6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

i have a ps3 already, it is worth getting an xbox 360?

ashriq
post Nov 10 2011, 03:54 PM

Well lowyat news has it that the new xbox to be launch in 2012..
not sure how true that is..
but if u wan then buy now.. if wait then all the great games of the past 1-2 years will be very hard to find... and i also think that xbox is best for FPS..
y3ivan
post Nov 10 2011, 04:14 PM

502 posts

i believe its still xbox 360, just motherboard revisions.

xenon, falcon, opus, Valhalla (current models), Loops (2012)

MS really pushing xbox360 to last till 2014-15. Theres isnt any benefit of rushing it out now, since the market is still in the slumps. Even Nintendo, isnt pushing out there console
azsace
post Nov 10 2011, 04:20 PM

412 posts

Hmm... most likely will be an upgrade version of xbox360... not a full fledge new machine.. maybe they called it xbox 360s.. hehehe
minor increase in processing and graphic power

i guess kinda be interesting.. nintendo might be selling their wii u on sep 2012, n ms on upgrade xbox in dec 2012...

This post has been edited by azsace: Nov 10 2011, 04:22 PM
defaultname365
post Nov 10 2011, 04:25 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Yes you should. I have both, and all my ps3 titles are console exclusives, while the 360 is a mixture. PC gaming is limited, as quite rarely purchase for PC (last purchase 'Crysis 2' while everything else...err... try first).

It solely depends on your preference of gaming. I don't think it costs too much compared to a full fledged gaming rig. Besides, it will last you for a long time.

The 8th generation of consoles due late 2013, my guess, no way in 2012. There could be revisions in 2012 but nothing new.

If you want to play the waiting game, it is going to be a long time.

dvinez
post Nov 10 2011, 05:14 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

if u have money, you want it, and rich just buy it.

if u have money, not sure if u want it, and not rich, consider second hand.

if u have no money then dont waste money.

i also support, buy first play later.
defaultname365
post Nov 11 2011, 10:06 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Lol, apparently insider news has it that the next "Call of Duty (2012)" from Treyarch will also be developed for Microsoft's next console. It could be a major hardware upgrade or an entirely new Xbox. Just a day or two ago the news that Microsoft themselves are predicting a "late 2012 / 2013" release of their next Xbox. Could it be named "Xbox 720" ?

Xbox 720 Rumored To Be Announced E3 2012 / CES 2012

http://www.justpushstart.com/2011/11/10/re...e-holiday-2012/

According to technology reporter Paul Thurrott, Microsoft could be aiming to release the Xbox 720 in late 2012.

Speaking in the Windows Weekly video show, Thrurrott made some bold predictions about the release date for the Xbox 720 and some of the features it will have.

“What I’m hearing is [the next Xbox is] going to come out for holidays next year, meaning that they would almost have to announce this at CES, wouldn’t they? That’s my rumour… that we’ll expect to hear something about that. They’re going the Apple route where they want this thing to integrate very tightly with Windows 8 and Windows Phone, which is a problem with the current Xbox.”

Many people thought Microsoft would have revealed the Xbox 720 at E3 2012. Thurrott thinks the company will reveal it at the CES 2012 which is in January. Has Microsoft worked on the Xbox 72o long enough to unveil it in just two months time? It has been six years since the Xbox 360 came out in 2005 so one would think Microsoft is ready to release something new.

Codenamed "Loop", something big is brewing from Microsoft next year.

EatMe
post Nov 11 2011, 10:19 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(ashriq @ Nov 10 2011, 03:54 PM)
but if u wan then buy now.. if wait then all the great games of the past 1-2 years will be very hard to find... and i also think that xbox is best for FPS..
Not gonna buy that rumor much unless there are lot more evidence on it.

Well there's a probability for it to be unveiled at E3 2012, but you wont see the console on the same year.

Take example of Kinect. Unveiled in 2009, starts hitting shelf in 2010. And that's not even including lots of picture evidence months prior to the unveiling. And take note for the long timeframe for just a peripheral, not a console.

A console gonna take a very long time in development, especially if they gonna use custom chips. And that's just the console, not even counting in the launch titles. A game's typical development time is 2-3 years, so you should now have an idea on how long it may take for a new console to hit the shelves.
azsace
post Nov 11 2011, 12:16 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(justified @ Nov 8 2011, 11:00 AM)
helo guys..i have a ps3 already. i loveeee fps. the question here is should i buy an xbox ? is it a waste of money since i already have a ps3? what do u guys think abt it? thanks for ur pov... smile.gif

and what is the current xbox price now?

p/s my dream is to build my own gaming room..wouldnt it be nice to have xbox ps3 haha..2 big consoles  blush.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
no need to buy xbox la... play battlefield 3 also graphic gameplay lagged... its shows that this console almost end of life already.. cannot support game developer requirement anymore
blah2blah
post Nov 11 2011, 12:34 PM

748 posts

prototype unveil in e3 2012, real thing comes out a year later. means 2014 la. still got plenty of time.
The_Rock
post Nov 11 2011, 01:14 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ashriq @ Nov 10 2011, 03:54 PM)
Well..... Even Mr.Google cant show the new xbox console news.. How would you know that is true? Microsoft website dont have the info too...

