?????
3,772 posts

only one i know is winning awards is ford mondeo

the rest are just ok
rcracer
post Oct 23 2011, 04:53 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 22 2011, 08:51 PM)
Ford Mondeo was launched much earlier. Anyway, the others have won awards too. Google it up.
the passat won awards for tech we don't get, the 508 won because it's an improvement on itself not beating rivals
rcracer
post Oct 23 2011, 04:56 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:19 AM)
funny, although most people voted for Mondeo, and many people out there will probably cheer about how good Mondeo is, but it doesn't translate into real sales figures in Malaysia..... sweat.gif

how often we see a Mondeo on the road? in KL, probably less often than seeing a Ferrari or a Porsche...

wondering why many people persuade other to venture into a particular car brand/model and when they themselves need a car, they get something else.....  sad.gif
None really can afford them, there name carries no prestige, after sales service is generally known to be bad, and te new fad is to be seen in a VW, plus ford passenger cars were only recently reintroduced into malaysia.

The Fiesta however is doing very well
rcracer
post Oct 23 2011, 05:12 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 23 2011, 11:00 AM)
The Fiesta was doing good because there are promotional activities.

Ford passenger cars have always been here.
Remember the old Ford Focus 1.8? That was still a very good solid car.

You, for one, thought Ford passenger car was recently introduced - is the proof of failure of Sime Darby.
Well, Sime Darby just don't give a darn care anyway.
exactly zero brand recognition.

besides that if you i drive a ford mondeo, people ask 'what is that?', you drive a VW or jap, wah you are doing well friend.
rcracer
post Oct 31 2011, 04:06 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Oct 31 2011, 08:32 AM)
Thanks man, I've already booked a unit. Here's to wishing its a good car, as reliable as other european marque (europeans are more prone to breakdowns compared to japanese anyway laugh.gif)
if they build it the same as my 207 here in netherlands, good luck, 20k km only car got plenty bunyi bunyi
rcracer
post Nov 1 2011, 03:22 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Oct 31 2011, 02:48 PM)
Supposedly immediately upon loan approval (promised by SA). If not immediate, I'll just cancel it. Im taking the aluminium color. Interest rate is from 2.5 to 2.6. So I'm trying to get loan from multiple bank see which one offer the lowest rate.
Hopefully not la. I've visit some SG forum and so far all praises and no complains from owners, yet. Btw the 207 has really bad build quality. I've spent some time in the showroom to take a closer look at the 207. Everything inside looks pretty low quality, looks worse than proton
our 207 is locally assembled of course it's shit

rcracer
post Nov 2 2011, 02:38 AM

?????
3,772 posts

btw, watch out for you oil levels also, my 207 ate all the oil until it reach minimum, in about 10k kms
rcracer
post Nov 29 2011, 08:03 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Nov 29 2011, 12:26 PM)
Lai Lai Time For A Change, How About We Wait For 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo & Compare This With FORD MONDEO Ecoboost.

2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo vs. FORD MONDEO Ecoboost

0-100KM (Seconds)
2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo - 6.5 Seconds! Amazing!
FORD MONDEO Ecoboost - 7.9 Seconds! Cool!

Btw, 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo Has A Very Similar Engine To V8!
Kia already said they WILL NOT BRING IN good engines because of so-call 'Fuel Quality BS excuse'

Mondeo can bring the latest greatest EcoBoost, but KIA cannot

Kia like to treat malaysian like idiot, malaysian like being treated like idiot also
rcracer
post Dec 11 2011, 04:25 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 11 2011, 05:29 AM)
Usually European cars usually have a rather sporty suspension. If you want that smooooooth ride, try the C5 (it has the hydropneumatik suspension in Malaysia, right?). That's the one that was meant for a smooth comfortable ride, and boy did the XM glide over the road! I've read that PSA tried to differentiate the brothers by making the 508 pretty sporty, while the C5 was meant to be comfortable (hell, Rolls Royce and Bentley used the system, and the S class offers a somewhat similar system... as an option). It's also a better looking car, if you ask me. Getting replacement spheres for the C5's suspension might get a bit harder though, in case they wear out. Not many cars who need them here, but you could import them from Europe (afaik there are also comfort spheres in case you want an even smoother suspension).

