°° LYN Honda CRZ Hybrid Owners Thread V1 °°, The Hot-Hatch Hybrid

sleepwalker
post Nov 8 2011, 11:21 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

First of all... this car is not a coupe. It has no boot. It's a hatchback.

At 124ps, it is more a 1.7 liter engine and not near the usual 140HP produced by typical 1.8.

With a kerb weight of 1160kg, a 15 year old putra based on a 20 year old Mitsu design will run circles around it. Hatchback it is... hot hatch it is not.

It's value comes from the hybrid tax incentives, which gives it an advantage over any imported cars in terms of pricing except for it's bigger brother the Insight. So it is more of a hot price hatchback instead of a hot hatch.

And finally having a non-performing hybrid engine in a hot looking hatch is like dating hot lesbian who thinks you are gay. It ain't fun.
sleepwalker
post Nov 10 2011, 11:22 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 9 2011, 07:55 PM)
@sleepwalker,

so in your opinion, crz vs 308 thp, which is better for driving?

for car enthusiast i mean. since they are very much similar in price.
The 308 thp ain't that hot either in the performance department. The so called turbo didn't exactly pumped up the 1.6. It pretty much puts it on par with the old Proton Satria 1.8 GTi and that car wasn't really great example of a hot hatch. A minimum hot hatch in my books would be the Satria 1.8 GTi with a transplanted 1.8 Turbo. That would be a bare minimun hot hatch.. wait.. that reminds me of my old Satria.... tongue.gif
sleepwalker
post Nov 10 2011, 05:26 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Nov 10 2011, 05:00 PM)
I thought this is suppose to be a "CRZ Hybrid Owners Thread".

Why has it became a bashing thread?

"LYN Official CRZ Bashing Thread"?
That's because there are no owners yet to defend the bashing.
sleepwalker
post Jul 4 2012, 03:05 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jul 3 2012, 06:47 PM)
Well lacking of power and lacking of hybrid is a matter of perception...this car was marketed as a "sporty hybrid" not a "sport hybrid"...some of our car club members used to drive or are still driving more powerful sports car and they are also finding a little underpower...my take is that they have driven more powerful car before hence when they got in the CRZ they find it lacking...bare in mind, this is a 1.5l engine...

With my 80% urban spirited drive, I get around 500km++ easily using less than 35l of petrol easily...I get stuck at Shah Alam Toll and LDP every weekday...hence mileage also ok la...

Travelling from Cameron Highland a couple of weekends ago I hit up to 17km/l which is good though..doing roughly 120-140kmph..

Well, if you are to read more, you would know this car was built to be tuned, the modifications on the CRZ is almost endless and is fast being taken up all over the world for its cheap price so that it can be modded...in some articles that I've read, it comes in 2nd for car being modded after the VW GTi...

Hope the 3rd gen would not be coming after 11 years...btw CRZ is the 2nd gen, CRX was the 1st gen smile.gif
No, it is not a matter of perception. It is underpowered and lugging around so much weight, it also has really poor power to weight ratio (the universal gauge for assessing a car's 'feel' of power). A 16 year old 1.6 Satria is still faster (way better power to weight ratio) and that was not even considered to be in the hot-hatch category.

And no, this car is not built to be tuned. Slapping on a blower to make 200hp is not called tuning, it's just plain bolt-on modifications which can be done on any car. A flick of a mouse and a click of a button on a notebook in a R34 to make extra 100HP without touching the engine is called TUNING. Don't mix up tuning with blot-on modification.

An those associating the CRZ with the CRX are from the same generation of people who cannot associate the relationship between a pencil and a cassette tape. They have not touched, driven, chased or even seen a CRX but is proud to associate the CRZ with the legend. The CRZ is a replacement to the discontinued CRX, not a continuation of the legacy.

At one point in time, the fastest Proton was the 1.6 Satria (before Putra came out) and trying to chase the CRX in one of those was like trying to chase Usain Bolt on the track. Now we can use the same old Satria that could not catch the CRX to chase down the new CRZ.

