Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V13, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

soonwai
post Dec 12 2011, 12:09 PM

11,458 posts

I should be getting my Unifi installed today... Hopefully.

I applied online 26 Nov and was given install date of 12 Dec (today) @ 2:30pm. Last Friday someone called to confirm date.

Now at home waiting for the contractor to come.

Problem is today is Selangor holiday. Oh oh. I'm in Sungai Long which is well inside the holiday zone.

Now 12pm, I guess they won't be coming early. Of course not, didn't expect them to.

I always have bad luck with TM installations from telephone installation and ISDN (many years ago) at my other house. Last experience was the transfer of phone line to my new house which took 5 weeks to complete. Something which should have been done in a few days.

Wish me luck, please. With TM and its contractors, luck is all I have.

Update:
12:30pm: Contractor called to see if they can come now.
1pm: Arrived and installation in progress. Just 2 of them, 1 doing the external and the other the inside.
Contractor wants RM60 for non-standard installation because I want them to install at the upstairs back room which I thought is easier for them since it is closest to the Telekom tiang in the back lane. (Will see if I can a receipt for this)
2:15pm: All done and tested. Would have completed earlier if I didn't have to spend 30mins looking for the key to the back lane gate.
As I suspected, the RM60 is for their pockets. There is actually a form which I signed which said no extra installation charges paid to contractor or to be billed by TM. In the end, I gave them RM100 for a job well done.

All in all, quite a pleasant experience.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 12 2011, 03:13 PM
soonwai
post Dec 16 2011, 03:31 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Dec 15 2011, 11:12 AM)
if Rm100 enough to settle for them to put my IPTV point & deck phone on ground floor, and internet modem/router at 1st floor then i'll be very glad...
i found my way... bug the 1300 as much as possible and have them send the Siebel thing to my email after everytime i make 1 call

3rd, THIRD!!!! installation appoinment made this saturday... if tak jadi i really have to give up...
My setup is almost like yours:

Ethernet switch - 2nd Floor
BTU, UniFi Router, Airport Extreme - 1st Floor
IPTV, Ethernet Switch - Ground Floor

The difference is that my DECT phone is on the 1st Floor next to the BTU. Never thought of putting in a separate phone cable for UniFi's VOIP.

The individual floors in my house are wired for Ethernet. Between the floors, I've got one cable from G to 1st and one from 1st to 2nd but I'm short of one network point for the IPTV. So for the IPTV, I'm using HomePlug adaptors to bring it down to the living room.

Anyway do you really want the UniFi contractors to pull cabling in the inside of your house? I would be concern about their workmanship. The reason I asked them to put it upstairs is so that they only have one hole to drill.

At one of my friend's house, UniFi drilled through four walls to bring the fibre from outside to this living room. What a mess.

Good luck on your install tomorrow.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 16 2011, 04:02 PM
soonwai
post Dec 17 2011, 01:46 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Dec 17 2011, 01:29 PM)
well, i'm ok with the trouble, if everything goes smooth aftertat,

they r pulling cable & installing now

the one thing i more worry is those comments i read here, "cannot connect how" "download speed at 0.04kb/s how"

touchwood
Give us a running commentary on this. Good luck.
soonwai
post Dec 17 2011, 08:08 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(lola90 @ Dec 17 2011, 07:53 AM)
is it safe to install it in my room ?? there's so many cables right now beside my bed that I'm afraid it might be harmful to my health . I'm quite afraid to leave my modem router on the whole night too despite the fact that my brothers have to use it at night
It's OK but just be careful with the cables and don't strangle yourself while you're asleep.
soonwai
post Dec 17 2011, 10:29 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Dec 17 2011, 06:18 PM)
Got a call from the technician saying my Unifi installation has pushed to earlier date! biggrin.gif from Jan 3th to Dec 26th biggrin.gif:D:D:D.

