43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy W, GT-I8150

ericmaxman
post Oct 30 2011, 01:39 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
erm i think its not overclocked one, it is purely rated at 1.4 ghz according to wikipedia, do you have any article saying that its overclocked? curious on this
Normal MSM8225 = 1GHz
MSM8225T = 1.4GHz

Why not change the whole numbers if its a different chip?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1243207&page=3
http://www.mobiletechworld.com/tag/msm8255/

SUSngkhanmein
post Oct 30 2011, 01:43 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

they using same chip lah bro.. it truth that they OC. same v S + that y all cheaper than S II
ericmaxman
post Oct 30 2011, 01:45 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Oct 30 2011, 01:43 PM)
they using same chip lah bro.. it truth that they OC. same v S + that y all cheaper than S II
I know.

The T basically means its overclocked from the MSM8225's 1GHz.

Similar scenario with the Galaxy Ace ma. The Ace's proc was rated at 600MHz, but overclocked to 800mhz.
CyberKewl
post Oct 30 2011, 01:51 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 01:39 PM)
Normal MSM8225 = 1GHz
MSM8225T = 1.4GHz

Why not change the whole numbers if its a different chip?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1243207&page=3
http://www.mobiletechworld.com/tag/msm8255/
got a point there, since they OC'ed it I wonder if the lifespan will end up shorter for this phone
twhong_91
post Oct 30 2011, 01:53 PM

1,637 posts

come on guys, there is a much better hp out there. Motorola Defy+ smile.gif
SUSngkhanmein
post Oct 30 2011, 01:58 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

ppl nowadays trust samsung & htc.. old days is se & nokia. history is motorola.

T = turbo laugh.gif motorola defy+ not bad but

Main disadvantages

Android 2.1 is an outdated OS version
Limited storage for installing apps
No smart dialing
No HD video recording
No DivX video support out of the box
Equalizer controls are not within the music player
No secondary video-call camera

i better go for W cos newer with 2011 product. i still prefer HTC!
twhong_91
post Oct 30 2011, 02:05 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Oct 30 2011, 01:58 PM)
ppl nowadays trust samsung & htc.. old days is se & nokia. history is motorola.

T = turbo laugh.gif motorola defy+ not bad but

Main disadvantages

Android 2.1 is an outdated OS version
    Limited storage for installing apps
    No smart dialing
    No HD video recording
    No DivX video support out of the box
    Equalizer controls are not within the music player
    No secondary video-call camera

i better go for W cos newer with 2011 product. i still prefer HTC!
Lol. so what you mean is we cannot update the OS to latest version? sad.gif
ericmaxman
post Oct 30 2011, 02:06 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 30 2011, 01:51 PM)
got a point there, since they OC'ed it I wonder if the lifespan will end up shorter for this phone
That was what i was trying to imply... whistling.gif

Now that you got it, bravo thumbup.gif

game4life
post Oct 30 2011, 02:08 PM

1,943 posts

i wonder if it is a good choice for me to replace my ace with w? or should i get s plus instead?
waveweaver
post Oct 30 2011, 02:13 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Oct 30 2011, 02:05 PM)
Lol. so what you mean is we cannot update the OS to latest version? sad.gif
Most probably can upgrade up to Froyo. Better save the funds and buy a phone that can be upgrade for latest firmware. Atleast dual-core. For Samsung phones, only SGSII and Note will be getting ICS firmware upgrade.
Go for SGSII if you have enough funds as the price is getting cheaper where you can buy new set at RM1600 already ~~just my two cents~~

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Oct 30 2011, 02:15 PM
infernoaswen
post Oct 30 2011, 02:14 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 02:06 PM)
That was what i was trying to imply... whistling.gif

Now that you got it, bravo thumbup.gif
i was thinking of getting this phone.... sad.gif

but we can underclock it right? maybe 1Ghz or 1.2 is more than enough for the phone? hmm.gif
CyberKewl
post Oct 30 2011, 02:15 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Oct 30 2011, 02:14 PM)
i was thinking of getting this phone....  sad.gif

but we can underclock it right? maybe 1Ghz or 1.2 is more than enough for the phone?  hmm.gif
you can underclock it only with setcpu which requires you to root your phone which officially voids your warranty.
wyonneh
post Oct 30 2011, 02:16 PM

245 posts

the galaxy W is very fast and responsive as compared to my previous galaxy Ace. definitely a nice budget phone, but in terms of looks, probably not that great. would rate it 6/10 compared to Ace. it feels light and 'cheap', but it's so comfortable to hold. but in terms of performance wise..i would rate it 8.5/10.. it's responsive and fast with the 1.4ghz processor.

