Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

spunkberry
post Dec 22 2014, 12:52 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 21 2014, 06:50 PM)
^ Thx for the replies smile.gif

I have put the water bowl farther from the litter box n food.
But it seems that she is still not drinking fluid.

I am using tap water, and am lokking at whether boiled water would make her start drinking again.
Move the food away too. You wouldn't like it if you were served your food near the toilet, would you?

Cats don't actually have a thirst drive like humans do. A good way to compensate that is to start feeding wet food.

A way to test if your cat is hydrated is to grab the skin. If it snaps back into place, the cat is hydrated. If it slowly goes back to normal, then your cat needs more fluids.

Check with the vet if you are still concerned about fluid intake.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Dec 22 2014, 12:52 AM
jessteong
post Dec 22 2014, 09:26 AM

58 posts

my cats drink at times from my garden hose straight, sometimes caught them drinking those trapped water in the garden with algae and also water filled with dead ants although there's a bowl of clean water nearby/beside. just weird~
nujikabane
post Dec 23 2014, 12:59 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

i own a 2- month old female cat, and planned to have her neutered. question is, is it too soon?
spunkberry
post Dec 23 2014, 04:46 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 23 2014, 12:59 AM)
i own a 2- month old female cat, and planned to have her neutered. question is, is it too soon?
A lot of shelters, at least in the US, spay and neuter cats down to 8 weeks old, so no it's not too soon. smile.gif

I'm glad you're being responsible.
spunkberry
post Dec 23 2014, 04:47 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Dec 22 2014, 09:26 AM)
my cats drink at times from my garden hose straight, sometimes caught them drinking those trapped water in the garden with algae and also water filled with dead ants although there's a bowl of clean water nearby/beside. just weird~
Get a fountain. If your cats would drink straight out of a garden hose, they may prefer drinking out of a water fountain.
miaopurr
post Dec 23 2014, 07:23 AM

587 posts

Check with vet. Depends on body weight of the cat. Iinm 2kg
jessteong
post Dec 23 2014, 10:41 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 23 2014, 04:47 AM)
Get a fountain. If your cats would drink straight out of a garden hose, they may prefer drinking out of a water fountain.
they have no issue drinking from the bowl, just sometimes i think they want a change of taste, or more exotic water

i own a 2- month old female cat, and planned to have her neutered. question is, is it too soon?.

here prefer to hv them 5 mths old, but you can always consult your vet if they want to do it for you.
my 2 furry kids are 5 mths old now, one is over 2kg for sure as he swallows everything, another girl is more picky and i doubt she has 2kg (maybe 1.5kg) but spaying already been arranged on early Jan. shld be okay right?
naminakata87
post Dec 23 2014, 02:00 PM

706 posts

any 1 can share where can i get sporanox medicine with best price coz im going to buy bulk.

This post has been edited by naminakata87: Dec 23 2014, 02:11 PM
kimyee73
post Dec 23 2014, 02:41 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 17 2014, 05:34 AM)
i think we have to be more precise with the term.

any brand that's on the shelf in pet store are "commercial" biggrin.gif

by saying "not commercial" people might think go for those home-made that's of unknown quality.
Commercial in the sense that they were produced in large quantities, supplied to supermarket and being advertised in mainstream media. This is in contrast to specialized food where you can get mostly from pet supply and advertised in pet magazines.
nujikabane
post Dec 23 2014, 04:14 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I am curious to know my cat's breed.
Can the vet determine it for me?

If yes, roughly what is the rate charged?
goldfries
post Dec 23 2014, 05:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 23 2014, 02:41 PM)
Commercial in the sense that they were produced in large quantities, supplied to supermarket and being advertised in mainstream media. This is in contrast to specialized food where you can get mostly from pet supply and advertised in pet magazines.
biggrin.gif as long as it's on the market and sold, it's commercialized.

just because we don't see blackwood and rc on mainstream media doesn't mean they're not done in other countries.

spunkberry
post Dec 23 2014, 11:51 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Dec 23 2014, 10:41 AM)
they have no issue drinking from the bowl, just sometimes i think they want a change of taste, or more exotic water
Do you change their water every day?

Cats can be finicky, but regular water is fine. A water bowl is okay, but because you mentioned the garden hose, I thought your cats would prefer a water fountain. My cats don't care, and they actually drink a decent amount of water, as long as their bowl isn't near their food.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Dec 24 2014, 04:30 AM
spunkberry
post Dec 23 2014, 11:56 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 23 2014, 04:14 PM)

Most likely just a domestic shorthair, medium hair or long hair depending on fur length. You will probably have to run a DNA test, which can be expensive.
nujikabane
post Dec 24 2014, 03:21 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 23 2014, 04:14 PM)

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 23 2014, 11:56 PM)
Most likely just a domestic shorthair, medium hair or long hair depending on fur length. You will probably have to run a DNA test, which can be expensive.
So the vet's only going to do visual check on the cat, and determine the breed?
nujikabane
post Dec 24 2014, 11:46 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi all!

Alright I'm a total no0b when it comes to cat.

