Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

m42
post Nov 10 2011, 05:39 PM

Hi, nice discussion!
I'm also looking at the passat, 508, and mondeo rite now..have tested the passat and mondeo ecoboost.. All are good cars, better than the japs. However, I can only choose one..sigh
In my observation, these are the major goods and bads about each car, which could be the decisive factors:

1. Passat
Good: it's a Volkswagen, 7 speed dsg, interior similar to passat cc (which costs at least 70k more), 5 year unlimited mileage warranty, service interval 15k
Bad: most expensive rm190k (including insurance, not 192k as stated in this thread),
No keyless, no navi, no DVD, no bluetooth

2. 508
Good: most exciting exterior, newest brand new model, most interior features, amazing sound system! (need to hear it, simply superb), true keyless, cheapest.
Bad: auto gearbox (not dual clutch), 3 year/100k km warranty, 10k service interval

3. Mondeo
Good: best ride and handling (try it, as good as BMW or nearly there), most powerful, fastest, dual clutch gearbox, largest (but boot space a bit shallow if I remember correctly), keyless, Bluetooth, voice control
Bad: not so new model (just a recent facelift), no paddle shifters, most thirsty, 3 years warranty, 10k service interval, no navi

There.. To me, based on the above, I would go for the passat.. The dsg is simply superb, interior quality as good as passat cc, and most importantly 5 years unlimited mileage warranty. You can drive all you want without worrying about the engine or gearbox breaking down, then you can sell after 4 years and the warranty is still valid so this will help in the resale value also.. For navi, or sound system, later can upgrade, although this will be expensive if need to use volkswagen system (to save the warranty).

Unless anyone can convince me otherwise..
m42
post Nov 11 2011, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 10 2011, 06:05 PM)
Since when is the Passat 1.8TSI interior similar to the Passat CC? I think the CC has got a more luxurious interior and exterior albeit with a big increase in price.

Yes what uve said bout the Passat 1.8TSI is good. The gearbox, engine and warranty is great. But would you want to pay 190K for a boring car? Have you pictured yourself driving this car for the next 5-7yrs while other more modern and futuristic cars whizz by e.g Kia Optima, Hyundai Elantra, Hyundai Sonata, Peugeot 508, Toyota Camry, etc

The Passat has got an ugly rear (i think the worst among all VW cars at the moment). I think the Jetta looks better than the Passat except with much less features. The Passat TSI will not get any second looks on the road for sure unlike the attention the Golf, Sirocco and Passat CC enjoy. Even the interior seats on the Passat TSI is not that comfy for a 190K car.

Yes no doubt VW have great gearboxes and engines but how often will we be in a position to enjoy them? How often are we gonna be driving at high speeds? Most of the time we'll be stuck in bumper to bumper traffic in major cities i guess.

But what we would be experiencing most of the time is the specs, comfort and exterior/interior looks which the 508 has in abundance.

But in saying that, the after sales service and build quality of the Peugeot 508 is a worry for me. But i still have about 4-5 months more to decide.
Yes, actually I was referring to the dashboard of the car..similar dashboard, but seats are much better in the passat cc.
To me, the passat's dashboard is the most handsome and classiest among the three, with nice aluminum inserts. Maybe it's not as exciting as a civic's or optima's dashboard, but the ergonomics and feeling of quality is spot on.

Yes, the exterior is a bit unimaginative and looks normal especially when compared to the new optima, but it does look simple and handsome and not too attention seeking..some people like that. But yes, vw could have done a better job, maybe they wanted to further separate the passat from the cc.

Anyway, to me the most important thing is how u feel behind the wheel because that's where you will be most of the time.It must feel solid and the perception of quality must be there. I would still prefer a vw over a proton even if the proton looks like a lamborghini.

In terms of build quality, I think all three are about the same as all are made in Europe. I've tried slamming the doors and all feels and sounds solid. Vw has a previous reputation of better quality, but the 508 and mondeo are comparable to the passat. However, the 508 hasn't been test driven, so a proper assessment couldn't be done yet.

m42
post Nov 14 2011, 03:15 PM

i think the peugeot would be perfect if only it had a dual clutch transmission also like the other two.
a dual clutch is more efficient than a normal torque converter..its also one of the most advanced transmissions you can get today
i would prefer my car to have the latest powertrain technology..

but then again, the mondeo does not have paddle shifters, which is a big no-no also.. so which is more important..paddle shifters or dual-clutch? hmm..
m42
post Nov 15 2011, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:24 PM)
Yes i agree. These paddle shifters are only an attraction in the early stages. More like eye candy. How many of the Honda City users still use their paddle shifters after say 3 yrs of use?
yeah i know..i actually wont use the paddle shifters at all.. but its good to have, feels like your car is not missing something.. also good for when you're bored and feel like you want to do a vettel once in a while..

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 14 2011, 03:45 PM)
actually, 6 speed auto is more reliable than dsg, in my opionion ( no need to flame)

try google DSG failure.

and actually peugeot is working on the dual clutch thingy also, but you know french, they take their time wink.gif

anyway, you dont need dsg in the big luxury car like this, because in a traffic jam, DSG is jerky, only while driving fast/racing, DSG Is best.

THats why mitsubishi and Nissan both has dual clutch on GTR and EVO X, but they offer CVT in their saloon car, lol.

i think for your request above, just get a golf GTI la biggrin.gif or passat CC la. becuase you are looking at them, and asking from ford and peugeot, lol.

like asking can i add steak in nasi goreng? tongue.gif
yeah but the thing is dsg is more fuel efficient..7 speed some more.. so much better in traffic jams..
fast yet fuel saving..who wouldn't want that?

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 15 2011, 10:46 AM)
Top 10 Worst Cars of 2011:
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/worst-car-flop...011.html?page=2

VW Jetta
The 2011 redesign cost the Jetta much of what had made it a standout in the small car segment. Its responsive handling and sharp steering are long gone, Fisher says, and the high-quality interior has been replaced with hard plastics that don’t fit together well. The engines in the new Jetta are unimpressive with regard to both acceleration and fuel economy.

2012 Honda Civic
The 2012 redesign plummeted in Consumer Reports scores from one of the best small cars to one of the worst, Fisher says. Its nimble handling was replaced with a “soggy” suspension, and braking distances are too long. The interior quality also declined, with lots of hard plastics throughout the cabin.
i think these are the US market cars you quoting..totally different from the ones we are getting..

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(Lord of The Rabbits @ Nov 14 2011, 05:40 PM)
Besides the Technical considerations the feel/ ride of all 3 cars  should also be taken into consideration too.

On top of that  how one is perceived driving these cars may also sway judgements.

I have test driven all three. Truth be told the Passat has a better feel and ride with the 508 coming close second.

Someone posted earlier why not include the Alfa 159 and I tend to agree. Basically this is what the driver will be perceived when driving the cars :

Mondeo - Slightly older 45-55 years of age. Probably Desk Job definitely not an accountant.

Puegot 508 - Early 40 - 50 Just got promoted from Mid level Management.

Passat - Wanted the BMW 3 series but not willing to stretch the budget.
Alfa 159 - Marketing or Sales chances are former Player too  biggrin.gif

My two cents worth lah...
alfa 159 is the sexiest.. but the rear seats are so small, not suitable as a d-segment family car, heck even less space than your average c-segment cars

if i were to drive alone, and dont give a damn about resale value and maintenace costs, i would take the 159 anytime..

This post has been edited by m42: Nov 15 2011, 05:52 PM

0.0410sec    0.48    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:21 PM