Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V13, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 06:23 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Nov 7 2011, 12:59 PM)
so basically to homeplug works in pairs? the ethernet cable from the modem to the homeplug, and one more ethernet cable from the other desktop/laptop to a different homeplug? hmm.gif
Not necessarily in pair. But at least 2 units in 1 Network (ur home).
1 at Router as ur main points, then the rest at other rooms. Other rooms will connect the Router.
eg. 1 at Router, 1 at Bedrooms & 1 at Terrace.

QUOTE(soR @ Nov 7 2011, 04:01 PM)
f not okay & still don't want powerline or cables, try get a Access Point at 1st Floor, repeats the signal & distribute to 2nd floor.
^
what does this means zsnipes?
also guys if i order through online will i get the free 1-month subscription and 1 month free viewing premium chanels?how long i have to wait for them to do the installa
Like normal setup where Wireless Router & all units at Grd Flr, & ur Desktop at 2nd floor.
Ur 2nd flr Desktop is trying hard to get signal from Grd Flr, which is quite far.
So, in order lessen the burden of ur Desktop to drag the signal up from Grd Flr instead, then get an Wireless Access Point to put at 1st floor, so...
Desktop get signal from 1st flr Access Point only.
And 1st flr Access Point will get Signal from Grd flr.
So, both devices get better signal & speed.
Access Point default settings is not in this scenario. U need to set it "Repeater".

Just found this Wireless Extension by TP-link, U read the "Incredible Wireless Extension" so u know more how it works from TP-Links, other brand also got,
http://www.tp-link.com.my/products/details...odel=TL-WA830RE

By the way, all this is effective if light usage (eg. surfing, check email, facebook games) & not for Video / Music Streaming.
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 08:36 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 7 2011, 08:26 PM)
Remember someone was asking the STB dimension.

Here you go.

Height : 1.9 Inches
Length : 6.2 Inches
Width : 8.6 Inches
I'm the one biggrin.gif
Thank Bro. Planning to organise all the equipment location rclxms.gif
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 10:55 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(Deznom @ Nov 7 2011, 10:10 PM)
guys... need some help.. am currently residing in Sri Alpinia apartments in puchong.. installing unifi this Wednesday..

Just checked with the guards and they dont seem to know where the server /mdf box is.. how do I go about explaining this to the maintenance office in the morning when it opens??

Any ideas??
I think mostly guard won't know it.
Just to maintenance office & ask them the MDF Room, don't know ?
Say "Bilik Telefon Telefon, tahu ?"
Normally they know as TM also sometimes go maintaining things for apartment. Unless u ask the cleaning lady in the office.
zsnipes
post Nov 9 2011, 12:52 AM

878 posts

How do I check my status of uNifi Application online ?
eg. When apply Streamyx, we can check the Contractor handphone number one ?
zsnipes
post Nov 9 2011, 11:47 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(eteractive @ Nov 9 2011, 11:38 PM)
Hi, I have a question. Today the Unifi folks came over to install but told me they can't because there is too much 'gangguan' on the phone line.

Saying that the phone and electric cable are together so will cause 'gangguan'. Is there such case??

By the way it is a condominium running on copper.

TM suggestion was to pull a new line from the premise telephone box to my unit.

Please help/advise.
Ask him got extra charge or not ? If got, how much, nego. must
zsnipes
post Nov 14 2011, 05:55 PM

878 posts

Is there a website that can change my Unifi Password ?
The installer told me possibility not allowed to change password...
zsnipes
post Nov 14 2011, 08:46 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(fazryle @ Nov 14 2011, 07:55 PM)
if block . change dns ..smile.gif
Change to which DNS that would work ?
zsnipes
post Nov 16 2011, 02:33 AM

878 posts

Just Installed Unifi.
They gave me the D-Link DIR-615 Wireless Router.
Is it true that its Wireless always unreliable ?
Cause I frequently need restart the Router only can connect again.
Around half to 1 hour. Using Wired LAN is alright though.
Please help.
zsnipes
post Nov 17 2011, 12:59 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Nov 16 2011, 07:15 AM)
happened to me to though. but the Wired working fine.
so i changed router, no more issues
Change 1 new Router to Replace the D-Link by TM
or
You add your existing Wireless Router wired connect to the D-Link ™ ?
Can work like that ?
Cause old Wireless Router even more more STABLE and fast enough & coverage even better...
zsnipes
post Nov 17 2011, 11:08 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(Polytechnic @ Nov 17 2011, 10:40 AM)
will there be overcharges if you use over 1TB ?
technician told me that the speed will be reduced once caps reached. sad.gif

QUOTE(HeavensGift @ Nov 17 2011, 10:47 AM)
hey guys, I'm currently using a 1mb plan. I'm thinking of changing to unifi 20mb. is it a good idea?
Yes. Definitely rclxms.gif

QUOTE(wmwayne @ Nov 17 2011, 04:14 PM)
still waiting for TM to come and check the line.. damn sienz!!

use for 1 day only...start to regret already!
Patience... wink.gif
Later settled problem, u'll be happy again rclxms.gif

By the way, just installed my uNifi....
1st experience..... DAMN FREAKING-LY FAST LIKE HELL !!! ......later.... okay okay... Good smile.gif I pay one mah sweat.gif
All hardware received good EXCEPT the D-Link Wireless Router.
Just use back your existing Wireless Router, the supplied D-Link Wireless Signals really kill me, though Wired was alright.
I connect my old & stable wireless router (last time for streamyx) to the D-Link ™. So fast & stable now... sweat.gif
zsnipes
post Nov 18 2011, 12:15 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Nov 17 2011, 11:41 PM)
Thanks rattan, is it negotiable ?

