Shallow Mount Sub for Underseat, vs Active subs?

TSdaijoubu
post Oct 24 2011, 01:24 PM, updated 15y ago

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Im currently looking for a suitable sub to complement my sound system. Before i go further, some info:

- Car: Saga BLM stock
- HU: Alpine CDE-7871E (soon to be replced with Pioneer DEH-6350SD)
- Speakers: Boston Acoustics SL60 (running direct by HU)
- No sound proofing/dampening, but plan to damp at least the front doors in the near future
- Musical inclination: Oldies/classic, pop, slow/classic rock, rock, some rap. Nothing heavy or metal.

Im looking to add sub midbass and bass into my sound system, but I wouldnt want to put a big sub in my boot due to 2 main reasons: a) dont want to sacrifice the space & b) dont want to spend to sound proof the boot.

I have 2 main choices, which is either to go active, or to go passive with a shallow mount sub. I know shallow mount subs are aplenty in the US, which i plan to go to this year end, so i was hoping whether any sifus here have any advice on whether should i go for a shallow mount sub, and if yes, what brand?

So far the ones I've seen are:

JBL GTO 804: 8", 4.3" mount depth, 0.3 cuf requirement
Pioneer TS-SW841D: 8", 2.5" mount depth, 0.15 cuf requirement
Earthquate SWS-8X: 8", 2.125" mouth depth, 0.19 cuf requirement

Anyone have any experience with these subs or any other recommendations?

Would any active sub systems be better musically than the above passive shallow mount subs? If yes, which brand?

Thanks a bunch!

This post has been edited by daijoubu: Oct 25 2011, 12:55 AM
MyWifeCar
post Oct 24 2011, 04:07 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

You no need to sacrifice the boot space ma, the sub can be mounted to the size that look like custom fiber box. Make sure the size is correct will do.

Also, soundproofing for boot area is not necessary... Even if you have the sub installed.

Nightstalker1993
post Oct 24 2011, 05:27 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Agree on that, just get a small sub and a custom enclosure and either cut a hole on the rear deck or remove the rear speakers(if any) to let the bass enter the cabin more easily. Makes a hell lot of difference in terms of sound. Dampening wise, just get a sheet of Dynamat and DIY the boot lid should be enough to stop the rattling. smile.gif
TSdaijoubu
post Oct 24 2011, 10:34 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 24 2011, 04:07 PM)
You no need to sacrifice the boot space ma, the sub can be mounted to the size that look like custom fiber box. Make sure the size is correct will do.

Also, soundproofing for boot area is not necessary... Even if you have the sub installed.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 24 2011, 05:27 PM)
Agree on that, just get a small sub and a custom enclosure and either cut a hole on the rear deck or remove the rear speakers(if any) to let the bass enter the cabin more easily. Makes a hell lot of difference in terms of sound. Dampening wise, just get a sheet of Dynamat and DIY the boot lid should be enough to stop the rattling. smile.gif
Thanks for the input guys smile.gif
As much as possible i'd like to keep my budget to a low. Getting a normal sub with custom fiber box would cost be much more right? Moreever i'll need to dampen the area behind which might add onto the cost.

Im looking towards RM600 give or take for a proper underseat sub. This includes driver, 2nd hand amp and DIY MDF enclosure. You think can make it ah tongue.gif.

The pioneer low mount would be about RM240 or so. So that leaves RM360 for the rest =.=.
MyWifeCar
post Oct 25 2011, 03:31 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Oct 24 2011, 10:34 PM)
Thanks for the input guys smile.gif
As much as possible i'd like to keep my budget to a low. Getting a normal sub with custom fiber box would cost be much more right? Moreever i'll need to dampen the area behind which might add onto the cost.

Im looking towards RM600 give or take for a proper underseat sub. This includes driver, 2nd hand amp and DIY MDF enclosure. You think can make it ah tongue.gif.

The pioneer low mount would be about RM240 or so. So that leaves RM360 for the rest =.=.
Underseat sub no need amp... You mean active sub, right?

TSdaijoubu
post Oct 25 2011, 03:51 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 25 2011, 03:31 PM)
Underseat sub no need amp... You mean active sub, right?
I am actually considering whether to get a low mount sub with seperate amp, vs active sub.

Low mount sub choices like the above.
But currently from my measurement, my car underseat only have about 4.2" of height.
If subtract thickness of MDF board, seems like the mounting depth of the sub has to be very low in order to fit in there sad.gif.

So far got 2 choices only Pioneer TS-SW841D & Earthquate SWS-8X. I was wondering whether these 2, matched with a decent cheap amp, will it be better than just getting an active sub like the Steelmate active sub?

Thanks! smile.gif

MyWifeCar
post Oct 25 2011, 04:14 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Oct 25 2011, 03:51 PM)
I am actually considering whether to get a low mount sub with seperate amp, vs active sub.