Just wanted to ask anyone uses home plug that plugged into extension? Is it stable for normal usage?
I'm using the new 500mbps Aztech HL-115. So far OK, no probs. On 24/7 since 12/12. Whatever you do, don't get the HL-280, it overheats. Check Google for probs with it. If you plan to use with the IPTV only then the 200mbps HL-110 is good enough and cheaper.
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 01:39 AM

11,458 posts

You can if it's ASUS RT-N12 hardware vB1. Check here for info:

http://unifi.athena.my/
http://klseet.com/
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 01:43 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Dec 19 2011, 01:02 PM)
I've subscribe unifi tru online...
but my 1st bill is what I've still stated RM130+...
Is this suppose to be the 1st month free?
I think your first bill is suppose to include 1 month advance payment. So would have been RM300 for VIP5. So i guess yours is correct. Info from unify.my FAQ page under "When will I get my first bill after I subscribe to the UniFi package?"
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 04:11 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Dec 19 2011, 02:19 PM)
I got a question to regarding Unifi networking system now. Can you use the IPTV port for internet later? Currently my network for my house is like the attached

I am currently using streamyx, which is actually the all in one wireless Modem/router/switch. The switch connects to the NAS and printer directly which are near the each other, and further connects to the HTPC at the TV Hall via a pair of LAN Ports (which I installed during renovation of the house, so the ports are in the wall).

I understand that the STB of unifi have to use the IPTV port of the switch. Problem is that port at the TV hall now has to be shared by both the HTPC and IPTV. I don't mind getting another switch at the TV Hall, but is it possible to do so?

Homeplug doesnt work as the power ports are no different phase, I tried before and they will not pair up.
I'm afraid you'll need two network points where your TV is, one for internet and one for the IPTV. I made the same mistake when I was renovating my house that is I only have one network point where the TV is. Luckily for me, Homeplugs are working.

If you really want the IPTV then one solution is to put everything other than the BTU in the living room and use the only LAN port you have to connect the BTU to the RG. It'll be messy for the living room.

One other option is to use a wireless bridge for the IPTV port but might not be fast or stable enough.

My setup is like this:

Ethernet switch - 2nd Floor
Airport Extreme, RG, BTU - 1st Floor
Ethernet Switch, IPTV (via Homeplug to RG) - Ground Floor

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 19 2011, 04:20 PM
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 04:43 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Dec 19 2011, 04:23 PM)
Yeah I forgot to mention that I'm on VDSL2, since im in a condo.

Homeplug are out because they are not on the same phase.

I guess the only option left is wireless? Is it better for me to bridge the IPTV or the internet port? From the looks of it, bridging the internet port might be better?
Personally I would bridge the IPTV as that's not so important to me. I'd prefer max stability and performance for the internet. Wireless-N bridge should be sufficient speed for either but latency will increase. Anyway you can always switch back and forth and see. What speed will your Unifi be?

Is your TV wall the same wall as the telephone jack wall? If it is, how about drilling a small hole and putting an ethernet cable through it.
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 05:34 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Dec 19 2011, 04:50 PM)
Nope the phone jack is not on the same wall as the TV. I just finished renovating my house and painted less than 1 year...if possible i don't want to drill sommore  sweat.gif .

my package is VIP5.

Hmmm another though...are our STB DLNA/media server capable?
I think wifi bridge seems to be the only choice.

Here's a crazy idea. I've always asked myself this. As you probably know, Ethernet cables have 8 pairs of wires of which only 4 pairs are used for a network point. Is it possible to use the unused wires for a 2nd network point? I know they do this for telephones but is it possible for Ethernet? Or will the interference be too much?
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 06:54 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Dec 19 2011, 05:47 PM)
Not very possible for my case as my network port is Gigabit ethernet,unless i wan downgrade my ports to megabit ethernet...

I can probably give it a try with normal ethernet cable and see....then maybe i can make some sort of a customzied patch panel....thanks for the idea! thumbup.gif

Cross talk should be minimal as majority of the cable are still twisted, and essentially the signal is still ethernet signals....

I'm going to have hell trying to squueze 4 wires instead of the usual 8...  shocking.gif
Now where is my network crimper...