So tell me, what exactly has the CRZ done to continue the legacy of the CRX? It did not even continue the name. tongue.gif

ps: took a little interest in this topic as just now coming back from lunch a CRZ rudely cut in front of me, in which I responded by putting my front bumper half an inch from his rear window and he had to duck out of the way. The old CRX would have me chasing him all the way to Kelang and back. tongue.gif
sleepwalker
post Sep 11 2012, 01:53 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Sep 11 2012, 01:43 PM)
Why not bro,have some faith in ur Z larh..or you throw in a supppppplaaaa charger then confirm can kick kao kao d... tongue.gif
Bro,think of it this way, our fuel consumption are almost the same with any other cars that pumps ron 95,cuz if we pump 97 the mileage also close to a non-hybrid car on ron95.. laugh.gif ,but i only pump ron97 once a month larh just to cleanse the petrol tank on my Z..too much ron95 i takut too dirty larh.. laugh.gif
And how would RON 95 be dirty? RON numbers does not indicate the quality of the fuel. RON just indicates the 'anti-knock' qualities of the fuel. The quality is the same. It burns with the same calorific values giving the engine the same amount of power.

And how do you expect to clean your fuel tank by pumping RON 97? Cars have fuel filter for that reason and as long as you are not removing your fuel tank, you will not be able to remove any large sediments that is filtered by the pump before reaching the fuel filter.
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 09:05 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Sep 12 2012, 08:45 AM)
IMHO I have no clue at all, just got the advice from my honda car agent saying that it's recommended to pump ron97 once a month just to cleanse the tank,i'm not stating that i am right or whatsoever, so if you wanna throw your tantrum i can pm you her details, but don't let it go on me yarh.. whistling.gif
yea true that..at low rev we still got a chance larh..but on high rev better not.. laugh.gif
And the Honda agent is just bullshitting you and you believed it. I asked you to think about what you is not correct and you say I'm throwing a tantrum. Wow. Is this what our new generation has become? You believe without understanding and when corrected adopts a defensive stance defending something you have no idea about. Have we all taken fanboyism to a new level here? I guess so.
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 09:28 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Sep 12 2012, 09:14 AM)
Well i guess old generation like you does not know the proper or the polite way of addressing something in a nice manner, u are right about ur facts but not ur attitude..just my 2 cents..check ur ego as well, as a staff i guess you should set a good example for all the forumers here..smile.gif
What did I just say wrong or did you wrongly understand my first question to you. That is how I address issue and it is proper. I did not insult your mother nor did I call you names.

I asked you 2 questions. How would RON 95 be dirty? and how do you expect to clean your fuel tank by pumping RON 97?

And your tantrum comment is not an attitude problem? Do not use pull in my staff level into the discussion. Staff level here means we also have to put your attitude and ego problem on check.

I have no idea how you got 2 simple questions to become attitude and ego issue. Fanboyism at a new level. Yes. And please note that this staff is working very hard to remove all fanboyism topics from this forum. I'm here to prove to the admin that this issue is not only restricted to one topic or one manufacturer. It's a issue that we need to address.

I'm here to prove that we just one simple comment that is out of line with the topic and will get retaliation of sorts. Some thought I was only going after one particular topic but that is not the case.

I have always been very supportive of fanboy topics in this forum, even banning those who are stirring the hornets nest in the fanboy topics.

All I asked were 2 questions to get this kind of response from you and you think that is fair to me?

Added on September 12, 2012, 9:28 am
QUOTE(dkcc87 @ Sep 12 2012, 09:20 AM)
Bro,chillax larh, people staff la, just ignore him larh, he's just correcting you but i agree he's being a lil rude there. doh.gif
And saying that I'm throwing a tantrum is not?

