Battlefield 3 Random Crash/Freeze/Flicker Fix, Especially for nvidia/GTX560ti/SLI

TSapecorp
post Oct 30 2011, 03:37 PM, updated 15y ago

480 posts

Well since i notice alot of ppl facing problems wit crashes in BF3 , also since Nvidia GTX 560ti is quite a common gpu for most user
i'll jst start a new topic on some solution i did for my own setup. Im not sure if dis solution works for everybody or other gpu or AMD as well , but u can try. And if u have other solution, feel free to post it here.
* Mods, if dis topic is not relevant pls feel free to move it. Thxz.

Possible Random crashes/freeze fix:
When i first start the game, video setting preset is all on high setting. I figure dis is the game autodetect setting. But since im using 560ti SLI i know i can go higher than dat, so i set all to ULTRA except Antialiasing Deferred to 2x msaa. First 15 min smooth play constant 60fps no problems, then crash/freeze. Ctrl-alt-del back to win , start the game again play another 20 mins crash again. The time inbetween crashes happens randomly - sometimes i can play for 30mins , sometimes 10mins and crashes. I continued wit dis for 4 hour of gameplay wit dozens of crashes in between until i got fed up and start googling. It seems the crash/freeze is quite common and NVIDIA forum has tons of topic on dis issues. (theres even a specific topic for GTX560ti ). Some of the common solution they suggest is -

- revert to latest driver if ur on older driver. ( latest GeForce 285.62 Driver WHQL )
- roll back or use beta 285.38 ..
- flash ur GPU bios
- install win 64 bit if ur on 32bit..
- and lower ur graphic in-game setting until u dont crash anymore.

SO yesterday i start meddling wit some of this solution - BUT flashing my GPU bios was something i was reluctant to do, same wit installing window 64bit which means i have to reformat so i skip dis 2 method. Of coz the most OBVIOUS method was to update the graphic driver so i did ( i was on 285.27 before i update ). After update i stil have crashes. Then i revert to beta 285.38, but same thing. Well, the updating and rolling back graphic driver obviously didnt work for me so i guess driver is not the culprit.
So while MAINTAINING WIT 285.38( *will explain dis highlight later ) i get back into the in-game video setting and start meddling there.
When i highlight TEXTURE QUALITY it say in the description below dat higher setting uses more GPU memory. Then i recall back during those crashes i remember a few Of the crashes came wit a DirectX windows saying something dat my GPU not enough memory( cant remember exact words) So what i did was i lower TEXTURE Quality from Ultra to High and maintain all other setting to Ultra. Guess what?..No crash/freeze for 4 hours now!!! So happy smile.gif . Now remember i said i did all this on 285.38 beta? Im not sure if the fix is a combination of dis driver or is just a simple lowerring the TExture quality setting. For watever driver u guys are currenly on ( 285.62 or 285.38 ) try to play wit the TEXTURE Quality setting first. See if it fix the crash problem. Now i realise why the in-game auto-detect to preset HIGH setting even if i myself presume i can go to Ultra wit 560ti SLI.

Possible SLI Flickering fix:
Before i start i wanna clarify dat there are many type of flickering. Some are color flickering, in-game object flickering( like for me CRYSIS 2 water flickering) and so on. The solution i have here MIGHT not work for ur type of flickering. SO The type of flickering i have for BF3 is those dat once u get into the game it flashes like mad . I have dis flickering problem ever since Nvidia introduce the 270 til 285 family of drivers for some of my games. Some of those games flikering problem are solved just by simply toggling wit V-Sync off-on, triple buffering off-on , alt-tab method or worse case scenario - disable SLI altogether. For Battlefield 3 im also facing SLI flickering out of the box, but finally i found the solution. BUT first and foremost..what is ur RESOLUTION CHOICE?
What resolution u intend to play? Example: For me i always play at 1920 × 1080 60hz. So what i did was just play witt the Fullscreen Resolution back and forth. Details here:

1. Choose ur intended resolution ( in my case: 1920 x 1080 60hz )
2. Skip next or previous resolution. ( for me it was 1920 x 1080 59.94hz )
3. CLICK APPLY FULLSCREEN RESOLUTION ( the screen will go blank half a sec rite? normal )
4. Then It will say " Save setting " rite?. Press YES. ( screen refresh but still flickering rite? )
5. Then Press previous resolution ( my case: back to 1920 x 1080 60hz) immediately the screen will refresh again BUT stil flickering?
6. Click " APPLY FULLSCREEN RESOLUTON again.
7. Again it say " Save setting" , press YES and DONE!! NO more FLICKERING.. smile.gif
8. If no more flickering dont press " Apply fullscreen resolution " again, just press esc or click "back"

The explanation above is not entirely accurate in order, but u still get the idea. Jst play wit the apply fullscreen resolution button, next & previous
fullscreen resolution, when prompted to save press Yes, than next again until u dont have any more flickering.
Unfortunately this method must b applied everytime u start the game, even when u alt-tab to windows coz if alt-tab back to game it goes back to flickering again.