I'll let you all know once I try it...  laugh.gif
I've always wanted to try that as I've got essentially the same prob as you but since Homeplugs worked for me. I've been putting it off. Let us know if it's possible without too much of degradation. I would love to get rid of the Homeplugs that I have now.
soonwai
post Dec 19 2011, 09:08 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Dec 19 2011, 08:39 PM)
I just subscribed to Unifi at TM & only saw this thread today. I didn't get the free 1 month subscription & I need to pay 1 month subscription in advance (RM149x2) & still need to pay the following month. So the 1 month is something like deposit (they call it advance payment) .. Sigh!  doh.gif  Am I got conned?? sad.gif
I think someone already answered your question. I just want to note another advantage of applying online and that is you can take all the time you need to choose your new telephone number.

May I ask if you applied at TM or an agent? and how soon was the installation date?
soonwai
post Dec 20 2011, 01:55 AM

11,458 posts

Here's a tip for those planning to apply for UniFi online at unifi.my. At the page where you choose your phone number, you can keep refreshing it to get more numbers. Of course, the pool of available numbers is limited so eventually they'll start to repeat.
soonwai
post Dec 20 2011, 09:26 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 20 2011, 08:01 AM)
In that case VLAN trunking is exactly what you need. klseet has the detail about it but you need to spend more $$ loh.
Thanks! This is also what I need. Currently using HomePlugs but would love to get rid of them.
soonwai
post Dec 20 2011, 10:20 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Dec 20 2011, 09:58 PM)
cheras batu 9 area slow VIP5 slow
Sungai Long, ok, VIP5, full speed.
soonwai
post Dec 21 2011, 06:28 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Dec 21 2011, 03:29 PM)
last night seemed to be like.. some downtime...

how is it now everyone? (i am not at home), but if unifi down then i will have to stay back in office use internet ....
Sg Long no probs the whole day. I've been getting download complete notifications from jdownloader since I left this afternoon. Last one was 7 mins ago.

Added on December 21, 2011, 6:36 pm
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Dec 21 2011, 06:25 PM)
I received another call. My application has been processed and receive appointment date in January. Equipment and Installation charges are still free, just that no more free 1 month of premium channels.... sad.gif

This must be the fastest TM application I ever done. within 2 hours of application i receive call to schedule appointment liao
Do you get the free 1 mth sub? If not, why didn't you apply online? How do you choose your tel phone no? Do they give you choices over the phone?

Sorry for the barrage of questions. Just want to understand more about the various application venues.

Btw, have you got your Mikrotik yet?

I'm looking high n low for the RB750 but cannot find. CZone at LYP has plenty of RB250 though.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 21 2011, 06:36 PM
soonwai
post Dec 21 2011, 08:42 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 21 2011, 07:49 PM)
Jayacom also no? I saw them listed it in their price list 750GL for 299. I don't need it so I didn't ask anything about it. It's just listed in the price list.
I forgot to check Jayacom, just went to CZone. Was in a rush to get out before the jam started. Traffic was heavy today.
soonwai
post Dec 21 2011, 11:13 PM

11,458 posts

@Rattan Is it possible to upgrade UniFi from VIP5 to BIZ5? I just had mine installed 1 week ago. Can you do it for me?
soonwai
post Dec 24 2011, 02:32 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 24 2011, 01:49 PM)
I am currently using Streamyx Blockbuster package 1Mbps.

I am interested to switch to Unify but I am told that I cannot keep my existing number and will be given a new number.

That is difficult for me because many of my old relatives only know my existing fixed line number. Besides that I also make alot of calls on my existing telephone number.

Will it be possible for me to get Unify but the free fixed line calls and 10sen calls to mobile line rate is maintained on my existing telephone number?
The UniFi VOIP line can't be the same number. Only option is to terminate Streamyx only and keep the telephone line with your existing number and continue paying rental for that. Not much though. That's what I did for my house. So end up with 2 tel numbers.
soonwai
post Dec 25 2011, 04:27 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 25 2011, 03:08 AM)
But I want to make those call on my existing number. Basically it's pretty f***ed up that there is no 'MNP' even within their own infrastructure (Streamyx to Unify)
I also have a lot of things I want which I don't get. This TM landline UniFi phone number thing included. Let TM & MCMC know about your dissatisfaction. Remember there was a time when there was no such thing as MNP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0la5DBtOVNI

0.0425sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:48 AM