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 12 2012, 09:28 AM
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 09:34 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(BrownED @ Sep 12 2012, 09:28 AM)
I think you're being a little too harsh. The guy said "IMHO I have no clue" and u still flaming him.. Makes you look more like the defensive fanboy instead... Be nice to the community pls. Also, one persons action does not reflect on the whole generation.. Your kuno mentality has and will offend others..
So why is he so defensive if he has no clue? How can I be defensive when I'm the one asking the questions?
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 09:56 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(dkcc87 @ Sep 12 2012, 09:42 AM)
From what i can see from the first post, sleepwalker was being rude in the first place, don't believe me, check out the post that he replied to surferz, not trying to side anyone here but i'm just stating what i see with my very own eyes..
How about surferz reply to me or are you just making a partial judgment here? I responded on the same level surferz did.
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 10:00 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Sep 12 2012, 09:36 AM)

Why are you bringing my mother into the conversation now?yes you worked very hard so what? i guess everyone here works their arse out too, that doesn't gives you the right to show your power here, you trying to act all high and almighty just because of the "STAFF" tag,i guess ur way over the line, enough said..
Wait a minute. I didn't bring your mum into this discussion. I made that very clear in the previous post. Do you actually understand what I just said or are you just full of rage that you are blinded. By the way, I am the moderator for FnF, just in case you missed the moderator listing on the FnF listing on the front page. I get to read the reports that you have put against me. One of them is that I brought your mother into the discussion? When did that happen?

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 12 2012, 10:02 AM
sleepwalker
post Sep 12 2012, 06:04 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(xces03 @ Sep 12 2012, 05:45 PM)
Does that mean the car will not have extra power (12bhp) when the IMA is not assisting ?
Your extra power comes from IMA assist and if your IMA assist is not indicating any assistance provided, you will not have that extra power. I thought the indicator should tell you whether your IMA is assisting or charging and based on that you should be able to figure out whether you are getting extra power or not.
sleepwalker
post Sep 13 2012, 10:01 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Sep 13 2012, 09:38 AM)
I see..thanks for da info anyways, if the ima battry provides full assist in sports mode, how it is suppose to be more fuel efficient in normal and eco mode then?
Sports mode actually allows 100% full assist, meaning the moment you stomp on the accelerator, your IMA assist goes full blue bar. HOwever the IMA assistance is not always 100%, depending on your throttle position but as long as Sports mode is turned on, your blue bar will go max faster than Normal or Econ.

Sports mode also changes the characteristics of the ECU to provide a more aggressive throttle response in the engine, making it more fuel hungry. Since IMA is allowed to give full assist, you will run out of battery faster and in the long run, you will be less fuel efficient as you will have no battery left for assistance.

Whereas in ECON mode, the ECU and IMA is adjusted for max fuel saving, making the car feel a little 'lembap' in response. It would be a compromise of charging and using the battery, keeping every thing in balance by the complicated ECU.
sleepwalker
post Sep 13 2012, 10:13 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 13 2012, 10:08 AM)
No battery means less power right ?

Cause the electric motor is needed for the combine horse power ..

I dun really see the point of this car >.>

If you want to go fast, why not get a proper hatch back .

since someone will probably shoot me and say expensive.

The golf TSI is solidly fast on its own.
Well, sports mode is not for long term use. It's for a temporary boost in power. They didn't get this car to go fast. Most will get this car for the looks, the benefits of the tax incentive and at the same time save on some fuel.

At the price they are paying and what they are getting is difficult to be matched by others at the moment.
sleepwalker
post Sep 13 2012, 10:25 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 13 2012, 10:20 AM)
I get what you mean.

I was thinking of getting this car as a daily drive but looks like it wont be fitting for my ultra heavy right foot.

i work in shah alam and i go there from damansara everyday, looking for something cheap and quick.

weekends are sorted out in a proper continental. problem is, car too exp to park at office.

i lost my fd2 there ~_~
There is no point to have a weekend car as you just deprive yourself of the joy in driving it. I drive with heavy foot with an average fuel consumption of 6 to 7 km per liter ( 14.2 to 16.6 liters per 100km for those who keep track this way) but I still don't give a damn. I don't want to park the car at home and only drive it on weekends. I do understand your fear of losing another car at the office though.
sleepwalker
post Sep 13 2012, 10:50 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 13 2012, 10:34 AM)
Daily drive is now an Inspira 2.0 .

