Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V21, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

gmhafiz
post Nov 27 2011, 01:11 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

Hi I'm new,

which one is better? Darkyy or Docs's rom? what is ICS?
gmhafiz
post Nov 27 2011, 02:36 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Nov 26 2011, 10:44 PM)

Added on November 27, 2011, 1:16 am
Welcome to the club!

ICS stands for Ice Cream Sandwich aka Android 4.0

Never use neither Darky or Docs.... Hence not much comment. laugh.gif
Chill biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fAr3z @ Nov 26 2011, 11:47 PM)
ICS Alpha 8 is out wub.gif
downloading  rclxms.gif
Ken posted the link to CM9 build from teamhacksung:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1363593

Looks promising
gmhafiz
post Nov 27 2011, 02:57 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Nov 27 2011, 09:56 AM)
[/spoiler]

but is this the official CM9 from CyanogenMod team?
It will be, they are from teamhacksung.

in other news, I have successfully flashed ice cream sandwich. It totally a beauty!
gmhafiz
post Nov 27 2011, 05:01 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Nov 27 2011, 01:13 PM)
Any downside that would be not suitable for daily usage?
It seems good enough to be my daily rom. If fm radio, bluetooth headset, video recording is important, just do a nandroid restore.

Otherwise, it is a major improvement over gingerbread. I'll be testing its battery life.

Install (coming from cm7 nightlies)
- wipe everything
- I had to flash the rom twice.
- reboot
- flash gapps

short review:
- first loop of boot animation was laggy, subsequent animation was smooth
- almost all ui transition are smooth, screen rotation gives a nice animation. some stuttering are present.
- no file manager, so either include a file manager apk into the .zip file or download from the market.
- no idea which note taking app widget which works with ICS
- tried restoring some apps from TB, doesn't work. need to update biggrin.gif
- not all live wallpapers are included
- not a cyanogenmod, so no extra things like call blacklist and others

QUOTE(aszosh @ Nov 27 2011, 01:25 PM)
someone pleaaaase help me  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
More info please. What are the things that resetted actually?
gmhafiz
post Nov 27 2011, 06:47 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Nov 27 2011, 03:27 PM)
Interesting....but still...really nid to restore apps from TB...so I guess I'll wait till its stable =D
of course, since everything is wiped in the first step. latest TB restores my apps+data without a problem, except for plants vs zombies.

If you have fast internet connection, you can let google to automatically download all the apps (but not data I think) for you.
gmhafiz
post Nov 28 2011, 05:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

Don't use galnet's. Use either onecosmic or pawitp's

Installing teamhacksung's from XXJVT:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...9&postcount=480

- flash Semaphore_1.8.0 kernel using Odin or Heimdall.
- Do a Nandroid backup (optional) and backup your data via Titanium Backup.
- copy your internal SD card to the PC
- do a factory reset: dial *2767*3855# ( your internal SDcard will be wiped).
- copy the zip files (Build and Gapps) onto your internal SDcard.
- turn off your phone and go to recovery via 3 button combo.
- wipe data/ factory reset and wipe cache.
- flash the Build zip file. Your phone will reboot.
- After boot go to recovery via long power menu.
- flash the Gapps zip file.
- go to advanced menu and select fix permissions.
- select reboot system now.
- after booting setup your Google account.
- grab Titanium Backup (Pro) from Market.
- open TB., then > menu > preferences > tick "Enable Dropbox" and "Enable encryption" and "Migrate system data".
- close/open TB.
- hit "Sync to Dropbox now" (Supposed, you have uploaded/saved your data on your Dropbox account).
- Your data will be downloaded from Dropbox account onto your internal SDcard.
- After downloading apps. untick "Enable Dropbox".
- close/open TB.
- restore your data.
That's all.

To poison some more

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Nov 28 2011, 05:18 AM
gmhafiz
post Nov 28 2011, 12:22 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(takashiyert @ Nov 28 2011, 06:41 AM)
http://bbs.lidroid.com/t-80183-1-1.html

same as this one o not.??? can't read chinese

Added on November 28, 2011, 9:24 am

all basic function.. camera video recording and movie playback.. stable for daily use..???

