Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V21, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

kmrdeva
post Nov 5 2011, 01:23 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Nov 5 2011, 12:59 PM)
anyone has *ahem* whatsApp apk that can use for lifetime?
Wow! USD1.99 per year too expensive for someone who bought an RM1000+ smartphone..
kmrdeva
post Nov 7 2011, 07:53 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(WalkingReds @ Nov 7 2011, 06:42 PM)
haha +1 rclxms.gif ..if kmrdeva still around, 4sure kene tembak lagi laugh.gif
I am still around tongue.gif
kmrdeva
post Nov 8 2011, 02:19 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Nov 8 2011, 01:43 PM)
anyone know the apps that when both phone install then they will know each other location?not foursquare.it look like a map and when u travelling then it will move.yesterday i watch the tvb drama and saw their using
Maybe waze?

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.waze&hl=en
kmrdeva
post Nov 8 2011, 05:14 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Nov 8 2011, 04:46 PM)
300+ contacts... edit manually? ohmy.gif
I have close to 600 contacts. Exported from google account to CSV, manually edited all numbers in Excel (took me more than 3 days) and reimported the modified CSV into my google account..
kmrdeva
post Nov 8 2011, 05:23 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Nov 8 2011, 05:17 PM)
i tried that by adding formula ="+6"&"HP Number Field"

but im afraid it didn't work.

yours has +6 in front of 012XXXXXX or just 6 in front??

thanks!!
I just edited number by number, it wasn't something urgent and I was lazy to do string concat formulas in Excel whistling.gif
kmrdeva
post Nov 8 2011, 05:52 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Nov 8 2011, 05:34 PM)
salute your patience~ thumbup.gif
Have to, buddy.. Some of my numbers already had '+60', some not, some had spaces in the numbers, all kinds of problems la. So had to manual edit la.. sad.gif
kmrdeva
post Nov 10 2011, 10:37 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 10 2011, 10:31 AM)
Hi guys,

Is there a way to change the entire phone system to Chinese language?

Is there any ROM that I can flash to do so?
I'm not talking about Chinese Input like Google Pinyin...I'm talking about changing the entire phone system language into Chinese...

Is it possible?
Install the HK/TW stock firmware.
kmrdeva
post Nov 17 2011, 10:13 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Nov 17 2011, 09:58 AM)
oh ya, u're the big boss now in this thread already kan? a lots of old timer missing already oh, like lordjabu, gmhafiz, silentser, kmrdeva, freakfingers. but i still recognize u, ken and gajahwhite tho. keep the thread alive!  flex.gif
Ya, ice3joker was the boss who got me really interested to stick with CM7 last time. Sorry ya, not so active nowadays in this thread because my wife is using my SGS and she is an old-school-style user, she prefers stock rom and also doesn't want me to upgrade the firmware from JVR sad.gif

kmrdeva
post Nov 20 2011, 12:04 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Nov 19 2011, 11:59 PM)
Wht are the chances the insufficient memory bug is fixed on this one...
Is that really a genuine bug in the new market app or something to do with most phones having small sized market caches? I've noticed that apps bigger than 30MB often fail to install until I temporarily reassign my /cache folder to a folder on my internal sd which currently has 3GB of free space.

kmrdeva
post Nov 20 2011, 01:05 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 20 2011, 12:31 AM)
I think it's most phones having small sized market cache. I once shared a link on how to create a virtual cache on sd, mind sharing the link where u get it working?  biggrin.gif
I can't find the link at the moment, but I had written the steps down:

su
rm -R /cache
mkdir /sdcard/cache/
ln -s /sdcard/cache /cache
exit

* change is effective until you reboot the phone *

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Nov 20 2011, 01:15 AM
kmrdeva
post Nov 20 2011, 02:09 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 20 2011, 01:26 AM)
Where is the script (init.d?) file that auto executes upon reboot? Would love to put this in there.

Thanks.  biggrin.gif
That.. i don't have sad.gif
kmrdeva
post Nov 20 2011, 11:08 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Nov 20 2011, 10:48 AM)
The steps must be repeated everytime I restart my phone rite eg.if the phone auto reboots..
Although I dun really understand how to apply those steps..it does not seem to be a permanent solution..sad.gif
Yes, usually i run the commands via adb shell (i.e. typing on PC while phone is connected with debugging mode enabled) and not via the terminal emulator on the phone itself.

I'm sure someone must have come up with a more permanent solution, am still searching for it.
kmrdeva
post Nov 20 2011, 07:09 PM

4,776 posts

You guys know that there is no Adobe Flash on ICS (yet), yes?

http://www.slashgear.com/google-confirms-n...being-19196702/
kmrdeva
post Nov 24 2011, 09:55 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Nov 24 2011, 09:43 PM)
Does everyone use ext4 already? or most of you still stick to rfs? should anyone recommend me why should change to ext4? is the differences alot?
Yes big difference, in my experience. I always use ext4. RFS is slow.
kmrdeva
post Nov 27 2011, 01:20 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 27 2011, 01:11 AM)
Hi I'm new,

which one is better? Darkyy or Docs's rom? what is ICS?
You're new?? blush.gif blush.gif
kmrdeva
post Dec 2 2011, 04:29 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 2 2011, 03:53 PM)
Me and a friend of mine try  a couple of Galnet MIUI we both have to switch to other rom because the battery die out too fast.  Eventually my friend trade off his SGS for an iPhone 3Gs and he seems more happy with its performance.

I have been flashing rom every now and then, and they all the same.  Slow and laggy after a while.  I remember I bought my ipad more than a year ago and I have only upgrade the firmware once and its been serving me well till now.  See the difference?
I have changed to a BB Torch 9810 now because a BB serves my mobile needs at present. My wife has 'inherited' my SGS and she's pretty happy with her phone, running stock ROM with an ext4 lagfix enabled and pre-rooted kernel (CF-Root). Have not flashed any new firmware or rom for her for the last 3+ months. So far no complaints from her, possibly because she does not use 3G-data, only uses wifi.

She likes being able to play AVI, MKV and RMVB files without any conversion with MX Player and enjoys all the free games from the Market. To each his own, or her own, as in my wife's case..

kmrdeva
post Dec 9 2011, 08:27 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Dec 9 2011, 01:44 AM)
hi guys! going to buy Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 within this month!! now I will have 2 Samsung devices! woohoo!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
My friend has a 10.1 with him. He mentioned something about all Tegra2 tablets having problems playing back high-bitrate 720p MKV videos due to lack of hardware/gpu acceleration. If this is important, do test it ya before buying..
kmrdeva
post Dec 9 2011, 11:30 PM

4,776 posts

Ipad2's gpu is still the graphics king of the hill at the moment. Not even the tegra3 beats the mighty sgx543mp2 according to anandtech.

Anyway, based on what I see on youtube, not even ice cream sandwich can rival the smoothness of the transitions of ios on the dual core ipad2 and iphone4s. Sad but true..
kmrdeva
post Dec 13 2011, 12:36 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(takashiyert @ Dec 13 2011, 11:37 AM)
bro im xxjvz and i found out im not on ext 4.... where can i can i download a ext4 to convert to ext4 ... any idea wat is d toold name.??
Easiest way - you will need to apply the cf-root kernel for JVZ and then install the ext4 tool (apk file) and convert your filesystem.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=788108

#refer to post 7 and 9
kmrdeva
post Dec 19 2011, 08:23 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Dec 19 2011, 08:20 AM)
Was wondering will ICS stock ROM  really coming for Galaxy S?
So far, it seems like Samsung doesn't plan to release ICS for SGS..

0.0358sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:53 AM