QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Oct 30 2011, 11:28 PM)
And how do u plan to recharge it? No alternator for the 2nd battery.I think a generator would be more appropriate.
-+♦+- LYN PROTON PERSONA CLUB V26 -+♦+-
Oct 30 2011, 11:30 PM
52 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Oct 30 2011, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 30 2011, 11:32 PM) Now you know why I prefer to hang out here. When the FLX just launched, a lot of wrong info about CVT regarding how it works, the design and characteristics and I enthusiastically try to correct them but now I also lazy to give a damn already. Ignorance is bliss sometimes. Even in BLM Club a majority of them has huge misconception about CVT. They say got 6 speed so I just agree with them lah, "ya, my car got 6 speed." They say still can feel the gear shift then I also just agree lah "Yes, the 6 speed is shifting". lol QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Oct 30 2011, 11:33 PM) QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 11:33 PM) |
Oct 30 2011, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Oct 30 2011, 11:37 PM) QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 11:39 PM) |
Oct 30 2011, 11:44 PM
Oct 30 2011, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 11:45 PM) Install stainless steel kangaroo bar at the back QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 30 2011, 11:45 PM) budget or expensive, they should know what they are paying their money for. Furthermore, learning is a lifetime endeavour. how to educate when balik balik they tak faham the concept. Worst is they thought CVT is an evolution of the conventional transmission. lol, itu SAT mode... I only treat it as a little "overdrive" button to climb hill faster without pressing more throttle. Have to be patient in educating them loh. This thread was very dead before us pioneers came and revive it back in what, V9-10? |
Oct 30 2011, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(K.Lee @ Oct 30 2011, 11:47 PM) U mau? Wa kasi 'kopi-o-paste' sini juga.QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 30 2011, 11:49 PM) QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 30 2011, 11:49 PM) Got us now ma.. The new faces.. |
Oct 30 2011, 11:54 PM
Oct 30 2011, 11:58 PM
Oct 31 2011, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 30 2011, 11:58 PM) Well the problem is that when most of them think they are in the club earlier than you, they tend to think they know better and more than you. And when they start to have this type of thinking, this is when all crappy imagination comes like the Genting fast forwarded EK9 video is real, CVT is evolved from 4 speed automatic gearbox and many other craps. Share what you know. Explain to those who would listen. Even if the person who ask the question in the first place fail to understand or cannot brain / emotionally accept what you explained, let him be. With age comes wisdom, but at the same time also stubbornness. What does not benefit these old dogs will be beneficial to the others in the club, those who are willing to learn. |
Oct 31 2011, 12:02 AM
Oct 31 2011, 12:03 AM
Here u go, K.Lee.
QUOTE(xandras @ Oct 30 2011, 11:10 PM) I didn't wanna get into the compression ratio discussion cos it is rather lengthy, but you've mentioned out a good point that prompted me to share a little bit on this topic. 2.0 Mitsu engine? By looking at our market in the past 10 years, not many cars came factory fitted with Mitsu's 2.0 petrol engine on the road. Either Proton Perdana, or Mitsubishi Airtrek (correct me if I'm wrong). And if it is indeed the Perdana with 4G63 l4, then the compression ratio is 9.0:1, which is rather low compared to our CamPro's 10:1. The lower the compression ratio is, the lower RON you can pump for the car to still run as usual. If it is the Perdana V6 with 6A12 engine, I'm not at all surprised that it ran without any problem as the compression ratio is the same as our CamPro, which is 10:1. Most CamPro users will tell you that their cars can run on RON 95 without any knocking issues (me being one of them), but a fair share of CamPro-ers also said that their engines are facing it. So probably you're one of the lot. But let me explain further to enlight you on this matter. To understand what compression ratio is in the first place, imagine a piston in a cylinder while it is at the bottom of its' stroke. The volume of air in the space between the piston and the top end of the cylinder is 900 cubic centimetres, while the volume of air in the combustion chamber on top of the cylinder is 100 cubic centimetres. Total it up, you'll get 1000 cubic centimetres, or 1000 cc. When this piston moves up and reaches the end of the cylinder, the volume of air left in the combustion chamber is 100 cubic centimetres (piston moves up, reducing volume of air left in the cylinder until it reaches the top of the cylinder, and what's left is the air in the combustion chamber, which is 100 cc at all times). As such, the compression ratio is calculated as 1000 (total of 900cc in cylinder + 100cc in combustion chamber) to 100 (the volume in combustion chamber), or 1000:100. Primary school maths, fraction reduction and you'll get 10.0:1. And then.. I'll have to get into the part how does an engine with high compression ratio works, but I rather get to the point right away as to why there is knocking in an engine when you use low RON petrol in a high compression engine. In high compression engines, higher RON petrol is recommended for a more complete burning. When you're using a low RON petrol in a high compression engine, there might be chances that the fuel could not burn properly. Now picture a spark plug firing and the piston goes down and reach the bottom of the stroke. When it comes back up, there should not be any large volume of air left in the cylinder; there should only be air in the combustion chamber. But then, our cylinders may have imperfections on the surface, causing there to be small air pockets on top of the piston. Because of the heat and pressure from the incomplete fuel burning in the combustion chamber, these air pockets 'burn' and 'exploded', causing the knocking sound that you hear. What causes knocking? Many reasons. 