Pet Help Dog fell into fish pond, having seizures, He's not right. Please help.

TSLinTao
post Oct 26 2011, 06:44 PM, updated 15y ago

717 posts

Hello fellow dog owners, I need help.
Last night (we're not sure what time, coz my mum found my poodle in the fish pond this morning before going out to the market), my dog fell into the fish pond, after we got him out this morning he seems fine but he had one seizure in the morning, one in the afternoon, and one just recently.

My maid says he might be in a trauma for falling into the pond and he's like this now. He's had seizures before but not this bad, normally he'd snap out of it and be his normal self after 15minutes, but until now he seems weird, he seems to not be able to see or something, he just stepped into his bowl of water (he never ever does that, he's the careful sort of dog who doesn't run around like mad, he runs slowly and watches where he goes, thats why we're puzzled as to why he fell in in the first place).

Right now we're just observing him, he seems to not recognize us at all, and he doesn't respond to his name. I tried to bring him to the vet in the afternoon but all vets and even pet shops are closed. I'm just a new driver so I don't really dare to bring him to the pet hospital in puchong (about 20minutes drive). Even when in the car he doesn't seem himself, normally he'd try his best to jump on the seat (sometimes I'd just let him be) but today he seems extra odd, he's just standing there on four feet and staring around.

I would be grateful for any immediate professional help as to what can I do right now. I'll bring him to the vet again in the morning but hopefully it's open tomorrow (our usual vet is an Indian, so he's celebrating deepavali right now).

Edit : forgot to mention he's been eating a lot after the incident. Normally he won't eat like this, he'd eat bit by bit. But now he eats everything we put down for him (presumably because he has been really hungry for being in the water for so long)

And he's also extra "violent"? All of a sudden. We tried to wipe some of the saliva dripping from his mouth but he tried to bite us sometimes. He's never acted this way before

He seems to be in a daze, he keeps tripping over stuff, knocking his head on walls and stuff and also can't seem to stand properly. But he won't sit down, he keeps moving around in circles, tripping over his own feet and stuff like that.

This post has been edited by LinTao: Oct 26 2011, 06:56 PM
LittleBetta
post Oct 26 2011, 08:12 PM

Poodles are normally good swimmers, but since yours could not get out of the water and you have no idea how long he's been in there, he might suffer from hypothermia. Lack of oxygen because of being in the cold water too long might damage his vital organs. It's best if you send him to a vet and have a thorough check. You can try Hands N Paws at C-17G, Jalan PJU 1/45, Aman Suria Damansara, Petaling Jaya, Selangor - 03-7804-6539. Quite reasonable or UPM. I don't know where's near for you but I hope you do send him for a checkup
blackright
post Oct 26 2011, 09:24 PM

maybe you should consider taking your dog for emergency.
there are a few vets open every single day, including public holiday, just so you know..

if you're staying near puchong, u can consider going to:

St Angel Medical Center
10am- 1pm, 2pm- 7pm, 8pm-10pm
Not sure public holiday got open or not.
or
Kinrara Veterinary Center ( opens everyday including public holidays)
10am- 1pm, 5pm- 8pm

Added on October 26, 2011, 9:25 pmmaybe you should consider taking your dog for emergency.
there are a few vets open every single day, including public holiday, just so you know..

St Angel Medical Center
or
10am- 1pm, 5pm- 8pm

This post has been edited by blackright: Oct 26 2011, 09:25 PM
fastreader
post Oct 26 2011, 09:38 PM

4,554 posts

i dun tink we would be able to help u much since most of us here dun have any training in veterinary..mite b helpful if u could send it to the local vet..
adriankhoo153
post Oct 26 2011, 10:07 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Do post ur result as we also would like to know y ur poodle acted this weird. For me all i can think is trauma and cold. But tripping and bumping over something is a lil weird. Do let us know what the vet say ya. Thanks
jovigrunge
post Oct 26 2011, 10:17 PM

2,607 posts

Comfort your dog with love and try to regain the confidence. If still failed, I suspect there's something wrong with it's internal organ....
TSLinTao
post Oct 26 2011, 10:41 PM

717 posts

I just sent him to the clinic near old klang road, the veterinarian said the seizures could be due to poisoning, he never gave a comment when I told him about what happened.

The doctor took some samples from the eyes and nose (fluids) but the test was negative, not sure what he tested for. Then he checked temperature all okay. He said the most likely cause was poisoning so he injected some anti toxin / anti poison.