Added on November 17, 2011, 11:43 pm
Use back those like Belkin N+ wireless router ? would it be speed limited ?
Nope. I only using my old Netgear Wireless 802.11g. Already Fast & Stable enough for surfing, downloading & watching youtube rclxms.gif

QUOTE(busted @ Nov 17 2011, 11:49 PM)
Hi guys, im new into Unifi family. Got a question here, can i disable my wifi ? If yes how ? coz i dun seems to use it always..
Under Wireless Setup -> click "MULTIPLE WIRELESS NETWORK NAME (SSIDS)"
Un-Check the SSID.
I did that too biggrin.gif
zsnipes
post Nov 18 2011, 02:42 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(busted @ Nov 18 2011, 01:36 AM)
thanks alot  rclxms.gif
im using tm d-link free router..if im using other router will the speed improve?
watelse can i do to improve the speed ?
Highly recommend to replace the free D-Link ™ with any other you use before (of course those without problem lar)
The free router is specs in wireless N, the problem is its stability.
I prefer stability than speeds (Wireless).

If my budget allowed, the next thing in my shopping list would be the Asus Wireless Router (that support unifi)

busted, u want improve the speed for Wireless only, right ? Get the wireless N at least smile.gif
alternative is powerline...
zsnipes
post Nov 19 2011, 01:25 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Nov 18 2011, 08:52 AM)
Hi guys, have installed unifi vip 5.  so far so good.  I need some advices.  I watched TV via IPTV all the times so am thinking to off the wifi if I do not want to use it.  What should I do?
IPTV need Router ON to watch. Unless you just OFF the wireless signal inside the router, but still need ON power the router.

QUOTE(giantdan @ Nov 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
I have a question and appreciate i anyone can comment.... I just install unifi at my double storey house.. and the TM contractor place the BTU,RG,Dect Phone & STB at my first floor family hall.. which is not exactly what I wanted.. So now If i wanna all the equioment to be relocate to ground floor living hall... What should i do..?? I been calling TM for service but being push around... Hope anyone can advise..
If u really wants ALL things to be grd flr. I suggest not using Powerline or wired down from BTU from 1st to grd flr, unless you can left BTU & Dect Phone upstair.
If me, I will assign a Contractor to route the Fiber Cables to downstair instead, he may find ways through external wall instead.
If just recent u got unifi, u can call the Contractor directly the mobile provided to you & ask him to quote you cost.
2nd is ask outside Contractor who doing wiring. Ask to quote cost from all 1st, then only do.

QUOTE(klseet @ Nov 18 2011, 07:51 PM)
ASUS RT-N12-B1

http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...=122&Itemid=110

Yes, another Broadcom router from ASUS with custom firmware for UniFi !  rclxms.gif

Initial few hours quick test:
- both internet & IPTV no problem on my HG850a
- wifi is impressive at this class, strong, stable and transfer rate is good !
- device surprisingly not hot at all

This is the new model B1, uses upgraded chip compare to the first version of RT-N12.

Accordingly to ASUS, shipment is coming, should be in retail market soon, price should be very competitive, another affordable good option for those UniFi users who prefer Broadcom.

Will test further over the weekend.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I planning to get one later too.
May I know is it okay / good performance / stable, if I just buy an Asus Wireless Router connect to BTU and I do not do any custom firmware, can it still be good enough ?

If got USB model (download torrent) is even better that i prefer nod.gif
zsnipes
post Nov 19 2011, 12:12 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 19 2011, 02:30 AM)
I don't think you can use it without flashing to custom firmware due to vlan tagging problem...
1043ND not good enough for you  shocking.gif
Heard my friend say till veli veli good one  laugh.gif
So, should i get Asus or 1043ND or best TP-Link model ? to replace the TM provided Wireless Router ?

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Nov 19 2011, 10:43 AM)
A question, say i dont want the iptv, will i be able to use a router that i previously used for streamyx to replace the dir615 ?
Same case with me, Using old Wireless Router, cannot replaced it, but can be added to it. That's what I do. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(evolutionize @ Nov 19 2011, 11:19 AM)
Hey guys, do I need to wait for the order number or for a representative to call me to immediately set an appoinment date? I didn't get confirmation letter like what a few forumers here mentioned. Btw, I applied using their online portal. Need input here.
They will call you. If after 1 week no call, only call to check again to blow them...
My case after 1 day call me, even appointment offer me extra early 1 week that i set when apply
zsnipes
post Nov 26 2011, 01:59 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(daniel_lyw @ Nov 26 2011, 01:24 AM)
i just get TM to install VIP5 package today yey!
but there seems to be a problem.. the router stated it has a wireless N signal
but no matter how i i tried i cant get connected to the wireless N signal, always stuck with 54mbps which is G signal

can anyone advice? thank you
i advise use back your old wireless router act as access point. dlink 615 wireless signal unstable & sxcks

0.0416sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:08 AM