Also 18 inchers AFAIK do ruin the ride a bit, because they tyres are also part of the suspension, and there isn't much with a 18"... I guess asking them to mount 16" to try out isn't an option?

Have you considered one of the DSG cars, such as the Passat? (doesn't the Mondeo have it too? Hm...)
this is true, problem europe has near perfect roads anywhere everywhere, even back roads are better than our best highways, that's why they can have much harder suspensions.

It's happening to all new conti cars, even the new ford focus
rcracer
post Dec 11 2011, 07:01 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 11 2011, 09:46 AM)
Mh... again, I have to disagree. Some german streets are in an absolutely desolate state, many towns are bankrupt and can't afford to repair them. However the highway is usually in good shape. I have seen towns that are in worse shape than what I have seen in Malaysia so far. I was in a town once where no one drove faster than 20 to evade all the potholes...! (They were redoing all the streets though...) Really depends on what area you are in, but you can't generalize. Especially towns are in a bad shape.

Not sure why they are all trying to be as sporty as possible :-/ It doesn't make that much sense nowadays. As if Europeans are always driving on race tracks... -.-
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 11 2011, 11:07 AM)
if you watch topgear, you will realized the UK is full of pot hole.

there was an episode they were showing the PROTON SAGA ( yes, ours) are blown up, after went through a few potholes.

moon is rounder in other country, but not that round.

US road is very good, thats why they have muscle car, and jap's road is perfect, but not europe.
You do realize those that can afford these cars normally don't live in those towns also.

i know what i talk about, i've been living in europe for 2 years working here
rcracer
post Dec 12 2011, 08:21 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 12 2011, 12:33 PM)
I suddenly started looking at the Audi A4 1.8TFSI today. Price is approx RM 240K (OTR with insurance). Not sure if it would be worth the extra 70K over the 508.

http://www.audi.com.my/sea/brand/my/models/a4/a4_saloon.html
That's a huge step ahead of the peugeot for sure, Audi is premium segment already. But don't be surprised the car also has hard suspension
rcracer
post Dec 14 2011, 09:11 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Dec 14 2011, 12:01 PM)
Have you take a look at the Passat CC? Nice Design Around That Price Range.. thumbup.gif

A4 Looks a bit odd sweat.gif
Passat CC is very very sexy car
rcracer
post Dec 28 2011, 02:33 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 28 2011, 07:22 AM)
yea, jap saks to the max.

go conti.

not vw/pug kind of conti, go bmw/mercs kind of conti!!
now it seems like the doomsday for jap car after audi designer jump ship to kia eh?

btw, i always thought Jap car isnt about beauty, safety or whatever? jap car is always about reliability, no?

only lexus are able to compete with conti cars.
Jap cars were practical, reliable and fuel efficient. Note that i say 'were'

Now contis are more practical, with most cars able to play dual role as sedate family car then track car on weekends. Reliable they are now coming with 3-5 years warranties.

Fuel efficient is no brainer with superb downsized turboed, twin turboed,supercharged, direct injected, and diesel engines. Not only they downsized but bumped up the power too.

Japs can't compete anymore, their VVTi is so far behind it looks like a carburetor 2 stroke engine compared to the conti/korean ones. The interiors hasn't gone anywhere with hard plastics all around.

And lastly there is no design language anymore, just seems to be facelifts and lift and lift and lift, no new platforms, nothing
rcracer
post Dec 29 2011, 04:18 PM

?????
3,772 posts

2.5 litre is a new engine but roadtax you pay nicely lah

0.0548sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:59 PM