Added on November 11, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(azsace @ Nov 11 2011, 12:16 PM)
no need to buy xbox la... play battlefield 3 also graphic gameplay lagged... its shows that this console almost end of life already.. cannot support game developer requirement anymore
Lagging sometimes depend on your TV frequency. So far i played battlefield 3 on SONY 40inch LED TV, no lag at all..
Game developer created 2 version of their games.. One for console which is lower requirement and one for PC which requirement can be upgrade... Take Crysis 2 for example.
The developer itself mention that they created 2 version for the game.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by The_Rock: Nov 11 2011, 01:20 PM
azsace
post Nov 11 2011, 02:45 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Nov 11 2011, 01:14 PM)
Well..... Even Mr.Google cant show the new xbox console news.. How would you know that is true? Microsoft website dont have the info too...

Go and google some more

Lagging sometimes depend on your TV frequency. So far i played battlefield 3 on SONY 40inch LED TV, no lag at all..
Game developer created 2 version of their games.. One for console which is lower requirement and one for PC which requirement can be upgrade... Take Crysis 2 for example.
The developer itself mention that they created 2 version for the game.. thumbup.gif
wats this... lagging sometimes depend on ur tv frequency.. u know wat lag im talking bout...

good u mention crysis 2.. the xbox360 version 5uck5 big time (it shows that this machine cant cope up with the game developer requirement... so everything run at low setting)

This post has been edited by azsace: Nov 11 2011, 02:54 PM
xxboxx
post Nov 11 2011, 02:47 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

If MS really going to launch next gen Xbox, they won't announce it earlier, they probably announce it few months before actual release date. 1st, announce it 1 or 2 years earlier would make consumer stop buying current Xbox. 2nd, it will give competitors some time to counter MS new console.

With Kinect is different. Announcing it will make people without the console to buy it and current console owner to continue supporting it. Announcing for new console would just kill the current console. Like the Slim console, they announce it just few months or is it weeks before releasing it.
EatMe
post Nov 11 2011, 05:23 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 11 2011, 02:47 PM)
If MS really going to launch next gen Xbox, they won't announce it earlier, they probably announce it few months before actual release date. 1st, announce it 1 or 2 years earlier would make consumer stop buying current Xbox. 2nd, it will give competitors some time to counter MS new console.

With Kinect is different. Announcing it will make people without the console to buy it and current console owner to continue supporting it. Announcing for new console would just kill the current console. Like the Slim console, they announce it just few months or is it weeks before releasing it.
Let's take example of Valhalla (Xbox 360 Slim). The rumors are prominent since 2008, yet it only arrives 2 years later.

Still i wont rule out the probability of newer xbox arriving, but one thing you should know is the development time of launch game titles. As previously seen before for XBox 360, there are picture leaks of Apple Mac G5 XBox 360 development environment machines (which is pretty much confirmed by the usage of the same "box" on the console's unveiling much later). So at least these gonna leak real mad already if the launch is just a year away.

This post has been edited by EatMe: Nov 11 2011, 05:26 PM
Nawar
post Nov 11 2011, 07:04 PM

86 posts

yes must buy... most multiplatform titles are better looking on xbox compared to sony..
azsace
post Nov 11 2011, 11:02 PM

412 posts

actually now not the case.. i notice that newer multiplatform game, ps3 getting better cause game developer now understand how to properly coded the game for ps3 (if games before 2010, yep xbox win)
samsk
post Nov 12 2011, 10:20 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Nov 12 2011, 12:02 AM)
actually now not the case.. i notice that newer multiplatform game, ps3 getting better cause game developer now understand how to properly coded the game for ps3 (if games before 2010, yep xbox win)
Lol,dude... Sound like you are Xbox 360 hater... In that case, why you keep promoting PS3 here??? This is Xbox 360 forum,bro...

Added on November 12, 2011, 10:22 am
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 11 2011, 03:47 PM)

Yes, i agree... They only announce it half years or few months before launching date.... But i am worried that the first launch always have issue.. I get 3RROD before for my first console back in 2005... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by samsk: Nov 12 2011, 10:22 AM
xxboxx
post Nov 12 2011, 11:08 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(EatMe @ Nov 11 2011, 05:23 PM)
Let's take example of Valhalla (Xbox 360 Slim). The rumors are prominent since 2008, yet it only arrives 2 years later.

