Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 Official Thread V1, Between too big and too small

slaughterer
post Nov 19 2011, 08:16 AM

102 posts

for work use, is it ok?
i try to look for office function like words, excel n power point, quite good...

but this 8.9 didn't hve microSd slot, so how we can transfer file n so on?
slaughterer
post Nov 19 2011, 09:23 AM

102 posts

^^
is it really cannot call using this sgt 8.9, even though it 3g+wifi?
SMS?

slaughterer
post Nov 24 2011, 03:31 PM

102 posts

anyone try custom rom on this version like Overcome v2.0.0?

slaughterer
post Dec 17 2011, 06:31 PM

102 posts

Any different/ improvement with th update HC3.2??
Checked the update, but dont know what different btween 3.1 n 3.2...
^^
slaughterer
post Dec 19 2011, 07:56 AM

102 posts

i also used 3g version, but still don't know how to enable call..erm..
if know how to do it, share with us...^^

if we root, the warranty will be void rite?
slaughterer
post Dec 25 2011, 10:55 AM

102 posts

Anyone can share link for how to unroot, just want to prepare if need it in emergency situation.. ^^
slaughterer
post Dec 25 2011, 11:16 AM

102 posts

It should be another way other than install back..
slaughterer
post Dec 26 2011, 07:56 AM

102 posts

I just found how to unroot in post #140 by phonic in http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...1287205&page=14

"I don't think any of you understand what the 'rooting' process is here. This isn't some massive jailbreak like you have to do on an iCrap. Nor is it some lowlevel hack in the OS/firmware. All the 'root' script does is create a suid exec "su" program on the filesystem. It mounts the system filesystem as writeable, copies the file from the zip onto it, and remounts it non-writable. The reason for the extra step in booting into recovery mode is because, without the su command, you can't normally remount the system partition, nor write to it, nor give a program suid exec permissions (aka - giving it the ability to run as superuser or root).

That's it.

However, once the device is 'rooted', you can do all of those steps manually anyway because you now have root.

So if you want to unroot your tablet, you simply need to remove the 'su' binary. There are various ways to accomplish this, but one of the easier methods would be to download/install a terminal program, launch it, and issue the following commands:

su
mount -o remount,rw /system
rm /system/bin/su
umount -o remount,ro /system
exit

And voila, you have now unrooted your tablet. No need for a special zip package. If you have a file manager program that can utilize root access (not sure if there is one off the top of my head), you could use that to remove the file as well (assuming it can also remount /system with write access)."
slaughterer
post Dec 27 2011, 11:46 AM

102 posts

This link may help u..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1406137

u can download all files from download link and follow the guideline...

Added on December 27, 2011, 11:58 amwhat i knew, root will void the warranty...and we need to unroot back to claim for warranty...
but how about installing CWM, did it do the same? ^^

This post has been edited by slaughterer: Dec 27 2011, 11:58 AM
slaughterer
post Dec 27 2011, 01:52 PM

102 posts

yup...backup first using CWM is more safer... if problems occur during root, we can restore back to stock rom....

i also cannot transfer files using cable...i used pendrive to transfer files to my tab..
dont know what the problem...
slaughterer
post Dec 27 2011, 06:18 PM

102 posts

what improvement when u used Overcome + motley kernel?
share with us... ^^
slaughterer
post Dec 28 2011, 12:30 PM

102 posts

what i know, we use zip file in recovery mode...tar file for using odin if not mistaken...
i done before on my phone..but not to my gtab yet...coz bz with work..hehee...

^^
step in OC http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1321142
to install CWM is using odin...that why it use tar file...

in http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1406137 it guide us to use recovery mode,
it much easier...should give try...
i think steps ogiveyakuza in post #336 is already ok...
maybe users who already done can help to check the steps... ^^

This post has been edited by slaughterer: Dec 28 2011, 12:42 PM
slaughterer
post Jan 1 2012, 08:09 PM

102 posts

What gps app best for tablet? ^^
slaughterer
post Jan 2 2012, 10:23 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 1 2012, 08:16 PM)
y dun u try sygic...?
sygic in market is only trial rite?
any way how to get free? hehehe...
slaughterer
post Jan 2 2012, 10:43 AM

102 posts

i found 1 also...but dont know after 1 week can use or not..hehee...

slaughterer
post Jan 6 2012, 06:49 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jan 4 2012, 03:28 PM)
Very true.

I noticed tab can't play some of ganeloft games. Damn as I love big screen!

Added on January 4, 2012, 3:33 pmAlso, I am wondering is there anyway to install Viber or Box Talk on Tab 8.9?
i downloaded viber apk from www.apktops.com
slaughterer
post Jan 10 2012, 06:01 PM

102 posts

what samsung apps can be deleted? and how? ^^
slaughterer
post Jan 16 2012, 01:35 PM

102 posts

can i know what 'busybox' for?
any user who like to share... ^^