Yet my poodle has given it's usual respond, usually he will whine when the needle is inserted but he just moved his body only. After that he was okay for awhile, brought him home, right before reaching home he vommited (must be due to the bad condition of the road).

Now is the scary part, he's just lying there, I think he's asleep, but when I try to carry him out, he's just not responding to anything. I put some food and water in front of him but he's not responding. I tried to carry his head and put at the water bowl but he just lay his head in the bowl. So I just put him there.

While I was typing this he got another seizure, I'm afraid something is really wrong with him.. What should I do now, it's really unadvisable for me to go out again. The vet said after injecting the antitoxin he'd be fine, he won't get seizure again but he just got another one.

He's not responding to his name, when I whistle, when I clap my hand. Normally he'll respond fine. Now he's just sitting there again, I'm not sure what to do, I'm scared if I go in the house he'll get another seizure..

Added on October 26, 2011, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(blackright @ Oct 26 2011, 09:24 PM)
maybe you should consider taking your dog for emergency.

St Angel Medical Center
or
10am- 1pm, 5pm- 8pm

Added on October 26, 2011, 9:25 pmmaybe you should consider taking your dog for emergency.

St Angel Medical Center
or
10am- 1pm, 5pm- 8pm
I'm near puchong, I actually go to the st angel's vet near my house, putra permai. Funnily enough, the vet doctor there stays on the same lorong as me, problem is he's not at home, celebrating deepavali at his hometown I suspect. The puchong one don't open during public holidays, closed after 3. Closest one I could get to just now was old klang road.

I've read that if a dog faced more than 3 seizures a day it is considered an emergency. Now it's had 5, including the most recent one after the visit to the vet. It says if there's more than 3, bring it to a vet but I've already done that and it's still happening. What do I do now?

Right now he looks stable, but it's too soon to tell. Hopefully he'll be fine soon.

This post has been edited by LinTao: Oct 26 2011, 11:04 PM
muchan86
post Oct 26 2011, 11:25 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(LinTao @ Oct 26 2011, 10:41 PM)
I just sent him to the clinic near old klang road, the veterinarian said the seizures could be due to poisoning, he never gave a comment when I told him about what happened.

The doctor took some samples from the eyes and nose (fluids) but the test was negative, not sure what he tested for. Then he checked temperature all okay. He said the most likely cause was poisoning so he injected some anti toxin / anti poison.

Yet my poodle has given it's usual respond, usually he will whine when the needle is inserted but he just moved his body only. After that he was okay for awhile, brought him home, right before reaching home he vommited (must be due to the bad condition of the road).

Now is the scary part, he's just lying there, I think he's asleep, but when I try to carry him out, he's just not responding to anything. I put some food and water in front of him but he's not responding. I tried to carry his head and put at the water bowl but he just lay his head in the bowl. So I just put him there.

While I was typing this he got another seizure, I'm afraid something is really wrong with him.. What should I do now, it's really unadvisable for me to go out again. The vet said after injecting the antitoxin he'd be fine, he won't get seizure again but he just got another one.

He's not responding to his name, when I whistle, when I clap my hand. Normally he'll respond fine. Now he's just sitting there again, I'm not sure what to do, I'm scared if I go in the house he'll get another seizure..

Maybe the water got into his ears thus he cant really hear well? anyway, I advice u to seek another vet for second opinion as u mentioned that the vet gave him some test which u're unsure of. Firstly, you should ask clearly what is the test for before the vet took his move because now the only thing you know is the test came out negative but no one knows what the test is for because you yourself have no idea about it either. Just a lil advice, even if the vet are ur're trusted vet, before the do something, you should at least ask more and get the understanding what it is for just to be safe smile.gif

There's an emergency vet that I went to last time and the vet there might be able to help you want to bring your dogs there. Its called Gasing Vet
TSLinTao
post Oct 26 2011, 11:48 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Oct 26 2011, 11:25 PM)
Maybe the water got into his ears thus he cant really hear well? anyway, I advice u to seek another vet for second opinion as u mentioned that the vet gave him some test which u're unsure of. Firstly, you should ask clearly what is the test for before the vet took his move because now the only thing you know is the test came out negative but no one knows what the test is for because you yourself have no idea about it either. Just a lil advice, even if the vet are ur're trusted vet, before the do something, you should at least ask more and get the understanding what it is for just to be safe smile.gif

There's an emergency vet that I went to last time and the vet there might be able to help you want to bring your dogs there. Its called Gasing Vet
He's just had another seizure, I'm really tired but I don't want to leave him alone. I think he's had 7 today already. I'm getting really frustrated, mainly because I can't figure out what's wrong and he's just losing it like that. He looked fine just now when he was sleeping, suddenly he woke up and started shivering and shaking then he had another seizure. Now he's walking around, not knowing where he is or what he's doing. He keeps stopping and staring at stuff, stepping into his food bowl (he never ever ever does this) and it's freaking me out..

