The Official Blu-ray Thread v14, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

SowYau
post Oct 24 2011, 01:03 PM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

Yesterday I went to Speedy outlet at Mid Valley, saw a guy purchased a few BD, he proceeded to the counter to pay. i saw one of them is Star Wars Complete Set. Oh my, it cost a freaking RM499 (was it RM449? i dont remember). he could have order online. I guess he can't wait for the shipping time, but then, if he is a SW fans he would have bought it on the 1st day it was released?

This post has been edited by SowYau: Oct 24 2011, 01:03 PM
SowYau
post Oct 24 2011, 05:16 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Oct 24 2011, 04:30 PM)

Added on October 24, 2011, 4:32 pm
while checking out the JURRASIC PARK bluray release, i just noticed it has been like 20 years since it release. i recall it was the 1st movie i brought my highschool sweet heart to cinema n really enjoyed it a lot.
Haha, me no sweet heart to watch with, but at that time, i was with a bunch of friends ran (literary on the foot, RAN!) from one cinema to another cinema because the previous one sold out. Needless to say, there was no empty seat even the front row in the whole cinema hall. Those days watching movie in a stand-alone big screen cinema is like a big event, now is like.... finish shopping, eat a meal, if got extra hour to spend, let's go to cineplex, all under one roof in a shopping mall.
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 01:34 AM

604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 27 2011, 12:34 AM)
Funny Tracking by UPS.... hmmm

** I had no idea why they appear at Sepang, Malaysia then return back to German, but the timing is wrong. Even follow correct timing, it also weird why it track appear at Malaysia then back to Shenzhen, China? Hmm....

** The Sepang, Malaysia is not under amazon.de track details, probably wrong tracking information record by UPS itself? So weird!
I think i know what happen. it's like this: UPS process the order, they send the order info to UPS Malaysia and Custom, what u have seen in the Progress Tracking is, while UPS Germany busy arranging/transferring your item, at the same time the paperwork has been received by UPS and Custom Malaysia, waiting for clearance. It's the paperwork, not the parcel itself.

I know this because last time I bought something (not blu-ray) from US, sent via Fedex. They have this kind of extra paper work.
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 09:23 AM

604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 27 2011, 02:25 AM)
Oh! IC, thanks for the information. smile.gif
No prob!
normally if the shipment transit at shenzhen or guangzhou overnight, we in Malaysia will receive it before noon the next day. Meaning u will receive it today before noon, err... if u are in KL.
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 10:29 AM

604 posts

Jurassic Park is getting bad review (from Amz US) for its bad pic transfer.
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 04:29 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Oct 27 2011, 04:15 PM)
JP TREX!  rclxm9.gif
come on, snap some pictures for us! biggrin.gif
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 04:50 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Oct 27 2011, 04:42 PM)
sure smile.gif

the T-Rex statue looks much much better in real life, happy!  rclxms.gif
I knew it doh.gif here comes your poison kaw kaw.

may i know what is the material, sort of resin or hollow plastic?
SowYau
post Oct 27 2011, 11:49 PM

604 posts

Bro wiNd, really nice haul u hav there!
SowYau
post Oct 28 2011, 09:45 AM

604 posts

Andrew, how about your JP wooden box? Can we have a look at it?
Thanks!
SowYau
post Oct 28 2011, 11:52 AM

604 posts

- deleted -

This post has been edited by SowYau: Oct 28 2011, 11:53 AM
SowYau
post Oct 28 2011, 12:23 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 28 2011, 12:03 PM)
Ermm.. dunno leh.. cuz i plan to get my long awaited The Godfather. I tried 2 times order at the end also Amazon inform out of stock and unable to deliver. So this time I nail it on the spot!  icon_rolleyes.gif
This Godfather Trilogy is it Coppola Restoration version?
SowYau
post Oct 28 2011, 07:05 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 28 2011, 12:27 PM)
Yah.. 17.79gbp only  nod.gif U interested also? Previously got promotion is 13.49 gbp but I missed it.  unsure.gif
If only i have the option to buy part I and II. haha. Actually i have the DVD Coppola Restoration. Probably will not order the BD, not becos I dont really like it, it's due to there are lots of other BD i want to own. Priority, my mate!

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Oct 28 2011, 12:46 PM)
Ya, this is the one I got earlier at that GBP17.99 price before they ran out of stock; another very good buy from Amazon UK for 4 standard BD discs (the 3 Godfather movies plus 1 disc of extras) in a slip case.
Some shots just to poison bro. Andrew san some more!

Overall package
All three cannot stop watching from beginning to end (if you have not wathced before.). Part 3 spoiled by presence pf Sofia Coppola (director's daughter, nepotism??), very unnatural acting, always pouting smile only, yuks!  doh.gif  I think any other actress would have done a better job but luckily movie saved by Al Pacino and the rest.
I forgive Sofia after she gave me Lost In Translation. tongue.gif

Do u know apart from Al Pacino, Diane Keaton & Talia Shire, Sofia appeared in all 3 movies.
SowYau
post Nov 3 2011, 12:59 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Nov 3 2011, 12:56 PM)
saw this at local Speedy store...quality of the packaging abit  sweat.gif

Andrew said the local version dont have the booklet.
SowYau
post Nov 10 2011, 05:02 PM

604 posts

seems like most of us will wait for BF sales, but based on u guys experience, how many BD titles are on sales during BF, estimate? 30, 40?
SowYau
post Nov 11 2011, 02:12 PM

604 posts

Resistance is futile, i succumbed to the temptation.
the temptation is too powerful for me. My itchy hand just press the ORDER button for Stanley Kubrick Collection. Damn u Amazon.com and myself SowYau.

I prefer this over UK version, main reason is the very nice packaging. For those who crave UK version, although minus 2 movies, the price enable them to buy it separately.
SowYau
post Nov 18 2011, 09:35 AM

604 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 17 2011, 11:35 PM)
Amazon US removed the first 2 days Black Friday items list. I wonder, is it too many ppl complained to Amazon since items listed similar to last year.  tongue.gif
No wonder it look so familiar! doh.gif

Amazon US need to offer better than this lah
SowYau
post Nov 22 2011, 09:01 AM

604 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Nov 22 2011, 08:45 AM)
That set got include the latest X-Men? Dont htink so bro..  hmm.gif Thanks for the info anyway.
haha, u forgot there is a ******* child of x-men called x-men origin: wolverine!
SowYau
post Nov 24 2011, 11:50 AM

604 posts

For those who have seen the BD, Is the PQ in JP trilogy really as bad as commented in Amazon US customers?
SowYau
post Nov 24 2011, 02:51 PM

604 posts

ai seh, this thread is about blu-ray lah, no wonder wiNdy misunderstood.
SowYau
post Nov 25 2011, 01:53 PM

604 posts

wahhh, so many recommendation.... i have to give too.

Bro wiNd, how about It's a Wonderful Life (Frank Capra, 1946), the granddaddy of all christmas movies!

0.0241sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:23 PM