2 GB the way of the future?

sidewinderz
post Oct 25 2005, 09:58 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

hmm..with the specs listed in my sig, issit advisable if i go for 2GB ram?
sidewinderz
post Jan 9 2006, 08:23 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Jan 9 2006, 08:05 AM)
izzit?
den i will try mine on 2T
cos mine cannot go over 250mhz
but in terms of performance wise, 255mhz on 1T is much better than 270mhz on 2T...
sidewinderz
post Jan 24 2006, 05:20 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Jan 24 2006, 04:23 PM)
any performance gain between 1.5gb and 2gb of ram?
if you wanna talk about doing office work, then sadly i'd say no..but if you're into gaming, difference is definitely noticable..especially loading times...
sidewinderz
post Dec 7 2006, 01:15 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

just join the club...got my pair of 1gb's a month back...didnt notice much difference in normal apps...but windows now certainly load a tad faster than before... (or issit my imagination)...

but games now are much smoother...next up is to RAID....2x80gb mayb.. laugh.gif
sidewinderz
post Dec 7 2006, 05:24 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 7 2006, 04:30 PM)
RAID? Cool ....... I never tried using RAID before even though my mobo supports it. Must wait for the hardisk prices to fall first.  sweat.gif
hmm...few reasons why i wanna use raid....first is because of its speed and access time...besides that, when vista is launched, you'll be searching for programs instead of looking for it 1 by 1...so hard disk access time is crucial...sigh...but still on s754 platform

sidewinderz
post Dec 7 2006, 06:04 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Dec 7 2006, 05:40 PM)
i am using abit KN8 ultra motherboard and currently i have 2*512 ram slotted in dimm 1 and 2...i am planning to upgrade it to 2 gig..so should i take 1 piece of 1 gig or another 2 piece of 512? i am using amd 939 3000+ processor...
well. do you OC your computer?? if you do, i suggest you get 2x1gb....cause 4.512mb is really hard to overclock..and cant get the thing to run at 1T...

sidewinderz
post Dec 7 2006, 06:23 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Dec 7 2006, 06:19 PM)
i am not doing over clocking with my com...well the usual stuff of gaming downloading burning and maybe create some dvd's with it

btw wat is 1T and 2T?  blush.gif
1T and 2T refers to memory timings.. tongue.gif if you overclock your computer, you'll understand it.. smile.gif
sidewinderz
post Dec 7 2006, 06:45 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Dec 7 2006, 06:35 PM)
so this would affect only if i overclock my com...wat if i dun overclock..everything should be fine and i should see some performance increase rite?
yea... smile.gif you'll definitely experience performance increase

0.0175sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:07 PM