..

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Mar 18 2007, 09:27 PM)
biggrin.gif yes all diecast biggrin.gif some is aroudn 130 to 200 ....... but my F14 from Japan ... RM250 ++ almost 300
This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Mar 25 2007, 11:27 AM
mdshahrs
post Mar 25 2007, 01:52 PM

Lol.. Yep.. Im also considered myself as beginner modeller.. Still got a lot of room to improve... tongue.gif .. I have to agree that airkit is hard to handle.. especially if some of the part do easy to break.. Sometimes it really annoy me if i lose some of the parts or even break it.. mad.gif But that's the thrill of it... hahahah biggrin.gif ... Sometimes it takes me whole month to built just one small model.. Well with a lot of distraction of course... Even now, one model sit quietly in the box half complete since I have to be away from house for few month.. Have to wait until holiday to start it back.. Hahahha.. My last model is Dassault Rafale that i repaint back to camouflage scheme.. Some of my models pict is here.. http://shahrs.fotopages.com/ .... Owh by the way why the is there any Russia/Europe/Chinese built fighters/bombers die cast??? Even german WW2 theme is nice (even the prototype)...

[quote=Jackygwh,Mar 25 2007, 12:01 PM]
i know its expensive..... but for us who dun hav time to build the model... and don hav such skill.......then we will jus go for diecast.....and it wont spoil after few years also beacuse it was made from diecast.. and u can actually held it up and look around them... if plastic kit ... u oni can look at it on its display shelf... dun dare to touch it.. because it will break tongue.gif

Modern Jet Fighter (US)

F14 Tomcat
F15 Eagle
F16 Fighting Falcon
F18 Super Hornet
F22 Raptor
F23
F35

Bomber (US)
--------------------
B2 Spirit
B52 Bomber
F-117 Stealth Fighter

Cargo Plane (US)
--------------------
C5 Gallaxy
C130 Hercules

mdshahrs
post Mar 25 2007, 09:16 PM

Lol.. True also.. Need a bigger house rite... Coz of limited space.. If die cast can put back on box and store it... But if airkit, hmmm i dont think laa kn.. hahah

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Mar 25 2007, 04:31 PM)
there is....but not much....  and i hav small house sad.gif cant display my plastic kit... so i dun wan build also la.... now got one Ferrari F430 kit alos half build sleep.gif dry.gif
mdshahrs
post Apr 6 2007, 07:36 PM

Hi.. MH reminds me of my old days when im still working dat time... I miss MH in midvalley.. Used to browse there every weeks especially when its nearly gaji time tongue.gif ... Need to restocking some models... Coz my models kinda exhausted already.. I mean the small plane usually 1:72 ww2 theme that i can built straight from the box... If the good one, kinda "sayang" wanna built it.. Thinking of investing some aftermarket stuff for that good models... smile.gif

This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 6 2007, 07:47 PM
mdshahrs
post Apr 7 2007, 09:36 AM

From what I know, MH relocate their shop to Section 14 PJ.. 1st floor above Sushi King near Jaya Supermarket... Still not sure coz dun have time to go there... Have to wait until June then I can go there... sad.gif ... Have to wait such a longgggggg time...

Added on April 6, 2007, 10:10 pm
where is MH now ?? i m stil looking for my SU biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 7 2007, 11:14 AM
mdshahrs
post Apr 7 2007, 09:23 PM

Allrite.. what are the things u want me to check?? die cast, gundam etc??

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 7 2007, 12:06 PM)
hmm nex time when u are there plz inform ya biggrin.gif see wat they have there
mdshahrs
post Apr 9 2007, 11:23 AM

Lol biggrin.gif ... Last i check that is 2 years ago laa kan... Academy price tag for 1/72 kit is around rm19.90-rm39.90 (from Miniature Hobby)... Usually rm19.90 models is for WW2 theme plane... For modern one is around rm29.90-54.90... For some brand, 1/48 modern plane can go as low as rm49.90.. Academy 1/48 ww2 theme is around that price also.. It can get higher depending on how big the plane is... But now, not sure how much is it anyway.. I got a bad feeling that it's increase quite a a lot ... Toy city models of course super expensive lor.. But really good quality thumbup.gif .. Wait until there's a sale.. Usually they slash the price up to 30%.. But now the models in toy city really limited laa kan... Ok back to model shop in KL, there are 2 places that I know but haven't check it yet... Check the address below

HHQ (HobbyHQ)
T115, 3rd Floor, City Square, Jalan Tun Razak.