Still i wont rule out the probability of newer xbox arriving, but one thing you should know is the development time of launch game titles. As previously seen before for XBox 360, there are picture leaks of Apple Mac G5 XBox 360 development environment machines (which is pretty much confirmed by the usage of the same "box" on the console's unveiling much later). So at least these gonna leak real mad already if the launch is just a year away.

knowing MS, i would say the development for next gen xbox wouldn't be much different that what current developers are doing, only that they have faster processing power and more memory to play with. heck, if really next gen xbox is based of Win 8/9, it would just be a port from PC game.

i would say these day companies are getting better at keeping secret. just like Apple manage to keep iphone 4s from leaked out before launch date.

QUOTE(azsace @ Nov 11 2011, 11:02 PM)
if PS3 developer are getting better at properly coded the game, then xbox developer can said to be guru/sifu at coding for xbox. these days most multiplatform games are almost identical in graphic that most people don't even bother to compare it anymore, comparing graphic is so like 2008.

QUOTE(samsk @ Nov 12 2011, 10:20 AM)
Lol,dude... Sound like you are Xbox 360 hater... In that case, why you keep promoting PS3 here??? This is Xbox 360 forum,bro...

Added on November 12, 2011, 10:22 am
Yes, i agree... They only announce it half years or few months before launching date.... But i am worried that the first launch always have issue.. I get 3RROD before for my first console back in 2005...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
unfortunately this is what happening these day, and not just in console. they released new hardware without really testing it and then released patch or recall for any problem.
EatMe
post Nov 12 2011, 02:54 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 12 2011, 11:08 AM)
knowing MS, i would say the development for next gen xbox wouldn't be much different that what current developers are doing, only that they have faster processing power and more memory to play with. heck, if really next gen xbox is based of Win 8/9, it would just be a port from PC game.
Not necessarily true. The first gen xbox is based on Pentium 3, while XBox 360 is based on POWER Architecture (pretty similar with PS3, only differs in implementation and graphics). Hence that's why last time there are Mac G5 dev machines floating around (since the machines are previously also run on top of POWER architecture). What I'm implying is that it's pretty uncertain for us to guess its upgrade path. So nope, no one can tell.

Plus, it's more likely that the next gen xbox won't be based on the same OS as their desktop counterpart since that will just cannibalise their console sales. And there's still no prominent rumor on that other than some pure speculation.

i would say these day companies are getting better at keeping secret. just like Apple manage to keep iphone 4s from leaked out before launch date.
...but that won't work on gaming platform. Other than the console's development time, games development time is pretty long too (taking years). That's the reason why there are leaks on development machines photos. I mean, you can't expect a machine (even the barebone ones) to stay a secret for years while in the hands of developers.

If wanna compare to Apple's veil of secrecy, even iPod Touch 4th Gen is leaked 1 year before it went into market. And for the iPhone 4S, it's just the developers (who got months of early access) previously thought that it's a new machine on a previous gen exterior solely to conceal its identity.

Not necessarily true. It's just that lots of newer PS3 games requires to put mandatory install (5GB / 8GB / whatever GB of the disc content onto hard disk), while on XBOX it's up to the user to dump the whole disc onto the HDD or either not installing it. Take example of the game Red Dead Redemption (as that's what i personally know), the draw distance is much better on HDD installation than on disc alone, with less texture pop in. That's where you see how some newer xbox games looks not that nice (because of no installation).

It's just that the installation of lots of game is mandatory on PS3, while on XBOX it's purely optional. Graphics-wise, current games look much the same. Plus, it loads much faster on XBox (since it enables full disc copied to the drive), and the installed game looks much nicer on it too.

if PS3 developer are getting better at properly coded the game, then xbox developer can said to be guru/sifu at coding for xbox. these days most multiplatform games are almost identical in graphic that most people don't even bother to compare it anymore, comparing graphic is so like 2008.
True. they can do so much on the software, but the hardware is much the same like years ago.

This post has been edited by EatMe: Nov 12 2011, 03:02 PM
thisisit
post Nov 13 2011, 05:28 AM

210 posts

Sorry to burst your bubble. Even on the latest game Elder's Scroll V : Skyrim, it looks far better on xbox360 than on ps3,

Notice the more details on xbox360, plus some kind of lag introduced on ps3 version.

y3ivan
post Nov 13 2011, 06:53 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(thisisit @ Nov 13 2011, 05:28 AM)
Sorry to burst your bubble. Even on the latest game Elder's Scroll V : Skyrim, it looks far better on xbox360 than on ps3,

Notice the more details on xbox360, plus some kind of lag introduced on ps3 version.
x360 version looks similiar or even better than the PC version. I having crappy issues with skyrims bump mapping on certain textures.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0263sec    1.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:48 PM