Low mount sub choices like the above.
But currently from my measurement, my car underseat only have about 4.2" of height.
If subtract thickness of MDF board, seems like the mounting depth of the sub has to be very low in order to fit in there sad.gif.

So far got 2 choices only Pioneer TS-SW841D & Earthquate SWS-8X. I was wondering whether these 2, matched with a decent cheap amp, will it be better than just getting an active sub like the Steelmate active sub?

Thanks! smile.gif
Ok, sorry. Didn't see list because you keep on mentioning underseat sub.

Proper sub with the box, can hardly fit into underseat... Unless active sub.

I am suggesting you to do this :

Since you wanted to go for shallow sub, so the space occupied will not be that much.

Also, just go for 12" la... Or else if you place it inside the trunk, you cannot hear much of the sub.

This post has been edited by MyWifeCar: Oct 25 2011, 04:42 PM
craziechild
post Oct 25 2011, 04:22 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

i actually like the sound of the pioneer shallow mount subs... smile.gif

installed a bunch of those in hiluxs... sounds great...
TSdaijoubu
post Oct 25 2011, 06:43 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 25 2011, 04:14 PM)
Ok, sorry. Didn't see list because you keep on mentioning underseat sub.

Proper sub with the box, can hardly fit into underseat... Unless active sub.

I am suggesting you to do this :

Since you wanted to go for shallow sub, so the space occupied will not be that much.

Also, just go for 12" la... Or else if you place it inside the trunk, you cannot hear much of the sub.
May i know how much would the enclosure like that cost? For SAGA BLM.
I was thinking as much as possible i wouldnt want to put at the rear due to needing extra wirelength, etc, which will increase cost. But if i can achieve better SQ with lower price, why not tongue.gif.

Shallow mount sub can fit under seat, but choice is limited, and enclosure volume requirement must be very low.

QUOTE(craziechild @ Oct 25 2011, 04:22 PM)
i actually like the sound of the pioneer shallow mount subs... smile.gif

installed a bunch of those in hiluxs... sounds great...
You have experience with the pioneer shallow mounts? Which model specifically? smile.gif
Any comments, etc? Interested to know first hand comments from those that used it before smile.gif.

Thanks all!
craziechild
post Oct 26 2011, 11:42 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

i forgot which model... but its does looks like what you are aiming for... i installed 8"s, 10"s and 12"s..

well...its actually a good sounding sub... but factor in the price... actually you could get a lot better... but if you are wiling to pay that price then well.. choice is yours...

sound part.. it cant go as low as normal sub in a bigger enclosure... but if like chest stomping bass... this is a good choice...

and another thing is... i dunno how it would sound with the limited space under your seat... but in my experience... subs if placed too near... you will get the sub bass to be cramped to one spot, audible... this is a possible problem because you hardly could enjoy sub frequency "filling up" the ambiance... i duno about you but i actually find that kind of sound.. weird... smile.gif
zennn
post Oct 31 2011, 04:02 PM

unless ur drivin an alphard which has lots of space under seat for subs, then i dont think its worth the hassle. shallow mount subs also have their volume requirement for it to sound good.

maybe your question is will an underperforming shallow sub mounted under the seat sound better than the cheap active under seat woofers? its probably a yes...
TSdaijoubu
post Nov 1 2011, 01:00 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Oct 26 2011, 11:42 AM)
i forgot which model... but its does looks like what you are aiming for... i installed 8"s, 10"s and 12"s..

well...its actually a good sounding sub... but factor in the price... actually you could get a lot better... but if you are wiling to pay that price then well.. choice is yours...

sound part.. it cant go as low as normal sub in a bigger enclosure... but if like chest stomping bass... this is a good choice...

and another thing is... i dunno how it would sound with the limited space under your seat... but in my experience... subs if placed too near... you will get the sub bass to be cramped to one spot, audible... this is a possible problem because you hardly could enjoy sub frequency "filling up" the ambiance... i duno about you but i actually find that kind of sound.. weird... smile.gif
Price wise i think its quite cheap since im planning to get it overseas. Maybe about RM250ish at most?

By not filling up the ambience you meant, the sub is being directional? Means can pin point its location?
Darn i very dislike that sad.gif

QUOTE(zennn @ Oct 31 2011, 04:02 PM)
unless ur drivin an alphard which has lots of space under seat for subs, then i dont think its worth the hassle.  shallow mount subs also have their volume requirement for it to sound good. 

maybe your question is will an underperforming shallow sub mounted under the seat sound better than the cheap active under seat woofers? its probably a yes...
I've actually calculated my seats and i think i can get MAX 0.2 cubic feet there which is damn little, but the min requirement for one of the pioneer shallow mount (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/Subwoofers/Shallow+Mount/TS-SW841D) is 0.15 cubic feet. But even as you say, if the under performing shallow mount can sound better than a cheap active sub (say the steelmate active sub), i think i will go for it smile.gif

0.0205sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:50 AM