Thinking of replacing it with something a bit sportier and more fun to drive.

I do agree that I should drive my continental as a daily, but the stigma is there.

Id rather lose a 100k car and claim insurance rather than a 300k car and get pissed of at the world. LOL.

What is the CRZ top speed ?

handling ?

Im looking forward to the end of this month, the S+ button teaser looks like it might be up my alley.
It's not about the top speed. It's all about how fast you can get to top speed but unfortunately that does not match the looks of the car. I do wish they had put the FD2R engine inside the CR-Z. The old CRX boyz used to put the good ole B16A/B inside and boy did she fly..

Handling is good but once you throw the car around, the weight of the battery feels odd. It feels like having passengers in the rear seat but when you look back, there's nobody. rclxub.gif

You really need to test the car from somebody who owns it and willing to let you drive alone. Test driving feels weird with a passenger as it does not give you the actual feel of the car when you eventually drive it alone. Not just this car but another test drive scenarios with passengers.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Sep 13 2012, 10:51 AM
sleepwalker
post Sep 18 2012, 09:04 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Humanoid @ Sep 15 2012, 11:14 PM)

Bro, are you driving one yourself? I recall you have a subbie also right previously?
No, I'm not driving one. Life's too short to be a tree hugger. biggrin.gif

Still driving scooby as my daily drive car.
sleepwalker
post Sep 27 2012, 12:38 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Sep 27 2012, 12:30 PM)
Really considering this car, have read thru all 79 pages in a day.lol.

Am wondering, how bad is the rear view? Currently drivinga gen 2, n to me, the gen2 rear view is a lil bad
You have a gf/sister/mother who carries a small mirror in their handbag? Take that and pretend that it is your rear view mirror.. that'a about all you can see out of rear.. maybe even less. The sloping C pillars also create another blind spot for motorbikes to hide in.
sleepwalker
post Sep 27 2012, 02:37 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Sep 27 2012, 01:01 PM)
So I assume you guys got used to it?
It is not something you can get used to it. A blindspot is a blindspot and you can't get used to blindspots. You will not gain an instinct to know whether there is a motorbike in the blindspot when changing lanes or coming out of a carpark. You just have to be extra cautious and double/triple check everything. Cars with fancy rear ends have this issue, not just the CR-Z.
sleepwalker
post Oct 5 2012, 02:42 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Oct 5 2012, 02:06 PM)
fulamak...rev match summore...then you're not fully utilizing the regenerative brakes  tongue.gif

i usually keep mine in the highest gear and brake until 15 - 20 kph then shift to neutral...make the most out of the regen to replenish battery... blush.gif

but to each his own la i guess...last time 10 yrs ago when i drive my manual iswara the moment i know i'm stopping straight masuk neutral, jimat petrol...then on this CR-Z i realise masuk neutral won't charge the battery  cry.gif
But by rev matching, he's engaging lower gear for engine braking and hence higher RPM and higher regenerative energy generated per second by the electric motor. If you are leaving your gear on 5th as you brake, you spinning the 'dynamo' at a slower rate than he is. So you can't actually say that he is not fully utilizing his regenerative brakes.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 5 2012, 02:43 PM
sleepwalker
post Oct 9 2012, 03:16 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Oct 9 2012, 02:13 PM)
Old newspaper! spray some windscreen liquid on it and then wipe with old newspaper..the ink will remove the spots..smile.gif
Removing spots has nothing to do with the ink in the newspaper. Newspaper is like a natural microfiber cloth, absorbent and slightly grainy to help remove spots. Its closes cousin, the paper towel (not to be mistaken with tissue paper) works just as well without the ink.

Main reason newspaper is chosen as the 'tool' for a streak free window cleaning was because in the old days, synthetic microfiber cloth and squeegees were not invented yet. Today, a good microfiber cleans better than newspaper and a good squeegee works faster to remove water streaks on windows.

0.0209sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:58 PM