He's like this when he gets a seizure (checked online and it's fine apparently, after having seizures, dogs will be in a daze and not sure of what's what and who's who. The vet I normally go to is off (he's an Indian and probably celebrating deepavali right now). The vet I went to earlier gave me some medication, but he said to give them to my dog tomorrow, should I give him now?

This post has been edited by LinTao: Oct 26 2011, 11:50 PM
LittleBetta
post Oct 27 2011, 12:12 AM

Based on the symptoms you've been describing, it still sounds like effect of hypothermia to me personally (but as said I'm not an expert and since the vet thinks it's poisoning). As in humans, prolonged exposure to 26C water can also lead to hypothermia. (Click here and read about Canine Hypothermia) Try keeping your dog indoors and warm. Hope it's nothing severe. Do keep us posted
TSLinTao
post Oct 27 2011, 12:52 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 27 2011, 12:12 AM)
Based on the symptoms you've been describing, it still sounds like effect of hypothermia to me personally (but as said I'm not an expert and since the vet thinks it's poisoning). As in humans, prolonged exposure to 26C water can also lead to hypothermia. (Click here and read about Canine Hypothermia) Try keeping your dog indoors and warm. Hope it's nothing severe. Do keep us posted
I've been sitting with him ever since we've got back at around 10 , since then he's had two more seizures. Thing is my mum is against keeping the dog in the house, no animals in the house and pretty strict about it too. His fur is pretty thick so I think he should be fine.

I've been reading more and more cases and I'm feeling more scared, due to some of them resorting to putting their dogs down, which I'm hoping it doesn't lead to that, my dog is only 3 years old.

I know this does not sound nice of me but I'm tired and I'm going off to bed soon, I'll bring him to the UPM pet hospital tomorrow if the nearby vets don't open early. Hopefully he'll be alright soon sad.gif
madmoz
post Oct 27 2011, 01:23 AM

4,250 posts

If it is really hypothermia perhaps you could take steps to warm him up a little bit? It was a rainy day today, so the night might get chilly.

Or try to convince your mum to let him stay indoors for the day? Maybe in the kitchen or one of the toilets?
jhoonaun
post Oct 27 2011, 04:04 AM

Now Im just a Hobbyist..
690 posts

do ur best, keep it warm.. warm water bath. happy.gif after that, a warm blanket and hug it to bed. smuggle into ur room. who cares if anyone say against dog inside the house. i would rather get scolded then to see my dog DIE !

good luck~~

TSLinTao
post Oct 27 2011, 07:52 AM

717 posts

I highly doubt it's because that he's cold, it's the continuous seizures that's making him like this. When I woke up, same case, he looks like he's in a daze, walking without energy (like a drunk person who's gonna fall)
adriankhoo153
post Oct 27 2011, 08:37 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

The actuall seizure just the after effects such as dizzyness, temporary blindness, dehydration, limb tenderness from stretching during the seizure ect..

This explain on why ur dog bang into wall, step on the bowl etc. Temporary blindness.

They said that if your dog is having seizure, the best way is not to comfort, pet and talk to them. It will prolonged the seizure. Instead leave him alone and make sure the place is warm. This is to make him relax and have fewer activities in his mind.

Btw, really hope ur dog will be ok. I second those ppl saying to take to another trusted vet for second opinion.
Jenn77
post Oct 27 2011, 09:12 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,118 posts

QUOTE(LinTao @ Oct 27 2011, 07:52 AM)
I highly doubt it's because that he's cold, it's the continuous seizures that's making him like this. When I woke up, same case, he looks like he's in a daze, walking without energy (like a drunk person who's gonna fall)
OK, after going through a few post I think you should send your poodle to another vet. I've had pretty bad experience with the vet at 3rd Mile Old Klang road. Try this one

No. 47, Jalan 1/149J, Bandar Baru Sri Petaling
57000 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Tel : 9056 4435

