Ignition Coil Booster, Discussion

TSbladekiller
post Nov 7 2011, 05:16 PM, updated 14y ago

363 posts

Hi sifus again,
recently found someone selling an interesting product.
Source

The product's description as below:

After some simple google search on ignition coil booster, cant seem to find any disadvantage on it. hmm.gif
However looking at the video, it looks dangerous to the spark plug. And the gap for the plug with the screw is widen as well.
Edited: since it is to be plug into the fuse socket, my wild guess is it will boost the electricity current through that particular part, and might easily get blown??

Anyone using a similar product?
Will it harm the engine in any way?

To bro vr2turbo, can use in my car ah?

This post has been edited by bladekiller: Nov 7 2011, 05:25 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 7 2011, 07:59 PM

You ask me ah? I am not an expert leh, so many other sifus around..... blush.gif

As far as I know you may feel smoother acceleration but whether harmful or not you have to find out, but I can contribute the following story.
My mechanic's brother is a technical guy, so following the same theory, he modified and made a module sort of like the one shown to increase the spark. Yes, according to him smoother acceleration, but he melted his spark plugs after running a few km only.....Maybe he over did it, I am not sure, but he took it out and replace the spark plugs..... biggrin.gif

Anyway, there are also theory that mention bigger spark not necessary will complete the burning of the air fuel ratio in the combustion chamber.... sad.gif

TSbladekiller
post Nov 7 2011, 08:10 PM

363 posts

looking at the rate the spark plugs are running, most probably it will melt soon...hmm

vr2turbo
post Nov 7 2011, 08:18 PM

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Nov 7 2011, 08:10 PM)
looking at the rate the spark plugs are running, most probably it will melt soon...hmm
I have seen other brands and models before and the spark is not that big like in the video.....
TSbladekiller
post Nov 7 2011, 08:28 PM

363 posts

hmm i'll jz wait for the review of his product...to b safe
low yat 82
post Nov 7 2011, 08:59 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

how much issit?

my view is dun expect too much... it looks d spark is alot whole large...but dun forget its continuous spark... in real live, it need another 3 stroke to ignite one spark. b4 d spark been maximise its already another stroke.. IMHO, side gap / other same variant plugs will do better.

@vr2turbo, how come melt? rev too high?lol... plugs got high meltin point
TSbladekiller
post Nov 7 2011, 09:34 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 7 2011, 08:59 PM)
how much issit?

my view is dun expect too much... it looks d spark is alot whole large...but dun forget its continuous spark... in real live, it need another 3 stroke to ignite one spark. b4 d spark been maximise its already another stroke.. IMHO, side gap / other same variant plugs will do better.

EDITED

This post has been edited by bladekiller: Feb 3 2012, 03:25 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 7 2011, 08:59 PM)
how much issit?

Yup, and bigger spark does not necessary mean it burns better.....

I think too strong the spark. That guy made on his own.

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Nov 8 2011, 07:24 AM
TSbladekiller
post Nov 8 2011, 09:10 AM

363 posts

the product looks quite good..i mean packaging of the tube thing
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 06:04 PM

Judging the book by it's cover......?
TSbladekiller
post Nov 8 2011, 08:20 PM

363 posts

nola, from the looks of it. but will still wait for review of the product 1st..
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 09:06 PM

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Nov 8 2011, 08:20 PM)
nola, from the looks of it. but will still wait for review of the product 1st..
Another way is to test yourself..... biggrin.gif
TSbladekiller
post Nov 8 2011, 10:08 PM

363 posts

will do..upgrade spark plug 1st, n to check whether can upgrade air filter bo...
vr2turbo
post Nov 9 2011, 07:48 AM

To me the spark plug not so much gain, maybe a smoother drive, if there is a difference.
Deja Vu
post Nov 9 2011, 08:42 AM

1,863 posts

Bigger spark does not necessarily mean more complete combustion. There r other factors n plenty of other methods to achieve tis (eg. iDSi's dual plug concept) when it comes to tis.

But seriously, by increasing the current to the plug n thus a bigger spark, it should technically wear down d plugs faster than d normal recommended rate. Wats d new recommened service period for d plugs or do we need tougher (higher rating) plugs once tis is installed? N do we need to keep an eye on d ignition system (distributor, plug cable etc)?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Nov 9 2011, 11:13 AM

158 posts

higher voltage, higher ampere.

Can the coils take the abuse/.?
vr2turbo
post Nov 9 2011, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Nov 9 2011, 08:42 AM)
Bigger spark does not necessarily mean more complete combustion. There r other factors n plenty of other methods to achieve tis (eg. iDSi's dual plug concept) when it comes to tis.

But seriously, by increasing the current to the plug n thus a bigger spark, it should technically wear down d plugs faster than d normal recommended rate. Wats d new recommened service period for d plugs or do we need tougher (higher rating) plugs once tis is installed? N do we need to keep an eye on d ignition system (distributor, plug cable etc)?
Wah! then need Iridium plugs, that is the toughest now....... smile.gif
low yat 82
post Nov 10 2011, 11:36 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Nov 9 2011, 11:13 AM)
higher voltage, higher ampere.

Can the coils take the abuse/.?
any1 noe how much this thing will bump up d voltage a?
vr2turbo
post Nov 10 2011, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 10 2011, 11:36 AM)
any1 noe how much this thing will bump up d voltage a?
Bro. bladekiller, do you know??

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Nov 10 2011, 01:37 PM
TSbladekiller
post Nov 10 2011, 01:41 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 10 2011, 01:37 PM)
Bro. bladekiller, do you know??
really have no idea.. i just know the price of it.
Moreover, I'm new in these things. rclxms.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:06 AM