SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V18, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

Eiraku
post Nov 1 2011, 05:16 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 1 2011, 05:10 PM)
http://eshop.binfieldlads.org.uk/epages/BT...ucts/KONDOR2707

doesnt do delivery for Malaysia tho. am waiting for it here at my gf's apartment where im bumming
I is the envy. You have an envious PM incoming.

Mmmmm, the prospect of a cacat black/white hybrid SGS2 is leaving me salivating.
Eiraku
post Nov 1 2011, 05:28 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Nov 1 2011, 05:22 PM)
@eiraku so are u gona sell ur old 2000mah battery kit + black cover lol?
Nope. I've recently figured out that THREE 2000mah batts are my minimum requirement to ensure the SGS2 lasts through a full day + backup (it was previously served by my twin Momax batts).

When I got my Sammy extbatts (2x in exchange for my faulty Sammy battery case, great value per mah BTW), I pretty much finished the shop's entire stock lol.

So I'm hunting for one more.

Plus I'll have white AND black back covers woohoo. Can change according to mood.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 1 2011, 05:34 PM
Eiraku
post Nov 2 2011, 01:17 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Nov 1 2011, 11:26 PM)
What buy. Build from parts la (from our very own radioshack: Jalan Pasar!). You gave me a VERY good idea though.

@snigapoe: You're supposed to choose (tap on) option 2 and then 2 again in that menu + flight mode afterwards.

Now new Siyah WOOHOO!
Eiraku
post Nov 2 2011, 01:29 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

First crap battery life and now call echos? Sometimes I wonder who would pay for such a disaster.

Oh no, I wasn't talking about the SGS2. Or any other Android phone for that matter.

http://is.gd/2Bnbqu

No wonder a certain section is getting spamflooded as of late.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 2 2011, 01:30 AM
Eiraku
post Nov 2 2011, 03:05 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 2 2011, 02:35 AM)
Talking about battery life, any smartphone will be the same. I been using blackberry,iPhone and android. For smartphone category battery life more or less is the same.
Yeah true. Was just throwing some umpan api to the fellows who like to come over and bash our battery lives when they actually have it worse lol.
Eiraku
post Nov 2 2011, 04:50 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 2 2011, 03:29 PM)
Aiya.. now really itchi to try sweat.gif
Waiting for someone to invert it first. If not kacau my full black UI lol.
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2011, 08:25 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 3 2011, 08:21 AM)
For SME not yet.
Havta import. Not cheap for now.
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2011, 08:48 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Nov 3 2011, 08:44 AM)
hahaha... the SII is still very hot and marketable. Most phone shops I see in my place are selling EVEN the G version like hotcakes... which makes owning the SII seem less of a fancy now... hehehehe... since I'm very used to the N900 where it's a rare thing to see others using it...
SII and Galaxy Note? ahhaha...

My gf and I are planning to trade ours in for the SIII next year if it really matches up to what they say in the web about being quad core and what not... why not wait for that?
Oi, one year change phone edi eh? Kaya lah you.

Truth be known, if the specs are true (and it has a better dac) I myself might upgrade.

Eiraku
post Nov 3 2011, 09:32 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 3 2011, 09:18 AM)
~~@ destEX and all
Uncle Benny confirmed that Note battery NOT ngam to be fitted into SGSII. Sorry for the bad news. :-(
Well, from all the Note backside pics I looked at, I suspected as much. Thanks anyway.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 3 2011, 09:01 AM)
S2 as the brains for a rubic cube solver - http://youtu.be/_d0LfkIut2M
Which means the SGS2 is actually smarter then I am. Sigh.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 3 2011, 09:33 AM
Eiraku
post Nov 3 2011, 11:32 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Nov 3 2011, 07:19 PM)
im still using siyah 2.0 as 2.1 has weird logger issues for me flash enablelogger file still passwrd apps dont work
Just reinstall you password apps. Mine all now working fine on 2.1.1.

Battery life not THAT bad on 2.1.1 for me, sticking.
Eiraku
post Nov 5 2011, 09:31 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Nov 5 2011, 08:03 PM)
use ultra optics sp then. clear look matte feel. I'm very satisfied with it. smile.gif
Wait until it starts getting dirty. At least my UltOpts became nearly impossible to clean after a week or so.
Eiraku
post Nov 5 2011, 09:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Nov 5 2011, 09:40 PM)
ok that's bad. hope that doesny happen to me. 5th day with it now. unsure.gif
My hands sweaty so it gets dirty easy. You might be more fortunate lol.
Eiraku
post Nov 6 2011, 04:26 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Nov 6 2011, 03:56 PM)
My friend wants to buy White S2, but she's afraid of getting it dirty. What can be used to cover the whole phone? In lowyat, TS can find InvisibleSHIELD?
Better buy BSE (online) or iDefense (ID is available in TS, google for LYN iDefense), Invisible Shield is over-priced and shitty (gets yellow after a while).
Eiraku
post Nov 7 2011, 01:25 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(FrozenRay @ Nov 7 2011, 01:04 AM)
Any one use 3500 Mah battery before?
I have, Spider-Foot (same type as dealextreme/obostore). Advertised capacity is an OUTRIGHT LIE, true capacity is about 2400mah. The old ones are okay, new ones have shit capacity (2100mah). Most seem prone to losing max capacity over long term use. They ARE CHEAP though.

