Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V21, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

jenwai
post Nov 2 2011, 08:20 AM

704 posts

Just to share with everyone rearding my MMS issue.

I used to have problem receiving MMS. After I visited DIGI Centre, they told me I have to turn on my packet data. (I'm a prepaid user, that's why I turn it off).

Anyway, just sharing...
jenwai
post Dec 19 2011, 08:20 AM

704 posts

Was wondering will ICS stock ROM really coming for Galaxy S?
jenwai
post Jan 9 2012, 12:04 AM

704 posts

Anyone using The stock ROM for GINGERBREAD 2.3.6?
Any comment or problem with it?
jenwai
post Jan 9 2012, 11:57 PM

704 posts

Thanks for replying. I also feel that it's time for flashing...
But, seems like I cannot upgrade via Kies to 2.3.6.
Is it?

Feels a bit blur when reading the 1st page.
I saw some update for ICS of Stock ROM.
Actually what's the best Stock ROM now? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by jenwai: Jan 10 2012, 12:10 AM
jenwai
post Jan 12 2012, 08:19 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Jan 11 2012, 07:42 PM)
gratz! i will make up my mind too to flash hacksung's ICS this friday, which is also my birthday!!! XXJVU with value pack is very very buggy, phone.process always crash right after you end a call, then now front camera can't take picture, some picture taken while in recording video can't be view, lots of problems.... or is there any fix to this?
Gosh...
sad.gif
I was planning to update to XXJVU.
Are there any user facing the the same problem.
If that's gonna cause problem, I better stick to my 2.3.5/XXJVS.

Any comment on this, "Sifu" out there?
jenwai
post Jan 13 2012, 08:23 AM

704 posts

I just wish to stick to Stock ROM.
But, seems like everyone is switching to ICS.
There are too many reminders in my phone. I can lost the information.
That's why till now I don't dare to root this phone.

Any Comment on this?

jenwai
post Jan 13 2012, 09:02 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Jan 13 2012, 10:00 AM)
just sync your calendar events to gmail.

flash to new ROM, then sync it back down from Google.

gao tim.
I was actually still asking should I go for the stock ROM XXJVU?
Or should I root and use a Custom ROM?

Sorry... sweat.gif
jenwai
post Jan 14 2012, 11:27 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(takashiyert @ Jan 14 2012, 01:02 PM)
Custom since it make twice on stock
So, u mean I should root to custom ROM rather than stick to Stock?
Then I saw something like Kernel and does that affect me when I go for Custom ROM?
Sorry, still blur here... rclxub.gif
jenwai
post Jan 16 2012, 10:49 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jan 15 2012, 01:16 AM)
the signal icon will only turn blue when you connected to google through data or wifi. even it is a blue theme you need to connect to internet only it will turn into blue. well, for the clock i think you need to ask the theme's developer.
for simple understanding, here is some steps you can follow.

1. flash any stock rom for example XXJVU using odin.
2. go to xda and download any custom kernel like semaphore which is compatible to your rom. by flashing custom kernel you will get root access. without custom kernel it is not possible for you to flash any custom rom because you need cwm in recovery.
3. flash any custom rom or add-on script or theme which is compatible to your rom. ( with or without is ok)

if you want to flash custom rom you can straight start from point 2. if you want to go to stock xxjvu then you start from point 1. make sure you are clear with everything before you flash. smile.gif
Feels like going for Custom ROM, but any stable Custom ROM that "Sifu" suggest?
By the way, if I were to flash a custom ROM, can I still use Kies to restore my Contacts and notes?
I got lots of notes that I need to restore after I flash or update...
sweat.gif
jenwai
post Jan 24 2012, 08:35 AM

704 posts

If I were to flash to stock ROM, can i still import my contacts and SMS from Kies to my phone?
jenwai
post Jan 24 2012, 10:11 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:07 AM)
I use SMS backup & restore to restore my SMS after flashing, and to import/export contacts(send namecard via email) , I select all of them and send them to my gmail, and then restore it by downloading the namecards.
Wow...
Thanks for replying. rclxms.gif
jenwai
post Jan 26 2012, 09:38 AM

704 posts

I just manage to update to Stock_XXJVU.
I found that it actually didn't delete my data in the internal and external memory.

Should I format it and make it run like new? or just keep it?
jenwai
post Jan 27 2012, 09:45 PM

704 posts

I just update to Stock XXJVU Value Pack.
Seems like it not as smooth as the previous version.
I also feel that the battery is draining faster...

Any thing I missed in the process?

0.6497sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:48 AM