Here's the thing. I adopted a kitten from a friend, and she is 3+ months old.

She used to be v calm and passive. She slept on my lap right after I cuddled her. How bout dat!

So we brought her home. She is playful, yet calm (as opposed to being aggressive).

However, things started to change after a few days. She is always meowing whenever we put her in her cage! And when we let her roam the living area, she gets very playful, which borders to aggresiveness. She claws on anything she could find, she runs around d living area like Mo Farah, and she starts to claw and bite our legs!

And funnily enough, for a cat that playful, she doesnt seem tired at all! We have never seen her sleep! At times, we came downstaira to check on her, and she coyly turn to us and started chasing us!

Is it for kittens to behave like this? And will she grow out of it, and be more 'mature'? lol.

Truth be told, I was always scared of cats; I usually whisk them off when ever they come close (or I oeave the area, lol). So having noted her change of attitude kinda worries me.

Any advise?
kizwan
post Dec 25 2014, 03:18 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 24 2014, 11:46 PM)
Hi all!

Alright I'm a total no0b when it comes to cat.

Here's the thing. I adopted a kitten from a friend, and she is 3+ months old.

She used to be v calm and passive. She slept on my lap right after I cuddled her. How bout dat!

So we brought her home. She is playful, yet calm (as opposed to being aggressive).

However, things started to change after a few days. She is always meowing whenever we put her in her cage! And when we let her roam the living area, she gets very playful, which borders to aggresiveness. She claws on anything she could find, she runs around d living area like Mo Farah, and she starts to claw and bite our legs!

And funnily enough, for a cat that playful, she doesnt seem tired at all! We have never seen her sleep! At times, we came downstaira to check on her, and she coyly turn to us and started chasing us!

Is it for kittens to behave like this? And will she grow out of it, and be more 'mature'? lol.

Truth be told, I was always scared of cats; I usually whisk them off when ever they come close (or I oeave the area, lol). So having noted her change of attitude kinda worries me.

Any advise?
I'm going to answer the last questions. Yes, kittens this aggressive will calm down when they grow up. I like this kind of cats though. When they get older, they remain cheerful & not boring.

What she need is a friend to play with. Since she is the only cat in the house, you're her playmate. No pun intended. Probably get her a toy, small ball like the one you buy for kids. My kitten like to chase a small ball that I bought for her around the living room. Burnt her energy pretty quick.

BTW, this kind of kittens will find something new to amuse herself. So, if your house is not 100% cat-proof, it's good idea to restrict her movement in the small portion of the house like living room or just cage her, especially when nobody around that can look after her like at night when you go to sleep or when you go to work.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Dec 25 2014, 03:23 AM
nujikabane
post Dec 25 2014, 10:28 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

^ Many thanks for the answer, @kizwan!

Phew I am glad to note that this behavior is normal. I like her this way, really. But I am just a little taken aback by the change in behvlavior. I thought that he's dirasuk jin! lol.

We tried to play with her whenever we could. But she doeant seem to be tired at all! Any way to make her more calm / make her tired? We gave her scratching pads, big area to play, and toys.

I'm thinking out loud; would caging her make her grow tired easier or set her free to roam the area?
kizwan
post Dec 26 2014, 12:33 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 25 2014, 10:28 PM)
^ Many thanks for the answer, @kizwan!

Phew I am glad to note that this behavior is normal. I like her this way, really. But I am just a little taken aback by the change in behvlavior. I thought that he's dirasuk jin! lol.

We tried to play with her whenever we could. But she doeant seem to be tired at all! Any way to make her more calm / make her tired? We gave her scratching pads, big area to play, and toys.

I'm thinking out loud; would caging her make her grow tired easier or set her free to roam the area?
Let her roam free in the house of course. It's good idea for her to have a lot of play time.

Did you spayed her yet? Spaying will make her calmer.
nujikabane
post Dec 26 2014, 02:31 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

^ I think so too! And since she knows where to poop and pee, I dun mind her to roam free. After all, my living area is bare, and hardly used! It is when we adopt her that we spend more time downstairs.

I plan to spay her a few months later,
as she is only 3-month old now.

On a separate question, I am now only feeding her dry food. No wet food (only on 1 occasion, when it is who are curious to know the diff, lol). Is it okay? Or do I need to feed her wet food too for a balance diet?
kizwan
post Dec 26 2014, 06:26 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 26 2014, 02:31 AM)
^ I think so too! And since she knows where to poop and pee, I dun mind her to roam free. After all, my living area is bare, and hardly used! It is when we adopt her that we spend more time downstairs.

I plan to spay her a few months later,
as she is only 3-month old now.

On a separate question, I am now only feeding her dry food. No wet food (only on 1 occasion, when it is who are curious to know the diff, lol). Is it okay? Or do I need to feed her wet food too for a balance diet?
If it's good quality dry food, it should be ok to feed her dry food. Make sure she have access to clean drinking water all the time. I have cats that I feeds only dry food & also cats that I feeds both dry & wet food. Maybe you can try feed her wet food from time to time.

158 Pages « < 153 154 155 156 157 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:45 AM