Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

Asak8
post Dec 26 2014, 11:05 AM

44 posts

I saw a lot of cat owners here suggested blackwood.
Went for cat food shopping yesterday but couldn't find any.
End up buying nutrience.

Any place that sell blackwood in Bangi/Ampang/Sepang?

Edit: Has anyone bought from http://www.petsfood.com.my/ before?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Asak8: Dec 26 2014, 11:34 AM
nujikabane
post Dec 26 2014, 03:21 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 26 2014, 02:31 AM)
^ I think so too! And since she knows where to poop and pee, I dun mind her to roam free. After all, my living area is bare, and hardly used! It is when we adopt her that we spend more time downstairs.

I plan to spay her a few months later,
as she is only 3-month old now.

On a separate question, I am now only feeding her dry food. No wet food (only on 1 occasion, when it is who are curious to know the diff, lol). Is it okay? Or do I need to feed her wet food too for a balance diet?
QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 26 2014, 06:26 AM)
If it's good quality dry food, it should be ok to feed her dry food. Make sure she have access to clean drinking water all the time. I have cats that I feeds only dry food & also cats that I feeds both dry & wet food. Maybe you can try feed her wet food from time to time.
I am feeding my cat Blackwood kitten. Is it considered as good quality dry food?

Yes, my cat has access to clean drinking water at all times. However, most of the time, I would need to coax her to drink, else she will not drink sweat.gif

On a separate question, is it okay to put catnip into the water bowl?

kizwan
post Dec 27 2014, 02:08 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 26 2014, 03:21 PM)
I am feeding my cat Blackwood kitten. Is it considered as good quality dry food?

Yes, my cat has access to clean drinking water at all times. However, most of the time, I would need to coax her to drink, else she will not drink  sweat.gif
On a separate question, is it okay to put catnip into the water bowl?
Yeah, Blackwood is good.

I never have problem with cat refuse to drink though. Some of my cats that more active will drinking more than the ones less active. I use filtered water.
nujikabane
post Dec 27 2014, 04:06 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Alright, with the cost of living and the GST looming around the corner,
I am thinking to mix my cat diet between BW, and a lower range cat food.

Can anyone suggest which is the best options amongst these brands : Whiskas, Friskies, SmartHeart, proDiet
Dresperado
post Dec 27 2014, 09:18 PM

Today my cat vomitted 2 times after I feed him Whiskas Mackerel (dry and wet) both.. He vomit all out.. Is it serious? Need to visit vet? Is it recommended to feed again? Scared he hungry..
kizwan
post Dec 27 2014, 11:54 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Dec 27 2014, 09:18 PM)
Today my cat vomitted 2 times after I feed him Whiskas Mackerel (dry and wet) both.. He vomit all out.. Is it serious? Need to visit vet? Is it recommended to feed again? Scared he hungry..
I'm not an expert on this but try change food first. If your cat still vomiting after changing the food, bring your cat to vet. If there is blood in vomit, bring your cat to vet asap.

You can read this article, might be useful.
http://pets.webmd.com/cats/what-causes-cats-vomit
Dresperado
post Dec 28 2014, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 27 2014, 11:54 PM)
I'm not an expert on this but try change food first. If your cat still vomiting after changing the food, bring your cat to vet. If there is blood in vomit, bring your cat to vet asap.

Thanks for suggestion.. luckily no blood.. he literally vomit out all the food he consumed.. shall try out Blackwood brand
nujikabane
post Dec 28 2014, 01:02 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Dec 27 2014, 09:18 PM)
QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 27 2014, 11:54 PM)

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Dec 28 2014, 12:38 AM)
Thanks for suggestion.. luckily no blood.. he literally vomit out all the food he consumed.. shall try out Blackwood brand
Hmm what food do you usually give your feline? i.e. before you switched to Whiskas Mackerel ?
I think it could be due to a sudden change in the cat's diet. Any change in the cat's diet would need to be done gradually.

perhaps you may want to fed your feline the usual diet, and mix it with the new diet.

Just my two cents.
Dresperado
post Dec 28 2014, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 28 2014, 01:02 AM)
Hmm what food do you usually give your feline? i.e. before you switched to Whiskas Mackerel ?
I think it could be due to a sudden change in the cat's diet. Any change in the cat's diet would need to be done gradually.

perhaps you may want to fed your feline the usual diet, and mix it with the new diet.
Just my two cents.
All along Whiskas Mackerel.. i think just now after makan he too playful already then vomit out hmm.gif
feel like trying out Blackwood also since strong recommendation..
nujikabane
post Dec 28 2014, 02:37 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

^ LOL if that is the case, then okay la tongue.gif

I'd like to bring back to my earlier questions :

Can anyone suggest which is the best options amongst these brands : Whiskas, Friskies, SmartHeart, proDiet.

icon_question.gif
Dresperado
post Dec 29 2014, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 28 2014, 02:37 AM)

Can anyone suggest which is the best options amongst these brands : Whiskas, Friskies, SmartHeart, proDiet.

icon_question.gif
As far as I know of, Whiskas and Friskies are not recommended..

