Water Tank Leak at Reno Stage

TSJollySheep
post Nov 1 2011, 08:32 PM, updated 15y ago

217 posts

Plumbing jobs completed last week. I found water marks right above the 1st floor room ceiling well as the ceilmg above the staircase. I asked the contractor to check. Today start wiring. From contractor's feedback, plumber said it's water tank leakage. Plumber said need to throw all the water in the tank, fill again to confirm. Contractor told me somehow the water tank cannot be changed. Is it true? Make sense? Pls advise, all the sifu here. I am so kan cheong already. cry.gif
jiaxun
post Nov 1 2011, 08:35 PM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(JollySheep @ Nov 1 2011, 08:32 PM)
Plumbing jobs completed last week. I found water marks right above the 1st floor room ceiling well as the ceilmg above the staircase. I asked the contractor to check. Today start wiring. From contractor's feedback, plumber said it's water tank leakage. Plumber said need to throw all the water in the tank, fill again to confirm. Contractor told me somehow the water tank cannot be changed. Is it true? Make sense? Pls advise, all the sifu here. I am so kan cheong already.  cry.gif
I suppose terrace house?

Yes, you can't change the water tank. Cause you need to remove part of the roof, if not whole roof, to replace the water tank.

Either you can try to fix the water tank or do a bypass and not to use the water tank.
ghuzzy
post Nov 1 2011, 08:37 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

everythin can be change
either easy or hard lolz
Jo_da48
post Nov 1 2011, 08:46 PM

1,529 posts

your contractor should able to advise whether seal back will work or not.
As I recall recently one of my colleague having same problem, and he get something to seal the crack after advise by the plumber...

kelvyn
post Nov 1 2011, 09:35 PM

3,173 posts

First of all, you should establish where is the leak coming from. It could be due to the plumbing fittings that are not water tight, etc. This could be easily solve.
If the leak is due to the age or cracking of the water tank itself, then you should have it replaced.
For long term, better to replace the water tank if it is an old tank. Since you are still in renovation stage, better to have the inconvenience now then later when it leaks again.
Believe your house is a link house. Try to see if there are alternative place like a flat roof to place a new tank if it is difficult to open the roof to replace the existing water tank. Else, just pay you contractor to replace the tank. He may need to open up the roof.
Since you are at it, might as well take the opportunity to enlarge the tank size to increase the storage capacity. In case of water cut. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Nov 1 2011, 11:32 PM

17,021 posts

Both can be done. I change the water tank to a better 1 and add 1 more on the roof.

Last 2yrs I accidentally crack the water tank while washing it. I use some like fibre material and a lot of mix glue. Patch it from inside and completely cover with the glue. Last till now.

Added on November 1, 2011, 11:33 pmBoth can be done. I change the water tank to a better 1 and add 1 more on the roof.

Last 2yrs I accidentally crack the water tank while washing it. I use some like fibre material and a lot of mix glue. Patch it from inside and completely cover with the glue. Last till now.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 1 2011, 11:33 PM
TSJollySheep
post Nov 2 2011, 12:01 AM

217 posts

Many thanks for the advices and useful info. It's a new double-storey house. Extended the kitchen and upper floor rooms as well (double storey extension).
At first, i thought it's leakage from the new roof. But the plumber suspect it's water tank leakage. He need to climb up to check what
was the cause. I hope it's something else rather that the tank crack. Any other possibilities? Sigh... sad.gif

Added on November 2, 2011, 12:06 am
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 1 2011, 11:32 PM)
Both can be done. I change the water tank to a better 1 and add 1 more on the roof.

Added on November 1, 2011, 11:33 pmBoth can be done. I change the water tank to a better 1 and add 1 more on the roof.

Wah, Ozak, expert here ah... Come help me fix it. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by JollySheep: Nov 2 2011, 12:06 AM
yymn
post Nov 2 2011, 12:13 AM

13 posts

Mine is bathroom leaking, a new 3-storey house under reno. After I did my own ponding test, I found out bathroom leaking, water mark on ceiling at 1st & 2nd floor staircase. Developer has bn working on it fr 1++ mth. You better fix it now, no joke when it comes to leaking.

If it's a new hse, I wud suggest to do ponding test in all yr bathrooms.

zheilwane
post Nov 2 2011, 07:30 AM

4,184 posts

Ask ur plumber to take a photo of the leakage or u should climb up the ladder and have a look urself. Sometimes it is a minor leak from the fittings but the plumbers tell u is from water tank.

It is possible to patch it up and also to replace it. Replacing it is troublesome and will cost u a lot of $$. For long term, u can ask ur contractor to do a concrete slab and put a stainless steel water tank like Deluxe outdoor.
kelvyn
post Nov 2 2011, 09:40 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(JollySheep @ Nov 2 2011, 01:01 AM)
Many thanks for the advices and useful info. It's a new double-storey house. Extended the kitchen and upper floor rooms as well (double storey extension).
At first, i thought it's leakage from the new roof. But the plumber suspect it's water tank leakage. He need to climb up to check what
was the cause. I hope it's something else rather that the tank crack. Any other possibilities? Sigh...  sad.gif

If it is a new house, it is still under DLP? Then can get the developer to replace the leaking tank... all cost borne by them smile.gif

TSJollySheep
post Nov 2 2011, 08:26 PM

217 posts

Tomorrow will go to fill in a form to request dvlp to check. Hopefully they can find the problem & fix it asap. If not, all the subsequent reno works stuck there. Sigh...
Jo_da48
post Nov 2 2011, 08:31 PM

1,529 posts

Jolly, noticed your comment of "It's a new double-storey house", perhaps could ask the developer to check? Maybe could claim back?
TSJollySheep
post Nov 2 2011, 10:32 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 2 2011, 08:31 PM)
Jolly, noticed your comment of "It's a new double-storey house", perhaps could ask the developer to check? Maybe could claim back?
Ya, tmr will chk with them. Thanks, Jo. smile.gif
Jo_da48
post Nov 2 2011, 11:16 PM

1,529 posts

take photo, show the leaking.,but hopefully your contrator didn't touching that area lol...

brutalsoul
post Nov 3 2011, 02:16 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

ur house suppose to be still under warranty..complaint to developer
TSJollySheep
post Nov 13 2011, 03:14 PM

217 posts

Developer has sent a contractor to check. There is no leakage at all from the tank or fittings. Now this problem back to my contractor again. What else it could be???
Jo_da48
post Nov 13 2011, 05:21 PM

1,529 posts

Is the mark due to previously done by your contractor or not? Is that any more water leak?
Just ask other contracts take note as and when it heavy rain...they should able to advice if they saw water leak...

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Nov 13 2011, 05:58 PM
kelvyn
post Nov 13 2011, 05:36 PM

3,173 posts

If it is not the leakage from the water tank, then the water mark could be due to the water when your plumber was making some plumbing connections, etc.
Else, could be from the roof.

0.0151sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:51 PM