Internet Paid Web Hosting & Domain Registration Thread

SeeD
post Mar 14 2007, 11:31 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Questions
1. Is it better to register the domain name on a server ONLY for RM 35 ringgit and use free hosting service
OR
Get a hosting service for RM 100 with free domain name ? For new websites lah.

And i currently finding a registrar to transfer my domain name. The previous one cheated me with hidden charges. So i wanna CHANGE.
2. who can offer me a price cheaper than RM 35/yr (for domain name registration only)

3. And tell me IPserverone, whats with the 50 MB limit database and the less than 60 concurrent users for the 99/yr package ? Whats with the limits ? All of the numbers looked just nice to me until i saw the limit there. And it suck

4. Usually how much space does a forum use ? Lets say this forum. 500 MB enough ?

Lets say i have my domain name registered in A server(Registrar). And hosting in a free B server(Hosting server).
5. Will my website shut down if either one of them lost connection ?

This post has been edited by SeeD: Mar 15 2007, 04:06 AM
SeeD
post Mar 15 2007, 07:52 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Anyone used Hive hosting before ? Looks good to me ...
SeeD
post Mar 15 2007, 09:16 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(michaelfoo @ Mar 15 2007, 08:47 PM)
I'm not sure about this forum, but there were many discussions on Hivehosting at another forum:
http://www.webmastermalaysia.com/search.php?searchid=169843

Thanks and hope that helps.
There goes another of my hope laugh.gif
SeeD
post Mar 16 2007, 07:52 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Err its not actually
Up To 1200MB Web Space
20GB Monthly Transfer
Secure Socket Layer (SSL) Ready
Daily Data Backup Service (DBS)
30-DAY No Question Ask Money Back Guarantee
From RM59.90/Year or RM5.90/Month (17 cents Daily)
IF you look into it ... its actually
100 mb space, 8 GB transfer and etc etc at 59.90 per year. So it still kinda expensive. I rather go with the RM 100 package offered by other web hosting service tongue.gif

SeeD
post Mar 17 2007, 08:05 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(myc04 @ Mar 17 2007, 04:26 AM)
Yeah man. I didn't get to click on it =/ I feel..SORT OFF cheated. haha =/
Cheated, heck Godaddy suck quite badly man. And expensive as well.
Last year i registered a private domain at their website for USD9 + 2 private registration fee
And this year when i wanna renew, they charge me a total of whooping 18 USD for that.
9 for domain
private registration for another 9 usd.

I know its my wrong for not reading properly, now when i found a better registrar, i wanted to transfer. And heck?
1. There's no transfer out faqs for me to read.
2. Status: Transfer Away Accept/Decline Required << This is what written there, and there's no accept or deny button around it. Not even deny !!
This is such a hassle. I wouldnt recommend anybody hosting at Godaddy at all doh.gif
SeeD
post Mar 17 2007, 09:23 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(michaelfoo @ Mar 17 2007, 08:20 PM)
Have you tried emailing them to unlock your domain so that you can transfer it away? FYI, if you have done that, it is impossible for them to lock your domain, because they are an ICANN accredited registrar.

For your information again, our registrar eNom charges US$8.95 for WHOIS Protect even though we are their resellers. I don't find US$9 as retail price expensive for the WHOIS Protect.

smile.gif I've unlocked my domain already. And yes i've emailed them what is the next time i must do.
Heck i could get a 2 usd WHOIS protect with my other registrar man. With nearly all of their customers giving a thumbs up for them.

And i wonder why i didnt read anything about that last year. I doubt it was written there when i clicked it. (Not really sure)

Of course you dont find 9 USD expensive, my dad said a RM 200 thing is not expensive.
Im still a student here and 9 USD is alot.

This post has been edited by SeeD: Mar 17 2007, 09:29 PM
SeeD
post Mar 5 2008, 12:07 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Anybody hosted on Giztech before ? Their 50% promotion quite nice though, but I think the website lacks a lot of information.

As for ServerFreak, I emailed them, I think it took them 6 hours to reply. I asked to reduce the diskspace and bandwidth from their cheapest package(Since I don't get to utilize the whole space, why get them) but I only got a RM 10 off .. from RM60 to RM50. Sad .. I wa expecting around 30- 40.

Cynetstudio ... I played with their customization but Im still unsure.

BLUR ~~~

0.0455sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:16 PM