This post has been edited by wyonneh: Oct 30 2011, 02:17 PM
infernoaswen
post Oct 30 2011, 02:19 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(wyonneh @ Oct 30 2011, 02:16 PM)
the galaxy W is very fast and responsive as compared to my previous galaxy Ace. definitely a nice budget phone, but in terms of looks, probably not that great. would rate it 6/10 compared to Ace. but in terms of performance wise..i would rate it 8/10.. it's responsive and fast with the 1.4ghz processor.
i saw your comment in garage sales...you bought this phone...

does it feels "cheap" i mean for the build quality...how does it feel? any problems you encounter so far?

btw why u say 6/10 against ace? ace looks better? i thought they look kinda same... laugh.gif
game4life
post Oct 30 2011, 02:20 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(wyonneh @ Oct 30 2011, 02:16 PM)
the galaxy W is very fast and responsive as compared to my previous galaxy Ace. definitely a nice budget phone, but in terms of looks, probably not that great. would rate it 6/10 compared to Ace. it feels light and 'cheap', but it's so comfortable to hold. but in terms of performance wise..i would rate it 8.5/10.. it's responsive and fast with the 1.4ghz processor.
laugh.gif it's lighter than ace. how's the camera?
wyonneh
post Oct 30 2011, 02:23 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Oct 30 2011, 02:19 PM)
i saw your comment in garage sales...you bought this phone...

does it feels "cheap" i mean for the build quality...how does it feel? any problems you encounter so far?

btw why u say 6/10 against ace? ace looks better? i thought they look kinda same...  laugh.gif
it kinda feels like plastic type of material, that's why its light. Ace design looks similarly to the iphone. somehow the galaxy W feels lighter..you need to have a look at it and hold it to know what i mean wink.gif but the performance wise,you won't regret it,trust me. i made the right decision to sell my ace for this. another alternative is S Plus, but i decided to get galaxy W cause it's newly released and cheaper, although i prefer bigger phones. it's really really fast. when you type text msgs, or swipe along the home screen.

Added on October 30, 2011, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(game4life @ Oct 30 2011, 02:20 PM)
laugh.gif it's lighter than ace. how's the camera?
camera about the same with galaxy ace, 5MP. but at least now galaxy W has a secondary camera. smile.gif doesn't look that bad.

This post has been edited by wyonneh: Oct 30 2011, 02:24 PM
happymonk
post Oct 30 2011, 02:25 PM

640 posts

I also bought that device. Really feel very cheap, something like a plastic toys. It is also feels light. Quadrant score is somewhere around 1200. Battery life is quite good. Running on Android 2.3.5. Camera wise it is ok. Shoot 720p but cant auto-focus. It has a USB storage of 1.70gb. Devices memory of 0.99gb. It has a total ram of 371mb.
infernoaswen
post Oct 30 2011, 02:25 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(wyonneh @ Oct 30 2011, 02:23 PM)
it kinda feels like plastic type of material, that's why its light. Ace design looks similarly to the iphone. somehow the galaxy W feels lighter..you need to have a look at it and hold it to know what i mean wink.gif but the performance wise,you won't regret it,trust me. i made the right decision to sell my ace for this. another alternative is S Plus, but i decided to get galaxy W cause it's newly released and cheaper, although i prefer bigger phones. it's really really fast. when you type text msgs, or swipe along the home screen.
i see i see....i think i will get it next week...if there is any 1st batch problems update it over here....i would like to know if there is any notworthy.gif
wyonneh
post Oct 30 2011, 02:28 PM

245 posts

btw, any forumers here selling galaxy W casing and screen protector? need to buy for my new baby smile.gif
game4life
post Oct 30 2011, 02:29 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(wyonneh @ Oct 30 2011, 02:23 PM)

Added on October 30, 2011, 2:24 pm

camera about the same with galaxy ace, 5MP. but at least now galaxy W has a secondary camera. smile.gif doesn't look that bad.
does it have touch to focus?

43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:10 PM