Very reliable vet. Most important is to get a proper diagnose now. When I was in my teen, my dog kena poisoned before and it had seizure quite often. It lasted for 2-3 days before blood came out from its mouth and died. sad.gif
blackright
post Oct 27 2011, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(LinTao @ Oct 26 2011, 10:41 PM)

Added on October 26, 2011, 10:43 pm

I'm near puchong, I actually go to the st angel's vet near my house, putra permai. Funnily enough, the vet doctor there stays on the same lorong as me, problem is he's not at home, celebrating deepavali at his hometown I suspect. The puchong one don't open during public holidays, closed after 3. Closest one I could get to just now was old klang road.
I've read that if a dog faced more than 3 seizures a day it is considered an emergency. Now it's had 5, including the most recent one after the visit to the vet. It says if there's more than 3, bring it to a vet but I've already done that and it's still happening. What do I do now?

Right now he looks stable, but it's too soon to tell. Hopefully he'll be fine soon.
you know what, I'm also a client with st angel. But I always have a backup plan for my dog in case emergency, here's another vet that open monday - sunday.
Kinrara Veterinary Center in Bandar Kinrara 5. It is right behind of Giant Bandar Kinrara. The doctor in charge is Dr. Dev, they open every day including public holiday from morning 10am, then close for lunch and house call at 1pm, continue business at 5pm until at night 8pm. Very skillful doctor I would say.

For your dog condition, if things are not getting better, it is always better to send for second opinion, in your case, it is better to go back to your usual clinic. Hope your dog will be alright.
TSLinTao
post Oct 27 2011, 03:51 PM

717 posts

I just brought my dog to the upm pet hospital. Long story short, the doctor said cookie had a disease which he probably got from another dog in the area (not my beagle though, she's fine). The doctor said it was too late to save him, as the virus is attacking his brain cells already, after the fish pond incident it got more serious. Doctor said got two options, one is to bring him home for a few days, he'll pass away eventually, or to put him down there and then. One of the hardest decisions I had to make, I decided to put him down there.

The doctor let me see him one last time, but cookie was knocked out from the strong anti seizure drugs, he wouldn't wake up but he was still breathing. After almost an hour with him I told the doctor I was ready. I took of his collar then kept it.

Added on October 27, 2011, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 27 2011, 09:12 AM)
OK, after going through a few post I think you should send your poodle to another vet. I've had pretty bad experience with the vet at 3rd Mile Old Klang road. Try this one

No. 47, Jalan 1/149J, Bandar Baru Sri Petaling
57000 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Tel : 9056 4435

Very reliable vet. Most important is to get a proper diagnose now. When I was in my teen, my dog kena poisoned before and it had seizure quite often. It lasted for 2-3 days before blood came out from its mouth and died.  sad.gif
Yes that's the one I went to as well. The doctor kept telling me about the price of the what test he's giving, and kept talking about charging extra for night call. The test he testing my dog with, is not an accurate test, actually the disease my dog has is the one he tested for. But the test was not accurate, so it showed negative. Bu the upm doctors said it was too late already.

This post has been edited by LinTao: Oct 27 2011, 03:55 PM
adriankhoo153
post Oct 27 2011, 04:17 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(LinTao @ Oct 27 2011, 03:51 PM)
I just brought my dog to the upm pet hospital. Long story short, the doctor said cookie had a disease which he probably got from another dog in the area (not my beagle though, she's fine). The doctor said it was too late to save him, as the virus is attacking his brain cells already, after the fish pond incident it got more serious. Doctor said got two options, one is to bring him home for a few days, he'll pass away eventually, or to put him down there and then. One of the hardest decisions I had to make, I decided to put him down there.

The doctor let me see him one last time, but cookie was knocked out from the strong anti seizure drugs, he wouldn't wake up but he was still breathing. After almost an hour with him I told the doctor I was ready. I took of his collar then kept it.

Added on October 27, 2011, 3:55 pm

Yes that's the one I went to as well. The doctor kept telling me about the price of the what test he's giving, and kept talking about charging extra for night call. The test he testing my dog with, is not an accurate test, actually the disease my dog has is the one he tested for. But the test was not accurate, so it showed negative. Bu the upm doctors said it was too late already.
Wow, very sad cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif .. What kind of disease?
TSLinTao
post Oct 27 2011, 04:51 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Oct 27 2011, 04:17 PM)
Wow, very sad  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif .. What kind of disease?
I'm sorry but I didn't catch the name of the disease. Was kinda stunned at having to make a decision so suddenly.

0.0171sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:08 PM