Anyway I shall quote :

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 16 2014, 12:24 AM)
For food? Brands are not important. It is the ingredients that are. I personally avoid corn, wheat, gluten. I've found that grains are not bad at all - my two girls are flourishing. But really, pick a brand that you think is good based on your research and knowledge, and if it makes your cat's coat shiny smooth and sleek, with healthy bowel movements and no vomiting, then stick with that.
Read above.
Unfortunately, all brands are commercial. All pet food manufacturers are in it for the profits, so it's really up to us to decide, based on ingredients (which can't even be 100% trusted), what is best for our pets.

PEOPLE NEED TO STOP THEIR ATTACHMENT TO BRANDS AND READ THE LABELS INSTEAD. CHOOSE BASED ON INGREDIENTS, NOT NAME.
What works for one cat, may cause allergic reactions in another. If your food works for your cat, and someone else tells you otherwise, ignore them. Your cats are healthy. Don't mess with that.
spunkberry
post Dec 29 2014, 08:47 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 24 2014, 03:21 PM)
So the vet's only going to do visual check on the cat, and determine the breed?
Most likely.
spunkberry
post Dec 30 2014, 04:26 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

icon_question.gif
I've never heard of the last two, but I personally would not touch Whiskas or Friskies. Those are considered to be the "mcdonald's" of cat food. if you wouldn't eat mcdonald's every day, why would you feed your cat that? smile.gif

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Dec 30 2014, 04:26 AM
miaopurr
post Dec 30 2014, 09:02 AM

587 posts

icon_question.gif
try proformance or starpro instead of whiskas/friskies/smartheart/prodiet

u can trying mixing the brands with bw, but if they vomit, then stop. stick to one brand only at a time.
jessteong
post Dec 30 2014, 09:08 AM

58 posts

do you all have to clear the eye gunk from yr cats like every 2 days ?
miaopurr
post Dec 30 2014, 09:13 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Dec 30 2014, 09:08 AM)
no
kizwan
post Dec 30 2014, 10:02 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Dec 30 2014, 09:08 AM)
No because my cat eyes don't have gunk. The only time I ever need to clean their eyes when my cats got Cat Flu. How bad the "gunk" is? How old is your cat? Basically if it looked out of the ordinary, it always good idea to consult the vet.
nujikabane
post Dec 30 2014, 03:12 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 27 2014, 04:06 PM)

Can anyone suggest which is the best options amongst these brands : Whiskas, Friskies, SmartHeart, proDiet
QUOTE(Dresperado @ Dec 29 2014, 12:03 AM)
As far as I know of, Whiskas and Friskies are not recommended..

Anyway I shall quote :
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 30 2014, 04:26 AM)
I've never heard of the last two, but I personally would not touch Whiskas or Friskies. Those are considered to be the "mcdonald's" of cat food. if you wouldn't eat mcdonald's every day, why would you feed your cat that? smile.gif
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 30 2014, 09:02 AM)
try proformance or starpro instead of whiskas/friskies/smartheart/prodiet

u can trying mixing the brands with bw, but if they vomit, then stop. stick to one brand only at a time.
Thanks for the replies biggrin.gif
It is certainly heartwarming to have others who are helpful,
it makes the task of caring for my feline easier.

I concur with the notion that what's matter is the ingredients, rather than the brand.

So I make it my point to check on the ingredients.

I have checked and noticed that both Whiskas and Friskies contain by-products.
ProDiet, on the other hands, do not. However, it contains rice and corn.

Link to the product : http://www.prodiet.com.my/products/Kitten#tabs-2

I am now mixing it with the BW balance that I have, and will switched fully to ProDiet soonest.
For one, ProDiet is available at most major stores (yeah, yeah, so that makes it commercial), so it is convenient to purchase. Else my cat would be starving biggrin.gif

I also give her access to water, and wet food (Morge) to supplement her diet.
And exercise too, we enjoy the time we spent playing with her.

Thanks for the notion on proformance or starpro, but then, I can't quite find it in outlets, and the specialty pet shops also v hard to find.
miaopurr
post Dec 30 2014, 03:18 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 30 2014, 03:12 PM)
Thanks for the replies biggrin.gif
It is certainly heartwarming to have others who are helpful,
it makes the task of caring for my feline easier.

I concur with the notion that what's matter is the ingredients, rather than the brand.

So I make it my point to check on the ingredients.

I have checked and noticed that both Whiskas and Friskies contain by-products.
ProDiet, on the other hands, do not. However, it contains rice and corn.

Link to the product : http://www.prodiet.com.my/products/Kitten#tabs-2

I am now mixing it with the BW balance that I have, and will switched fully to ProDiet soonest.
For one, ProDiet is available at most major stores (yeah, yeah, so that makes it commercial), so it is convenient to purchase. Else my cat would be starving biggrin.gif

I also give her access to water, and wet food (Morge) to supplement her diet.
And exercise too, we enjoy the time we spent playing with her.

Thanks for the notion on proformance or starpro, but then, I can't quite find it in outlets, and the specialty pet shops also v hard to find.
my cats don't like prodiet coz the kibbles kinda dry. u can try tho, good luck
spunkberry
post Dec 31 2014, 04:54 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I would avoid byproducts as well smile.gif
You want real protein.

158 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 >Top