Performance Parts [WTS] FireStorm Ignition Coil Booster, Faster throttle response + acceleration
mengsuan
Mar 28 2012, 03:45 PM
9W2NNS
Hello flashaholic, I was interested with your ignition booster until I saw something that puzzled me: QUOTE(flashaholic @ Dec 12 2011, 03:24 PM) On idle, without the FireStorm Booster, the voltage measured at the incoming power to the ignition coil was 13.98V and current drawn was 1.98A but after installing the FireStorm Booster, the output voltage was 13.25V and current drawn dropped to 1.85A so this means that the ignition coil is running cooler after installing the FireStorm Booster because both the voltage and current have dropped lower. The voltage drop of 0.73V and current drop of 0.13A means that the ignition coil is running 0.095W cooler than before the installation of the FireStorm Booster. An ignition booster is supposed to increase the spark voltage but if your product drops the voltage and current of the ignition coil, isn't that reduced power delivered to the ignition system? Or is this product not a ignition voltage booster but something that modifies the frequency? This post has been edited by mengsuan: Mar 28 2012, 03:51 PM
mengsuan
Mar 28 2012, 05:15 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(flashaholic @ Mar 28 2012, 04:50 PM) Yes, even though the voltage and current drops a little as measured in my Kancil, yet the resulting spark is bigger because the voltage frequency is increased. Please see this simple video that explains how the spark voltage can be increased just by increasing the frequency but without increasing the current to the ignition coil. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqB2oq6uk_4This should clear up your doubts. Would altering the ignition frequency affect the engine's ignition timing?
mengsuan
Mar 28 2012, 07:47 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(flashaholic @ Mar 28 2012, 05:35 PM) Your ECU will detect if the engine is losing power and kncoking/pinging and auto retard but if the engine does not knock/ping then the ECU will run as advanced as it is programmed. The ECU will not override the ignition coil output. Then this makes the product very appealing for NGV users who wants cheap alternative to TAP. As interesting as it sounds, I'd like to know the price. This post has been edited by mengsuan: Mar 28 2012, 07:49 PM