Added on November 28, 2011, 9:31 amdid d gps working.???i need it since i going out station daily.
Read: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1363593

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Nov 28 2011, 08:52 AM)
v2.1.3 or v2.1.2? v2.1.3 is already out tongue.gif
In the gapps for pawitp's ics, the updater-script uses this to mount and unmount system:

CODE

run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");

run_program("/sbin/busybox", "umount", "/system");

I suggest you can include that in your tweak so that users do not have to mount both /system and /data manually.

QUOTE(aszosh @ Nov 28 2011, 08:58 AM)
wifi mac address is missing. how do i reinsert it?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Missing from the router? Then you have to login into your router, probably typing 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 from your firefox. Then add the phone's MAC address into the setting.

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Nov 28 2011, 09:06 AM)
Cannot get KIES to connect my phone with Simplicity 1.5.1
Anyone have any idea on how to get it connect?

PC can detect the phone but kies stuck at the connecting screen.
Can't help with kies, but I can give you alternatives:
https://plus.google.com/u/0/104859864159185...sts/Zctj3ieAe27
gmhafiz
post Nov 30 2011, 12:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Nov 28 2011, 02:50 PM)
Thanks gmhafiz for becoming our white rat  rclxms.gif

btw which keyboard do you guys prefer?

swiftkey x or smart keyboard or other ?  rclxub.gif
I prefer swiftkey too. But ics keyboard isn't so bad.

QUOTE(aszosh @ Nov 28 2011, 03:42 PM)
how do i login? using which password and username? hahaha i'm sorry bcause i'm a purely entirely noob and amateur in this kind of thing.

the thing i need is a method to add my phone's MAC address to the setting... cause i can't edit it in the "settings".  sweat.gif
1. Do you know your phone's MAC address? Go to wifi settings, press menu to go to advanced menu. write this down.

2. On your computer
- find the address bar where you type google.com on your firefox/chrome/ie
- type 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1
- you will be prompted to the router's welcome screen to enter username and password
- username is usually admin
- password, I don't know, you should ask someone in the house or the person who set up the internet in your home.

3. Once you are inside the router's settings, you can add the phone's mac address.

Since the router is resetted, try "admin" as the password (or hit continue as there could be no password!) Try these websites for default passwords:
http://www.routerpasswords.com/
http://www.phenoelit-us.org/dpl/dpl.html

Added on November 30, 2011, 12:24 am
QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Nov 29 2011, 09:34 PM)
The "How do you know if it works" will show it correctly if you've flashed a previous version. An upgrade usually won't change the values.
Did you get the automatic /system and /data mount & unmount busybox command working in the updater-script? This can clear up the above confusion

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Nov 30 2011, 12:24 AM
gmhafiz
post Dec 2 2011, 01:02 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Dec 1 2011, 10:19 PM)
but there is no video recording right? other than that, can list down the disadvantage of current ICS port?  biggrin.gif
Build 4 is out an hour ago: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1363593

Known Issues
The UI is a little bit laggy (due to lack of hardware composition).
Video recording does not work.
Video playback is not hardware-accelerated.
The front camera produces distorted preview.
Photo taking does not work with the front camera.
Some camera options FC. (The camera is a temporary hack, when the Nexus S ICS source is released, there will be a proper fix.)
Movie Studio does not work.
FM Radio does not work.
USB Tethering on Windows requires the user go to to driver update and manually select the RNDIS driver.
Can select widget on launcher without being on the widget screen *
Persistent "Removed SD card" message on external sd card removal.
Download icon gets stuck in phone signal.
Phone unnecessarily gets data connection on device encryption password enter screen.
WiFi automatically turns on after quitting airplane mode if WiFi was used during airplane mode.
WiFi DNS does not update properly (unverified)
Data Roaming is enabled by default
Alarm Icon does not come up on boot (unverified)
Screen appearing for a split second after screen off animation
gmhafiz
post Dec 9 2011, 08:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Dec 9 2011, 09:39 AM)
Tats why for tablets I'm waiting for the transformers prime to make its way here smile.gif
Wif a quad core processor it should be snappy enuf
I disagree. tegra2, even our hummingbird chip is way more than capable to perform smoothly. It is the android OS at fault here. ICS will provide tremendous improvement over gingerbread - though not completely.