Well hope dis helps so u guys can enjoys the game fully. Again if u have any solution feel free to post it here.
TSapecorp
post Oct 31 2011, 08:54 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(cupis12 @ Oct 31 2011, 01:42 PM)
the sli flickering fix doesnt work for me... tried enabling/disabling vsync and triple buffering but still doesnt work... i tried the same way as u did and running on same resolution.... btw im using latest driver... any other way???
bro, u can try dis method also:
1. For my earlier method i sugested, try to start the game at lowest resolution. Dat means apply the lowest resolution>quit game>join back.
Then from the lowest resolution click next>apply>save>next>apply>save etc etc until there's no more flickering. Try it.
2. At the in-game video setting there is a "Open Screen Adjust" option. try playing wit dat. Apply the changes, click back and save setting
3. And also do u have FRAPS installed? Try a combination of enable/disable FRAPS wit the above method and with my 1st page post method.

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 31 2011, 02:05 PM)
I dont think you dont need go that far till flash bios
ALOT player are getting crash/freeze.

Solution that suggested by TS

- install win 64 bit if ur on 32bit.. - usually 32bit having less problem anyway, need buy a RETAIL OS for it, and they arent cheap as OEM
YES i agree. Flashing GPU Bios is always NOT Recommended. Dats y try to solve dis crashes/freeze wit simpler fixes- update driver, rollback driver, lower in-game video setting, etc etc. U can also try wit manually downclocking ur GPU like some ppl suggests. Flashing BIOS should always remain as the last option.

Regarding installing Windows 64bits is bcoz its also recommended by EA bcoz of the game using loads of ur ram memory.And also sometimes game crashes/freeze bcoz windows not enough memory. This solution should also be considered the last option bcoz like wat u mention it requires to spend $$ and the outcome could b dat it wil not solved the crash/freeze

QUOTE(AzaelTheKid @ Oct 31 2011, 02:19 PM)
Thanks for the suggestions... but i have set my video settings to the lowest and it still crashes.. Might try to revert to the beta 285.38 and see if it works or not. As flashing your bios, i am still having second thoughts on doing that because gigabyte, they came out a new bios and they stated it will improve the direct x11 performance
ALSO Remember guys - when u update driver or revert driver, use the proper method. Example: Use driver sweeper, use official uninstaller , uninstall in safe mode.and so on..

QUOTE(Ravenkean @ Oct 31 2011, 02:37 PM)
i have done all that u mention.... still freeze n crash... using GTX460 1GB
sad.gif Sry it could not help u. I forgot to mention, there is also a common suggestion from othere forum dat the crashes/freeze is sound related. Try googling it.

TSapecorp
post Nov 1 2011, 01:05 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(cupis12 @ Oct 31 2011, 10:01 PM)
thx for your suggestion.. is it necessary to use fraps to make it work?? i dun have fraps install and never use fraps before... and what is your screen refresh rate for your monitor?? 59 or 60hz?? mine is set to 60hz.. maybe it has something to do with flickering i guess...
TRY installing FRAPS, its a very nice and harmless program. To answer ur question is it necessary to use fraps to make it work?
Well i can tell u dis- I remember one time i disable FRAPs b4 i join the game, and than i applied the same method i post earlier and guess wat? flickering problem was there. So i guess u could say Fraps helps, well for me la.
Regarding the refresh rate:
http://www.ghacks.net/2010/04/28/59-hertz-refresh-rate/
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=301860
Meaning dont worry about it coz doesnt matter if u use 59hz or 60hz. And also if u notice Nvidia control panel will always stuck at 59hz even if u apply 60hz. The only way to apply 60hz u have to force it under customize resolution panel there.

QUOTE(Ravenkean @ Oct 31 2011, 10:50 PM)
i have found da culprit for my freeze n crash... Damn... is da driver for your sounds at motherboard... i update it... now no more crash..
GOod . Hoppe it really does fix ur freezes/crash rclxms.gif

TSapecorp
post Nov 2 2011, 02:03 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(cupis12 @ Nov 1 2011, 11:43 PM)
ok so how do u use fraps?? just overlay the fps??

EDIT:

does this fix works on single player??
Bro, what do u mean by how to use??HAHa .. jst install FRAPS and it wil straight away enable. U see below there the icon fraps? Or jst click the icon at the deskstop shortcut > general page > tick the box :
1. Start Fraps minimized
2. Fraps windows always on top
3. Run fraps when widows start.

When u open any game u wil see the yellow color FPS overlay.
This fix should work for both single and multi.

This post has been edited by apecorp: Nov 2 2011, 02:03 PM
TSapecorp
post Nov 3 2011, 10:17 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(cupis12 @ Nov 2 2011, 07:04 PM)
it still doesnt work... i guess there is no fix for me unless i have to play in window mode and all the flickering will gone... thx for your help anyway....

Added on November 2, 2011, 10:25 pmhahahaha i finally solved my problem... i just switch the SLI bridge position... i mean turn it upside down... then i turn on pc, join game and pooff, the flickering is gone... no need to apply any fix after that..... now i can start playing mp... seems im the only one left behind.... i guess u could try this fix too....  thumbup.gif
AHAH. Good news rclxms.gif Yeah i forgot to mention at my first post - Faulty SLI bridge will also cause SLI flickering. Urm but wait, for ur case u said dat u switch upside down - dat means position was wrong all dis while? lol. But how come u could play other games wit SLI enable?..

0.0174sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:08 AM