Dunno about Mugen, but from initial experiments over at XDA, their 3500mah batts seem to ONLY hold about 2400-2600mah as well (for RM300). They might last longer without losing max cap though.

Better stick to Momax 2700mah (true capacity 2680mah) or ori Samsung 2000mah. I have both and recommend the Momax ONLY if you can stand the bulging, cheap plastic back. But battery performance is outstanding and it's considerably cheaper then the Samsung ori too, if you can buy from ebay.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2011, 01:31 AM
Eiraku
post Nov 7 2011, 01:36 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 7 2011, 01:30 AM)
Anyone here had any experience using bluetooth keyboard on SGS2?

Interested to get the Logitech Tablet Keyboard for Android. Wonder whether it works flawlessly on the SGS2 or not. From my understanding, bluetooth keyboard does not work with Gingerbread very well. Its only fixed in honeycomb.

Any input is appreciated!
No idea. My bro's Magic Mouse works fine. I haven't tried my Apple Wireless keyboard though.

Oh the unholy union of the Android top dog with Apple products. Somebody get an Exocist!

Eiraku
post Nov 7 2011, 12:24 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(adriantan8 @ Nov 7 2011, 12:03 PM)
Has anyone of you using your SGII for internet banking ? Is it really safe ? Thanks for your kind advice...
I do. Generally it's safe but you have to consider network security.

EDGE/2G - Not particularly safe. Easily hackable if someone wants to.

3/3.5G - Safe. Encryption is still secure.

WIFI (Open) - Not safe. At all.

WIFI (WEP) - Easily hackable.

WIFI (WPA) - While it CAN be hacked, it's not that easy to so all things considered, it's relatively safe.

WIFI (WPA2) - Safe, unless your hacker knows the password lol.

Things to keep in mind. This is an extremely paranoid way of looking at things, but as always, better be safe then sorry.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2011, 12:27 PM
Eiraku
post Nov 9 2011, 12:29 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 8 2011, 11:28 PM)
Kinda weird people like to keep bickering which one is the better OS. For me just pick the one that suites you and use it. Dun have to go around converting people to use any OS. Apple/Google is not gonna pay you for free advertising.
THIS.

Funny that user evangelism (aka fanboism) only really took off after the iPhone though.

Before that, I don't quite remember such craptastic, uber-widespread, kiddy-grade bickering over Windows vs OSX vs Linux, or Winmo vs PalmOS vs Symbian for that matter.

Maybe as tech matures, the userbase becomes younger (age wise and maturity wise) and gets butthurt more easily?

Or in short, more tech = more butthurt. The future is looking grim for humanity, yes.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 9 2011, 01:00 AM
Eiraku
post Nov 9 2011, 10:41 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 9 2011, 10:17 PM)
I got scammed 27 pounds by these a holes binfieldlads. Bought extended battery after paying they cut all communication and hang up on my calls
Sigh. White sammy exbatts still just a dream then yah? Condolences for your loss bro.

You back for good yet?

Oh and:

http://is.gd/HPaeFQ

Flash for mobiles goes the way of the dodo. There goes our main future ammo against iFags.

Not that it changes the fact that we STILL have and can use flash, which will still be very useful for the foreseeable future.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 9 2011, 10:45 PM
Eiraku
post Nov 10 2011, 02:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 10 2011, 02:12 AM)
trying to run this software on my phone to control my pc. Pening kepala already. need help icon_question.gif

already add DDNS into my router. add the details into the software from the phone still cannot sad.gif
Why not just use Logmein? Zero config right there. Or UnifiedControl for remote control ONLY.

And that cameron sino batt? Just a rebranded spider-foot/obostore type OEM, at least they're not making outlandish claims of capacity (it's usually 2400-2200mah anyway).

Waiting for somebody rajin (and crazy enough) to mod 2x Sammy 2kmah batts into a single, crazy cap 4000mah battery. All things considered it SHOULD fit inside a spider-foot back cover.

@solsekuin44: Another N900 defector ka? Kekeke. Anyhows, that's quite an interesting question indeed. And the answer's not that simple either.

No, you don't need root to play MOST games. Well, 98% of them anyway.

But to play HD Tegra2 games, you'll need root for Chainfire3d. Also, for games that are ONLY available for the US market, you'll need root for MarketEnabler.

But, as we can already root both G and non-G sets, this is a moot point. I can see no issues with rooting except the "risk" of invaliding your warranty (most SME service centers turn a blind eye anyway).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 10 2011, 02:53 AM
Eiraku
post Nov 11 2011, 07:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

A summary of the last few pages, also something that has happened often in MANY if not ALL smartphone threads (and repeated daily in most iPhone related forums/threads).

Sigh. Really guys? Google?

We can handle helping those having problems WHILE already doing something. But to teach people from zero?

No.

If you still wanna be spoonfed, get ready to be shot.

Repeatedly.

With nukes.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 11 2011, 07:17 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0306sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:44 AM