SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V18, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

mydragoon
post Nov 3 2011, 09:01 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Nov 3 2011, 08:49 AM)
wow...

before I answer that, I would like to know where you got the idea that NO ROM is complete in that sense that you have just mentioned.

share a link? article?
errr... here la... sorry... maybe coz the tread moves too fast for me to catch everything...

coz i do recall some members saying this thing dun work on this rom... so flashing another rom, etc... back and forth, back and forth... i pun pening.

so, my understanding is wrong? the roms are complete?
mydragoon
post Nov 3 2011, 09:04 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Nov 3 2011, 08:51 AM)
4.65' display.... oh... may I add... it'll be HD-SUper AMoled.... yum yum
my understanding of HD Super Amoled is that is still uses Super Amoled (and not Super Amoled plus). This is the case with the Note and there are some sites that talk about the pentile thingy... Supposedly Super Amoled Plus is better.

from my understanding (which again can be wrong), HD just means the resolution is HD or near HD).
mydragoon
post Nov 3 2011, 09:10 AM

7,044 posts

i guess today is the day i contemplate moving to the dark side... since it seems my understanding about ROMS is incorrect...

many thanks to all...

ya, i guess first thing i will look at is Cyanogen since the tea got SGS2 from Samsung, right?

Errr... would anyone be kind enough to roughly let me know which ROMS are based on stock ROM and which one is almost built from ground up?

i guess i now have to ask myself... what is it i want that i cannot get from the stock rom...

btw, if flash to custom roms... save to also say that updates cannot be via OTA? as in... if there's a bug fix or sth for that rom, i have to re-flash?
mydragoon
post Nov 3 2011, 09:35 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 3 2011, 09:32 AM)
Which means the SGS2 is actually smarter then I am. Sigh.
if its any consolation, its probably smarter than some of us... myself included. dun think i've ever solved the cube (all sides) besides peeling off the stickers. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Nov 4 2011, 02:19 PM

7,044 posts

hmmm... just noticed digi's smart plan bundle charging rm1799 for the sgs2? i thought previously it was cheaper?

sgs2 so laku until no more promo price for bundle packages?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Nov 4 2011, 02:21 PM
mydragoon
post Nov 4 2011, 03:27 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Nov 4 2011, 02:37 PM)
last mth pkg is monthly 48
this mth pkg is monthly 28

so of course they playing the device price.... if sum up all, almost same.
ya, i guess they are playing with the price. but i prefer if the handset itself is cheaper... dunno why, but it sounds nicer... lol...

but seriously, the way digi packaged it... now dun even have 12mths plan anymore. so lucky for those who bought it earlier.
mydragoon
post Nov 4 2011, 04:14 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Nov 4 2011, 03:51 PM)
if u do the math for 24 mths, now save more than prior to the pkg change
the thing is i dun wanna tie up for 24mths...
mydragoon
post Nov 4 2011, 04:51 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Nov 4 2011, 04:24 PM)
then buy the phone only lah
so simple  blush.gif
lol... nolar... the point why i posted earlier was to share and note that DIGI no longer provide a good deal for sgs2. previously, they had a good deal/ option... at least could do 12mths, etc...

even just buying the phone... digi's price is rm1799. might as well buy from SEP and get 2yrs warranty. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Nov 4 2011, 04:52 PM
mydragoon
post Nov 8 2011, 10:24 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 8 2011, 02:22 AM)
Im using a SanDisk 16GB Class 4 HC micro sd card. Im getting the following reading.

Note : Software used - SD Tools

Using Stock ROM, stock Kernel. Only thing done to phone is root. Others all stock.
Maybe other can input, then we know the difference.
since u asked for it... smile.gif

my sandisk 32GB. class 4.

however, from what i read and understand, there's also the random test speed which is tested by some apps. i guess the one you suggested does not test for that.

anyway, i've been using this card to record 1080p videos (some as long as 30mins) and so far, no problem with it.

Added on November 8, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(bunch @ Nov 8 2011, 10:23 AM)
KIES only aaa? I9100 still nothing i believe....

Might be ours will get ICS update straight away...  brows.gif
ya, i am also suspecting this -- non-G will just get ICS directly. i mean... i see no point spending development time doing something that is already 'outdated'.

the only thing is... that probably means non-G will get ICS ater launch of sgs3. dun think Samsung will update existing device to ICS before they launch a new product that comes with ICS.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Nov 8 2011, 10:28 AM
mydragoon
post Nov 8 2011, 10:42 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 8 2011, 10:38 AM)
My kingston 16gb class 4 failed to record 1280x720 vid. Got 2 fail corrupted after transfer to pc cry.gif
Both size around 3gb. Anyway I can fix it? sad.gif
3GB?!? how long is each video?!? 2hrs? my 30+mins 1080p video was only 1.6GB.
mydragoon
post Nov 8 2011, 05:10 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(deora @ Nov 8 2011, 05:06 PM)
the headset act as antenna??..but even if i tried it with normal sony headphone which i normally use it with my laptop, it can also hear radio wor, means every headset/headphone is also an antenna???  hmm.gif
yes... that is, in a way, correct. most phones with radio function won't work without headset.
mydragoon
post Nov 9 2011, 08:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Nov 9 2011, 06:55 AM)
RM28? then how much is the payment for the phone?
rm28 is actually the price you pay for the normally rm48 data plan. there's a rebate of rm15 if you sign up this month. then another rm5 rebate if you do autobilling. handset is at normal price... rm1799.

its all on digi website leh...

it works to to be almost the same... but for me... i never wanna tie up for 24mths.

the new digi package... no option for 12mths.
mydragoon
post Nov 9 2011, 09:10 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Nov 9 2011, 08:45 AM)
eh? you mean you buy the phone for RM1799 (which is kind of retail price) and you're tied to a 2 year contract?

Bah
yes... but digi sales ppl will tell you that you're getting a discount on your data plan for the next two years. instead of paying rm48, you only pay rm28 per month (works out to rm480 of savings in that two years). smile.gif
mydragoon
post Nov 9 2011, 01:26 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Kenzany @ Nov 9 2011, 11:37 AM)
you can pay rm33 per month.. no contract bound  drool.gif
ya... for only 5mths -- after that, revert back to rm43 (if auto bill). savings of only rm50. might as well buy from SEP and get 2 yrs warranty. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Nov 10 2011, 11:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 10 2011, 10:59 AM)
Hi guys, want to ask how to block a number from sms my friend. She has added the number to the black list already but still the sms can get thru to her phone.

Please advice... she is receiving obscene sms from the same number for a couple months and seem the caller knows her name.
if your fren is not using sgs2, please post in another thread... lol... *kidding*

seriously, please lodge a police report and follow up with report to MCMC (or sth like that... it's the Multimedia Commission).

0.0404sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:30 AM