Moreover, there will be very few apps that will utilize all 4 cores. I predict dual core A15 chip will rule the mobile market in 2012 since it is a lot faster than current A9 architecture.
gmhafiz
post Dec 10 2011, 05:13 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Dec 9 2011, 07:02 PM)
nVidia claimed that their 4.1 cores perform seamlessly to Android, meaning there is no coding change in Android to support the extra cores.
ICS brings full hardware acceleration and hardware composition support. (For real! not just the stock browser)

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Dec 9 2011, 09:00 PM)
Ipad2's gpu is still the graphics king of the hill at the moment. Not even the tegra3 beats the mighty sgx543mp2 according to anandtech.

Anyway, based on what I see on youtube, not even ice cream sandwich can rival the smoothness of the transitions of ios on the dual core ipad2 and iphone4s. Sad but true..
- nvidia will beg to differ. synthetic benchmark may not mirror real-world performance. CPU is also another important metric to a game's performance.

- which one, the galaxy nexus?

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Dec 9 2011, 09:04 PM)
ya, Apple is one hell of a great company. There're 2 things I mind the most on Android, which I think is a major drawback:

1. Speed.
2. GUI

Anyone care to explain why can't Android improve their part on this laugh.gif
And another note, they shld improve their Market policy.  I see more crapps than apps in the Market.  If these things are taken care of notworthy.gif  Android
Have a read:
1. google employer attempting to dispell myths surrounding android lagginess:
https://plus.google.com/1050519857382802618...sts/2FXDCz8x93s

2. There's another good article written by a google ex-intern explaining why android is so laggy. :
https://plus.google.com/1008382760974518092...sts/VDkV9XaJRGS

Added on December 10, 2011, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(ic3joker @ Dec 10 2011, 02:26 PM)
they have to include vibrate mode. samsung + osim massaging tablet tongue.gif
Oh my, that is so funny biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Dec 10 2011, 05:14 PM
gmhafiz
post Dec 11 2011, 04:49 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Dec 11 2011, 10:08 AM)
try change other modem.
The kernel: Handles wifi and fm radio
The modem/baseband: Controls mobile data, phone calls and gps

So changing modem won't affect wifi performance. Maybe try another kernel?

Added on December 11, 2011, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(lost123 @ Dec 11 2011, 11:17 AM)
hey guys, im currently using cyanogenmod v7.1 on the JVK baseband i tink.. but ive been having problems with calls, many times when i pick up the fone i cant hear anything.. and also problems with video encoding.. so i was thinkin of changin the rom to something else that is less buggy.. any suggestions? hopefully something as fast as cyanogenmod..
It is a well known Hello Hello Bug or HHB for short biggrin.gif

It affects all samsung's and cyanogenmid rom. AFAIK, no developers can pinpoint where the problem is.

What about the video encoding? Audio/video out of sync?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Dec 11 2011, 04:52 PM
gmhafiz
post Dec 14 2011, 08:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CGLegacy @ Dec 12 2011, 12:18 PM)
i dont know where to search for this.... so I ask here.... please dont be angry with me... anyone knows where to get the audio jack to rca cable (tv-out) cable???
Nokia's audio to rca cable works too. If you can find one in lowyat, please tell us. I've searched and asked the people there but those salesmen have no idea what it is.

I managed to to play angry birds on the tv but IIRC, you have to switch the red and the yellow cable on connecting the cables to the tv.
gmhafiz
post Dec 19 2011, 02:21 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Dec 17 2011, 11:36 AM)
anyone can teach me how to flash to the teamhacksung's ics?
i tried flash thru cwm twice but keep kena something like bootloop.
stuck at the booting screen write galaxy s n cynogenmod. lol.
Read the OP?

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Dec 17 2011, 07:56 PM)
hi guys, have you tried google currents? it's awesome! very nice for offline reading, just select any news you want to follow, then sync it, then you are ready to read it anywhere!
like harddisk. I still prefer reader.google.com to keep up with all the posts in the sites I always visit. I only use currents to subscribe to websites I don't normally visit - my new magazine reader

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Dec 17 2011, 11:39 PM)
where to find the complete changelog of difference versions of stock ROM?
samsung only release changelog for official version, not the leaked ones

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Dec 18 2011, 08:10 AM)
woot woot.. back! 3 weeks didnt visit here.. just married lol!!
Congratulations! This Saturday is my turn biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jenwai @ Dec 19 2011, 05:50 AM)
Was wondering will ICS stock ROM  really coming for Galaxy S?
I also think it won't be released. It's past 18 months since the launch of Galaxy S. According to google's new policy, samsung has no obligation to update it.