City Square, T114, 3rd Floor, 182, Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan 50400 Malaysia
Tel : 03-2162-2976
Fax : 03-2162-2976

Miniature Hobby <------ i bought most of my models here in MV before they shift to this address...
1st Floor
17, Jalan 14/20
46100 PJ (thats above Sushi King)
tel: 03-7960 1828
Biz hours: 11am - 9pm

Owh by the way, never heard zhengdufu brand before. blush.gif .. There are other kinda cheap models such as Academy, Kitech & Kangnam.. ... I train myself using Academy models and I can understand ur feeling.. Sayang with expensive models if we turn it into trash rite.. biggrin.gif .. Anyway happy hunting... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Lucifer_Light @ Apr 9 2007, 10:07 AM)
Oops sorry. Cos the tag on the thread was model kit, and the first few threads were interesting as they were describing model kits. That piqued my interest, as I was planning to start my own collection of model kits. My mistake then. Sorry.
This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 9 2007, 11:45 AM
mdshahrs
post Apr 10 2007, 03:43 PM

Allrite I will check that models as well.. I remember one of the kits do bundle together both B-2 and F-117 as well.. Anyway have to check back to confirm.. Yep F-117 kinda easy to built.. just have to make sure that their butterfly tail is parellel.. So does B-2 models..

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 10 2007, 09:18 AM)
rclxms.gif  its ok la we can talk anything bout plane but i cant help u much la because i m more into diecast... i dun hav the skill and time to do model kit although i m very interested in it....  sad.gif  if do model kit i think i will start off by builing F117 stealth fighter or B2 bomber .....those kind whole plane body is black one... because no need much detailing biggrin.gif

Added on April 10, 2007, 9:28 am

hey if so cheap i m really interested in trying out my first F117 model kit leh biggrin.gif
mdshahrs
post Apr 11 2007, 10:37 AM

Yep.. 1 colour for all.. I have 2 different scale F-117.. 1 i didnt paint it at all since its already black.. lol biggrin.gif .. But i might paint it later... Just dunno what colour wanna use... Another one I paint into german gray... Nothing to do, soo experiment with other colours tongue.gif ..The airbrush really a good investment lor... At least can do it for something else... My point of view only laa kn..

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 11 2007, 09:08 AM)
tats y  biggrin.gif and buy a semi gloss black spray to spray it is enough oledy rite biggrin.gif .... no choice dun hav airbrush
This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 11 2007, 11:07 AM
mdshahrs
post Apr 25 2007, 08:35 PM

That is really really nice collection of planes u got Jackygwh... That F-16 scale is 1/72 ka?? looks big from the pict angle..

This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 25 2007, 08:37 PM
mdshahrs
post Apr 26 2007, 07:55 PM

Perghhhh 500++ models?? Die cast ka all?? Im not shocked if its plastic kit.. But if die-cast, imagine how much money they spent on it.. Lol.. But to compare back plastic kit and die-cast.. the price should be not much difference if you invest in some aftermarket stuff.. Well some of the aftermarket product is more expensive than the kit itself.. Lol... The only die-cast i have is the one come with the magazine Air Combat Collection.. Quite cheap coz the magazine + die cast (with stand) only about rm9.90.. Certain shop markup up too rm30 and i saw few people sell the model for rm50 a piece.. The quality quite ok compare to the price laa kan... I bought each issue 2 sets coz of the cheap price.. All models never open.. Sayangg oo.... tongue.gif ...

This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 26 2007, 09:16 PM
mdshahrs
post Apr 26 2007, 09:28 PM

Jim, if you still stay in Miri, I dun mind helping you to buy the plastic kit if Im going back to kl... In miri, I know that Toy's R' Us sell limited kits mainly tamiya.. In Kuching, my fren told me that there is one shop selling plastic kit but unfortunately its already closed down.. Soo sayang coz the owner let go his stock at very low price.. I think the shop is at Batu 3 area.. Not sure about that laa kan..
mdshahrs
post Apr 26 2007, 10:09 PM

Hahaha..Toys World ka the name.. Lol.. Yep thats the place ive went.. Near the Servay.. Maybe you can try buy on9.. But the shipping fee is quite expensive.. Maybe u can combine together with other friend to buy it... Or come to KL lah.. Can shopping for models... Darn it.. I miss to do my models ody.. Can't wait until semester break..