1. First of all as you mentioned, usage of low RON/octane fuel causes knocking in our high compression CamPro engines. Solution? Pump RON 97. But then our engines are tuned to run on lower RON as well to comply with manufacturing standards, and so that the export units may also run well at countries which does not offer petrol with RON higher than 95. So proceed to reason & solution #2 & #3 as this is less likely to be the issue here. 2. Second, your ECU may have been tuned to run too lean, which means there are more air than fuel in any single time during combustion. As I've mentioned just now, knocking happens when there are air in excess in the cylinder. If this is indeed your problem, a quick tune by the guys at CoSE to switch your air to fuel ratio (or AFR) to slightly richer (more fuel, slightly less air) will solve it. 3. Third, most, if not all of the cars that are manufactured today are tuned to run on low octanes (including our CamPro). And as such, these cars are often equipped with knock sensors to detect knocking in the cylinder. When knocking is detected, the ECU will retard the ignition timing to eliminate it. This is usually what is done to allow cars with high compression ratio to run on low RONs. It is less likely for the ECU or ignition timing to fail in this case (as you wouldn't be able to operate/start your car at all if it does), so the culprit here is a failed knock sensor. If you're facing a very bad knocking issue with your car while running on 95 (which you shouldn't), then have the 2 items mentioned above checked (AFR and knock sensor). It is a must, as knocking may cause detrimental damage to the engine pistons, which in turn may require a engine rebuild at the end of the day. Unless, of course, you want to (and can afford to) run on 97 all the time. I hope this clarifies thing a little bit for you. QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 31 2011, 12:00 AM) |
Oct 31 2011, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 31 2011, 12:05 AM) Today got two story to share with you all.. Just now I was at puchong got one sentra tailgate me.. I hate people tailgate me at housing area.. Once I tekan minyak.. That sentra no longer can see Another one got one mivee tailgate me at LDP.. I was travelling at 130km/h then I tekan minyak still tailgate me.. When come to conner, that mivee can't be see anymore No guts to make fast conner *cheap & cheerful* |
Oct 31 2011, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Oct 31 2011, 12:07 AM) k thx guys U try hantam ur car kaw kaw uphill (genting), then when come back down, try to use ur foot to control the accelerator pedal, press it half down. In 1st gear up to 3.4k RPM, the RPM will climb rather slowly. Once the needle touches 3.5k RPM, ur car will surge forward like got NOS injection. Try it try it then i shall start service my car outside edi izzit proton service much more expensive compare to outside? today is second day i drive my car i notice the pick up is slow frm 0-60 , unless i press my oil heavily *im light footed type* , beyond 60 is nice |
Oct 31 2011, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Oct 31 2011, 12:07 AM) wasai all keyboard warrior.. i thought got good info/important info can gain... cipet read through all 1XX post all talk cock nia... kns |
Oct 31 2011, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Oct 31 2011, 12:13 AM) Yet still driving persona... mana ada rich kid... you only rich kid... salary more than me a lot... drive many different cars... I drive iswara nia when come out car few months edi heavily modded like mad guy... i apa pun belum , or maybe only spark plug and air filter.... QUOTE(K.Lee @ Oct 31 2011, 12:13 AM) |
Oct 31 2011, 12:16 AM
Oct 31 2011, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(MovingMachine @ Oct 31 2011, 12:16 AM) Hi Shelby, Is it possible to keep the Magnatec until next year? Is there expiry date? If can, I'll take two bottle Engine oil can keep, as long as it's kept sealed.QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 31 2011, 12:16 AM) I'm sorry but I beg to differ. If Proton merely wants to squeeze money out of poor people, they wont even be bothered with the Saga unique chassis (unique as in, it fits the purpose of a budget car, not performance oriented) and handling in the first place. I agree with you on this, but partially. I agree that Proton has came a long way and made plenty of improvements, and their move to implement Lotus' handling into their production cars is wise. But I also have to partly agree on K.Lee's comment that Proton is STILL retaining that profit-oriented mindset that was there since the 90s. Have you ever wondered how much better our cars could be if they pass through stricter QC and higher quality materials are used to produce interior trims, etc.? I respect the fact that Proton made their own engine (the CamPro, which I suspect is loosely based on the Mitsubishi's 4G18 (look at the specifications of the two, you'll realise something.)) and came up with many new technologies that are featured and offered by larger carmakers such as Honda/Toyota (CPS vs VTEC/VVTi) and German makers, in general (Vehicle Body Control Module, etc.). Still, they made quite a good effort. So give them a chance, let them flourish under the new, current management. Proton's MD's bold move to provide lifetime warranty on their power windows shows that he is daring enough to make a change, and a change is all that Proton needs right now. If all they wanted is profit, they could just stick a boot to the rear of a Proton Savvy, put in a dull steering wheel like those in the M***, crappy suspension which has dampening as high as KLCC and anti roll bars as thin as a kangkung stalk. I believe if Tengku Mahaleel is still heading Proton now istead of DSZ, I am sure my this theory is right and Proton Persona will never see the daylight. There will be no CPS nor IAFM. Everyone putting money for a new Proton and the SA will just wish them "Happy torque dipping". QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Oct 31 2011, 12:16 AM) Mana ada tipu? This post has been edited by xandras: Oct 31 2011, 12:30 AM |
Oct 31 2011, 12:34 AM
Oct 31 2011, 12:38 AM