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 19 2011, 06:05 AM)
lets hope with the release of nexus S ICS source, then we can get a better port
It already has, build 10 ICS port is totally worth it! All the major hurdles have been overcome thanks to the nexus s ics source code. What's left are small bugs which I sure will be ironed out.

gmhafiz
post Jan 24 2012, 06:59 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jan 21 2012, 05:06 PM)
yeah, i wana know as well
Try beautiful widget, free from www.getjar.com

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 24 2012, 03:20 PM)
Phone ran low on space on CM9 (with warning icon), gotta delete some WhatsApp messages.

Is there a permanent solution to this?
No permanent solution. Delete cache and restart. If it still persists, I'll give a longer method.
gmhafiz
post Jan 24 2012, 10:58 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jan 24 2012, 06:10 PM)
thx mate,
apparently it is free now! downloaded!

Added on January 24, 2012, 10:10 pmgamerzrom v4 to be released soon
Nice! Also, I noticed there are a lot of new ROMs/kernels/goodies since I last visited. haha

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 24 2012, 08:07 PM)
Did the wipe cache and Dalvik, the icon still persists. Even Talk can't load anymore, so I proceed to delete some messages.

But I dunno how long it will last and my Talk stops running again.
It is highly likely that your /datadata partition is full. CM9 should be able to automatically delete unnecessary from that partition but when it fails or the app isn't smartly programmed, you'll get that error. Type the following code to see if your /datadata partition is indeed full:
CODE
$df

If yes, use one of the following methods, A/B/C

Method A:
(The lazy method but may slow down the phone)
1. Go to terminal, type
CODE

$ su
# touch /datadata/.nodatadata

Actually, you'll have to do method B/C first. In this method, you'll never get the warning error but your phone will slow down over time. Not recommended.

Method B: You'll understand what's going on - but longer to get done
(from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...1#post20166901)

How to remove the pesky low space warning:
1. See what's inside your /datadata partition
Code:
CODE
$su
#du -h /datadata

Make a list of things that occupy more than 1MB

2. Remove it
- Go to Settings > Apps > All > Respective apps
- Clear data

3. Go back to terminal emulator
Code:
CODE
$df

You'll reclaim plenty of free space on /datadata
As mentioned by pawitp, moving certain large apps/games to internal sdcard can also reduces space occupied by /datadata partition. I moved plant vs zombies and I see an increase in free space.

From 776kb of free space, I managed to get 86MB free space. The warning notification no longer appears.

Method C - Recommended. Fastest to remove your problem.
1. Reboot to CWM
2. Navigate to "Mounts and Storage"
3. Select format /datadata

Done

addon: remind me to change my avatar. dah kahwin cannot put Rukia animated gif anymore haha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 24 2012, 11:00 PM
gmhafiz
post Jan 25 2012, 09:08 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 24 2012, 11:28 PM)
Thanks for the detailed explanations!

Using Method B, slow and steady, and I'm curious what garbage are in there.

BTW, if Method C of formatting /datadata partition, will it remove my WhatsApp/Viber chat logs?

I saw this while doing "du -h /datadata":
du: /datadata/com.android.email/databases/obj488: No such file or directory
du: /datadata/com.google.android.apps.plus/databases/obj802: No such file or directory

Are they corrupted or something? I remember I got problem with my GMail, not being able to send out email, for quite some time already. I wonder if this causes the problem.

Thanks again!  thumbup.gif

Oh, and congrats on your marriage.  rclxms.gif
then try formatting it in the cwm. that error shouldn't happen
gmhafiz
post Jan 27 2012, 05:15 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Jan 27 2012, 01:36 PM)
ICS build 14 is so buggy when it comes to calling and dialling experience, got so many time liao when i receive a call, people cant hear me but i can hear people. haiz
the HHB seems to affect all samsung rom as well as cyanogenmod rom. What kind of bugs do you experience when dialing?

QUOTE(enaleni @ Jan 27 2012, 02:04 PM)
I support ur choice ic3joker....  biggrin.gif

Let all of us vote for ken the next ts  rclxms.gif
+1

0.0573sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:52 AM