Added on April 26, 2007, 10:18 pmOwh ya ka?? My fren told me that he bought his diecast x-wing starwars (if i not mistaken) at that shop.. And he always show off to me because of that.. Hahah.. I kinda planning with him that one day if me and him go to Kuching, we can go to the shop.. Regarding the Air combat Collection diecast, the scale is 1/100.. It's ok for me coz i want the mags actually as a reference if I wanna built the particular kits.. The diecast is just a bonus to me.. USD20K??? shocking.gif ... Imagine how many boxes of kits can buy with that money.. Perghhhh.... I know Toy City in Kl sells airline.. The price is outrages.. Plane about the size of your palm is about rm80 - rm200++.. But its nice drool.gif .. If only I can afford to collect it...

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 26 2007, 10:05 PM)
yeah 500 + biggrin.gif they say the total is around 20k USD  shocking.gif  crazy la them... all diecast...
ohh air combat i know tat .... but i did not collect any of it ... because i know the quality is ok oni .. and the scale is small.... around 1/144 ?? so i jus save all my money on Dragon wings... biggrin.gif

jim18992  ......sorry tongue.gif i dun buy my model at kch..... all from overseas like Japan or HK or KL i bulk with friends... they order from US .... because kch sell very expensive and i dun think i can find any Warbird... all is comercial plane... u can go tun jugah see....

as for plastic kit... tat shop is my friends uncle one... actually not earning so he close down... but he hav the most kit in kch ... sayang close edi sad.gif

but if we all interested in sth......mayb we can order togather online biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Apr 26 2007, 10:23 PM
mdshahrs
post Apr 27 2007, 11:00 AM

Owh.. Ya ka?? But then it was super expensive for 1/400 scale.. I like the airline colour.. If you got a bunch of it kan, really nice.. I notice that better to buy the Matchbox kind of diecast... I have 1 few airline plane but its a plastic type.. Size about 20 cm.. The biggest i have is MAS 747 about 45cm.. Since there's not enough space, I just keep it in the box.. Solid plastic... Will snap the picture once im back to my house in KL..
mdshahrs
post Jun 10 2007, 08:32 AM

Hi guys.. Its quite a long time din reply to this thread.. Anyway I notice that u all were discussing about the air combat collection magazine.. It is a cheap mag + u can get free model.. tongue.gif The price for the magazine is not that expensive.. Around RM9.90-rm11.90 if I recalled correctly laa kan.. Im not sure about this, but any of u wanna look for the magazine, there is a shop in CarreFour Subang Jaya sell this book.. But its 3 three years ago, soo if u happen to go there, check lah the shop.. Who knows he still have the magazine.. Its located near the carpark entrance inside the building.. But the shop sells the magazine outrageously expensive.. I still remember he sells magazine with F-117 issue around Rm50++ and that is one of the issue that I miss.. mad.gif Darn it.. Other issue, the price is varied.. Search in Ebay Malaysia, I found out that they dont have it anymore.. Last I've seen is earlier this year.. Managed to get 2 issues that I din have for rm20 each.. Lucky me.. Some of the bookshops also sells the leftover issue mostly Spitfire & BF109 issue.. Other that that, sometimes u can see people selling the models itself (without the magazine) at outrageous price..

This post has been edited by mdshahrs: Jun 10 2007, 08:54 AM
mdshahrs
post Jun 10 2007, 07:14 PM

Since I already know whats the original price of the model, it look unrealistically high.. But sometimes I wonder whether people buy those expensive model or not.. I can bet 100% without doubt, I will not buy it.. Even come with magazine, I will consider deeply if its more that rm30.. Lol.
mdshahrs
post Jul 3 2007, 06:06 PM

Hi guys.. Since now is my holiday, I managed to take some pictures of my plane collection.. Here's is my die cast models and some plastic kits that I managed to complete before.. All the die-cast i got from Air Combat Collection Magazines except for 2 boxes.. Enjoy yaaa... biggrin.gif .. Sorry, Im sooo lazy to dig my stash to find the MAS plane wings tongue.gif .. Im not sure what is the plane scale..

Some Of My Stash Collection.

Boeing 777

Boeing 747-400

Completed Plastic Kits

1/100 Boeing 747

1/100 Boeing 777